User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 76
  2. Negative: 8 out of 76

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    Toy Soldiers does what it wants to do: It wants to provide nice quirky fun, from anywhere to experienced players, to casual players.
    PROS:
    +The art style is cute, and it makes you chuckle when ever you see an enemy soldier explode into springs and gears. +It is fun, it just makes you happy and it is extremely satisfying mowing down waves of enemies with a machine gun. +You have a lot
    Toy Soldiers does what it wants to do: It wants to provide nice quirky fun, from anywhere to experienced players, to casual players.
    PROS:
    +The art style is cute, and it makes you chuckle when ever you see an enemy soldier explode into springs and gears.
    +It is fun, it just makes you happy and it is extremely satisfying mowing down waves of enemies with a machine gun.
    +You have a lot of options; overall it is just an okay port, but they do have extra options you don't see in many other games.
    +Invasion mode is goofy and a challenge. Very silly fun!
    CONS:
    -The final level in the campaign is a major jump in difficulty. It has to be 90% impossible. I think you have to set everything up just right.
    -A few levels make you have to position everything 'just right'.
    If you want to have a cheap game that'll provide hours of fun - get it. If you like strategy games, what are you waiting for!?
    Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    Toy soldiers is a great little tower defense game and definitely value for money. The campaigns are fun and enjoyable.

    If you are thinking of getting it I would. Well worth the money.
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    As long as you don't have high expectations, this game is ENORMOUSLY entertaining if you only have 15-30 minutes a day to get your gaming fix. Plus it covers an area WW1 that is seriously neglected by the gaming industry. For the price you can't beat it and like a lot of people will find it a great little diversion. A hidden little gem!
  4. Oct 17, 2012
    6
    Now that Toy Soldiers uses Steamworks, it's not too bad. You will have some fun moments with it but it really isn't anything memorable. The levels are decent size and there is a good amount of enemy variety, but the gameplay just starts to get stale when you being playing through campaign+ (just re-used versions of the original campaign). This edition does come with the DLCs though so thatNow that Toy Soldiers uses Steamworks, it's not too bad. You will have some fun moments with it but it really isn't anything memorable. The levels are decent size and there is a good amount of enemy variety, but the gameplay just starts to get stale when you being playing through campaign+ (just re-used versions of the original campaign). This edition does come with the DLCs though so that adds some more variety to it. Unfortunately, the multiplayer has been completely left out of this version. The controls are also very clunky and the camera is just awful. There is also a weird bug where the sound will start to cut out if there is too much going on at once in a level. Overall, it's not a bad game per se, it just has a ton of flaws and cut content that doesn't exactly make it worth your while, let alone your cash. Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    I did not expect anything after the game interesting. I sometimes play a game of Tower Defence, but only just about, out of boredom. So what could I expect from Toy Soldiers? Apparently nothing, and there .. the game sucked me in many hours of gameplay. An interesting idea for a war with plastic toy soldiers, toys. For this idea except that they can shoot from land, it is really great, andI did not expect anything after the game interesting. I sometimes play a game of Tower Defence, but only just about, out of boredom. So what could I expect from Toy Soldiers? Apparently nothing, and there .. the game sucked me in many hours of gameplay. An interesting idea for a war with plastic toy soldiers, toys. For this idea except that they can shoot from land, it is really great, and finally you really can not get bored of the game Tower Defense. The game has a really great atmosphere and everyone who likes Tower Defense indeed almost love this game. It is a pity that the game actually has disadvantages. After a while it gets really too heavy for that is not perfect, there is nothing. In the game, however, most people should be drawn, and it's not like o .. for a while ... My rating -7.5 / 10 Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2012
    2
    A great game, despite the GFWL integration, for every reason but one: the "there is no valid excuse for this on earth" terrible camera. It's abysmal, and completely prevents you from enjoying the game in any way whatsoever. If this isn't fixed by a patch, it's a criminal offence. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME UNTIL THIS IS RESOLVED. Now, to see about getting my money back...
  7. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    This was a surpise for me, a budget release through steam that I hadn't heard of. Well, it was amazing - huge game, superbly detailed and crafted game area with real attention to detail. No bugs at all that I saw. I played it all through then sat back happy. Then I realised ALL the DLC was included too, all for a fiver! Bargain of the year.
  8. May 23, 2012
    9
    An ingenious twist on the classic Tower Defence genre, allowing you to actually control the units themselves - planes are pilot-able, tanks are drivable, you can man a sniper tower or even control the individual guns themselves if you want to focus your attention on units that the AI doesn't. Plenty of upgrades and units/game modes to unlock, and Games For Windows Live is a nice touch,An ingenious twist on the classic Tower Defence genre, allowing you to actually control the units themselves - planes are pilot-able, tanks are drivable, you can man a sniper tower or even control the individual guns themselves if you want to focus your attention on units that the AI doesn't. Plenty of upgrades and units/game modes to unlock, and Games For Windows Live is a nice touch, adding extra achievements for you to aim towards. A game you come back to again and again, thanks to it's ingenious Survival and Invasion modes, and the opportunity to always improve on your tactics and your score. Great audio and visuals, excellently tough bosses, only hampered by the awkward camera controls (pro-tip: use WASD as well as moving the mouse to the edge of the screen for faster panning). An all-round really nice game for under £10. Well worth every penny - one of the best Indie games released on Steam - just a shame there's no Multi-Player mode on the PC version. Expand
  9. May 11, 2012
    9
    I love this game. Great fun throughout. Docked a point purely because the toxic GFWL malware is in it regardless of it being delivered via Steam. Highly recommended otherwise.
  10. May 9, 2012
    9
    Like people said before great game for just 10$. A fun TD game that will easily give you hours of playtime. Ive done about 12 missions so far and each one has secondary objectives that you can shoot for, also survival mode ontop of the 2 campaigns which I think has 30 missions total. Would be great if they added some more of the xbox dlc to the pc version, heres to hoping. Avoid Sparhawk42Like people said before great game for just 10$. A fun TD game that will easily give you hours of playtime. Ive done about 12 missions so far and each one has secondary objectives that you can shoot for, also survival mode ontop of the 2 campaigns which I think has 30 missions total. Would be great if they added some more of the xbox dlc to the pc version, heres to hoping. Avoid Sparhawk42 lame review of 2 simply because you needed a live account and you couldnt bring your res. up anymore? Its a port not originally made for PC take the good with the bad. Expand
  11. May 1, 2012
    9
    Despite of being casual, this game is more worthy than those $4 I paid for it. I like general style of the game and WWI theme, which is uncommon in videogames at this moment. The only distinctively irritating moment in gameplay is necessity of using tanks to destroy enemy armor; with time passing, it becomes boring.
  12. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    For a game at under $10, it's a ton of fun. WW1 and a toy box, classic! yes the Windows Live sucks, but I am not gonna lose sleep about it. Cheap and fun, thanks.
  13. Apr 29, 2012
    7
    for the price, I'm having fun. 10 bucks and I'll get 2 weeks worth of entertainment out of this...you know what, not a bad deal. Shame they didn't go deeper with this game. It reminds me somewhat of Army Men: Sarge's Heroes, apparently there is multiplayer? i haven't figured out that part yet? As scared as I get of complex games...i wish this game was a bit more complex. Play it high, itsfor the price, I'm having fun. 10 bucks and I'll get 2 weeks worth of entertainment out of this...you know what, not a bad deal. Shame they didn't go deeper with this game. It reminds me somewhat of Army Men: Sarge's Heroes, apparently there is multiplayer? i haven't figured out that part yet? As scared as I get of complex games...i wish this game was a bit more complex. Play it high, its a fun distraction. seriously 10 bucks...thats less than 2 beers, worth it~~! Expand
  14. Apr 29, 2012
    5
    A pretty entertaining TD that sadly suffers from a very clunky gameplay with an irritating camera, erratic controls for the controllable vehicles/turrets and a pretty poor overview of the maze. Still, its alot of fun and pretty cheap. Oh yeah, GFWL also... But still, pretty entertaining game.
  15. Apr 29, 2012
    2
    Casual game, which I would give on a PC an average rating: 6
    Two thinks are (for the PC) below average
    - need of annoying Windows Live Account (this on top of steam for me) -3
    - max. resolution 1024 -1
    Sum Up:
    Fine as a casual game. Probably good for XBox etc., but not adapted well to PC.
  16. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    A combination of awesomeness and epicness makes toy soldiers for pc. the only thing that is bad about this game is windows live, but who cares? Buy the game and see for yourself =P
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. 70
    Nice combination of tower defense strategy with action elements has only minor issues connected to mouse control and camera glitches. [July 2012]
  2. Jul 14, 2012
    70
    The detail is there, but thanks to the mild handling and thin, generic audio, the magic isn't. [Aug 2012, p.97]
  3. May 10, 2012
    75
    A solid mixture of polish, inventiveness, and just plain fun. Its blended style of fantasy and authenticity supplements its accessibility with pleasing flair.