Tower Wars Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hello there, good sir! Or is it madam, perhaps? Well, thats neither here, nor there! Matters of far greater importance are at hand! It would appear that, through the peculiar optical contraption that youre staring into, you have managed to find yourself here! Where is here, you ask? Why, in the midst of Tower Wars, of course! I must say, its jolly good to have you on board! We need all of the fodder.... ERRR... HELP... yes, yes... all of the help we can get.

    Tower Wars is a new and unique spin on the competitive multi-player tower defense genre! The game combines elements of tower defense, real-time strategy, and all-out multi-player mayhem to bring you a completely unique experience, delivered with a fun and funny not-so-old world style!
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    65
    Despite numerous technical problems, Tower Wars, thanks to some original features, is a worthy exponent of the Tower Defense genre.
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    65
    While providing some potentially good ideas, the product packaged by the guys at SuperVillain Studios is not able to convince due to a sometimes embarrassing lack of content. Single-player is almost non-existent and in online matches is often hard to find a worthy opponent . Plus, there are only three maps to play in, too few if you think that the level design is an integral part of gameplay.
  3. Sep 10, 2012
    60
    Tower Wars is completely functional and full of spirit; however, lack of a single-player mode and unruly queue times will likely leave many gamers unfulfilled.
  4. Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Tower Wars looks colorful and steampunk-y, but doesn't offer much. Three maps, one race… And this is in a multiplayer-oriented game?
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    60
    Tower Wars feels as if it were designed specifically for hardcore strategists. With a tutorial that skips important concepts and the tendency for matches to become one sided, the result is an uncomfortable and frustrating experience for beginners.
  6. 50
    Interesting variation of the tower defense genre suffers from chaotic gameplay and an absence of single-player mode. [Oct 2012]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    FINALLY! Someone made an actual Tower Wars game! The mods were so much fun, so it's awesome that SuperVillain made an actual game to pretty much officially kick off the genre (I think?)! Basically, not only do you set up your towers and maze to defend, but you send out your own armies to attack the other castle! Lots of units to unlock and upgrade by using an RTS system (tech tree). And the humor is a nice touch too. Who doesn't love a robot named Stanley Clunkerbottom? The meat of the experience is the multi-player for sure! It supports local hosted and ranked matches, so you can play with friends until you're ready to head out into a ranked match. 2v2 is probably my favorite, and the game goes all the way up to 3v3 (and 1v1 of course). And there IS a single player "Classic" mode, which is like other normal Tower Defense games where you just defend as long as you can. But this thing REALLY shines in multi-player modes that it's built for!

    And, for what it's worth, the game is gorgeous if you have a gaming PC with some muscle. But it also lets you customize all settings for weaker machines too, and even looks pretty good at lower settings. Looks like a miniatures set up! I want to play this in real life!

    Highly recommended for fans of Tower Defense, RTSs, Table-Top Games, or multi-player with friends! Oh, and for $10? No brainer!
    Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    Many people didn't get the point of this game. Yes it might not be so obvious for new players and means that you must perseverate to learn the basics. Ok the single player content is poor... Well it's already a blessing there is one. Come on people, game used to be 10 times harder and with 10 times less content! Do you need everything to be explained? There are fan videos out there! The whole strength of this game lies with the multiplayer. It is one of the most addictive game I have played in the past 10 years. Those guys are better than many top notch studios. They got the point. Keep it simple yet deep. One of the main reason why people don't buy the game is because of the 59/100 rating this website gives. But still there are many strong opponents out there. Many new players too. Try it out, you won't regret it! See you in-game! Collapse
  3. Feb 20, 2013
    9
    Tower Wars is right up my alley simply because I get to fight real intelligence instead of predictable AIs. Don't get me wrong, I'm a sucker for classic TDs as well, and have completed just about every popular version out there, but to get real longevity you just need to fight real people. This game provides that.

    Also, the bugs and shortcomings posted at launch are pretty much fixed by now. The game is bug free, new maps have been added, and the coop-mode people asked for was added months ago. I see little reason not to buy this game now, if you are a fan of TDs or TWs you will get loads of fun out of this title, for a great price to boot. See ya in-game!
    Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2013
    5
    Tower Wars is a tower defense multiplayer game, which was not rally fun for me. You build a lot of towers and can upgrade them. Then you send your troops, which you can also upgrade, and then you wait and look, how there are walking to the base of your enemy to destroy it. Then there is your enemy, which does principle the same. It's monotone and boring for me. There are many tower defense games, which are much better! Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2012
    5
    Just left me wanting more, too few maps, fun for a brief amount of time then gets old fast. Hopefully it will be developed more and then may be worth the 10$ they are asking... Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2013
    4
    as the name states, its a tower defense game.
    got it from a bundle so i was curious how it is.

    well the graphics are sweet, thats the good
    part.
    there are only 3 different maps, and they arent so large either so it gets boring after a short amount of time.
    the controls are weird and annoying if youre trying to build fast.

    the tutorial for noobs only explains the basics, multiplayer seems to be dead already.
    when youre lucky to find a match, you either play vs a complete autist or a 578347593845 skill guy whos playing day&night. pretty bad matchmaking.

    maybe its fun in coop, but all together its far away from being as good as warcraft 3 tower defense mods that i loved to play.

    7€ are not much, but because of the few maps and dead multiplayer, even this seems to be overpriced.
    Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2013
    0
    My buddy got this in a bundle for us to play when we were bored. It's pretty unplayable at the moment, which is pretty unfortunate considering there's not a lot of head to head tower defense games, so i was slightly excited to play this. Every time anything involving the game is clicked, whether it be host match, start match, load match, switch map, pretty much anything, the game goes into "not responding" and you end up having to wait anywhere between 1-10 minutes for it to actually get out of the "not responding". Both me and my buddy had the same issue, there's no computer problem, i haven't experienced this in any other game i've played, and i play a lot of video games. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews