Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 563 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tribes: Ascend is a new generation of the online multiplayer shooter, incorporating classic Tribes elements such as fast-paced jetpack enabled combat, skiing, and vehicles, combined with teamwork and strategy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Apr 18, 2012
    100
    Tribes: Ascend is the most pure representation of the Tribes experience since Tribes 2 perfected it back in 2001. Almost every single part of the experience has been tweaked and improved, classes reborn and expanded, maps detailed and sprawling. You can ski like a master within minutes, but perfecting your routes, jumps and jetpack tactics are still the aim of the game.
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    90
    Even with its relatively minor flaws, anyone with even a cursory interest in Tribes: Ascend should play it. No other shooter conveys the same sense of speed – or the rush of pleasure that comes from nailing someone at over 100 KPH – as Tribes.
  3. May 30, 2012
    90
    A few tweaks and concessions aren't enough to stall this brilliant revival of the fastest multiplayer shooter on PC. [June 2012, p.50]
  4. Apr 12, 2012
    85
    Tribes: Ascend is an old-school skill-based FPS with a modern engine and an interesting class system. Graphics are good, fun is concrete, kills are gorgeous and there is still room for many improvements.
  5. May 10, 2012
    85
    Insane speed and vertical combat make Tribes: Ascend extremely enjoyable and rewarding. And it's free, so it's a sin not to give it a chance. [June 2012, p.78]
  6. Apr 18, 2012
    85
    Tribes Ascend is a surprising first-person shooter. An excellent resurrection of a classic with excellent Free-2-Play implementation.
  7. 70
    Arcade online shooter surprises with fresh and fast paced playability and is a very good alternative to paid services with its free-to-play model. [Issue#220]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 186
  1. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Awesome game! Best free to player shooter I have ever played. Graphics are beautiful, and the gameplay is mind bendingly fast, furious and fun. Just remember: You gotta go fast!! Expand
  2. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    Its a fun game. Many complain about the free to play mechanic, but unlike many others, you dont HAVE to buy ingame purchases to be good at it, you can unlock everything by simply PLAYING THE GAME ITSELF. If you do want to buy anything, its the Steam Starter Pack. It gives you everything you need to well, begin, and even if you didnt buy this, there are promotions to get you gold for free. I myself did buy the Starter Pack on sale and it did give me a good start, but in all reality if i played for about a week i could have gotten all of the items in the pack, besides the gold of course. It is high in quality, even though the only problem i may have is there should be just a tiny bit more terrain details, very few maps have endless hills, but id rather have that than flatlands. If you think a weapon is going to come out you want? Save up XP! Dont bother listening to those who hate because of the F2P mechanic, ignore that and have fun. Expand
  3. May 4, 2012
    10
    Undoubtly the best f2p shooter on pc! Fast speed, highly competitive. You should have a try if u are a fps fans.
    Although some weapons and
    abilities require tons of exp or bucks if u want, but IMO, pay about twenty bucks for such a awesome game is ok for me. GOGOGO! Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    The first FREE game to deserve Game of The Year! or at least FPS of the year. Tribes: Ascend blew me away with the graphics and the fast, fun combat. At first it is hard to ski around and hit people but really fun once you get used to it. Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    This is how FPS's should be like. Tribes is pure run and gun, even more exciting then Unreal Tournament. You don't get cover, you don't get realism, but you get fun. Tons of it. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2012
    8
    Really fantastic team based FPS, personally have only problems with very long load times (it appears like game is just not responding), but it did not prevent me from enjoying the game. My only problem is the F2P model that developers use, weapons and upgrades are so expensive (either Gold or EXP) that spending 60$ on game will probably give you just about the half of content now. This is really disappointing. Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2014
    0
    The worst Tribes game, and ultimately the death of the Tribes series. Ruined by free to play and other nonsense. Class unlocks?! Rifles/smgs/pistols?! They have no place in a Tribes game.

    R.I.P. Tribes, you'll be missed!
    Expand

See all 186 User Reviews