User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 55
  2. Negative: 27 out of 55

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    3
    The game's visuals and art style are where the positive experiences of the game ends. The controls are slow and sometimes unresponsive, even when they are responsive the in-game actions are just as slow. Many reviews spoke of bugs but I didn't get the chance to encounter many because a bug on the 2nd tutorial level made progress impossible. After re-trying the tutorial level I've already reached the point of never wanting to run the game again.

    I don't hate this game and appreciate the attempt at changing up the zombie genre with something that is less twitch shooter type of gameplay. Trapped Dead however fails in providing entertaining gameplay. I write this review to hopefully prevent anyone else from being convinced that the game is worth the cost to at least give it a try. As a zombie fan and a fan of tactical gameplay, I urge you to avoid spending time and money on Trapped Dead.
    Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2011
    5
    Well what should I say. This game could have been a very good title if the developers would have taken the time to acctually finish it. Since most games by big publishers enter the market bugy, untested and unfinished i always hope for some new "undergroundtitle"(like Farcry f.e.) by young developer Teams just like Headup Games. . ANYWAYS this Game might as well could be a title published by EA . The game is so broken i dare to say it is unplayable. I mean it has a lot of annoying minor bugs and issues like: The Itemmenu disappears from time to time. When closing the door being warped to the other side of it, broken waypoints(if you send a charakter to a further away location he often just walks against some obstacle or takes the craziest detours) Items getting lost when droped, charakters just wont follow orders(sometimes you have to give 2-3 attack orders until they acctually start doing anything). yet i could live with all those bugs if it wasnt for the major issues that just make the game No-fun-at-all: incredible bad coding( i tried it on my Laptop with a 2.1 Ghz Dualcore processor, 4 Gig Ram and an ATI HD4250 and it was unplayable) The Multiplayer is just broken i tried it over LAN(didnt work at all), Hamachi(did work but the ping and the lags where so bad it was simply unplayable although we BOTH had 32.000 cable, Internet(we could see each other but joining failed after several tries), they Game keeps on crashing in Single and in Multiplayer which is just what kills the fun.Period. If you play almost an hour on a real tough map and just when you are about to get to the saferoom the game crashes and all your progress is lost. And that happens A LOT sometimes at random points and at certain points on some maps(they are simply unplayable the game will crash everytime as soon as some locations are reached). Well i would have loved this title if it wasnt for all that ,avoidable, issues. The idea itself the charakters and the gameplay are fun. Its refreshingly different to all those push button,shoot,you saved the world games and quite challenging. I give it 3 Stars for the great idea. I hope they will get the game fixed anytime soon because this game really could have been a innovative masterpiece Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    This game puts more emphasis on Tactics rather than mindless button mashing "just to kill as many as possible" unlike recent zombies games. 3 zombies at the same time can be a problem, hence, kiting and careful ammo distribution is critical to your survival. All of this coupled with a "Command & Conquer" interface where each of your survivors can be given an order. You can even move the camera to see the horrors that lies ahead and plan carefully.

    The atmosphere and the setting is highly detailed, especially the map props. Any fans of George A. Romero's zombies and movies will feel right at home. Heck, the first 2 playable characters are direct cameos of his movies. It's like a big party and everyone was invited.

    I haven't tried Multiplayer, but thinking about it makes me shiver... Having "mean" players on your side, hoarding all the guns and ammo, talking trash in the chat saying "he's the boss and he doesn't give a f because it's the zombie apocalypse", closing doors leaving you behind with a horde, shooting you to death because you're bleeding and bleeding in this game attracts zombies... stuff like that... :P

    Last note... This game is for hardcore zombie movie/game fanatics only. Only these people may appreciate the great value of this game. That includes me, which is why I'm giving it 10/10.
    Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2012
    2
    very bad control and navigation system. its very hard to play this game and the control make it not fun to play it. the graphics is okey. for the story i didnt continue playing since i was frostrated
  5. Nov 3, 2011
    1
    The concept is great, and the 3D assets look very appealing.

    However there is a general laziness about the actual programming of the game that has made it virtually unplayable. The controls are laggy and sometimes outright unresponsive. The level design is straight forward and not fulfilling. Frankly the game seems to have promise, but falls horribly horribly flat.

    This game is NOT
    worth the money. I highly suggest AGAINST buying it. Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    New on Steam for 8 Euros, the game is worth the money.
    Its not very fast but more tactical, you control a few guys in the style of Party RPGs and battle against several zombies. Leveldesign is ok, story not bad. For a Zombie Fan a nice game for the fun in-between
  7. Jul 18, 2011
    3
    Multiple game breaking bugs (Do not alt + tab!), a rigid interface and multiplayer function thrown in as an afterthought make this game a fraction of the game it could have been. The game is slow to respond as there seems to be a delay between the orders you issue and the game registering these orders, some times not registering at all. Your characters take their time equipping new weapons, seemingly never in a hurry. The only way to have your troops automatically attack is by selecting the enemies you want them to attack with , however, this causes them to rapidly burn through all available ammo as soon as the zombies enter firing range. Your troops will not fight back if they are attacked, often resulting in a chewed up survivor because you weren't looking.The graphics are rather outdated but not in any way bad, the map design is interesting and the zombies sound exactly like 80's (slow-walking!) zombies should, as do the guns which look and feel good. Multiplayer allows you to only replay the missions you have already 'unlocked' in single player. As an avid Left 4 Dead player, I was hoping to complete this game with my friends, never playing single player but alas, that is not (yet) possible... On top of that, you can not see your team mates' inventory, health, stamina or ammo count. To add to the unrealism, dying does not mean dying (In multiplayer); You will simply respawn at a nearby save point. Do not buy for multiplayer as it pales in comparison to modern coop-games. This game can not quite make up its mind about what it wants to be, so it takes a little from everything and combines that. Unfortunately, it takes more bad points than good points and it ends up becoming a frustrating mess at times. Collapse
  8. Sep 29, 2011
    2
    This game is TERRIBLE! I love zombie games but this one is awful. Yes it has zombies, but Trapped Dead also has poor control, bad story, unlikeable characters, and a save system I hate. Project Zomboid (not available on Steam) is exponentially better than this stinking pile of software.
  9. Apr 12, 2012
    2
    I bought this game hoping the reviews were just people who liked newer type games and couldn't handle the slow pace of a strategical game. I bought this game for me and a friend since I don't like playing many games in single player, especially if there is an option for multiple players. I had played a bit of the game before my friend and I played and then we connected and tried playing coop. This was one of the worst experiences I've had in a multiplayer game. In order to play a level coop you MUST first have played that level in single player. You choose your players then you choose your level, you play the level and it's done. There is no level progression with multiplayer. This game was poor planning, poor execution. The only thing they did good on was making it look good so that it would sell. After that they continually drop the ball for every other gaming aspect. This game had potential to be great and I'm sad to say they missed the mark by a long shot. Expand
  10. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    This game have a lot of bad reviews because bugs when it was released, but now days these bugs are no longer. Is not a perfect game, but I like it a lot, simple strategy and the possibility to order character while game is paused.
    Just remember to use attack with left **** pressed to order "auto attack", really useful. Is a good game for people who want a simple stategy / adventure game,
    also it have simple but good plot and level design. Expand
  11. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    A good game that actually keeps you entertained, although it could have been made with improvements. The multiplayer is not all that fun from single player as you would have thought and expected... and I think it's what is lacking the most. And that's coming from a girl that dislikes multiplayer. The graphics are also nice and still enjoyable. People's claims of the game crashing is just because their computers can't handle it... so they put the blame on the game. It's stable, fun and good for those that enjoy on-top view. A very recommended game that is worth the current price. Don't compare or buy because of Left 4 Dead fandom. Out. Expand
  12. May 29, 2012
    8
    I like this game. If your looking for a fast paced action zombie shooter look elseware. This game is a great tactical game like Commandos in a zombie apocalypse type scene except a little slower paced. I found this game to be quite hard, theres little ammo around but if you let the zombies get in close or can kite one away from the group to gun it down it works well (the closer the better, u can do 1 shot kills this way), also melle weapons are a BIG part of this game, like sneaking up on someone from behind or simply hacking them down but you can only do this 1vs1 and it saves ammo for when you need it... when i first started to play this game i thought it sucked, was way to hard, to slow paced, not enough weapons or ammo to kill the hordes (then i realized, ok this game isnt meant to be a run a gun type game). A large part of this is to simply avoid the unecessary groups or run in someplace grab the items or ammo and run out untill the zombies forget about you, or get them 1 on 1 and axe em in the face. After the first few levels you get used to it and understand how the game is meant to be played, some groups or certain monsters you arent really supposed to kill unless you want to waste all your precious ammo (like the big guys with the cleavers) and its best to kite them into a room run out and close the door... get past the first lets say 4 levels and youll enjoy what this game is about, just give it a chance. The graphics are good i thought, it has alot of detail, the voiceovers are terrible, but whatever, the story is weak but i didnt expect a good one, theres not any music really so *shrug* anyways, give it a chance, get used to the game and youll think its good :) i give it an 8 because after i got used to the way its supposed to be played i had alot of fun. Expand
  13. Nov 26, 2011
    6
    There's a lot to be liked about this game. The atmosphere is right for a zombie apocalypse setting and the controls actually work well, once you remap them to something that works for you. Where the game loses appeal for me is in the micromanagement of each of the characters. Your characters (1-4, depending on the stage of the game) just stand there like Happy Meals on legs, as Spike would put it, unless you actively manage all of their actions. You can (and should) pause the time to plot out their individual actions and not try to handle them all at once, but this gets tedious. Adding some character AI to let you manage as many or as few of them as you want would have gone a long way toward making this a pretty awesome game. Even just basic behaviors like "follow this other character", "if you see a zombie, run away from it" or "if you have a weapon, use it" would have made a world of difference. Most tactical games have some degree of autonomy for the units, even when micromanagement is the goal. But if you don't mind having to micromanage the 4 characters... ALL THE TIME, the game is quite fun and during its good moments, kind of feels like an isometric version of Left 4 Dead, which is not at all a bad thing. Hear that, Steam? An isometric version of Left 4 Dead would be awesome! Just saying. :-) Expand
  14. Apr 11, 2012
    0
    Dont wast your money on this one people, the game doesn't even start up, that just cant be a good sign. And from what i can read about other reviews its full of bugs. Dont support the lazy and crappy developer. Enough said.
  15. May 26, 2012
    1
    I keep seeing people comparing this game to solid titles such as Fallout and X-Com and it's a little unsettling to say the least. Someone even tried to compare it to Neverwinter Nights 2 - I don't know what game they were playing, but it sure as hell wasn't this pile of slag. Fallout was a fantastic strategy role playing game, that had solid character progression, open ended questing and game-play and wonderful environments. X-Com UFO Defense was a solid strategy, simulation with a dash of role playing elements tossed in. I really enjoyed how soldiers you recruited could have different characteristics. You've got none of this with Trapped Dead besides the actual view point of the game. There is no kind of character progression to speak of, so there isn't any real reason not to just run around tables and avoid combat altogether unless the game forces you to.

    There aren't any "quests"; more like chapters, which is a real shame, because the game could have done it just fine. Even side quests like when your friend asked you to pick up a more beer were completely ignored.

    The game environments are bland and lacking, sure it's a zombie ridden apocalypse but that's the end of it. Everything you ever need to find is just laying on the ground with a green aura around it, there's no sense of scavenging whatsoever, why can't I go through drawers, filing cabinets and search bodies?

    Where exactly does the strategy come into play besides running away, attacking and using the occasional in game trap? For a game like this, a straight up action shooter would have been more suited then a slow, clunky attempt at some sort of crippled action strategy.

    I am glad I got this game for only a few dollars, otherwise I would have been really upset I wasted money on such an awful title. The developers had a really good idea and instead just got really lazy with it.
    Expand
  16. Jul 22, 2011
    5
    The nicest review on here was from ImpulseGamer who siad: Trapped Dead is well worth it for the retro zombie fans out there; but I can't help but feel that's a real niche market you're going for there. And I mean Niche! Maybe that's why no-one decided to actually give the game any attention that it desperately needed.
    Anyway, I usually should listen to reviewers but I don't anymore
    considering that they gave Homefront a 7, and that was the biggest load a w*nk since - well read my homefront review, but hey I can't help but feel they're right - or rather, that if the game recieved time then it would have been pretty good. Dead good in fact (pauses for laughs), but the thing refuses to play feeling like it knows it will disappoint you when you play it and tries to hide it's shame, the AI were clearly exposed to a leaking gas main as they're as stupid as....well, If I had a pound for every time someone called me stupid, I'd have £2.50. That stupid. But no the main issue that niggles at me is the fact it ISN'T ANY FUN! So - if they'd tweaked it, then it could have been good - but as it stands this isn't worth the RAM it consumes - that isn't meant to be a joke, the game eats RAM like a hungry hungry hippo - I have a powerful gaming laptop built from the proud people of PC Specialists...which can max Crysis out easily, and yet this game stutters....Explain that to me, Headup?? Expand
  17. Aug 19, 2013
    0
    its like one of the worst games i ever played. not sure if the developers even tried to play it after programming, guess they just wanted to make some quick and easy cash. nothing more to say.
  18. Aug 24, 2012
    6
    I was very excited about this game, but once i tried it, i felt that something was missing. It could have more strategy and less clicking. Unfortunately it doesnt, and that ruins it for me.
  19. Aug 7, 2013
    2
    If you want a playable game, avoid it at all costs.
    This game is Published by one of the worst Publishers around, named Headup Games.
    Headup games has delivered different titles who are all underrated by their costumers.
    This game brings that back again, The controls are horrible, the save system is strange and feels bad.
    Also the voiceacting is nothing special.
  20. AWG
    Aug 14, 2013
    4
    Trapped Dead starts from an interesting concept but a set of terrible, terrible, terrible controls and visuals nip it in the bud. Almost unplayable.
  21. Jun 14, 2014
    3
    Trapped Dead is a game that initially seems like it has potential, but playing it ultimately feels like work. Something about it reminds me of Fallout Tactics.
  22. Sep 7, 2014
    7
    This plays out like George A. Romero's / The Walking Dead traditional style of a zombie outbreak and thank the stars they still make those type of zombie games for time to time. This is not an adrenaline fueled pumped up action shooter it is tactical survival experience. Not a bad effort for a low budget indie game.Reading the reviews I think a lot of reviewers bought this for the wrong reason thinking it just another gung ho head shooting zombie fest. Expand
  23. Jul 18, 2011
    0
    Multiple game breaking bugs (Do not alt + tab!), a rigid interface and multiplayer function thrown in as an afterthought make this game a fraction of the game it could have been. The game is slow to respond as there seems to be a delay between the orders you issue and the game registering these orders, some times not registering at all. Your characters take their time equipping new weapons, seemingly never in a hurry. The only way to have your troops automatically attack is by selecting the enemies you want them to attack with , however, this causes them to rapidly burn through all available ammo as soon as the zombies enter firing range. Your troops will not fight back if they are attacked, often resulting in a chewed up survivor because you weren't looking.The graphics are rather outdated but not in any way bad, the map design is interesting and the zombies sound exactly like 80's (slow-walking!) zombies should, as do the guns which look and feel good. Multiplayer allows you to only replay the missions you have already 'unlocked' in single player. As an avid Left 4 Dead player, I was hoping to complete this game with my friends, never playing single player but alas, that is not (yet) possible... On top of that, you can not see your team mates' inventory, health, stamina or ammo count. To add to the unrealism, dying does not mean dying (In multiplayer); You will simply respawn at a nearby save point. Do not buy for multiplayer as it pales in comparison to modern coop-games. This game can not quite make up its mind about what it wants to be, so it takes a little from everything and combines that. Unfortunately, it takes more bad points than good points and it ends up becoming a frustrating mess at times. Collapse
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    74
    Trapped Dead has a nice idea but degenerates to a simplistic RTS. [Sept 2011]
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    60
    Earns points for originality, but with better pacing and a heftier casting budget, it could have been a much better zombie game contender. [Nov 2011, p.79]
  3. Aug 17, 2011
    20
    Returning to the horror genre's roots might be a good idea, but Trapped Dead doesn't offer convincing evidence of the idea's merits. It fumbles at every step except -- with the possible exception of mimicking comic books in its menus and cutscenes.