Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    65
    While providing some potentially good ideas, the product packaged by the guys at SuperVillain Studios is not able to convince due to a sometimes embarrassing lack of content. Single-player is almost non-existent and in online matches is often hard to find a worthy opponent . Plus, there are only three maps to play in, too few if you think that the level design is an integral part of gameplay.
  2. Sep 10, 2012
    60
    Tower Wars is completely functional and full of spirit; however, lack of a single-player mode and unruly queue times will likely leave many gamers unfulfilled.
  3. Sep 14, 2012
    65
    Despite numerous technical problems, Tower Wars, thanks to some original features, is a worthy exponent of the Tower Defense genre.
  4. Sep 17, 2012
    60
    Tower Wars feels as if it were designed specifically for hardcore strategists. With a tutorial that skips important concepts and the tendency for matches to become one sided, the result is an uncomfortable and frustrating experience for beginners.
  5. 50
    Interesting variation of the tower defense genre suffers from chaotic gameplay and an absence of single-player mode. [Oct 2012]
  6. Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Tower Wars looks colorful and steampunk-y, but doesn't offer much. Three maps, one raceā€¦ And this is in a multiplayer-oriented game?
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    2
    As far as Tower Defense games goes it is quite good. If you are familiar with the Tropical Tower Wars mod for Warcraft III you would feel right at home. The major glaring problem I have with this game is the lack of AI available to play against in a single player mode. The learning curve is steep for a TD game (due to income, upgrading and battle point denying) and it would be nice to be able to hone your skills against some good AI instead of having to go PVP. Sadly the only single player mode is a classic TD where you try to defeat waves. It is boring and gets old fast. Taking into account that you can get better classic tower defense games online for free (I.e. Gemcraft, Cursed Treasure), I feel that this game was a terrible disappointment. Being able have a game by yourself or with friends against AI would elevate this score much more. Hopefully there will be a patch in the future that rectifies this mistake. Full Review »
  2. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    I think this game is still the beta version and will be updated regularly. My first impression is very positive...the graphics look really good, the gameplay is smooth and the sound fits perfectly. You have a COOP-Mode, you can play 1 Vs 1, 2 Vs 2 and 3 Vs 3, random teams and custom ones. When you start playing, take 15 minutes for the tutorial mission! Then start a multiplayer game or the single player mode. There are only few maps (so far I can see there are 3) and there is still a lot balancing work to do (custom coop-teams against random coop-teams are unfair, matchmaking systems needs an improvement)! But the developers are on a good way and due to the steam based ranking system, the motivation is pretty high! Full Review »
  3. Aug 18, 2012
    6
    Not a typical TD game in that the game play is mostly focused on player versus player instead of player vs AI. You create a wave of attackers while trying to fend off enemy waves using your own towers. There is a limited single player mode where you play against an AI that sends endless waves of progressively harder enemies. This mode is more of a time-attack as you can never "win".

    Games take a long time to play out, even when you are losing badly. When you start to lose, the enemy waves get a little closer each time. It is a painfully slow way to go. My first game had me losing pretty badly because I had no idea what I was doing. Even so, it would have taken another 10 minutes for the other player to finish me off.

    Rather than wait for my inevitable defeat, I left the game (there is no surrender option). For that, I got a rage quit achievement ... so thanks for that.

    If there was a single player or co-op campaign mode, I would have given a higher score. TD versus players kind of feels like a really simplified RTS. If you've always wanted to play TD with a friends, this is for you. If you like classic TD, skip it.
    Full Review »