Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    90
    Despite the lack of co-op Fall of Cybertron is a huge improvement on its predecessor, offering plenty of entertainment for the non-fan and out-and-out geekgasms for the Transformers acolyte.
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    90
    Offers one of the best single player campaigns we've seen in years. Entertaining, different, intense, spectacular and with really memorable moments. It sticks to the original series, something fans will definitely love. It offers everything Transformers fans have always asked for. Its multiplayer modes won't be consider revolutionary, but it is a must-have, above all if you're a fan of the series.
  3. 87
    Transformers: Fall of Cybertron oozes quality, in every aspect, easily surpassing its predecessor (which was a mediocre game in any case) and is definitely counted among the best third person shooters of the year. [October 2012]
  4. Sep 19, 2012
    85
    The newest game about Transformers is a worthy successor to War for Cybertron. The same dynamic gameplay is now enriched with new elements, that make Fall of Cybertron an even more enjoyable game. It has a big, engrossing campaign, a beautiful Cybertron and a cool multiplayer mode (that you'll invest many hours in). High Moon Studios' game is something great not only for the fans of giant robots. If you want fast and playable action - you'll find it here.
  5. Aug 27, 2012
    85
    After the brand hit rock bottom last year with Dark of the Moon, Fall of Cybertron rises like phoenix from the ashes. The game provides a great campaign and an encouraging multiplayer mode. That's the way licensed games should be done!
  6. Aug 27, 2012
    82
    Transformers: Fall of Cybertron is the ultimate Transformers game fans were waiting for. It is not lacking issues, such as a mediocre texturing work and a somewhat lackluster multiplayer mode, but it is an excellent shooter as a whole.
  7. Sep 23, 2012
    80
    By its impressive setting, missions great variability and a perfect screenplay, dignity has been restored to the Transformers' game series. This is a great mound scrap iron performance that is going to make every Transformers fan happy.
  8. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. Aug 24, 2012
    80
    It's exactly what meets the eye - which is to say a good-hearted festival of a game about talking robots shooting and smashing each other, shouting itself raw-throated in joy at the toys it gets to play with, but no more than that.
  10. 70
    Breathtaking action is better to watch than to play – great visuals and thick atmosphere on one hand dull story, corridors and short lifespan on the other – we've expected a bit more. [Nov 2012]
  11. Sep 7, 2012
    70
    It may be in competition with its predecessor but the disappointing world of Transformers video games has a new top dog. Perhaps not the crowning achievement but a steady improvement that will hopefully continue with any future instalments.
  12. Aug 27, 2012
    70
    The thing that really annoys me about this port is the controls. It's absolutely ridiculous that we can't customize the keys at all beyond cycling through the preset options and inverting the mouse. Other than that, Activision has done a respectable, though not exceptional job here.
  13. Aug 23, 2012
    70
    Transformers: Fall of Cybertron offers some entertaining action, lots of explosions, and few surprises.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    The Best transformers game now after War for cybertron being the best before! Great Multiplayer and customization options. Escalation mode is improved and provided with other tactical options! Campaign takes 10 hours on normal so the single player itself is worth it. This game is a must for G1 Transformers fans and will keep you playing for months! Full Review »
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    9
    High Moon has done it again.
    Big fan of the G1-Michael Bay mixed style for the transformers, and the atmosphere right off the bat is quite
    chilling. Within the first 10 minutes you can feel the desperation for survival from the Autobots' perspective.
    There's always something to do; if you can get what you want to work. With that said, I am perfectly fine with the few glitches in the interface, or lack of VOIP, text, etc. in Multiplayer matches. To me, that was to be expected.
    We all have to remember that at one time, the PC community was not going to receive this game, and for that I am extremely grateful to be able to play it with a mouse and keyboard. Story is good, Multiplayer is better, and all my favorite transformers are in this installment. 9/10.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    4
    This game has the potential to be great. I have not completed the game, so I cannot comment on story besides the fact that the first few missions are awesome. I had a tear in my eye, so High Moon did well there.

    The multiplayer is fantastic, not quite as in depth as the first one, but just feels tighter altogether.
    BUT

    The multiplayer never works. I am plagued with negative countdown timers (the matches never start) and a barebones community. WHEN I get into a match, it is some of the best multiplayer action I have experienced in a long time.

    Other features that are missing from this obvious console port are communications. There are no chat lobbies, dedicated servers, VOIP (voice chat), or any other means of communications at all. This game REQUIRES being able to speak to each other. Private matches are there, which is nice, but there is no real way to play ranked 5v5's or 4v4's with your friends (premade). In order to play with your friends you have to play against them. I don't like that. I like being able to play a game where I can rely on teammates and have strategy.

    One of the biggest things that bugs me is the general clunkiness of the menus. Everytime I have to duck a lobby, because it isn't launching, I have to communicate with Teletraan I or whatever. I'm sorry. This needs to be done at the end of a match. Even then, it should prevent you from doing anything. It should run in the background.

    TL;DR This game has some serious matchmaking issues. The story seems cool so far. I am requesting a refund from Steam because half of the game doesn't work. Hence 4/10.
    Full Review »