Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 10, 2012
    75
    A solid mixture of polish, inventiveness, and just plain fun. Its blended style of fantasy and authenticity supplements its accessibility with pleasing flair.
  2. 70
    Nice combination of tower defense strategy with action elements has only minor issues connected to mouse control and camera glitches. [July 2012]
  3. Jul 14, 2012
    70
    The detail is there, but thanks to the mild handling and thin, generic audio, the magic isn't. [Aug 2012, p.97]
  4. May 4, 2012
    70
    Toy Soldiers still has a lot to recommend it. The PC version comes with the Kaiser's Battle and Invasion DLC expansions, and its level designs have just enough variety to make at least one playthrough interesting. Some of those scenarios I'll probably come back to a few more times to improve my score. But still, Toy Soldiers is just a little too repetitive to enter the tower-defense hall of fame occupied by games like Defense Grid and Orcs Must Die! The clue is in the name: it's a brilliant toy, but just short of a truly great game.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Apr 29, 2012
    5
    A pretty entertaining TD that sadly suffers from a very clunky gameplay with an irritating camera, erratic controls for the controllable vehicles/turrets and a pretty poor overview of the maze. Still, its alot of fun and pretty cheap. Oh yeah, GFWL also... But still, pretty entertaining game. Full Review »
  2. Apr 29, 2012
    7
    for the price, I'm having fun. 10 bucks and I'll get 2 weeks worth of entertainment out of this...you know what, not a bad deal. Shame they didn't go deeper with this game. It reminds me somewhat of Army Men: Sarge's Heroes, apparently there is multiplayer? i haven't figured out that part yet? As scared as I get of complex games...i wish this game was a bit more complex. Play it high, its a fun distraction. seriously 10 bucks...thats less than 2 beers, worth it~~! Full Review »
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    2
    Casual game, which I would give on a PC an average rating: 6
    Two thinks are (for the PC) below average
    - need of annoying Windows Live Account
    (this on top of steam for me) -3
    - max. resolution 1024 -1
    Sum Up:
    Fine as a casual game. Probably good for XBox etc., but not adapted well to PC.
    Full Review »