User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 110
  2. Negative: 11 out of 110

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    8
    If you in any way like Transformers or action shooters then this game is sensational. Yes it is locked at 30 fps but it is both fast paced and smooth. It also feels very much like a console game but that just means you can get into straight away rather than gradually realising how good it is. In feel it is similar to Gears of War although not quite as polished. There is no snap to cover like there is in Gears of War, instead you simply hide behind rubble or bits of debris. On the other hand Marcus Fenix cannot cannot transform into a car nor fly about and I always thought the vehicle levels in Gears were a bit of an afterthought and didn't really add much to the game. Conversely transorming is an integral tactical option when playing War for Cybertron and great fun too. The game itself i reasonably long with 10 levels each taking about an hour. The game is full of nice touches like the affore mentioned tranformations, the voice of Optimus Prime and various references to the 80s cartoons and movie and thankfully it is free of any reference to the live action movies. A special mention for the boss battles which are a lot of fun. They can be agonisingly long but there are much appreciated checkpoints along the way. Overall the game is really good. It does leaving you wanting a bit more, the jet levels in particular are massive fun but there are only two of them. Hopefully it will be a success and they can make another one which addresses this and adds a little more polish. It is by miles the best Transformers game ever made and, credit where it is due, a very good action shooter in its own right. Expand
  2. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    An extremely nostalgic third person shooter with robots. And its not bad either. The firefights are fun, the weapons are easily recognisable after a few plays, and it feels well made. Compared to past Transformers games, I would give it a 10. However, its not THE BEST third person shooter out there so it ultimately gets an 8 from me.
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    8
    Basically a third person shooter dressed up in its Transformers clothing. War For Cybertron won't appeal much to non-Transformers fans but to someone who loves that franchise, it's hell of a lot of fun.
  4. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Best Transformers Game EVER! Fun Bosses, Fun game play, Fun Multi-player. Its not the greatest game of all time but for being a transformers game its great. just basic fun and that is why we play games right? to have fun! unless you play games to become all sad and whatnot in which case you might need help.
  5. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    Transformers: Battle for Cybertron is the Star Wars Battlefront 2 for Transformers. I.E. It's not perfect, but it's probably the best they've got. First off if you're looking at this like I was for a multiplayer alternative to Modern Warfare, you might as well give up now. When I logged on at 11am Alaska time- there were 16 people online- total. There are no servers, you browse via XBOX choose a mission and let us place you in a game style. Single player looks good, but the graphics are outdated and you'll be annoyed to know in the campaign I didn't see a way to keep Optimus Primes melee weapon out. Because it does so much more damage, instead he swings it once and spends half a second putting it away- while you're getting shot. For games overall it's not good, for Transformers games- apparently- it's the best. Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2010
    3
    PC gamers will grimace at the console-style control concepts and ui elements, although by the time they have played it long enough to become frustrated they will have seen all the game has to offer anyway. suggested rating pg13-
  7. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game - there is more to it than meets the eye, everything is fantastic.
    The thought process behind every detail is incredible, can't wait for FOC!!!
  8. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I will start this review by saying that growing up as a child, I never watched Transformers nor knew anything about them. I only got into Transformers like many today because I enjoyed the movies, and so I decided to pick up War for Cybertron and give it a try. After playing through it and seeing everything it had to offer, I can wholeheartedly say that this game made me wish I would have been a Transformers fan all my life. The story telling in this game is absolutely fantastic, and really includes some nostalgic moments such as how Optimus and Bumblebee met during the war. The voice acting is very well done, anchored by none other than Peter Cullen himself as Optimus Prime. Gameplay wise, the game feels incredibly fluid and works well as a third person shooter. The transformations are great, and I really like how High Moon Studios made fighting in both transformer and vehicle mode viable. Multiplayer plays well, but it is unfortunate that not enough people are still online so the only game mode really available is death match. Escalation mode is a nice addition and plays very similar to Call of Duty's zombie mode, but it's anything majorly noteworthy. All in all, not only is this a terrific Transformers game, it is a terrific shooter game all in it's own. Hardcore Transformers fans should not miss this by any means, and even if you are not a Transformers fan (as I wasn't really), it may be time to pick this game up and see what the robots in disguise are truly all about. Expand
  9. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    It is amazing not as much as Transformers Armada with he sand box exploring byt as similar controls and game play style. The multilayer is addictive but sadly ended when the big shot games came out right after it like black ops and halo reach. If it wasn't for those games the multilayer would be full right now but overall the game is amazing and the plot is excellent
  10. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    This game was great as a co-op campaign. We had a little trouble getting connected at first because we used the game through Steam and our co-op IDs had to match our Steam IDs, something it doesn't tell you but that in retrospect should have been obvious I guess :D There was a nice mixture of difficulty and teamwork, although some of the gameplay gets a bit repetitive. My only real complaint was that we finished it far too quickly, I wanted there to be more. The player-versus-player element wasn't bad, wasn't fantastic, but PVP has never been my thing. As co-op players we could protect each other, work together, and generally maximize our fun together, and that's really all I ask for in a game. Expand
  11. Dec 17, 2012
    6
    Overall I had a lot of fun, the missions are very similar to the Gears of War series; so if you liked that type of mission game-play, I would totally recommend Transformers. The graphics are a little dated, but fine. There are about 12 weapons you can use on single player, and they all are different, however I found a few to be completely useless for my game-play type. The big problem with this game: very short. 8 to 10 hours for the total campaign, and the replay ability is very low. I was hoping for a bit more RPG like campaign, but for $5 dollars from steam, I can't complain. Expand
  12. Aug 28, 2012
    6
    This is a fun action shooter, but playing this game is a lot like watching a really long movie. The story is great, and it's fun to see what happens, but absolutely everything is scripted and on rails. After you finish playing through the story (8 to 10 hours), there's not much else to do. The actual combat is not polished enough to make me want to plow through the story mode more than once, and if I'm looking for multiplayer shooting mayhem, several others titles trounce this one for that type of gameplay. Expand
  13. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    What a surprising game !
    While I was expecting a very bad game support or simply using the word "Transformers" to sell, I found a nice game, well thought out, with good playability and an eyeful !
    The best "Transformers" game ever, I give 10/10 rating encourage publishers to get out as good games, but I give him good 8 or 9/10 in reality.
    You can buy with your eyes closed !
  14. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    Excellent singleplayer game. corridor style - but what a corridor! the transforms are fast and done very well. weapons are really good and varied, crates well-placed and not too obvious.

    each mission is physically long and challenging. some of the later ones are very challenging. it's beautiful, too. was playing and checked my graphics and they were set to medium - and it looked
    great. bumped it up to high and it was gorgeous.

    the story is excellent!

    it's on sale on steam right now for 75% off for $7.50, so just get it.
    Expand
  15. Mar 14, 2013
    5
    Picked the game up at a recent Steam sale for $5 and figured I couldn't go wrong with the price. While I can say I've gotten $5 worth out of the game, I would be remiss in pointing out the inherent problems. As others have mentioned, it's really just a typical third person shooter (think Gears of War) with a Transformers wrapping. The great part for aging Transformers fans of the 80's (like myself) is the voice over work and the fact that several of the original actors are back and reprising their roles. At the end of the day, though, it's just a generic third person shooter that plays almost identically to Gears of War with heavily scripted events and linear level design. The PC version is clearly a shoddy console port, with a hard lock of 30 FPS, a poorly designed keyboard and mouse control scheme, and lackluster textures, even with the game set to high. Sure it runs smooth but a modern system would be able to run it smooth without the need to have a hard frame lock (I mean seriously, why even offer a vsync option in graphics options if the game locks itself at half of the typically minimum 60Hz rate anyway?). It's clear the game was designed for controller play, and the PC version supports controller play but has cut out any mention of the controller in either the tutorials or in the settings leaving users mashing buttons or seeking out the user manuals for the console versions online. All told, I don't regret spending $5 on it, but it's an ultimately forgettable experience. Good characters, lackluster story, bad console port, and generic gameplay make for a game doesn't really leave me wanting more and also serves as an example of everything wrong with the way many developers perceive the PC platform. Expand
  16. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    I dove into this game and straight away I was blown away with all the action packed excitement I was thrown into, The game runs very smoothly. The game play is gripping and is surprisingly fun. Unlike some games I can play this casually and dive straight into it without having to try and spend 2-3 hours trying to get into it. The voice acting is superb and The environment looks amazing. Defiantly worth 8/10 Expand
  17. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    Awesome game!
    There are a lot of cutscenes, making it look kind of like a movie, but a damn good one!
    You get to play both sides, 5 missions each, always choosing between 3 different Transformers with different Skills.
    The game is kind of short, but if played on the Apocaliptical difficulty, it makes up for that with the challenge. You can't be too careless or you'll get blown up pretty
    fast.
    The graphics are good and the music matches the scenario.
    There are 4 or 5 different enemies (excluding the bosses), but they are mixed in good measure to make your life harder.
    Really recommend it!
    Expand
  18. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Story: 7 --- You're on Cybertron and you're fighting a war with the upstart renegade Megatron. It's a simple plot, but like the Micheal bay movies, it's fun. --- Graphics: 8 --- It's a console port but it's still pretty damned pretty. There's a lot of detail packed into those textures and the character designs are fantastic. --- Sound: 6 --- It's top notch quality sound but the character comments get old and the background noise can often drown out the conversations between characters. --- Game Design: 8 --- It's a shooter but you can turn into cars and jets and stuff. The levels are well-made but too linear. More importantly, there is variation in the game as you get to play through many different Autobots and Decepticons. The jet levels are my favorite. --- Fun Factor: 10 --- The fun factor is Optim(us)al. Take the most fun action-packed tight-quarter levels from Halo and give me the ability to turn into vehicles and I will give you a 10 9 times out of 10. It's awesome! --- Overall: 8 --- Play this game. Even though I rated it an 8, it's a must buy. Especially considering the low $15 price. Expand
  19. Jan 30, 2013
    4
    BAD: I am very disappointed. This is the first Transformers game I have ever played. I tried single player decepticon campaign to see what is going on, but for me it is boring: grey colors everywhere, the transformation is not spectacular, gameplay is just go kill, go kill, open the next door, kill etc. nothing special. You cannot see opponents vitality. GOOD: Unreal engine, fast.
  20. Jul 9, 2013
    0
    You can not rebind your keys for the PC version. I don't believe it is hard to program in the ability to change keys. I wont even bother trying to play it because of that simple reason alone.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. War for Cybertron is a respectable action game with a generous coating of awesome robots who turn into cars. [Sept 2010, p.92]
  2. A decent Transformers game, at last. [Oct 2010, p.78]
  3. Transformers: War for Cybertron was set to be a great game. However, with the massive amounts of dropped matches and game crashes I experienced in multiplayer, it makes it a difficult game to really rely on and return to regularly.