Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Train Simulator 2014 delivers everything you love about trains with the exhilaration of speed, stunning graphics, and a variety of trains, real-world routes and challenging assignments. Whether you love driving trains, creating new routes or just watching the landscape fly by, the choice of how you play is yours. This is more than just a game; Train Simulator is a digital hobby. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    Train Simulator 2014 introduces new features and improvements for both beginner and veteran players of the series.
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    80
    Even if it was an absolute perfect train sim title, none of the Train Simulator games are going to appeal to everyone. In fact, they probably still won’t appeal to the majority of gamers. That’s OK though, because these games are meant for the people that love the genre, and it wouldn’t be fair to judge them as something they’re not.
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    70
    Train Simulator 2014 is the best at what it does, and those familiar with the series will find enough here to go back for more. Newcomers, though, will find the price of admission unusually high both in the sheer volume of expensive DLC that the game will try to sell to you at every possible moment, and the investment of time the user needs before they can really begin to appreciate what this software has to offer.
  4. Dec 24, 2013
    63
    The new routes are familiar, and the new features are flimsy. Train Simulator 2104 feels like it’s freewheeling.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    60
    This “game,” if it can really be called that, is a niche one. It will only appeal to a very select few train enthusiasts and so for those folks I’d recommend this as a nice entry into the world of train conducting. For everyone else save yourself some time, money and frustration and just say no.
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    40
    Train Simulator 2014 is very boring – you spend most of your time looking out for the next semaphore and missing GTA V. [12/2013, p.70]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 31
  2. Negative: 18 out of 31
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Graphics is good,the Only noticable thing they've added is XP,but even it does not work propertly.
    Awesome achievements and cities.Graphic
    is for good compters max windows 7 good graphic card and monitor. Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Just a fantastic rail sim, Its the best that money can buy atm if you like simulation games this is for you, esp if you love trains. Even ppl with there own modal trains and routes i.e layouts will simply love this sim, theres a mission system built into it aswell so you will see and feel like you earn your way threw the ranks i give this game 10/10. and if you finish and complete all the tasks and scenarios inc tutorials and fancy somthing diff, a alittle more chalanging or simply want to try new routes or locos, well theres atleast 3000 pounds worth of dlc out there probbly more then atleast, id say 1000 plus hours im sure its an understatment some dlc will set you back 30 pounds but you will get a fair bit for your money, and some will set you back 4.99 again you will get hours of play time. They have lots of offers aswell for e.g atm they have an offer were you get 8 packs including the game alll for just 24.99 and your saving like 100 to 150 pounds bargen if you ask me.plus you can make your own routes and scenarios if and with the workshop includid with this game you can upload your own content or download other users content the game is limitless i hope you all enjoy this sim in the same way i do ive spent atleas 100 pound on this game and im nowere near board. Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Having played MSTS for a number of years i was a bit skeptical about buying this game having heard mixed opinions about it, the other day there was a flash sale so i thought "why not".

    Long story short, I'm really enjoying this game, i have bought a few add ons and while some are better than others i would say that overall this is a more than worthy successor to the aging MSTS.

    I can understand what the other people have said regarding certain issues and some lack of realism but overall i think the good outweighs the bad and with yearly upgrades, it can only get better!
    Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2013
    3
    This game's "maiden name" is Rail Simulator, released by EA in 2007. It had the highest number of bugs and unfinished "skeleton" features that i ever seen in a game.
    The most of this bugs aren't touched since that, however the game's source code is bought from EA in 2009 by a small group of the developers who founded a new studio called Railsimulator.com (RSC).
    They re-released Rail Simulator under a new name "Railworks" then RSC promised big improvements fixes for the bugs, and finishing the unfinished features. However 95% of these bugs still isn't fixed. The game got another new name, "Train Simulator" series, and the developers release a new minor patch in every year, as a new game...
    However it got some nice improvements along the years, all concentrating on eye candy: superelevation, new graphics engine (replacing a severely outdated graphics engine with a simply outdated one), menu changes, force effects (train body sway, driver head movements).
    But the AI is still just as dumb when as it was in 2007, which makes the game really boring, as heavy traffic with lot of train crossings, are not possible with it. (The totally free hobbyst made Openrails have far better AI, where you mostly just simply put the trains on the tracks, set their goals, and the AI solves the crossings, watings, everything, in TS2014 you need to tell every step to the dumb game and if you do then it still writes "unresolveable clash", "unreachable path", or just the trains crash to each other...)

    The other big and unchanged problem is the physics. It's crude, lacks of important features, and bugged, and this takes the "Simulator" title of this game, as it's physics doesn't/falsely simulate the basic aspects of trains...

    Also on developer side the 3D interface support is a big ZERO. For example in 3D cabs if you want to make functional LCD displays (which are quite popular on modern rolling stock), you can do this: move/rotate objects by animations, or hide/unhide objects, so if you want to make a digital speed display you need to make 3x 10 surfaces each textured with one digit (0 to 9) and hide/unhide when it's necessary... Which means if you want to make some advanced features for ingame rolling stock, it will be hard and messy work, with even more bugs. The content development for this game is all about workarounds, compromises, resignation (isn't possible in game, can't be perfect becaus of bugs).

    Also the developers won't fix the smaller problems, even if it would take 5 min to fix, just send back the automatic template message "your comments are passed to our development team", but nothing will happen. I know, i've sent a batch of bug reports with possible solutions in 2010 march (and sent these again and again in every half year since that), but none of these have fixed.
    Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    1
    Changes name annually but no significant improvement since 2012.
    - Extremely lackluster realism level.
    - Barely any content out of the box.
    Nearly unplayable without DLC.
    - Small, buggy portions of DLC cost more than full featured games.
    - Can't change loco skin/livery. Each livery requires full price re-purchase of loco DLC.
    - Doesn't simulate collisions/derailments.
    - Have to re-adjust camera angle every time you switch between front/back of train.
    - All achievements were wiped out, now only attainable with DLC.
    - Company has a poor track record of fixing bugs.
    - Company covers up legit reviews deleted entire steam forum to hide bad reviews.
    - Company flags negative steam reviews as abusive/off-topic.
    Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2014
    1
    I don't know what's more disappointing about this simulator, the total price for all it's DLC's or the incredible amount of bugs. You may think, why don't you just pay for the DLC's you know you will play. Well, for some, they want to see what the game has to offer with everything added and want to see how much fun it would be, wouldn't you do the same?

    I got this simulator cause I like trains, who doesn't? I got this simulator because I thought i would have a ton of fun, kinda like how I did with TS 2013 but it wasn't.

    certain game engines can only handle so many DLC's at once so do you think paying the devs 3 thousand dollars will worth the trouble in just finding out that you can't add no more than say 10 DLC's into the game at once.

    If anyone pays for the entire game (with all DLC's) at regular price, just to find out that adding more than 10 DLC's at once will only crash the game, they must be insane.
    Expand
  7. Sep 15, 2014
    0
    First of all if you search a real Simulator, you are complettle wrong with this game, its only a dumped down arcade game for kiddies and mid 40 guys who think the can drive trains....
    The only + are probably the graphics but even they are very poor at some parts(NY-NH partly only 1 fps).
    The feeling of driving a train dosent exist. Its like driving a car even heavy us freights. They wasnt even able to find out the correct weight of freight cars and some engines. Also have the SD40-2 more power than Gevo´s seriously a 3500 HP engine can pull more than a 4400 HS engine...RSC/DTG are you joking....
    Fixing of bugs is also no intention of RSC/DTG. In new dlc are sometimes some things fixed but you can say for every fixed one you get 2 new bugs.
    Expand

See all 31 User Reviews