• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Sep 3, 2013
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 71
  2. Negative: 7 out of 71
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    74
    The game is far less polished than Shogun 2, and a few more patches will help, but Rome II is still a flawed game that is underwhelming when compared to previous titles in the franchise.
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    73
    I have only one thing to say about this game: caveat emptor! [Oct 2013]
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    72
    The sporadic moments of greatness, when you’re storming enemy walls or have finally brokered a peace agreement, are swallowed by tedium. With patience, your inner imperialist is satisfied as you skillfully cultivate a sprawling empire. It’s too bad you have to put up with so much to get there.
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    70
    And here’s the rub: every addition, every sub-system, every mechanic is subservient to War. War is what Total War is really about. Everything else not directly related to conflict comes across as ancillary. Rome II is a game for warmongers, on both the campaign map and, obviously, on the battlefield. When peace is happening, nothing is happening. When war is happening, Rome comes alive.
  5. Oct 23, 2013
    70
    The faction system is a major disappointment. [Issue#140, p.92]
  6. Sep 29, 2013
    70
    Rome II is bigger and more than its predecessor on all fronts but more is not always better. While the battles are more cinematically grand than ever, the strategic map is bogged down by more illusion of choice than previously. There is lots of fun to be had here but several annoying design decisions do their best to try and keep me from having it.
  7. Sep 13, 2013
    70
    There is no doubt: This Total War has its moments where it shines in size, content and strategic power. But in the end you won’t remember all the things it succeeds at, but the plethora of annoying little things, where the Roman conquest falls short.
  8. Sep 3, 2013
    70
    It’s big and beautiful, but it’s also too swollen, too slow, and too buggy to sustain its lofty ambition.
  9. Sep 2, 2013
    70
    For all that the game may have promised, it isn't such a big step forward for the series. It's Total War done a bit bigger, a bit better and a bit different. Its borders hold firm.
  10. Sep 2, 2013
    70
    The silliness of turning history into a tactical land grab is worth mentioning in order to point out that the Total War series, and much more Total War: Rome 2, won't appeal to everyone with its tedium exchange.
  11. Sep 18, 2013
    66
    At its core, Rome II is not a bad game, but it does feel horribly rushed.
  12. Oct 7, 2013
    65
    Rome 2 is one of the biggest strategy games ever made, but right now it’s not worth your money or time. Software bugs, the worst AI in the Total War series, dubious game design elements, crippled multiplayer… The inevitable string of updates will fix some of these problems, and there will be user mods to take care of the rest. Unfortunately, all of this will take months, so, if you are not in a hurry, wait until at least next spring.
  13. Oct 3, 2013
    60
    A bloated, unwieldy mess. A game whose lofty ambitions are only matched by the gravity of its failures. Well, at least it is pretty. [Nov 2013, p.64]
  14. Sep 24, 2013
    60
    Rome II is somewhat of a disappointment. The great battles the series is known for are still here, but they are far too easy to master. The series AI has always been a problem and that still remains. Instead it’s the game outside of the battles that draws you in with the politics and diplomacy of the Roman empire.
  15. Sep 6, 2013
    60
    Creative Assembly has created a game that could be the pinnacle of their great strategy franchise. Unfortunately Rome II is marred by a number of technical flaws that ruin the experience. Hopefully the game can be redeemed by future patches.
User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3624 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Sep 4, 2013
    0
    So after I played over 10 hours, I will adjust my 10/10 to a 4/10. The AI is just too stupid, a donkey i a compliment to them! I can defeat 3So after I played over 10 hours, I will adjust my 10/10 to a 4/10. The AI is just too stupid, a donkey i a compliment to them! I can defeat 3 armys with 1 on legendery! The AI is killing the game.. Also, i have lag... while I can run all other newest games on ultra settings! I have to tune down alot of the settings to have 20+ fps.... stupid framerate! If they fix all of this, i will change again to a 8/10! I am very sad about this.... Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    2
    Horrible UI.
    Horrendously confusing unit cards.
    Poorly optimized. Fix the triremes. Where is my guard button. Make a unit card that
    Horrible UI.
    Horrendously confusing unit cards.
    Poorly optimized.
    Fix the triremes.
    Where is my guard button.
    Make a unit card that covers half my screen.

    2/10 for releasing.

    Glad I paid 60$ for beta testing.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    0
    It is broken. As per all CA games. They sell it to customers. Expect us to be the beta tester. Xmas comes about and people can buy the readyIt is broken. As per all CA games. They sell it to customers. Expect us to be the beta tester. Xmas comes about and people can buy the ready game at half the price...

    In all srs. They should not be allowed to do this time after time. They need to spend some of the preorder money on testing/optimisation.

    I will not be buying any CA game again. And this comes from an avid total war gamer since the beginning.
    Full Review »