Total War: Rome II PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Total War: Rome II Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3752 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Become the world’s first superpower and command the most incredible and vast war machine of the Ancient world. Dominate the enemies of your glorious empire by military, economic and political means. Your ascendency will yield admiration from your followers but will also attract greed andBecome the world’s first superpower and command the most incredible and vast war machine of the Ancient world. Dominate the enemies of your glorious empire by military, economic and political means. Your ascendency will yield admiration from your followers but will also attract greed and jealousy, even from your closest allies. Will betrayal strike you down, or will you be the first to turn on old friends? How much are you ready to sacrifice for your vision of Rome? Will you fight to save the Republic, or plot to rule alone as Dictator — as Emperor? Total War: Rome 2. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 71
  2. Negative: 7 out of 71
  1. Sep 2, 2013
    100
    Rome II is a testament to all that is great about PC gaming and should be a must buy for all its followers.
  2. Sep 2, 2013
    90
    Total War: Rome 2 is pure enjoyment. The strengths of the first installments are still there, mostly in the form of the diversity between different factions and armies. The limited amount of armies, freedom in missions and handy execution of 'auto resolve' only add on to this. It might not look as great as the images might have you suspect, but it's still an easy recommendation.
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    90
    Armed with a new engine, Rome II looks great, plays smoothly, and will be a challenge to both veterans and novices.
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    80
    Everything kind of just plods along and while you will get moments of brilliance, moments of wonder… they’re too easily buried by a startling amount of mediocrity. Total War: Rome 2 is a perfectly adequate/decent game. It should have been a bloody brilliant game.
  5. Sep 13, 2013
    80
    If you’re a hardcore strategy fan it’s definitely worth a look, and if you’re new to the genre and have the patience to learn, it’s not a bad place to start.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    72
    The sporadic moments of greatness, when you’re storming enemy walls or have finally brokered a peace agreement, are swallowed by tedium. With patience, your inner imperialist is satisfied as you skillfully cultivate a sprawling empire. It’s too bad you have to put up with so much to get there.
  7. Sep 6, 2013
    20
    I am astonished at the state of this game. Did they think that I wouldn’t notice the clumsy interface, the wretched documentation, the absolutely untenable naval combat, the weird bugs, the lock-ups, the game-killing glitches? Did they think I wouldn’t notice the AI? Did they really think this was an acceptable AI for a single-player game? A single player game with disappointing multiplayer compared to the clever multiplayer in their last release?

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Total War ROME 2 it's just a deep beatiful strategy game like every other game of the total war series! Don't be fooled by the bad reviewTotal War ROME 2 it's just a deep beatiful strategy game like every other game of the total war series! Don't be fooled by the bad review couse it has some imperfection but WHATEHELL it's only the performance that need to be improved and some Ai adjustement nothing more! Keep it classic and buy this game because it deserve it. I gave this a 10 couse there are people that give it 0 while they have played like 5 min into the game and then they keept playing Ride to hell Retribution. You will love this game as soon you start the campaign! Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    its exactly what to expect from a total war game, and has some nice improvements.

    one point id like to make is its not perfect. it has
    its exactly what to expect from a total war game, and has some nice improvements.

    one point id like to make is its not perfect. it has small issues. all new games do. I have read so many 0-3 score reviews, i think that's a bit harsh. though i have been playing the game fully modded since i bought it. Like all total war games they really need a little help from the comunity mods to really get the best from them.

    like radious, verts traits overhaul, various retextures (so unit are not all wearing identical armor)

    they add content, better ai fix a few niggly annoying gameplay issues and add some roleplay depth into what is really a very good game which has so much more potential than everyone is giving it credit

    to think i almost didnt buy it becuse of all the low metascore critic reviews.

    ignore the bad reviews. buy this game anway, install at least 5 popular mods before you start to play it. enjoy.
    Expand
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    6
    Rome 2 is a disappointment, however not a travesty. All those giving it 0's and 1's are just in the heat of the moment about how much of aRome 2 is a disappointment, however not a travesty. All those giving it 0's and 1's are just in the heat of the moment about how much of a disappointment it was. I can play this game for 66 hours, because i want to experience Rome like i experienced it all those years ago. It doesn't bring anything new to the game, it is just a streamlined new looking box, with the content being hollow and annoying. Please don't give this game a extremely low score because if you compare it to, for instance, ride to hell redemption, i would play Rome any day of the week over it. Rome can be saved here with patches, but its going to leave a nasty scar Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2013
    2
    I never did this before but I've had such a horrible experience with this game that I could not help myself. First and the most infuriating ofI never did this before but I've had such a horrible experience with this game that I could not help myself. First and the most infuriating of all is the AI. The units are often unresponsive to your commands and when you do manage go get them to do what you want they usually have terrible pathing. Next is the optomization. I don't know if it's just my computer or what but it lags as hell. I have pretty good rig. This game was rushed out or something but it feels unfinished and it is almost unplayable in it's current state. I will not be buying any more total war games in the future. Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2013
    1
    The new studio has ruined this game.

    -Graphics: I have a newly updated gfx card and good system that I can run every other game on highest
    The new studio has ruined this game.

    -Graphics: I have a newly updated gfx card and good system that I can run every other game on highest settings like Grid 2, however in Rome 2 I get 20fps, seriously? This may be worth it if the gfx were good but the textures and gfx are horrible. Each unit is unique which isn't worth the sacrifice. The world map is also horrible I have no idea why it looks so bad compared to games like Crusader Kings 2 or EU4.

    -The voicing and character models is bad

    -AI and such is the same as always, so is gameplay.

    Sadly it is just the graphical performance that makes this game completely unplayable. Another new studio has ruined a good franchise they are just using the name to get sales
    Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2015
    0
    It's more like Total Fail, than Total War. No in depth diplomatic systems, no in depth political system, just random actions.

    My god, this
    It's more like Total Fail, than Total War. No in depth diplomatic systems, no in depth political system, just random actions.

    My god, this was the worse Total War game I ever played, I really don't understand what's going with CA, Shogun 2 was really amazing and I thought I could only get better, but I didn't knew how creedy SEGA was, the ruined everything.
    Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    The game as it stands is unplayable for the following reasons:
    1. UI
    2. UI 3. UI 4. UI 5. UI 6. Camera 7. AI 8. Lag Back to europa
    The game as it stands is unplayable for the following reasons:
    1. UI
    2. UI
    3. UI
    4. UI
    5. UI
    6. Camera
    7. AI
    8. Lag

    Back to europa barbarium. Sigh.
    Expand

See all 1789 User Reviews