User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 558 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 558

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    Amazing graphics, perfect controls, improved physics puzzles and finally online co-op multiplayer. It is even better then the first Trine which was excellent. I miss inventory from original a little. This little cutie and good developer support is really worth more then release price.
  2. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    The game is breathtaking. The visuals are amazing, the original game was pretty, but Frozenbyte took it to another level in the sequel. Not to mention Ari Pulkkinen worked some magic on the soundtrack, the lighthearted high fantasy inspired tunes do a great job setting the mood, and just being great to listen to. The voice work is quirky and well done, and the co-op is an extremely welcomeThe game is breathtaking. The visuals are amazing, the original game was pretty, but Frozenbyte took it to another level in the sequel. Not to mention Ari Pulkkinen worked some magic on the soundtrack, the lighthearted high fantasy inspired tunes do a great job setting the mood, and just being great to listen to. The voice work is quirky and well done, and the co-op is an extremely welcome feature that allows you and your buddies to either chew threw the game, or screw off. An absolutely amazing experience, an improvement in every way over Trine, which was a pretty damn good game to begin with. Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    Gorgeous. Drop-dead gorgeous in 3D. Not just the graphics but the overall art design and aesthetic is sharper, more colorful, organic, and fluid this time around. Amazing job there.

    The core gameplay is still intact, of course, which can only be a good thing. Added online co-op, which is clutch, and the ability to save the game mid-level, which is crucial in my book. Really, the game
    Gorgeous. Drop-dead gorgeous in 3D. Not just the graphics but the overall art design and aesthetic is sharper, more colorful, organic, and fluid this time around. Amazing job there.

    The core gameplay is still intact, of course, which can only be a good thing. Added online co-op, which is clutch, and the ability to save the game mid-level, which is crucial in my book.

    Really, the game does nothing wrong.

    Only niggling issue (for now) is that if you play in Eyefinity/Surround, the Thief's arrow doesn't quite line up correctly with the indicated arrow.
    Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    I really can't find a single thing in this game that could possibly detract from its quality. It improves every aspect of the first game by a long shot. I thought it was going to be mostly like the original but there's just a lot more depth to it, and it looks so much better now. The original looks great too, but this...it's incredible how a solid art style can make a game look soI really can't find a single thing in this game that could possibly detract from its quality. It improves every aspect of the first game by a long shot. I thought it was going to be mostly like the original but there's just a lot more depth to it, and it looks so much better now. The original looks great too, but this...it's incredible how a solid art style can make a game look so beautiful. On top of the visuals, growing plants using a dynamic stream of water never gets old (and there's so much more to the puzzles than that). It's just so involving and intuitive while being simple. The narrative isn't overdone and it's intriguing despite it being almost like a children's book. The banter amongst the heroes keeps you interested in the actual story while you play, just like in the original Trine. A game like this doesn't come around often in my opinion, especially for only 15 USD. That's an amazing price for an amazing game. Lastly, the game runs BEAUTIFULLY smooth. I have everything set to the highest setting at 1080p resolution with some anti-aliasing and I get super smooth frame rates on my outdated computer (GTS 250, Core2Duo E6400, 3gb DDR2 RAM). This game doesn't need a lot of AA to make edges look nice either. It just looks so amazing yet it runs so perfectly. I really have to give my respect to Frozenbyte, they've outdone themselves yet again. Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    Picked it up on steam for $15 pretty much a steal! Endless fun its definitly worth every dollar, or shoudl i say all 15 of it ;) 10/10 recommended for everyone
  6. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game makes your jaw drop in awe as soon as the playable title screen appears, and won't let you close it until the very end. While many games have level variety, switching from city to jungle to ice plains to deserts, only few of them have in-level variety of the magnitude Trine 2 has: Here, you may start at the outskirts of a forest, and without a level load, progress into dark spider-infested caves; or you begin at a sunlit beach and before the level is over, there's a thunderstorm with massive waves, from which you seek shelter in a ruined castle.

    Seldom do I use the word beautiful, but it's impossible to express the visuals of Trine 2 with any other word. Trine 2 basically defines a new category of visuals, all for itself. While some games are stylized, and other games are realistic, Trine 2 is beautiful. Colors are so saturated that anything more would be "too much"; depth of the maps is astonishing -- while you focus on what's happening at the front, the background is alive and oftentimes, others in the room will exclaim something like "Look! Back there! Do you see it! Wow!"

    As great as the graphics are also the sounds and music. Normally, the music is slower and gentle, but as soon as enemies appear, it quickly changes into a battle mode music, which lasts until the last enemy is slain. Superb are the voice-overs; the heroes are dubbed with great care, while the voices of goblins and other monsters deliver both threat and humor ("Do you think we'll have to fight them?" asks a goblin...)

    The game controls are very intuitive thanks to the combination of mouse aiming and keyboard movement.

    But the core of every game is its gameplay, and so, the rest of this review will be about how it plays.

    Trine 2 plays great and is entertaining from start to finish. Developers are offering well-paced and balanced mix of 3 elements: Exploration, Combat, and Puzzles. The separation of battles by traveling and puzzles makes sure that you will not be battle-fatigued, and also allows the game to regularly catch you off-guard (my wife at least tends to be ambushed almost every single time, as she forgots to switch to the Knight when moving forward). The exploration aspect is, in a way, similar to Half-Life 2, where quite often, you have several paths opening before you, but if you select "the wrong one", you will quickly come to its end, perhaps finding a treasure, and so there's not much backtracking. Plus, it seems that optional sections are intentionally significantly harder, thus signalling "You don't have to go here if you don't feel like it". It makes the rewards at the end ever more rewarding.

    Combat has been improved by orders of magnitude from Trine 1 by 3 things:
    1. The main fighting force of the enemy, green goblins, are now equipped with spears, which can be thrown or used for stabbing and smashing, so they have ways of attacking you from a distance as well as up close. This solved one of the flaws of original Trine, where players often sniped skeletons from afar without fear of retribution.
    2. Ambush system, where enemies are not idly waiting in the map, but rather hide in the background of the level, and jump to the front when the player is well-positioned. This produces enemies all around the player for increased challenge, without being "unfair" (like the teleporting demons in Doom 3 are)
    3. Enemy variations, with significantly more enemy types than the original. While the original only had skeletons, spiders and bats, here you will face goblins, trolls, demons, spiders and some more, which I'm not going to spoil.

    Puzzles are vastly improved with the addition of fluids and steam. You will find yourself creating irrigation lines, combining steam pipes to fix broken steam systems, and finding counterbalances. But some enemies require puzzle approach as well, simply because they cannot be killed, and must instead be tricked or avoided.
    Already during the Beta, many public testers were reporting that puzzles may sometimes be "short-circuited" by using wizard to "self-levitate". In the end, developers decided to leave this option in, so remember, if you're completely stuck on a puzzle and it requires you to get over some obstacle or gap, your last resort is always self-levitation (which is not easy to do, so it won't happen by accident). Hardcore gamers may impose self-regulating limit on themselves to force them to be creative.

    As I'm writing this, I'm also looking at the community forums on Steampowered.com, and see a prime example of the creative genius of this game: Players are discussing how to solve certain puzzle at Level 3, and there are already 4 totally different solutions to it listed. How many other games do you know where each puzzle has multiple solutions?

    To sum it up -- Trine 2 is an amazing game and is accessible to hardcore as well as casual players. I can recommend it to anyone.
    Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    Absolutely beautiful game - in fact, one of the most amazingly looking games I've ever seen. A charming atmosphere, great puzzles, music that delivers enough emotion to bring you to tears if only you embrace the wonderful game that Trine 2 has become.
    Take that and the astonishing support (both Pre-Release, including the Beta for preorderer, and post release) by Frozenbyte, you have a game
    Absolutely beautiful game - in fact, one of the most amazingly looking games I've ever seen. A charming atmosphere, great puzzles, music that delivers enough emotion to bring you to tears if only you embrace the wonderful game that Trine 2 has become.
    Take that and the astonishing support (both Pre-Release, including the Beta for preorderer, and post release) by Frozenbyte, you have a game worth every cent of its already low price. A clear 10/10
    Expand
  8. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    The controls have improved the graphics are jaw dropping they seriously amazing art design and atmosphere of a legened taile are and the gameplay is fantastic because the solution is never to hard
  9. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    wow this game is maded finland and i live in finland and i am very proud of this game.
    For this game is a peculiar graphics and story is pretty good.
    game isn´t short. for me game is long enough
    and there is three playable character its make this game very cool
  10. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    One of the best platformers I have ever played, a huge improvement in any aspect over the first one, perfectly optimized. Nothing more to say - if you loved Trine 1 you're gonna love Trine 2 eight times more :)
  11. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    The production values of this game are something else. It's an indie game that looks better than any Triple-A title I've ever seen. The maps are varied, the monsters look incredible and it combines puzzles and combat really seamlessly. For a quarter of the price of a full retail game this is an absolute steal.
  12. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    For me it is a best game of year. Incredible graphics, fun physx and gameplay. Art and sound is stunning. I recommend Collectors edition when artworks and soundtrack are included.
  13. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    I grew up with 3D games and I did not like 2D Games, except some Gameboy games. But this game is just awesome. It connects the 2D view with amazing 3D objects and great lights, wich create a great atmosphere. The puzzles remind me of Portal, wich had a great Leveldesign. All in all it is a way to easy when you play with your freinds. But it is still a great Indie game.
  14. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    The sequel absolutely improved on the original Trine. The storytelling is still lighthearted and gorgeous, just like the 3 characters. The graphics are amazing, even better than in the good looking first Trine. More variety in the puzzles and even in the landscape make this game one of the best experiences I had this year. And I've still got to play the cooperative mode.
  15. Jan 22, 2012
    5
    The graphics are simply splendid. The responsiveness of the controls and the puzzle, environment and enemy variety have drastically increased from the original Trine. However, the simple combat mechanics and simple puzzles just make the game feel very flat. When playing in co-op mode, almost all the puzzles can be bypassed by levitating your partner across the screen. It's get dullThe graphics are simply splendid. The responsiveness of the controls and the puzzle, environment and enemy variety have drastically increased from the original Trine. However, the simple combat mechanics and simple puzzles just make the game feel very flat. When playing in co-op mode, almost all the puzzles can be bypassed by levitating your partner across the screen. It's get dull very fast. For an average person who plays video games, the is a very rudimentary game. Expand
  16. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    For the genre, Trine 2 is a true 10/10 game, improving on its predecessor in every way. Combat, movement, and gameplay in general are fluid and intuitive. Puzzles, especially reaching the optional experience orbs, are extremely satisfying. The art style, music, and atmosphere create an immersive fairy-tale-like world.
  17. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. The graphics are rich and beautiful and the voice acting is good. The gameplay is very fun and brought me back to puzzlers I used to play years ago. I hope these guys sell truckloads of this game because they deserve every reward for making something so nice.
  18. Dec 12, 2011
    8
    For $15 you can't go wrong with this game. Solid game play, music and tight controls make it a blast to play with friends, like the first one except better because now you can play online! Also hey, some gorgeous graphics here. For only $15 how could I not give this a 10 when it provides so much? An instant classic, like Bastion, you need this in your collection.
  19. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Visuals, gameplay, graphic, controls, puzzles, story... My god one of the best games this year. And only for 12,99. Take that overpriced ctrl+c+v "AAA" game titles.
  20. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    One of the most beautiful artworks and graphics ever seen in a game, a close-to-perfect physics engine, allowing for a lot of creativity in solving the puzzles and the fantastic soundtrack makes Trine 2 one of the best releases in 2011. If that alone doesn't convince you, the coop mode and the price (13 Euros / Steam) should do. Demo now available on Steam!
  21. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    Sitting down to a Trine 2 I did not have too high demands, I have not played in the first part of this game, I wanted to play a simple game platformer, I received a beautiful and extensive game.

    Graphic style captivates the depth of color, clever use of elements of physics give the game an appropriate character.
    The game is just great.
  22. Dec 17, 2011
    7
    Amazing artwork carries this game above many similar games in the block-stacking genre. Among the best of this genre is "Wake the Royalty", and in fact the level design in Royalty is superior. A well-designed level has a denouement or "eureka!" moment, where the whole design of the level makes sense, when the solution is revealed. Trine, instead, is about stacking blocks. Climb and repeat.Amazing artwork carries this game above many similar games in the block-stacking genre. Among the best of this genre is "Wake the Royalty", and in fact the level design in Royalty is superior. A well-designed level has a denouement or "eureka!" moment, where the whole design of the level makes sense, when the solution is revealed. Trine, instead, is about stacking blocks. Climb and repeat. That's basically it. I wonder what people would rate this game if we simplified the artwork, and just consider the game-play mechanics. It's unfortunate that so little work went into puzzle design. Finally, this game is nothing like Lost Vikings. Vikings had great denouement moments in each level; that was a puzzle-design masterpiece. Expand
  23. Dec 31, 2011
    6
    A very pretty 2D platformer, but still, a 2-D platformer. As another reviewer has already stated, this genre has been done to death, and in gameplay terms Trine2 doesn't really bring anything new to the table. The difficulty is hardly challenging either, I'm pretty sure my co-op partner and I managed to simply skip 50% of the puzzles by simply floating over them on a levitated box. It'sA very pretty 2D platformer, but still, a 2-D platformer. As another reviewer has already stated, this genre has been done to death, and in gameplay terms Trine2 doesn't really bring anything new to the table. The difficulty is hardly challenging either, I'm pretty sure my co-op partner and I managed to simply skip 50% of the puzzles by simply floating over them on a levitated box. It's definitely a game to play with your girlfriend or friends who don't play many games, but the regular gamer will pick this up and blast through it in a day without looking back. Expand
  24. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    Absolutely amazing. A various methods to beat the puzzle, beautiful graphics, three quite different characters, nice soundtrack and climate of old legends make it a must-have. The plot may be a big disadvantage, but it perfectly matches the climate of the game. Cooperation mode is well-done, but isn't necessary to enjoy the engaging adventure in the world of Trine 2.
  25. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Network coop. Beautiful visuals. Fantastic game play. This is a great developer that you shouldn't hesitate to support. Totally worth the asking price and then some.
  26. Jun 16, 2012
    4
    High fidelity graphics, mediochre folk music. Diverse gameplay, puzzle game.

    Unfortunately the game is fairly easy and predictable. More time baking the puzzles less time on graphics would have made this game quite a bit sweeter. this is after all a descendant of Lost Vikings from the SNES, while there is more diversity of play it doesn't make it more interesting or imaginative.
    High fidelity graphics, mediochre folk music. Diverse gameplay, puzzle game.

    Unfortunately the game is fairly easy and predictable. More time baking the puzzles less time on graphics would have made this game quite a bit sweeter.

    this is after all a descendant of Lost Vikings from the SNES, while there is more diversity of play it doesn't make it more interesting or imaginative. Nonetheless this is a decent time waster, and in a AAA industry its hard not to gravitate toward it.

    I think ultimately less WoW and more Lost Vikings would have been advisable.
    Expand
  27. Dec 15, 2012
    6
    Everyone begins their review with "this game is so beautiful I **** my pants". Well let me tell you I did not **** my pants because beneath the visuals is the EXACT SAME GAME AS THE FIRST TRINE. Literally, the same. Minus the online mode. As with the first Trine my issue with this game is the complete lack of challenge which inevitably leads to apathy and boredom. Any of the "puzzles" canEveryone begins their review with "this game is so beautiful I **** my pants". Well let me tell you I did not **** my pants because beneath the visuals is the EXACT SAME GAME AS THE FIRST TRINE. Literally, the same. Minus the online mode. As with the first Trine my issue with this game is the complete lack of challenge which inevitably leads to apathy and boredom. Any of the "puzzles" can be skipped by abusing the wizard's box mechanic. I have done approximately no puzzles the right way. I have passed all the levels in 5 minutes after after an hour I was done with Trine 2. That is to say, it's a casual game for people who are bad at games. Expand
  28. Jul 16, 2012
    3
    Very pretty atmosphere, but too pretty and too colourful for my taste. I also had a hard time controlling the characters and getting used to them, so I gave up. The puzzles weren't that hard, and not feeling in control of the characters made me give up after 5 minutes. I may give it a shot later, but it was nothing extraordinary at all, and the pretty, yet too colourful and bright,Very pretty atmosphere, but too pretty and too colourful for my taste. I also had a hard time controlling the characters and getting used to them, so I gave up. The puzzles weren't that hard, and not feeling in control of the characters made me give up after 5 minutes. I may give it a shot later, but it was nothing extraordinary at all, and the pretty, yet too colourful and bright, graphics don't weigh up for my annoyance at all. Expand
  29. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    It's very funny how people reviews it with low scores because they don't like the 2D games pr they say they're dead...LOL

    Amazing game, amazing artstyle, amazing coop with friends online or local (greatly apreciated). Very nice game, with mod tools it would me more awsome though
  30. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    A smart, BEAUTIFUL and charming fantasy side-scroller that uses physics to solve puzzles which results im multiple ways to solve said puzzles. No game has pleasantly surprised me more than Trine 2
  31. Feb 17, 2013
    3
    Boring. 3 character just make this game complex. not depth. I had a hard time controlling the characters and getting used to them, so I gave up. The puzzles weren't that hard, and not feeling in control of the characters made me give up I may give it a shot later.
  32. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    ~:: Adventure, Puzzles, 2D, Best Graphics ::~
    all these u can find it in Trine 2..but first of all..Coop for me was 2/10 why?
    cus u can pass all puzzles with Wizard box..so plz dont play it Coop of u wanna enjoy this Wonderful game.. play it Single player..u'll just say WOW..its really the best game ever it will sooo hard to meet these HARDCORE Puzzles.. dont ever think if it worth it or
    ~:: Adventure, Puzzles, 2D, Best Graphics ::~
    all these u can find it in Trine 2..but first of all..Coop for me was 2/10 why?
    cus u can pass all puzzles with Wizard box..so plz dont play it Coop of u wanna
    enjoy this Wonderful game..

    play it Single player..u'll just say WOW..its really the best game ever
    it will sooo hard to meet these HARDCORE Puzzles..
    dont ever think if it worth it or not..just go pick up the game ENJOOOOOOOY
    Expand
  33. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    If there's 2 platform games that deserve a 10/10 it's this and Braid.
    Trine 2 is the most beautiful game I've ever played.
    Absolutely gorgeous graphics.
    The gameplay is challenging and interesting.
    Just go buy it...
  34. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Awesome graphics, realistic physics and nice puzzles for those who don't want to burn brain after the hard day to complete one game screen. It's a very great game to play with girl friend, actually this is the first game she agreed to play with me. Rumble Pad 2 and Xbox 360 controller working out of the box without any problems (I had major problems with Rumple Pad 2 in the original TrineAwesome graphics, realistic physics and nice puzzles for those who don't want to burn brain after the hard day to complete one game screen. It's a very great game to play with girl friend, actually this is the first game she agreed to play with me. Rumble Pad 2 and Xbox 360 controller working out of the box without any problems (I had major problems with Rumple Pad 2 in the original Trine game). Game engine is very optimized, even on middle-end card you'll be able to play on high graphic settings. Also it has great Eyefinity support, actually it's some kind of cheating in this game :) http://youtu.be/Rsb_iImG1_4 Expand
  35. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Simply a great platform-er with so many beautiful places to go to. You can't get enough of looking at it. Storytelling is marvelous and the soundtrack is as beautiful as the game itself, it is a must have if you like a coop game with a great graphics, great story and so much of fun. The price you pay for this game is incredibly low for what you are getting.
  36. Mar 31, 2012
    2
    Nothing new. If you've played Trine, you've played Trine 2. Glossy and shiny, but with the same unruly controls and similar puzzles. And you still don't see enough of your surroundings.
  37. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    This game was a total surprise. I picked it up cheap at Steam and started playing co-op with a few friends, taking on one of the three roles each. We played several hours straight, the same happened the next day - and we have already planned another session tonight. Seriously people, if you like platforming or co-op this is most certainly the game for you. It is polished, controls well onThis game was a total surprise. I picked it up cheap at Steam and started playing co-op with a few friends, taking on one of the three roles each. We played several hours straight, the same happened the next day - and we have already planned another session tonight. Seriously people, if you like platforming or co-op this is most certainly the game for you. It is polished, controls well on the keyboard without a controller, breath-taking colorful graphics and really good physics puzzles which makes you and your friends stop and think for a little while every now and again. A really good game. A breath of fresh air. I dropped everything to play this - and I do no regret a second spent with it. Expand
  38. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    Trine 2 achieves to be a really interesting successor to Trine. It features high contrast eye candy-like graphics, which don't distract from the game-play. You finally get to fight more enemies than skeletons everywhere, and the puzzles are way more interesting than in it's predecessor. The multiplayer got improved, too. Hooking up with your friends via Steam or playing local works smoothTrine 2 achieves to be a really interesting successor to Trine. It features high contrast eye candy-like graphics, which don't distract from the game-play. You finally get to fight more enemies than skeletons everywhere, and the puzzles are way more interesting than in it's predecessor. The multiplayer got improved, too. Hooking up with your friends via Steam or playing local works smooth and easy.
    Trine isn't faultless though. Some switches for example are really hard to see, since they blend in well with the background, or appear in very dark corners. The animations often end abruptly or look clunky. This doesn't change the otherwise fluent game-play for worse though.

    All in all, Trine 2 is a game worth looking into, and highly recommended for playing cooperatively.
    Expand
  39. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This indie game is easy one of the best in it's field. It is a side scrolling action based puzzle game. The puzzles are not to hard but not to easy, story and over all game is cute with well placed humor with an icing of a damn fine eye candy look. Don't let the fact that it is a side scrolling game turn you away from it, highly recommended. This indie game is truly a work of art that isThis indie game is easy one of the best in it's field. It is a side scrolling action based puzzle game. The puzzles are not to hard but not to easy, story and over all game is cute with well placed humor with an icing of a damn fine eye candy look. Don't let the fact that it is a side scrolling game turn you away from it, highly recommended. This indie game is truly a work of art that is cute and well made. Expand
  40. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    Graphics: 9/10 (The graphics are beautiful, but sometimes they are exaggeratedly colorful for my taste). Music/Voice Acting: 10/10 Atmosphere: 10/10
    Quality of quests: 7/10 (The majority of the quests are mediocre, but nevertheless fun to complete)
    Character control: 9/10 Conclusion: The game is a must-have . The price is pretty low what it delivers. The whole Trine franchise is
    Graphics: 9/10 (The graphics are beautiful, but sometimes they are exaggeratedly colorful for my taste). Music/Voice Acting: 10/10 Atmosphere: 10/10
    Quality of quests: 7/10 (The majority of the quests are mediocre, but nevertheless fun to complete)
    Character control: 9/10 Conclusion: The game is a must-have . The price is pretty low what it delivers. The whole Trine franchise is innovative, fun to play, and between you and me I can wait for a Trine 3. This is the perfect casual / family game.
    Expand
  41. Jul 13, 2012
    4
    AMAZING Graphics and 3D texture for a side-scroller. The characters dont have a huge amount of depth in skills, but you control 3 very different heroes with very different skills. This game plays more like an interactive story. 2 thumbs up!
  42. Aug 23, 2012
    5
    Trine 2 is an extremely beautiful game, now that i have said that lets talk about the actual gameplay. Technically everything works perfectly alright and the gameplay is overall decent. The problem however is that the gameplay is really to simple and to recognizable. Puzzles is basically you levitating stuff to get to shiny balls in the air and if you are aiming for a complete playthroughTrine 2 is an extremely beautiful game, now that i have said that lets talk about the actual gameplay. Technically everything works perfectly alright and the gameplay is overall decent. The problem however is that the gameplay is really to simple and to recognizable. Puzzles is basically you levitating stuff to get to shiny balls in the air and if you are aiming for a complete playthrough that is what you are going to be doing the majority of the time, and after a while it gets to be a chore. The upgrade system doesn't really motivate you either since its pretty basic stuff you unlock. Now the combat and platforming works well enough but is hardly challenging and its pretty standard. Now i might seem a little negative here but the gameplay is simply alright and not great and that is a shame considering how visually pleasing it looks and how talented the developer seem to be. Still if you expect a beautiful standard platformer you wont be disappointed. Expand
  43. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    Easily one of the best puzzle games i've ever played. The graphics are great, the voice acting is awesome and the single-player is superb. Don't know about the console versions but on the PC it's a 9/10
  44. May 23, 2012
    8
    Very pleasing graphics and fun puzzles which are always doable. Only downside is this genre has been done many times and Trine2 doesn't really add much innovation. Enjoyed single player more than multi, but in all, a worthy purchase.
  45. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    I have a lot of mixed feelings about Trine 2, and my score doesn't even reflect half of them. Just as the first one, Trine 2 is absolutely stunning visually and music-wise. There was no problem there at all. The gameplay is very similar as well - you go through a number of levels, fight monsters, and solve puzzles, and you do this with all 3 characters at once, being able to swap betweenI have a lot of mixed feelings about Trine 2, and my score doesn't even reflect half of them. Just as the first one, Trine 2 is absolutely stunning visually and music-wise. There was no problem there at all. The gameplay is very similar as well - you go through a number of levels, fight monsters, and solve puzzles, and you do this with all 3 characters at once, being able to swap between them at any time in order to tackle the next obstacle. The Wizard can conjure and levitate objects, the Thief can shoot arrows and swing via a grappling hook, and the Knight can fight up close and also use his shield to protect against the environmental hazards. I generally liked the levels, especially the Searock Castle, and the story (even though it wasn't the focus of the game). The dialogues between the characters were really funny too and added charm to the game. The only thing that sort of annoyed me was how Trine 2 took a complete favour towards co-op play and left the solo players behind. The reason I say this is because most of the game's puzzles were clearly designed for co-op play. There were solutions for solo players as well, but those were usually very frustrating to execute and at times even required trial and error ways. Usually solving a hard puzzle in games leaves you feeling great afterwards, but I didn't feel that satisfaction with many of the Trine 2 puzzles. Another problem with puzzles was that at times they expected you to have a certain skill already, like the Wizard's plank, and if you didn't, then you simply had to remove points from another skill and use in the one you need. So in essence there is no freedom to choose which skills you want to get. So that was a bit of a rant, and hence if you're looking to only play this game solo, then my score would probably be 8, but with co-op it is as good as 9. Generally I thought the gameplay has improved over the first in some aspects and worsened in other aspects, but overall if you don't count the fact that Trine 2 made co-op over online, the first game to me was superior. There was more satisfaction smashing the skeletons into pieces in Trine 1 than simply hitting the goblins in Trine 2. And Thief's grappling hook is a lot less useful now than in the first game because it seems that many of the surfaces in most levels cannot be grappled, hence making the grappling hook useless. However, Trine 2 did add some awesome abilities, such as Knight's hammer throw and Wizard being able to levitate the enemies now. Trine 2 also has a longer story mode than the first, but I am willing to bet the extra length is from spending more time on puzzle solutions rather than actual content. Generally Trine 2 is a great game. It's just I found it to be a bit too frustrating to the point that I wanted to rip my own hair compared to the first and hence the overall experience was not as pleasant on the first playthrough. I'd still highly recommend both games. They are fantastic and are among best indie games out there. Expand
  46. Jan 22, 2012
    8
    I didn't like Trine only because I had no friend to play with. I get it now. It's a game for two. :) For me myself it's too "fairy tale" with it's childish plot and pretty art style. But if you loose the plot and focus on the visuals and cooperation this game shines (though it also gives a lot of room for exploits...). BIG kudos for the design and execution. It's the most beautiful sceneryI didn't like Trine only because I had no friend to play with. I get it now. It's a game for two. :) For me myself it's too "fairy tale" with it's childish plot and pretty art style. But if you loose the plot and focus on the visuals and cooperation this game shines (though it also gives a lot of room for exploits...). BIG kudos for the design and execution. It's the most beautiful scenery that you'll see in games. Unfortunately the story is weak and levels aren't so cleverly designed (look up LIMBO) as for the mechanic possibilities that are offered by the heroes. All together a great game to play with a female friend :) Expand
  47. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    Superb graphics and use of physics. Also a decently long game which takes about 8 hours to finish. playing with 2 other people can get a bit out of control so 2 player is the best imo.
  48. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    I play this game on co-op with a couple of my siblings every night, and the fun we have is only rivaled by Portal 2.

    You'll never find a game with more a more beautiful atmosphere than this has.
  49. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    This game is one of the funnest co-op games I've played in a while. The options before playing the game allow the increase or decrease in difficulty. For example, players can be any character even if another player is already playing that character, or change settings so only one player can be a specific character at a time. Also you can go from being able to levitate yourself, to only anThis game is one of the funnest co-op games I've played in a while. The options before playing the game allow the increase or decrease in difficulty. For example, players can be any character even if another player is already playing that character, or change settings so only one player can be a specific character at a time. Also you can go from being able to levitate yourself, to only an ally, to not able to at all, which I saw was a complaint on a lower score, which seems to me they just wanted to complain. The difficulty setting is extremely customizable, from you could be half asleep to win, to you may quit cause of how difficult it got. My only complaint of this game, is the short scenes that you cannot skip, this is my biggest complaint for any game and has ruined a lot of games for me. Cut scenes are great... just not 100 times over right after a spawn spot where I die a thousand times. Expand
  50. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    To say this game is beautiful is an understatement. In stereoscopic 3D, this is the most beautiful game I have ever seen! For the first three levels I spent most of the time just standing around looking at the props. The narrator and voice acting are charming and the puzzles, while nothing revolutionary, are fun. The controls are well-designed but they neglect to inform you that theTo say this game is beautiful is an understatement. In stereoscopic 3D, this is the most beautiful game I have ever seen! For the first three levels I spent most of the time just standing around looking at the props. The narrator and voice acting are charming and the puzzles, while nothing revolutionary, are fun. The controls are well-designed but they neglect to inform you that the magician can rotate an object with left/right (A/D) so I developed other ways to rotate objects with the environment for most of the game. I haven't played multiplayer yet, but single-player is good enough for a 10 in my opinion. People that don't like the game because they can cheat with the magician are foolish: just don't cheat! It's more fun that way. Expand
  51. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    Such a game can wait! Finally, we are likely to play myself with my friends and use your head (and hands) to solve different puzzles with "how to go there, Damn." The game is based on the ordinary simplicity of a camera from the side and sometimes puzzles shows himself worthy of the portal to that here we have three characters by which each character must make good use of. Nice game niceSuch a game can wait! Finally, we are likely to play myself with my friends and use your head (and hands) to solve different puzzles with "how to go there, Damn." The game is based on the ordinary simplicity of a camera from the side and sometimes puzzles shows himself worthy of the portal to that here we have three characters by which each character must make good use of. Nice game nice complement to the colorful visuals and nice fairy tale atmosphere. My Score -8.5 / 10 Expand
  52. Dec 23, 2011
    7
    not the biggest fan of how i basically have to cheat every puzzle. i manage to beat them but know i never did them correctly, but i cant be that angry at a game which looks this beautiful. seriously impressive graphically but i thought the gameplay was a little lackluster. still mild enjoyable and worth a reccomendation
  53. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    It is the best example of a sequel that improves all aspects and makes it the best way. Trine 2 has a unique atmosphere and graphic quality, which simply leaves badly multimillion companies in the industry, quality is sublime, lighting, effects, physical, all in Trine 2 has a high quality. The coop still works much better in this sequel, including new game modes and online mode. The storyIt is the best example of a sequel that improves all aspects and makes it the best way. Trine 2 has a unique atmosphere and graphic quality, which simply leaves badly multimillion companies in the industry, quality is sublime, lighting, effects, physical, all in Trine 2 has a high quality. The coop still works much better in this sequel, including new game modes and online mode. The story gains a little more weight but still quite similar to each other. Greatly improves the sound section, where even the soundtrack and dialogue highlights the characters is much more complete. There are many new skills in addition to the previous game, many new types of highly original puzzle. The boss fights come alive (Before they were almost nil) and make a very epic (giant snakes or dragons, with all the detail and quite spectacular). It's a great game in general lines improved everything the previous Trine had under. Expand
  54. Jul 19, 2012
    6
    If I were judging this game on visuals alone, this game would get a 10 without question. The visuals are not only breathtaking, but they suit the game's style and atmosphere. Baring in mind this is an indie game, to produce an art style as good as this is unbelievable. However, gameplay is where the game slides a little. The puzzles are far too simple and tha characters are unbalanced.If I were judging this game on visuals alone, this game would get a 10 without question. The visuals are not only breathtaking, but they suit the game's style and atmosphere. Baring in mind this is an indie game, to produce an art style as good as this is unbelievable. However, gameplay is where the game slides a little. The puzzles are far too simple and tha characters are unbalanced. The knight take scare of fighting, the wizard mostly does puzzles but the thief is the least useful character and her ability to get to hard to reach places is undermined by the wizard's ability to levitate everyone on his cube. The ability to play online co-op is great and is easier than having to change characters by yourself. However, the campaign is a little short but for it's price, it might just be worth it, if you're into collecting stuff. Overall, a stunning game which unfortunately is let down by its gameplay. Expand
  55. Aug 9, 2012
    6
    As everyone has said, the graphics are really great in Trine and interesting to look at. The game is smooth, the voice acting is nice and the co-op is very easy to use. But that's about it. In terms of gameplay, I found it fairly flat and really inferior to 'proper' puzzle games. It seems promising at the start as it introduces cool concepts like pipes and growing plants but it doesn'tAs everyone has said, the graphics are really great in Trine and interesting to look at. The game is smooth, the voice acting is nice and the co-op is very easy to use. But that's about it. In terms of gameplay, I found it fairly flat and really inferior to 'proper' puzzle games. It seems promising at the start as it introduces cool concepts like pipes and growing plants but it doesn't really seem to develop from there. It seemed like 90% of the puzzles just required you to hit a switch and/or levitate yourself over a ledge at the right time. Admittedly, I might have just been doing it wrong but I played with my friend and we couldn't figure out the 'proper' solutions if there were any other than just levitating across. In this regard, as my friend was playing the mage I found the game very simple as he did all the levitating and pipe twisting and throwing whereas I just had to occasionally stand in a particular spot and wait, or kill the generic goblin-type mobs by spam clicking the mouse. Additionally, as it's not particularly cheap for an indie game, it felt a bit too short. Expand
  56. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    In my opinion this is the best and most colorful platformer of the year (and in general these colorful games are rarely ever see.)
    Compared with the first part is a lot of attention paid to the plot. He became a lot more puzzles become more interesting and slozhnymi.Nu and of course the atmosphere remains the same ..... Insanely beautiful colors, colorful levels, nice puzzles, and much more ...
  57. Sep 9, 2013
    7
    While Trine 2 usually has multiple ways of approaching puzzles, the overall plot is rather linear meaning it doesn't really encourage replays. The plot is also a cringe-worthy children's fairy tale but if you can get past these flaws, you'll find a beautiful and fun puzzle co-op game that is suitable for casual gamers, puzzle fanatics or your kids.
  58. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    This is a brilliant game. As everyone else has said the graphics are amazing and the voice acting is top notch. While the story is pretty much standard fantasy material it is so well execute that it sucks you in. I can't recommend this enough. Its a gem of game and worthy of your time.
  59. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    Very enjoyabe and charming indie titie. Great story telling and a lot of fun with easy to moderate problem solving and basic but fun combat. The brilliance of this game is the way in which problems can be solved in a multitude of ways. Character swapping on the fly means you have a good array of skills at your disposal, most of which can be levelled up. All aspects of the sound are wellVery enjoyabe and charming indie titie. Great story telling and a lot of fun with easy to moderate problem solving and basic but fun combat. The brilliance of this game is the way in which problems can be solved in a multitude of ways. Character swapping on the fly means you have a good array of skills at your disposal, most of which can be levelled up. All aspects of the sound are well done and the graphics are simply stunning. Vivid detail in foreground and background. Check it out for some casual fun. Expand
  60. May 15, 2012
    8
    A wonderful game that has been unfortunately crippled by the removal of the items and customization therein. The game certainly looks better and has some new interesting mechanics and puzzles, but is inferior to the original.
  61. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    It was wise of Frozenbyte to delay the release of this game to give it that lil extra polish, and that decision's paid off because the visuals in Trine 2 are simply stunning. In essence this game is a standard platformer fused with the occasional puzzle along the way. Playing solo requires you learn the abilities from each of the three characters available to progress. Where this gameIt was wise of Frozenbyte to delay the release of this game to give it that lil extra polish, and that decision's paid off because the visuals in Trine 2 are simply stunning. In essence this game is a standard platformer fused with the occasional puzzle along the way. Playing solo requires you learn the abilities from each of the three characters available to progress. Where this game really shines however is through the use of multiplayer. Highly recommended. Expand
  62. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Trine 2 is a game that makes me proud of our fantasy gaming generation. Trine 1 was already a masterpiece and against all odds, Frozenbyte made it even better. I mean how do you even improve on an excellent original!? I was afraid they'd screw it up but they remained true to everything that made the first game magical and they succeeded. I first downloaded this game for "free" because ITrine 2 is a game that makes me proud of our fantasy gaming generation. Trine 1 was already a masterpiece and against all odds, Frozenbyte made it even better. I mean how do you even improve on an excellent original!? I was afraid they'd screw it up but they remained true to everything that made the first game magical and they succeeded. I first downloaded this game for "free" because I was worried they sold their soul out to some evil publisher. I couldn't be more wrong. Sorry I doubted you Frozenbyte. I am getting all of my friends to buy this. I bought the collector's edition now and I will pass this on to my grandkids someday! They will be envious of our time! Expand
  63. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Trine 2 is an amazing platform, where you take control of a group of three heroes in a fantasy world.
    Strength of this title is the graphics but also the opportunity of interacting with the world for progress and also the opportunity to take benefit from each of character,making this title an unique experience.
  64. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Very fun and enjoyable game. I´d say one of the best, if not the best in the side scrolling/ puzzle genre. Amazing game I got at an amazing price from Steam.
  65. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    The first games graphics were amazing, but the sequel actually makes them look bad. Not only does the game look great, it's full of imaginative encounters that will leave you smiling. My only issues with the game is the "endurance" areas where enemies attack in waves and you have to be very defensive to make it through, and also some of the physics puzzle. You can work out the solution toThe first games graphics were amazing, but the sequel actually makes them look bad. Not only does the game look great, it's full of imaginative encounters that will leave you smiling. My only issues with the game is the "endurance" areas where enemies attack in waves and you have to be very defensive to make it through, and also some of the physics puzzle. You can work out the solution to a problem, but the physics to accomplish the solution are so fiddly it can bring the entire game to a screeching halt for an extended duration. Expand
  66. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Trine 2 is one of the most fun co-op experiences I've had since the days of the Amiga. The varying ability of the three characters to defend themselves or move around the screen leads to lots of funny, entertaining and cool co-op play. It also has a nice little story, a great fairy-tale aesthetic and truly beautiful graphics that seem to be optimised brilliantly - it ran really well evenTrine 2 is one of the most fun co-op experiences I've had since the days of the Amiga. The varying ability of the three characters to defend themselves or move around the screen leads to lots of funny, entertaining and cool co-op play. It also has a nice little story, a great fairy-tale aesthetic and truly beautiful graphics that seem to be optimised brilliantly - it ran really well even on my fairly crappy PC. It could perhaps use a couple more Lost Vikings-style ways to 'combine your powers' but that's my only real (half-hearted) criticism. Easily worth a score in the low to mid 90s out of 100 using a '50 is average' scale, so I'll give it 10 on here. Expand
  67. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    This game is so breathtaking and beautiful And soundtrack is just....AMAZING All the mechanism like platforming and physic just fit so well that i just can't believe this is a game of 15 bucks This game just like a EXCITING and SWEET DREAM !!!

    For everyone of you Buy it and enjoy it
  68. May 4, 2013
    9
    A charming 2.5D sidescroller in a classic high fantasy setting. The protagonists are 3 likeable heroes with classic templates: the light-hearted honorable warrior, the greedy rogue and the wise wizard. The gameplay consists of simple yet fun combat and even better puzzles which can be completed in multiple ways. The graphics are bright, cartoony and just beautiful. It has a good soundtrackA charming 2.5D sidescroller in a classic high fantasy setting. The protagonists are 3 likeable heroes with classic templates: the light-hearted honorable warrior, the greedy rogue and the wise wizard. The gameplay consists of simple yet fun combat and even better puzzles which can be completed in multiple ways. The graphics are bright, cartoony and just beautiful. It has a good soundtrack which perfectly captures the atmosphere of the fairytale world and good voice acting. It is an overall very enjoyable experience. Expand
  69. Oct 26, 2013
    6
    A indy platformer has never been this visually appealing to me, not only that, it offers some really decent co-operative puzzle aspects. However, it is a huge ton of rinse and repeat in this game, which made me frankly quite bored and unimpressed halfway through, the collectables are garbage and exploring in this game is not rewarding. Still a decent game.
  70. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    I never heard of Trine, a did not play with the first episode, only this.
    One of my colleague offered this game. He said it is beautiful, easy, enjoyable.
    And Yes! He was right! I loved every moment playing with it. Beautiful background images, like huge flower and animals (example: snail), various colors on various scenes, easy controlling, what else do you need? One sentence for
    I never heard of Trine, a did not play with the first episode, only this.
    One of my colleague offered this game. He said it is beautiful, easy, enjoyable.
    And Yes! He was right! I loved every moment playing with it.
    Beautiful background images, like huge flower and animals (example: snail), various colors on various scenes, easy controlling, what else do you need?
    One sentence for describing the game Colorful and pleasant jumping!
    10/10
    Expand
  71. Jun 13, 2013
    7
    "Trine 2" is a gorgeous game that easily pleases those who are fond of either platform-, puzzle- and fantasy-games. However, its very child-friendly storytelling and rather easy puzzles are the unfortunate downsides, combined with an experience that is rather quickly forgotten.
  72. Nov 11, 2014
    9
    With amazing graphics, very good gameplay and a lot of ideia for amazing puzzles, trine 2 is a great game that all must play. ,
  73. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    An incredible game. The original Trine was awesome, but Trine 2 managed to significantly improve what was already a fantastic game. The major improvements over the original in order of significance: (1) online co-op. Need I say more? (2) the ability to save mid-level (cannot stress enough how much I appreciate); (3) combat - while the mechanics are the same, enemies are much moreAn incredible game. The original Trine was awesome, but Trine 2 managed to significantly improve what was already a fantastic game. The major improvements over the original in order of significance: (1) online co-op. Need I say more? (2) the ability to save mid-level (cannot stress enough how much I appreciate); (3) combat - while the mechanics are the same, enemies are much more challenging, compelling and aesthetically interesting. I enjoyed combat in the original, but repeatedly killing skeleton soldiers wasn't all that gratifying; (4) puzzles - after only a few levels I noted that the puzzles seemed slightly more challenging than those in the original. Perhaps this is a trade-off for the ability to save mid-level. Whatever the case, I found the overall difficulty to be about perfect. I also loved the new environmental additions, such as water that makes plants grow, etc. Great stuff.; (5) graphics/art design - the original Trine was a gorgeous game and yet the sequel is noticeably more visually stunning. Probably the single prettiest game I've ever played.

    I cannot recommend this game enough, particularly at the very low prices at which it can typically be had.
    Expand
  74. May 31, 2013
    9
    What more can be said about Trine 2? The visuals are stunningly beautiful, vivid, and breathtaking, every animation looks great, the controls are totally spot-on. Coop and great dlc round out the experience. You can play Trine games in many different styles and they are all fun. Blow by everything as fast as possible, swinging along, kill everything with the warrior, or plod alongWhat more can be said about Trine 2? The visuals are stunningly beautiful, vivid, and breathtaking, every animation looks great, the controls are totally spot-on. Coop and great dlc round out the experience. You can play Trine games in many different styles and they are all fun. Blow by everything as fast as possible, swinging along, kill everything with the warrior, or plod along carefully with the wizard, picking up every bubble collectable in and out of sight. Of course, most of the time you are doing a mix of the 3.
    Hard to say why this isn't a 10/10, because Trine does everything right and then some. But, maybe something was missing a very small something, that I can't put my finger on. Trine 2 is well deserving of anyone's time (and money).
    Expand
  75. AWG
    Aug 1, 2013
    6
    If you are 1) a little tomboy girl, 2) a person who really likes to get bored by dull platformers with awesome visuals but poor gameplay or 3) a 25yo action figures collector who has not had sex yet, then this game is for you. Elsewhere don't even try.
  76. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    The soundtrack, the graphics, the voice-acting, the combat, the characters, the puzzles, the platformers, the story and 3 player co-op with friends. What can i say? A Masterpiece! Thank you, Frozenbyte!
  77. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    Splendid! The soundtrack is great, and the graphics are amazing! Atmosphere that emerges is magical, I can only recommend it! A game to have urgently!
  78. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    Recently I bought the full deluxe edition. The game got several updates until now and feels 100% polished. Graphics, sound and game-play are just great. I enjoyed the game very much!
  79. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    I think that this game is pretty short on gameplay yes but it has a lot of replayability value that if you are interested in doing the various achievements and challanges (finding secret poems and pictures on the leveles etc. The physics are well developed the 3 characters have various upgrade branches and each character's role is well established. The voice acting is well doneI think that this game is pretty short on gameplay yes but it has a lot of replayability value that if you are interested in doing the various achievements and challanges (finding secret poems and pictures on the leveles etc. The physics are well developed the 3 characters have various upgrade branches and each character's role is well established. The voice acting is well done especially on the narator's part the wizard and the warrior sometimes are speaking in a childish tone ,in my opinion i have not encountered any bugs whatsoever and the story is well made. The graphics are gorgeous, creating that fairy tale world. Buy it play it complete it 100% it's worth every coin :P Expand
  80. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    Very good Graphics and the physics are done amazingly well.

    Trine is a great game and Trine 2 is even better. I can't wait for more games or client updates from these guys. If Trine 3 ever happens I will Pre-Purchase that game Immediately.
  81. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing, simply the best looking PC game that you can find, If your PC can max out this game then you will have a very enjoyable experience. The levels are very intricate and have your mind thinking and is very fun playing with a friend over multiplayer, When i first played this game i was astounded by how much detail and thought was put into each and every puzzle,This game is absolutely amazing, simply the best looking PC game that you can find, If your PC can max out this game then you will have a very enjoyable experience. The levels are very intricate and have your mind thinking and is very fun playing with a friend over multiplayer, When i first played this game i was astounded by how much detail and thought was put into each and every puzzle, i beat the original trine and trine 2 will take an average player around 25-30 hours to complete, so this game will last you a while and keep you very occupied :D Expand
  82. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (1/2) Visuals/Story (2/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (1/2)

    Visuals/Story (2/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (1/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (2/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  83. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    Definitely one of the prettiest games I've played and the gameplay and platforming is great. Puzzles are quite challenging too. Definitely a must-buy!
  84. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    Trine 2 is a great game. I just started and found the structure, the visuals, gameplay and audio to be very entertaining and unique. This is the genre of 2d/2.5d that I sorely missed in the 90's and early 2000's. When devs should of been mastering this genre instead of focusing on 3d models due to the incompetent hardware the time; which was incapable of the feats it can perform now. ItTrine 2 is a great game. I just started and found the structure, the visuals, gameplay and audio to be very entertaining and unique. This is the genre of 2d/2.5d that I sorely missed in the 90's and early 2000's. When devs should of been mastering this genre instead of focusing on 3d models due to the incompetent hardware the time; which was incapable of the feats it can perform now. It is a shame that for a decade we could of really enjoyed gaming with breathtaking software like this. Trine and others like it show to us how a 2d/2.5d game can shine. While I applaud and welcome games like trine it seems so late and out of place that it is hard to validate it as a worthy purchase other than for a few dollars. This too is a shame....time takes it toll on all things and I feel sadly that while I will play trine and enjoy it, I will not truthfully enjoy it as much as I once would of.

    Overall a great job, but a lil too late for our current gaming diet and staple. I give it an 8 out of 10 due to it's outdated style.
    Expand
  85. Jan 18, 2014
    7
    I am not fan of a puzzle games but this one caught me. Riddles are not so hard on normal difficult so you can enjoy its gorgeous graphics and amazing music. Nice game.
  86. Jan 18, 2014
    8
    This is really a beautiful game with great graphics, music, sound effects, physics and puzzles, but at the end it didn't catch me. There's nothing wrong about the game itself, I guess the story or the characters are too childish for my taste. Other than that, I enjoyed the whole 17 hours of playgame (according to Steam), which is much more than I thought a game like this it will take toThis is really a beautiful game with great graphics, music, sound effects, physics and puzzles, but at the end it didn't catch me. There's nothing wrong about the game itself, I guess the story or the characters are too childish for my taste. Other than that, I enjoyed the whole 17 hours of playgame (according to Steam), which is much more than I thought a game like this it will take to finish. Yes, I would recommend it. Expand
  87. Jun 5, 2014
    8
    A really fun game to play with two other people. Collecting things and working as a team is always fun to me. Especially when everyone in your team has different abilities and everyone is needed for different parts. The only reason it isn't a 10 is because the story is pretty cheesy, I usually skipped past all of that stuff because it got to be long periods of not playing.
  88. Jun 24, 2014
    8
    I am not a huge fan of jump and run sidescroller...but i tried the Demo of Trine 2.
    And it was wonderful, so i purchased the game and what should i say? it is a very fun game, even on public.
    I had a lot of hours fun with it, but it was a bit to easy. The controls are very simple and you get fast used to them. This is the best Sidescroller i played so far, i can really recommend this
    I am not a huge fan of jump and run sidescroller...but i tried the Demo of Trine 2.
    And it was wonderful, so i purchased the game and what should i say? it is a very fun game, even on public.
    I had a lot of hours fun with it, but it was a bit to easy.
    The controls are very simple and you get fast used to them.
    This is the best Sidescroller i played so far, i can really recommend this game and i hope for a trine 3, i loved the graphics and the riddles a bit to easy but it was fun.
    Great Indie Game where you can play 4 spezific and diffrent classes, mage(spells), warrior (with his shield) and the thief with her arrows and stealth.
    So each class has their skills, you can invest the skill points to unlock them.
    Some riddles need spezific skills, but most of the time you have more then 1 way to reach the goal.
    Expand
  89. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    I simply wouldn't change anything on this game.

    Graphic is top-notch, sound effects are nice and music is awesome. Graphic and music together create on the player a relaxing magic world feeling that kills any stress (also because puzzles are not hard if done with all 3 characters). I loved the irony of the dialogues between the 3 characters that more than once made me literally roll on
    I simply wouldn't change anything on this game.

    Graphic is top-notch, sound effects are nice and music is awesome. Graphic and music together create on the player a relaxing magic world feeling that kills any stress (also because puzzles are not hard if done with all 3 characters).
    I loved the irony of the dialogues between the 3 characters that more than once made me literally roll on floor laughing.

    Now, the gameplay part. The game is quite easy BUT there are challenges (such as achievements) so that even if the puzzles are easy, they "suggest" what to do to make them harder.

    To sum things up, this is one of the best games I ever played (works on linux too) and I enjoyed every hour I spent on this. I strongly suggest you to buy it.
    Expand
  90. Aug 28, 2014
    8
    Pros:
    -Absolutely amazing graphics, with vivid colors, nice lights-shadows effects,
    -Amazing art direction and level design -Interesting gameplay with good use of physics -Experience after many years a local co-op, the game is extremely fun when you are playing it with friends sitting around Cons -All the riddles and stuff are a bit overused, from one point you are starting to play
    Pros:
    -Absolutely amazing graphics, with vivid colors, nice lights-shadows effects,
    -Amazing art direction and level design
    -Interesting gameplay with good use of physics
    -Experience after many years a local co-op, the game is extremely fun when you are playing it with friends sitting around

    Cons
    -All the riddles and stuff are a bit overused, from one point you are starting to play the same thing but without this being so tedious.
    Expand
  91. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    Let me start off by saying, I am NOT a platform gamer by any means (aside from Super Mario Bros.) I think most platformers are boring and uninteresting. Not Trine 2, lemme tell ya! The level of depth and beauty this game possesses will drop your jaw! It is positively the best platform game I have ever played! The ability to switch characters to get past certain parts is awesome for theLet me start off by saying, I am NOT a platform gamer by any means (aside from Super Mario Bros.) I think most platformers are boring and uninteresting. Not Trine 2, lemme tell ya! The level of depth and beauty this game possesses will drop your jaw! It is positively the best platform game I have ever played! The ability to switch characters to get past certain parts is awesome for the puzzling. Each characters abilities must be used and, the puzzles are fun! This game is a work of art, truly. I tried it on Steam's free weekend and I uninstalled every other game I tried but Trine 2. Quite addicting and just beautiful! Don't be surprised if you find yourself stopping mid game and going "oooo" and "ahhh' cause it's just gorgeous. Plus, like I said, it's fun! There is some decent comic relief in the game's dialogue too. Just a fun, great platformer and that's coming from a person who hates them. Expand
  92. Dec 10, 2014
    5
    An endearing, charming, fun and very pretty co-op platformer with puzzles. A great one to play with friends - made even easier thanks to couch co-op for up to 3 people.

    Jimbo Rating: 5/10
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    96
    Our heroes from the Trine universe are back at it again, whether they want to be or not.
  2. 83
    The short duration of the adventure is balanced by the constant number of puzzles and the fact that they had to be designed for solo and co-op play. But the first time you fire up Trine 2, the best way to do it is with patience and taking time to contemplate the scenery.
  3. Mar 1, 2012
    80
    Solid puzzling, decent combat and gorgeous art - all for cheap! [March 2012, p.60]