Total War: Rome II PC

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Sep 3, 2013

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 71
  2. Negative: 7 out of 71
Buy On
  1. Games Master UK
    Oct 20, 2013
    Insanely deep strategy, whether you're a tactician or a politician. [Dec 2013, p.72]
  2. CD-Action
    Oct 16, 2013
    It’s not as revolutionary as the first Rome, but it’s an extremely elaborate game that will keep you occupied for days, weeks, months. I’ll even risk stating that it’s the best strategy game out there right now. [CD-Action 11/2013, p.52]
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    While it's not quite in the "half-baked" state some critics asserted at launch, Rome II is about as rough-hewn as a Woad Berserker's wooden shield, and one worries that between this and Empire, we may have witnessed the limit of Creative Assembly's ability to execute on its ambitions.
  4. Oct 3, 2013
    Rome 2 is a colossal let down and while I’m sure the game will be decent after the 20th patch, I’m just tired of being jerked around. Get your head in the game, Creative Assembly!
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    Newcomers and series veterans alike are sure to find plenty to enjoy in Rome II, which should become even better with future patch releases.
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    When they've sorted everything out, Total War: Rome 2 could well be regarded as the best of the series, as when the game plays as intended, the grand scale campaigns and the battles within, are a joy to experience. The simple interface belies the depth of the game as you control your chosen nation in both a civic capacity and as a general on the battlefield.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    If you’re willing to put in the effort and learn what Total War: Rome 2 wants to teach you then you’ll find a game that is deeper, more robust, and more detailed than any strategy game that’s come before it.
  8. Sep 17, 2013
    This game is extremely comprehensive in its content. There were great expectations for this new game in the Total War series and developer The Creative Assembly knew that quite well. With enormous battles the game is replayable over and over again.
  9. Sep 16, 2013
    There is no doubt that this game will delight fans of the first Rome. In addition, it has everything to introduce new players to the series.
  10. Sep 13, 2013
    If you’re a hardcore strategy fan it’s definitely worth a look, and if you’re new to the genre and have the patience to learn, it’s not a bad place to start.
  11. Sep 13, 2013
    Total War: Rome 2 is a hugely in-depth and highly engrossing experience; it has it’s pro’s and con’s (as does every game), but this is a game that will age like a fine wine and as such get better with time (and developer support and updates).
  12. Sep 12, 2013
    An outstanding and entertaining complement of the saga. Unfortunately, it's a painful experience in the way of its hardware optimizing. However, give it some time and the problems are gone. What stays is a massive strategy game adding functional and mostly enjoyable features to the classic Total War formula.
  13. Sep 12, 2013
    Creative Assembly has yet again produced another engaging and time-eating RTS that joyfully lets you create some of the earliest civilizations in a matter of days. The new features should allow many first-time RTS gamers to jump right in and find hours of enjoyment while the expert strategist of Total War will find a new challenge in building their empire in the more specific choices of construction, character abilities, and conquest.
  14. Sep 11, 2013
    Perhaps because this is my first Total War game I’m easier to impress. Maybe long-time fans will have beefs with an unresolved issue or game tweak. All I can tell you is that if you’ve ever dreamed of slipping on the sandals, donning that toga and sharpening up that stiletto dagger, this is the game for you. You’ll learn a lot of history and you’ll have a deal of fun, and maybe after a month or two, you’ll be the most powerful person to ever cast their shadow across the ancient world.
  15. Sep 9, 2013
    Armed with a new engine, Rome II looks great, plays smoothly, and will be a challenge to both veterans and novices.
  16. Sep 6, 2013
    As with previous Total War games, the consequence of all those detailed and interrelated systems is a sometimes-obstructive interface and erratic AI. If you grow to love Rome II – and there is a lot to love about this game – you'll love it in spite of its persistent flaws and frustrations.
  17. Sep 6, 2013
    Total War: Rome 2 is the real killer application for the PC, an unforgettable experience that will remain engraved forever in the hearts of those who give it a chance.
  18. Sep 6, 2013
    While Rome 2 struggles with a few issues, its size and scope offer a breathtaking experience, making it another wonderful addition to the Total War series.
  19. Sep 5, 2013
    A solid strategic effort, but no Triumph.
  20. Sep 5, 2013
    Technical issues aside, the upgrades to Rome II have helped blur the lines between tactics and strategy, creating a powerful, engaging drama that works well on every scale.
  21. Sep 5, 2013
    Rome 2: Total War suffers from the same problem as the former episodes: a really poor finish for such a great game. It's a good thing that you can forget this thanks to the quality of the new Creative Assembly game and its strategic richness. More easy to play, full of new features, it will be enjoyed by regular players and newbies.
  22. Sep 4, 2013
    Like a grizzled veteran of countless battles, Total War: Rome II is still set in its ways, for better or worse.
  23. Sep 4, 2013
    The age-old problems that have plagued Total War since its inception, which were mitigated with such great skill in the last game, return with a vengeance. As much fun as the battles often are, I never feel like I’m masterminding the rise of an empire against all odds – and that lack keeps any grand strategy game from realizing its full potential.
  24. Sep 4, 2013
    Rome II expands one of the best Total War in the series: It's not perfect but works and will last forever.
  25. Sep 4, 2013
    After the first 10-12 hours, anyone could be enraptured by the enormous content of the game and start a real fight against themselves, trying to master the finer aspects of this wonderful title.
  26. 90
    Even though Rome 2 really put my PC to the test, the newest Total War game managed to convince me thoroughly. Its battlefields are as tactically deep as they are going to get, prettier than I would have dared to dream about and the new tactical options by land and sea are a welcome twist to this superb and quite welcoming strategy title.
  27. Sep 3, 2013
    Even if the quest for user-friendliness comes with a measure of dumbing down, Total War: Rome II still has enough depth to appeal to long-standing fans of the series. Stellar graphics and well-honed mechanics makes for a great game.
  28. Sep 3, 2013
    Don't let the huge map of Total War Rome II intimidate you. The game is still pretty much the same (crunching numbers and crushing people) and the political system doesn't cut it. It's even easier than usual, mostly because of the absence of turns limit and a pretty passive AI in "normal" mode. Make sure you set the difficulty on the right challenge or you will bore yourself back to Italy. It's also a bit less spectacular then expected, but a real strategist doesn't mind, and Rome II's richness is breathtaking to say the least.
  29. Sep 3, 2013
    I’ve played many games in this series, including Shogun: Total War and Total War: Rome, and I have been amazed each time by the improvements in gameplay and graphics. This title is the most impressive yet, and I can easily see someone sinking in hundreds of hours — without running into constant reruns of gameplay or visuals.
  30. 76
    There’s a ton to learn here, but it can be slow at times, and the graphical glitches are disruptive.
  31. Sep 3, 2013
    Complaints aside, Total War: Rome II offers an insane amount of value for your money that is hard to ignore if you’re a fan of the genre. The campaign offers a lot of depth for those so-minded, and battles are a graphically frenzied treat.
  32. Sep 3, 2013
    Total War: Rome II is an extremely well made game: the campaign is long and complex, tactical battles are really absorbing (and naval battles are really difficult: a small mistake can cost you several ships). Changes made in the game make it easier to keep track of everything that's happening, rewarding fast decision-making and - all in all - generating tons of fun for less-experienced generals as well. Creative Assembly have created something that will be tough to top.
  33. Sep 2, 2013
    It's one of the most solid and complete strategy games we've seen in a long while. Definitely, one of those games fans of the genre don't want to miss.
  34. Sep 2, 2013
    Rome II is a testament to all that is great about PC gaming and should be a must buy for all its followers.
  35. Sep 2, 2013
    Everything kind of just plods along and while you will get moments of brilliance, moments of wonder… they’re too easily buried by a startling amount of mediocrity. Total War: Rome 2 is a perfectly adequate/decent game. It should have been a bloody brilliant game.
  36. Sep 2, 2013
    It’s by no means easy, and takes a hefty investment of time to fully appreciate. Even after the tutorial prologue, you’ll have a lot to learn, but it’s a testament to the developers that they were able to create an engrossing game that draws you in even with such a steep learning curve.
  37. Sep 2, 2013
    A huge, interesting era of ancient Europe come to life.
  38. Sep 2, 2013
    This is truly a developer putting all their skills and knowledge to use, funneling it into one singular creation, whilst also focusing on presenting it to players not at all familiar with the series.
  39. Sep 2, 2013
    Total War: Rome 2 is pure enjoyment. The strengths of the first installments are still there, mostly in the form of the diversity between different factions and armies. The limited amount of armies, freedom in missions and handy execution of 'auto resolve' only add on to this. It might not look as great as the images might have you suspect, but it's still an easy recommendation.
  40. Sep 2, 2013
    Rome 2 is the product of years of experience and the work of a studio that finally found the perfect harmony between RTS and turn-based. The developers changed certain parts drastically, but created a game that can surprise you at any time and offers a great deal of depth.
  41. Sep 2, 2013
    Despite the fact that we hoped for a more revolutionary spirit for the future of the Total War series, Rome II is still an awesome-looking game, with hundreds of hours of gameplay and huge replay value.
  42. Sep 2, 2013
    A comprehensive reworking that does its grand legacy proud, bringing it up to the date in blistering fashion and polishing it for a new generation is all Creative Assembly could ask for, and it's precisely what they've done.
  43. Sep 2, 2013
    Some quirks in the AI and an engine yet to be optimized impede Total War: Rome 2's greatness just slightly. Creative Assembly has refined the formula in every conceivable way and delivered a game that fans of the genre shouldn’t miss.
  44. Sep 2, 2013
    Creative Assembly keeps showing their mastery over their own formula in a visually arresting strategy game. It lacks the depth of other games in the genre, and the AI deficiencies are still there, but it's a big, varied and spectacular game.
  45. 90
    It’s still the same old imperfections holding it back, but that doesn’t stop Rome II being the best Total War so far – and one of the most accomplished strategy games of recent years.
  46. Sep 2, 2013
    Rome 2 is a technical behemoth, but at the moment, it’s the little details that are holding it back. Still a great game, but not the masterpiece I was hoping for.
  47. Sep 2, 2013
    It's a game that requires patience and immense commitment. If you know what you're getting into, or are at least patient enough to figure out everything on offer, Rome II is a worthy continuation of the franchise and an overdue update to one of the greatest strategy games of all time. It's every bit as vast and absorbing as you've come to expect.
  48. Sep 2, 2013
    Fight past the niggles and you'll find a truly epic grand strategy game with a tremendous sense of spectacle.
  49. Sep 2, 2013
    While the interminable wait between turns and overhauled user interface may be shocks for players flocking from Shogun 2, the overall experience still delivers a top-tier strategy epic.
User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3670 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Sep 4, 2013
    So after I played over 10 hours, I will adjust my 10/10 to a 4/10. The AI is just too stupid, a donkey i a compliment to them! I can defeat 3So after I played over 10 hours, I will adjust my 10/10 to a 4/10. The AI is just too stupid, a donkey i a compliment to them! I can defeat 3 armys with 1 on legendery! The AI is killing the game.. Also, i have lag... while I can run all other newest games on ultra settings! I have to tune down alot of the settings to have 20+ fps.... stupid framerate! If they fix all of this, i will change again to a 8/10! I am very sad about this.... Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    Horrible UI.
    Horrendously confusing unit cards.
    Poorly optimized. Fix the triremes. Where is my guard button. Make a unit card that
    Horrible UI.
    Horrendously confusing unit cards.
    Poorly optimized.
    Fix the triremes.
    Where is my guard button.
    Make a unit card that covers half my screen.

    2/10 for releasing.

    Glad I paid 60$ for beta testing.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    It is broken. As per all CA games. They sell it to customers. Expect us to be the beta tester. Xmas comes about and people can buy the readyIt is broken. As per all CA games. They sell it to customers. Expect us to be the beta tester. Xmas comes about and people can buy the ready game at half the price...

    In all srs. They should not be allowed to do this time after time. They need to spend some of the preorder money on testing/optimisation.

    I will not be buying any CA game again. And this comes from an avid total war gamer since the beginning.
    Full Review »