Torment: Tides of Numenera Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 380 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Torment: Tides of Numenera is a single-player role-playing game which continues the thematic legacy of the critically acclaimed Planescape: Torment by having to face complex and nuanced morality decisions, carefully contemplating deep and reactive choices with consequences that echoTorment: Tides of Numenera is a single-player role-playing game which continues the thematic legacy of the critically acclaimed Planescape: Torment by having to face complex and nuanced morality decisions, carefully contemplating deep and reactive choices with consequences that echo throughout the game all the while immersed into a new and strange vision taken from by renowned designer and writer Monte Cook's new tabletop role-playing game, Numenera. In Torment: Tides of Numenera, players must decide for themselves the answer to the eternal question, what does one life matter? Numenera's Ninth World is a fantastic vision of a world in which massive civilizations continue to rise and fall with only cities, monuments, and artifacts left behind to serve as reminders of their past existence. These reminders have become part of the accumulated detritus of eons and now this assortment of ancient power, called the numenera, is there for the taking. One of these humans has discovered a way to harness the numenera to grow strong, to cheat death, to skip across the face of centuries in a succession of bodies. But he discovers an unexpected side effect: You. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Torment: Tides of Numenera - A World Unlike Any Other Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 72
  2. Negative: 1 out of 72
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 18, 2017
    100
    Great RPG depends mainly on the conversations and colorful bizarre world into which it takes you …while it is not focused on combat and other traditional elements. [Issue#273]
  2. Feb 28, 2017
    90
    The '90s have nothing on this. Torment: Tides of Numenera might have been fuelled by nostalgia but outstrips its contemporary peers in reactivity, writing and invention.
  3. Mar 6, 2017
    90
    Torment: Tides of Numenera is all about choices. You can finish the game five times with five completely different scenarios; and that’s because its writing is one of the best ever. Every single thing you want from a solid and classic RPG is on offer here.
  4. Feb 28, 2017
    83
    Even though it probably won't be remembered in 20 years, Tides of Numenera is a great game for those who love tabletop, pen-and-paper RPGs.
  5. Mar 1, 2017
    80
    Torment: Tides of Numenera impresses where it truly matters. The intriguing premise and a world filled with eccentric characters begs to be thoroughly explored from top to bottom. If not for the technical issues with the combat and the rather abrupt ending, this could have easily ranked with the best of what’s turning out to be one of the best years for gaming. While the issue of whether or not it lives up to the lofty standards set by Planescape is a question I’m not qualified to answer, I can say without any hesitation that Numenera deserves your attention either way.
  6. Feb 28, 2017
    80
    Torment: Tides of Numenera is more than a nostalgic homage to Planescape: Torment – its own innovations will mark the genre as much as its spiritual predecessor did.
  7. Mar 6, 2017
    40
    With frustrating tech, unappealing appearance and a lack of quality of life streamlining, Torment: Tides of Numenera might actually be my biggest gaming-related disappointment since I bought an Atari Jaguar.

See all 76 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 89
  2. Negative: 23 out of 89
  1. Feb 28, 2017
    10
    When I first saw that Planescape: Torment, a game that shaped my outlook and expectation of games to come, was getting a spiritual successor IWhen I first saw that Planescape: Torment, a game that shaped my outlook and expectation of games to come, was getting a spiritual successor I was worried. TToN has surpassed expectations and left me completely satisfied. This is a game that rewards and encourages the curious. This is a cool, sweet drink in a desert of games where story is only barely there because it is required. This is art.

    --Garth Holden
    Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2018
    10
    I haven't followed the stretch goals that inXile might promised however I think that a lot of people tend to underestimate the amount of timeI haven't followed the stretch goals that inXile might promised however I think that a lot of people tend to underestimate the amount of time that is needed to develop a brand new game with such a rich story. I think that the overall quality of the game is high and it fully justifies its budget.

    To get this out of the way, the game has a LOT of text. So if you tried another game like this and got bored of reading this is not a game for you.

    One issue with the game is that the character models do not look good however this might be acceptable for a small company which does not have the technological advancement of the large players of the industry. However the background world is exceptionally well drawn and I found myself many times stopping to just admire its beautiful details.

    Having played all of the classics like BG2, Fallout, the original Torment and many more, I honestly think that the story of this game is one of the best. I didn't got tired of the amount of text at any single point in the game and I was totally consumed by it. I also found the mechanics of the skill check during dialog really interesting.
    The combat of the game is turned based. You have many different strategies to use in order to overcome your enemies and overall is very enjoyable. The problem is that there are maybe too few encounters and if you know what you are doing, you will rarely need to replay a battle. This is also a more general issue with the game as it lacks a difficulty setting and it might feel easy to some people.

    The strongest point of the game is its atmosphere. Every little bit of it is trying hard to draw you into it and it certainly achieves that. It has a unique feel and character that I have never encountered in the past. I think that it is a truly worthy successor of Planescape: Torment being also a totally different title with its own soul.

    I believe that inXile made a great job with this one. Thank you for the wonderful experience.
    Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2017
    9
    Story, dialogue, art and setting are everything I could have wished for in a Torment game :D. Absolutely delighted with this RPG gem. It'sStory, dialogue, art and setting are everything I could have wished for in a Torment game :D. Absolutely delighted with this RPG gem. It's also providing a well executed implementation of Monte Cook's pen and paper Numenera RPG. Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2017
    7
    SKIP! Not even near PS:T. Didn't know about kickstarter before buying and here's my pros and cons

    + Visuals (environment) are sometimes
    SKIP! Not even near PS:T. Didn't know about kickstarter before buying and here's my pros and cons

    + Visuals (environment) are sometimes nice
    + Some interesting characters
    + Story is ok but quests are repetitive
    + Environment is quite interactive and can be interesting to discover
    + Bloom was visually awesome

    - Combat is buggy and just plain horrible. Did a "might" melee character and in the end still couldn't fight off mobs of more than 5. This is mainly because turn-based mechanics
    - Horrific player models
    - Boring companions
    - Buggy
    - Weird camera movement
    - End was lazy
    - Feels unfinished
    - Wasted potential everywhere. Just look at those "boss fights"
    - Took ~12h to finish with min-maxing. Just steamrolled that effort-based system in the end; roll, sleep, roll, sleep etc.
    - Character customization is quite restricted
    - You can never really use your abilities in a combat
    Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2017
    6
    Good but not great. A fair attempt at recreating the magic of Planescape:Torment, but ultimately fails due to terrible combat, poorly fleshedGood but not great. A fair attempt at recreating the magic of Planescape:Torment, but ultimately fails due to terrible combat, poorly fleshed out characters and an overall feeling of being incomplete and rushed (the first third of the game is superb but the rest feels badly unfinished)

    All in all given the length of development and $4 million in funds it's a disappointment,
    Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2017
    4
    - This is not Torment by any stretch of the imagination. Just comparing itself to the 1999 masterpiece, is anathema.
    - Extremely poor
    - This is not Torment by any stretch of the imagination. Just comparing itself to the 1999 masterpiece, is anathema.
    - Extremely poor audio-visual presentation, even by indie game standards. For a 4.5 million dollar Kickstarter, this is a disgrace.
    - In spite of its rich world and lore, it utterly fails to create an emotional connection with the player or make us care about anything going on in the Last Castoff's story.
    - RPG mechanisms, character development, inventory acquisition and management are at amateur levels.
    - Meres and their sad, sad implementation. It would have been preferable to save some face and not include them at all.
    - The bitter aftertaste in players' mouths, that this was merely a tech demo for selling the Numenera world to prospective publishers for future projects. There is no game here.
    - The silently cut stretch goals of the Kickstarter campaign. In light of the project's extremely poor quality, the argument of "We wanted to focus on polish" seems even weaker. High tier backers should be furious.

    http://ragequit.gr
    Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2017
    0
    No game. Ugly bad combat/game mechanics. Fair writing. Okay main story. Too much athmo/background bla-bla. Not in any way asNo game. Ugly bad combat/game mechanics. Fair writing. Okay main story. Too much athmo/background bla-bla. Not in any way as funny/good/philosophic/thoughful/reflective writing as we had in Torment:Planescape. Don't buy this unless you want to read 30 hours of background/athmo dialogs. No replay value. Very little game for the money. Rather play the original planescape:torment a dozen times and have fun with Morte, Anna, Nordom and *Dakkon* ! This game is an abomination. **** animations. Bad sounds, but okayish writing. But in no way a sequel not even by a far cry to P:ST. They did not even implement all the stretch goals they announced. What a scam and money grab. Expand

See all 89 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017: Sequels, Remakes and Adaptations

    Most Anticipated Video Games of 2017: Sequels, Remakes and Adaptations Image
    Published: January 18, 2017
    In part 1 of our 2017 preview, we look at the 20 most-anticipated videogame sequels and remakes of the year ahead.