Transformers: Fall of Cybertron Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This follow-up to 2010's War for Cybertron depicts the final hours of the civil war that led the Autobots and Decepticons to abandon their home planet.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    90
    Despite the lack of co-op Fall of Cybertron is a huge improvement on its predecessor, offering plenty of entertainment for the non-fan and out-and-out geekgasms for the Transformers acolyte.
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    90
    Offers one of the best single player campaigns we've seen in years. Entertaining, different, intense, spectacular and with really memorable moments. It sticks to the original series, something fans will definitely love. It offers everything Transformers fans have always asked for. Its multiplayer modes won't be consider revolutionary, but it is a must-have, above all if you're a fan of the series.
  3. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 6, 2013
    87
    Transformers: Fall of Cybertron oozes quality, in every aspect, easily surpassing its predecessor (which was a mediocre game in any case) and is definitely counted among the best third person shooters of the year. [October 2012]
  4. Aug 24, 2012
    80
    It's exactly what meets the eye - which is to say a good-hearted festival of a game about talking robots shooting and smashing each other, shouting itself raw-throated in joy at the toys it gets to play with, but no more than that.
  5. Sep 23, 2012
    80
    By its impressive setting, missions great variability and a perfect screenplay, dignity has been restored to the Transformers' game series. This is a great mound scrap iron performance that is going to make every Transformers fan happy.
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Aug 23, 2012
    70
    Transformers: Fall of Cybertron offers some entertaining action, lots of explosions, and few surprises.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    great game, a great game for a break from all the other games, excellent music and design,  probably the best game of the Transformers, agreat game, a great game for a break from all the other games, excellent music and design,  probably the best game of the Transformers, a pleasure delivered 10/10 Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    Even better then the last transformer game (War for Cybertron) - which was a solid game. It has a better visual polish (the lighting effectsEven better then the last transformer game (War for Cybertron) - which was a solid game. It has a better visual polish (the lighting effects are more realistic), while gameplay remains much the same. Tons of references to the G1 mythos. Voice acting has improved over the last. The only downside is they still don't allow the mouse/keyboard controls to be remapped. I suggest using Autohotkey (it's free) to do it manually. Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    The Best transformers game now after War for cybertron being the best before! Great Multiplayer and customization options. Escalation mode isThe Best transformers game now after War for cybertron being the best before! Great Multiplayer and customization options. Escalation mode is improved and provided with other tactical options! Campaign takes 10 hours on normal so the single player itself is worth it. This game is a must for G1 Transformers fans and will keep you playing for months! Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    this game is the most fun ive had all year, and its not even close. it does NOT have the depth of an rpg, its just a great, fast paced shooterthis game is the most fun ive had all year, and its not even close. it does NOT have the depth of an rpg, its just a great, fast paced shooter on an EPIC scale. A scale bigger than god of war 3. graphics are great, audio is great, and the controls with m/k are tight. if youre not a fan of transformers, download the demo, this game might change you. if you are a fan, GO GET THIS RIGHT NOW. you will get goosebumps every 10 seconds of the story. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2012
    8
    Old classics in a new wrapper. Bought at once, without hesitation. The game is easy, but at the same time is difficult, not much swearingOld classics in a new wrapper. Bought at once, without hesitation. The game is easy, but at the same time is difficult, not much swearing translated by google translate Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2015
    8
    great game, a great game for a break from all the other games, excellent music and design, probably the best game of the Transformers, agreat game, a great game for a break from all the other games, excellent music and design, probably the best game of the Transformers, a pleasure delivered Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2012
    4
    This game has the potential to be great. I have not completed the game, so I cannot comment on story besides the fact that the first fewThis game has the potential to be great. I have not completed the game, so I cannot comment on story besides the fact that the first few missions are awesome. I had a tear in my eye, so High Moon did well there.

    The multiplayer is fantastic, not quite as in depth as the first one, but just feels tighter altogether.
    BUT

    The multiplayer never works. I am plagued with negative countdown timers (the matches never start) and a barebones community. WHEN I get into a match, it is some of the best multiplayer action I have experienced in a long time.

    Other features that are missing from this obvious console port are communications. There are no chat lobbies, dedicated servers, VOIP (voice chat), or any other means of communications at all. This game REQUIRES being able to speak to each other. Private matches are there, which is nice, but there is no real way to play ranked 5v5's or 4v4's with your friends (premade). In order to play with your friends you have to play against them. I don't like that. I like being able to play a game where I can rely on teammates and have strategy.

    One of the biggest things that bugs me is the general clunkiness of the menus. Everytime I have to duck a lobby, because it isn't launching, I have to communicate with Teletraan I or whatever. I'm sorry. This needs to be done at the end of a match. Even then, it should prevent you from doing anything. It should run in the background.

    TL;DR This game has some serious matchmaking issues. The story seems cool so far. I am requesting a refund from Steam because half of the game doesn't work. Hence 4/10.
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews