Transformers: War for Cybertron PC

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 152
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    6
    Overall I had a lot of fun, the missions are very similar to the Gears of War series; so if you liked that type of mission game-play, I would totally recommend Transformers. The graphics are a little dated, but fine. There are about 12 weapons you can use on single player, and they all are different, however I found a few to be completely useless for my game-play type. The big problemOverall I had a lot of fun, the missions are very similar to the Gears of War series; so if you liked that type of mission game-play, I would totally recommend Transformers. The graphics are a little dated, but fine. There are about 12 weapons you can use on single player, and they all are different, however I found a few to be completely useless for my game-play type. The big problem with this game: very short. 8 to 10 hours for the total campaign, and the replay ability is very low. I was hoping for a bit more RPG like campaign, but for $5 dollars from steam, I can't complain. Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    6
    This is a fun action shooter, but playing this game is a lot like watching a really long movie. The story is great, and it's fun to see what happens, but absolutely everything is scripted and on rails. After you finish playing through the story (8 to 10 hours), there's not much else to do. The actual combat is not polished enough to make me want to plow through the story mode more thanThis is a fun action shooter, but playing this game is a lot like watching a really long movie. The story is great, and it's fun to see what happens, but absolutely everything is scripted and on rails. After you finish playing through the story (8 to 10 hours), there's not much else to do. The actual combat is not polished enough to make me want to plow through the story mode more than once, and if I'm looking for multiplayer shooting mayhem, several others titles trounce this one for that type of gameplay. Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2013
    5
    Picked the game up at a recent Steam sale for $5 and figured I couldn't go wrong with the price. While I can say I've gotten $5 worth out of the game, I would be remiss in pointing out the inherent problems. As others have mentioned, it's really just a typical third person shooter (think Gears of War) with a Transformers wrapping. The great part for aging Transformers fans of the 80'sPicked the game up at a recent Steam sale for $5 and figured I couldn't go wrong with the price. While I can say I've gotten $5 worth out of the game, I would be remiss in pointing out the inherent problems. As others have mentioned, it's really just a typical third person shooter (think Gears of War) with a Transformers wrapping. The great part for aging Transformers fans of the 80's (like myself) is the voice over work and the fact that several of the original actors are back and reprising their roles. At the end of the day, though, it's just a generic third person shooter that plays almost identically to Gears of War with heavily scripted events and linear level design. The PC version is clearly a shoddy console port, with a hard lock of 30 FPS, a poorly designed keyboard and mouse control scheme, and lackluster textures, even with the game set to high. Sure it runs smooth but a modern system would be able to run it smooth without the need to have a hard frame lock (I mean seriously, why even offer a vsync option in graphics options if the game locks itself at half of the typically minimum 60Hz rate anyway?). It's clear the game was designed for controller play, and the PC version supports controller play but has cut out any mention of the controller in either the tutorials or in the settings leaving users mashing buttons or seeking out the user manuals for the console versions online. All told, I don't regret spending $5 on it, but it's an ultimately forgettable experience. Good characters, lackluster story, bad console port, and generic gameplay make for a game doesn't really leave me wanting more and also serves as an example of everything wrong with the way many developers perceive the PC platform. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2014
    7
    One of the better Transformer games with a nice Single-player, Co-Op & multiplayer mode let down by its short very longevity all in all Transformers: War for Cybertron is a love letter and Transformers game that the G1 fan have been waiting for.
  5. Jul 6, 2016
    7
    Gameplay : 7
    Graphics : 7
    Story : 6
    Sound : 8
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 7
  6. Jan 21, 2013
    0
    I dove into this game and straight away I was blown away with all the action packed excitement I was thrown into, The game runs very smoothly. The game play is gripping and is surprisingly fun. Unlike some games I can play this casually and dive straight into it without having to try and spend 2-3 hours trying to get into it. The voice acting is superb and The environment looks amazing.I dove into this game and straight away I was blown away with all the action packed excitement I was thrown into, The game runs very smoothly. The game play is gripping and is surprisingly fun. Unlike some games I can play this casually and dive straight into it without having to try and spend 2-3 hours trying to get into it. The voice acting is superb and The environment looks amazing. Defiantly worth 8/10 Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. PC Gamer UK
    78
    War for Cybertron is a respectable action game with a generous coating of awesome robots who turn into cars. [Sept 2010, p.92]
  2. PC Zone UK
    76
    A decent Transformers game, at last. [Oct 2010, p.78]
  3. Transformers: War for Cybertron was set to be a great game. However, with the massive amounts of dropped matches and game crashes I experienced in multiplayer, it makes it a difficult game to really rely on and return to regularly.