• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Trackmania 2 Canyon is a racing game by Nadeo.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    This is the most complete, large, fun and ambitious Trackmania game ever made. It improves upon the formula that has make the game succeed, and again challenges us to beat our best times and also our rivals'. And at a very attractive price.
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    90
    Offers just enough tweaks to the formula to make it worth the download. Visually, it's not the prettiest racer out there, but the lighting can be particularly gorgeous at times and the system requirements are very reasonable. As the community settles in again, the amount of content will only grow from here given the excellent creation tools included.
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    85
    Canyon serves as an excellent continuation of the series, and if you loved it before you won't be disappointed.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    83
    If you're looking for a high-fidelity racing sim, TrackMania isn't for you. If you're looking for a way to express yourself with custom-designed race tracks without having to invest months of effort, this is the game you're looking for!
  5. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    A streamlined front-end and more clearly spelled-out progression would probably go a long way. But if you're up for digging around and find the idea of a driving game that's a little left-of-center exciting, TM2 is kind of incredible.
  6. Sep 22, 2011
    80
    TrackMania is back, and just as fun as ever. The new environment will no doubt be a hit among both new and old players, though it does feel a bit disappointing to go from seven environments in TrackMania United Forever to just one (so far) in TrackMania 2.
  7. Sep 21, 2011
    65
    If you are someone who enjoys their racing games with more structure, something like Gran Turismo or Burnout Paradise, then you may find that Trackmania2 will leave you cold. However, if you are fan of the first game, or fancy flexing your design muscles, then there is a lot of fun to be found here. Just make sure you know what sort of game you are getting yourself into.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Superb racing game. The actual gameplay is as you would expect it from a Trackmania Title: fast, crazy, "easy to learn but hard to master", simply addictive. Besides, the building aspect of this game is just fantastic. I can't say how many hours I just spent building my own track in the editor. Again, "easy to learn but hard to master", since it's incredibly easy to create a map, but harder to find nice, smooth, flowy transitions to make it memorable. The ManiaPlanet platform also allows players to create skins, change textures, own 3D objects and even scripts to make an own gamemode. So, if you want to play a highly mod-able racing game with thousands of tracks, get this game, you won't regret it! Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    A very fun arcade style racing with awesome huge ramps and stuff. Drifting is very important and the graphics are amazing compared to the older trackmania games! 10/10 Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    I am obsessed and in love. TrackMania 2 Canyon has arcade style car handling that is precise and responsive. Easy to learn and hard to master. Graphics are simple, clean and impressive. The online ranking system is revealed layer by layer in an involving fashion that is massively rewarding. This is my favourite game to play hot seat with a friend or group of friends in local party play. I have had an absolute blast playing this game for the last few and I can see myself playing more and more as time goes on and I get into the massive customisation options and start downloading tracks. Now, excuse me while I go improve my time... Collapse
  4. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    A very fun game indeed...
    I've played TMUF since it arrived and just started Tm2 about 3 weeks ago and am finding it hard to get back to the
    first because I'm having so much fun with the new one now. I really love the connection between the game & Maniaplanet exchange...Particularly the "install & play" feature.
    It does feel like a cross between Coast & Island environments from TMU, but I like it just fine
    and I think the MT interface, though much nicer looking...is still not easy to use. I also agree with Godwhacker and hope the "Puzzle & stunt" modes will be brought back to the game
    Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    7
    This game is excellent overall, but there is something missing here. This game will even get boring with all the multiplayer servers. Im guessing trackmania series are just getting older...

    Also, the servers can go up to 256 players, but the same servers never go up to 100, because of the small popularity.
    Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2011
    6
    This game is very hard to love. The racing is as wonderful as ever, and the graphics truly are a leap forward, but everything else is a confused mess. Much seems to have been taken out since Trackmania United, with the community expected to fill it in later. The solo campaign is simply 'Race', with no 'Platform', 'Puzzle' and 'Stunt' mode any more. There's no in-game 'Explorer' to allow you to look for skins and tracks. There's no way of sharing your creations once they've been built- at least, as far as I can see. I can't understand why they've simply thrown all this stuff away, since Trackmania United Forever was so fully-featured.

    On top of that, there's no explanation as to what's going on, either. in fact, if you want to read the manual, you have to search for it on Google- and even then, you're not going to find it. It's here: http://wiki.maniaplanet.com/en/User_manual . It's also woefully incomplete. If you want any further explanation, you'll have to start mining the forums. This shouldn't be necessary.

    And there are bugs, and the interface is a mess, and there appear to be people who have hacked their way to the top of the rankings, and there's absolutely no communication from Nadeo as to what they're aware of and what they're going to be doing in the future.

    So, ultimately, this game has a very, very long way to go, and there's a very good chance Ubisoft are going to make you pay extra for all the things your missing. Probably best to avoid it for a few months until everything gets sorted out. Until then, buy Trackmania United on Steam. It's the same price and it'll last you for much longer.
    Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    0
    First you should try trackmania united for free,if you like that game you wont like this one,if you dont like that game you also wont like this one

    i can play sim racing games or arcade racing or a mix between those two but TrackMania 2 Canyon fail on every part

    it looks ok and that is it

    the main problem is the driving,in trackmania united driving is incredible in this one it is a joke,very irritating,also bumper cam view is too low and with all the crashes and spining you are forced to use a case cam and that sucks

    driving in trackmania united is one of the things that made that game special and they completly changed that

    only thing i do like is how the game looks and the car,i dont like formula and that is it
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews