Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Train Simulator 2014 delivers everything you love about trains with the exhilaration of speed, stunning graphics, and a variety of trains, real-world routes and challenging assignments. Whether you love driving trains, creating new routes or just watching the landscape fly by, the choice of how you play is yours. This is more than just a game; Train Simulator is a digital hobby. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    Train Simulator 2014 introduces new features and improvements for both beginner and veteran players of the series.
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    80
    Even if it was an absolute perfect train sim title, none of the Train Simulator games are going to appeal to everyone. In fact, they probably still won’t appeal to the majority of gamers. That’s OK though, because these games are meant for the people that love the genre, and it wouldn’t be fair to judge them as something they’re not.
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    70
    Train Simulator 2014 is the best at what it does, and those familiar with the series will find enough here to go back for more. Newcomers, though, will find the price of admission unusually high both in the sheer volume of expensive DLC that the game will try to sell to you at every possible moment, and the investment of time the user needs before they can really begin to appreciate what this software has to offer.
  4. Dec 24, 2013
    63
    The new routes are familiar, and the new features are flimsy. Train Simulator 2104 feels like it’s freewheeling.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    60
    This “game,” if it can really be called that, is a niche one. It will only appeal to a very select few train enthusiasts and so for those folks I’d recommend this as a nice entry into the world of train conducting. For everyone else save yourself some time, money and frustration and just say no.
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    40
    Train Simulator 2014 is very boring – you spend most of your time looking out for the next semaphore and missing GTA V. [12/2013, p.70]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 14 out of 24
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Graphics is good,the Only noticable thing they've added is XP,but even it does not work propertly.
    Awesome achievements and cities.Graphic
    is for good compters max windows 7 good graphic card and monitor. Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    Better graphics, better physics, most of the bugs from TS 2013 are fixed. New UI. TS 2014 is much better then 2013. The only thing that i dont like is that the driving HUD is the same since TS 2012 Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    8
    I bought the game some years ago while it was still being marketed as Railworks, and have yet to be majorly disappointed by it. It offers a generally realistic driving experience (My father worked on the railways, so I should know) with correct signalling, and excellent AI capabilities. Most users complain that the AI is useless- This is generally because they don't understand that no accurate simulator can handle over 10 trains being routed over a certain piece of track in a minute! You have to remember that the game is targeted at an incredibly specific group of people and , while definitely not being perfect (Customer support does not exist, scenery is often reused in earlier routes...) it is certainly the best simulator currently on the market. Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2013
    3
    This game's "maiden name" is Rail Simulator, released by EA in 2007. It had the highest number of bugs and unfinished "skeleton" features that i ever seen in a game.
    The most of this bugs aren't touched since that, however the game's source code is bought from EA in 2009 by a small group of the developers who founded a new studio called Railsimulator.com (RSC).
    They re-released Rail Simulator under a new name "Railworks" then RSC promised big improvements fixes for the bugs, and finishing the unfinished features. However 95% of these bugs still isn't fixed. The game got another new name, "Train Simulator" series, and the developers release a new minor patch in every year, as a new game...
    However it got some nice improvements along the years, all concentrating on eye candy: superelevation, new graphics engine (replacing a severely outdated graphics engine with a simply outdated one), menu changes, force effects (train body sway, driver head movements).
    But the AI is still just as dumb when as it was in 2007, which makes the game really boring, as heavy traffic with lot of train crossings, are not possible with it. (The totally free hobbyst made Openrails have far better AI, where you mostly just simply put the trains on the tracks, set their goals, and the AI solves the crossings, watings, everything, in TS2014 you need to tell every step to the dumb game and if you do then it still writes "unresolveable clash", "unreachable path", or just the trains crash to each other...)

    The other big and unchanged problem is the physics. It's crude, lacks of important features, and bugged, and this takes the "Simulator" title of this game, as it's physics doesn't/falsely simulate the basic aspects of trains...

    Also on developer side the 3D interface support is a big ZERO. For example in 3D cabs if you want to make functional LCD displays (which are quite popular on modern rolling stock), you can do this: move/rotate objects by animations, or hide/unhide objects, so if you want to make a digital speed display you need to make 3x 10 surfaces each textured with one digit (0 to 9) and hide/unhide when it's necessary... Which means if you want to make some advanced features for ingame rolling stock, it will be hard and messy work, with even more bugs. The content development for this game is all about workarounds, compromises, resignation (isn't possible in game, can't be perfect becaus of bugs).

    Also the developers won't fix the smaller problems, even if it would take 5 min to fix, just send back the automatic template message "your comments are passed to our development team", but nothing will happen. I know, i've sent a batch of bug reports with possible solutions in 2010 march (and sent these again and again in every half year since that), but none of these have fixed.
    Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2013
    1
    Ok so i admit i am a secret Train fan, so this simulator is is something i was interested in. I Bought the original Railworks way back in time, so have gone through the motions of Steam Updating the game every year. This money making game is far from perfect, the game is prone to bugs and random crashes. Customer support from Railsimulator and third party developers is non existant. The new features to add your own created content is advised against, as i have seen and heard reports that third party developers will try and threaten you with legal action if your creation in any way resembles there product.

    The Community is probably the worst i have come across for any game i have been involved with. Say something critical and expect a backlash from the community threatening you and anyone else they can find who know you. I gave the game a 1 rating because it has so much potential if the developers drop the greed attitude and focused on customers. But at the moment i would suggest to stay well clear of this game, not only because of the high DLC price but also due to the attitude of the community.

    To give you some idea of how greedy this game has become, the main modding website that promotes freeware is subscription based!. And everyone from the age of 12 expects to be paid for there work.
    Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2014
    0
    The Steam version of Train Simulator 2014 is crippled, incomplete, and has obnoxious Facebook integration. Most of the things that you will need to learn or enjoy this game -- like the tutorial maps -- are missing or broken. Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2014
    0
    With the current bugs, total disregard to the community, addons that were bought but disappeared, addons that never got updated, but instead they released a new version or separated older bundles to increase the price.

    In short, until they sort out the mile long bug list, I will not recommend this game.
    -- MY RATING: 4/10

    There are so many issues that I find it a daunting task just to list them; Maybe in the near future when I have the patience, but here are some of the big problems.

    -This lacks the basic simulation characteristics.
    - addons now are half-made and lack even basic features. With glaring exception of third party made addons, anything made by RSc(Dovetail now) is a waste of money.
    - Not even the LCD's from modern trains can display more information beyond the extremely basic.
    - They still refuse to use the Workshop at its full potential(before it was scenarios only, now they allow routes, but nothing beyond that... ).
    - It has no joystick support,
    - No TrackIr support and they see no need to add TrackIr support either(they believe it is expensive and no one uses it, but a fan hex-modded it in the game).
    - The sounds are ATROCIOUS!
    - Track sound, train sound, everything related to sound is bad.
    - The AI is terrible
    - You have to work hard in the editor just to get your scenario to function, this is due to bad AI and pathing issues.
    - Bugs, Bugs, Bugs and never ending Bugs galore that are never, ever, ever, never, ever fixed. When a miracle happens and hell freezes over, the bug fix they release is sometimes worse than the bug itself.
    - The content now doesn't even include scenarios, or if it does, it has them on bare-bones(Their excuse? Get them from Worshop)
    - Exceptionally BAD support.
    - Physics are bad, wheel sleep or even train weight feels weird.
    - Is it freezing outside? Raining? Baking hot? No difference on the train whatsoever! Overheating engine? Never happens!

    To make matters worse, they actively delete negative threads of the steam forum, they censor anything related to bugs or problems with the game, and they are even attacking negative reviews of steam by flagging it as "Off-Topic".

    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME
    I gave it a 4/10 because it used to be ok a couple of years ago and I'm honoring that, otherwise it is a 2/10
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews