Train Simulator 2014 PC

Train Simulator 2014 Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Train Simulator 2014 delivers everything you love about trains with the exhilaration of speed, stunning graphics, and a variety of trains, real-world routes and challenging assignments. Whether you love driving trains, creating new routes or just watching the landscape fly by, the choice ofTrain Simulator 2014 delivers everything you love about trains with the exhilaration of speed, stunning graphics, and a variety of trains, real-world routes and challenging assignments. Whether you love driving trains, creating new routes or just watching the landscape fly by, the choice of how you play is yours. This is more than just a game; Train Simulator is a digital hobby. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    Train Simulator 2014 introduces new features and improvements for both beginner and veteran players of the series.
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    80
    Even if it was an absolute perfect train sim title, none of the Train Simulator games are going to appeal to everyone. In fact, they probably still won’t appeal to the majority of gamers. That’s OK though, because these games are meant for the people that love the genre, and it wouldn’t be fair to judge them as something they’re not.
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    70
    Train Simulator 2014 is the best at what it does, and those familiar with the series will find enough here to go back for more. Newcomers, though, will find the price of admission unusually high both in the sheer volume of expensive DLC that the game will try to sell to you at every possible moment, and the investment of time the user needs before they can really begin to appreciate what this software has to offer.
  4. Dec 24, 2013
    63
    The new routes are familiar, and the new features are flimsy. Train Simulator 2104 feels like it’s freewheeling.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    60
    This “game,” if it can really be called that, is a niche one. It will only appeal to a very select few train enthusiasts and so for those folks I’d recommend this as a nice entry into the world of train conducting. For everyone else save yourself some time, money and frustration and just say no.
  6. CD-Action
    Nov 14, 2013
    40
    Train Simulator 2014 is very boring – you spend most of your time looking out for the next semaphore and missing GTA V. [12/2013, p.70]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 31
  2. Negative: 19 out of 31
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Graphics is good,the Only noticable thing they've added is XP,but even it does not work propertly.
    Awesome achievements and cities.Graphic
    Graphics is good,the Only noticable thing they've added is XP,but even it does not work propertly.
    Awesome achievements and cities.Graphic is for good compters max windows 7 good graphic card and monitor.
    Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Just a fantastic rail sim, Its the best that money can buy atm if you like simulation games this is for you, esp if you love trains. Even pplJust a fantastic rail sim, Its the best that money can buy atm if you like simulation games this is for you, esp if you love trains. Even ppl with there own modal trains and routes i.e layouts will simply love this sim, theres a mission system built into it aswell so you will see and feel like you earn your way threw the ranks i give this game 10/10. and if you finish and complete all the tasks and scenarios inc tutorials and fancy somthing diff, a alittle more chalanging or simply want to try new routes or locos, well theres atleast 3000 pounds worth of dlc out there probbly more then atleast, id say 1000 plus hours im sure its an understatment some dlc will set you back 30 pounds but you will get a fair bit for your money, and some will set you back 4.99 again you will get hours of play time. They have lots of offers aswell for e.g atm they have an offer were you get 8 packs including the game alll for just 24.99 and your saving like 100 to 150 pounds bargen if you ask me.plus you can make your own routes and scenarios if and with the workshop includid with this game you can upload your own content or download other users content the game is limitless i hope you all enjoy this sim in the same way i do ive spent atleas 100 pound on this game and im nowere near board. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    When I first bought the game in 2013, I loved the variety and the detail from the start, the game was very simple to play unless you did aWhen I first bought the game in 2013, I loved the variety and the detail from the start, the game was very simple to play unless you did a hard scenario. As I drove in several DLC trains I noticed the attention to detail, from the cab rocking around to shadows moving inside it. The sounds were also great and perfectly matched everything you did. Another great game feature was the editor. I looked at some YouTube tutorials and soon knew how to use it. With it you could create and share scenarios (missions) and create custom routes with objects from others. The one problem I noticed in the game that existed in 2013 and still does in 2014 is the lack of content used. There is a huge amount and variety of DLC available from routes to locomotives, and all for a reasonable price. Yet none of the DLC mixed and matched and some parts of the DLC wasn't even used in game scenarios! In order to mix and use unused items you had to go into the editor section and create a free roam scenario, taking 3-10 minutes.

    Though it did lag on my old computer I got a lot of enjoyment out of it until one day when I went to start the game it said: ERROR: missing executable. This confused me so I went into the game files and launched the installers in repair mode. When that didn't work I removed the game from my computer and re-installed it. That didn't work so I just gave up and hoped it would work on my other computer. I am yet to see if it does.
    Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2014
    2
    TS-2014 is a Dog, slow to load ,Frame rate lousy ;I'm taking mine back for a refund.1 out of 10.!!!!!!!! what more an I say about the Sim . ItTS-2014 is a Dog, slow to load ,Frame rate lousy ;I'm taking mine back for a refund.1 out of 10.!!!!!!!! what more an I say about the Sim . It **** stinks - the clowns at steam should give the game away, they have no **** Idea !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2013
    1
    Ok so i admit i am a secret Train fan, so this simulator is is something i was interested in. I Bought the original Railworks way back inOk so i admit i am a secret Train fan, so this simulator is is something i was interested in. I Bought the original Railworks way back in time, so have gone through the motions of Steam Updating the game every year. This money making game is far from perfect, the game is prone to bugs and random crashes. Customer support from Railsimulator and third party developers is non existant. The new features to add your own created content is advised against, as i have seen and heard reports that third party developers will try and threaten you with legal action if your creation in any way resembles there product.

    The Community is probably the worst i have come across for any game i have been involved with. Say something critical and expect a backlash from the community threatening you and anyone else they can find who know you. I gave the game a 1 rating because it has so much potential if the developers drop the greed attitude and focused on customers. But at the moment i would suggest to stay well clear of this game, not only because of the high DLC price but also due to the attitude of the community.

    To give you some idea of how greedy this game has become, the main modding website that promotes freeware is subscription based!. And everyone from the age of 12 expects to be paid for there work.
    Expand
  6. Sep 15, 2014
    0
    First of all if you search a real Simulator, you are complettle wrong with this game, its only a dumped down arcade game for kiddies and midFirst of all if you search a real Simulator, you are complettle wrong with this game, its only a dumped down arcade game for kiddies and mid 40 guys who think the can drive trains....
    The only + are probably the graphics but even they are very poor at some parts(NY-NH partly only 1 fps).
    The feeling of driving a train dosent exist. Its like driving a car even heavy us freights. They wasnt even able to find out the correct weight of freight cars and some engines. Also have the SD40-2 more power than Gevo´s seriously a 3500 HP engine can pull more than a 4400 HS engine...RSC/DTG are you joking....
    Fixing of bugs is also no intention of RSC/DTG. In new dlc are sometimes some things fixed but you can say for every fixed one you get 2 new bugs.
    Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2014
    0
    With the current bugs, total disregard to the community, addons that were bought but disappeared, addons that never got updated, but insteadWith the current bugs, total disregard to the community, addons that were bought but disappeared, addons that never got updated, but instead they released a new version or separated older bundles to increase the price.

    In short, until they sort out the mile long bug list, I will not recommend this game.
    -- MY RATING: 4/10

    There are so many issues that I find it a daunting task just to list them; Maybe in the near future when I have the patience, but here are some of the big problems.

    -This lacks the basic simulation characteristics.
    - addons now are half-made and lack even basic features. With glaring exception of third party made addons, anything made by RSc(Dovetail now) is a waste of money.
    - Not even the LCD's from modern trains can display more information beyond the extremely basic.
    - They still refuse to use the Workshop at its full potential(before it was scenarios only, now they allow routes, but nothing beyond that... ).
    - It has no joystick support,
    - No TrackIr support and they see no need to add TrackIr support either(they believe it is expensive and no one uses it, but a fan hex-modded it in the game).
    - The sounds are ATROCIOUS!
    - Track sound, train sound, everything related to sound is bad.
    - The AI is terrible
    - You have to work hard in the editor just to get your scenario to function, this is due to bad AI and pathing issues.
    - Bugs, Bugs, Bugs and never ending Bugs galore that are never, ever, ever, never, ever fixed. When a miracle happens and hell freezes over, the bug fix they release is sometimes worse than the bug itself.
    - The content now doesn't even include scenarios, or if it does, it has them on bare-bones(Their excuse? Get them from Worshop)
    - Exceptionally BAD support.
    - Physics are bad, wheel sleep or even train weight feels weird.
    - Is it freezing outside? Raining? Baking hot? No difference on the train whatsoever! Overheating engine? Never happens!

    To make matters worse, they actively delete negative threads of the steam forum, they censor anything related to bugs or problems with the game, and they are even attacking negative reviews of steam by flagging it as "Off-Topic".

    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME
    I gave it a 4/10 because it used to be ok a couple of years ago and I'm honoring that, otherwise it is a 2/10
    Expand

See all 31 User Reviews