Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 519 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Trine 2 is the sequel to the 2009 downloadable PlayStation 3 and PC action platformer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Dec 28, 2011
    98
    Alone or with friends, Trine 2 is simply one of the best PC games you can play this year. You can check out the demo on Steam if you need further convincing because words and screenshots simply don't do this game justice. Just make sure you experience the magical of Trine 2. It is an unforgettable adventure that will keep you glued to your PC for days and weeks to come.
  2. Dec 19, 2011
    92
    On the whole, the creators of Trine took the safe route in crafting Trine 2. They strayed little from their original concept, resulting in a game that is equally as enjoyable as the first.
  3. Dec 14, 2011
    90
    Trine 2 is a genuinely lovable game, and one that I can safely and heartily recommend to nearly everyone.
  4. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    It's a step forward in every direction from its predecessor. If you love it the first time around, you have no reason to miss this one.
  5. Dec 19, 2011
    83
    The short length of the campaign and a few overly challenging puzzles are minor blemishes in an overall entertaining and worthwhile experience. Fans of the side-scrolling and platform genres need not look elsewhere, Trine 2 offers a wealth of truly innovative puzzles that are a welcome getaway from the current market of repeated genre titles.
  6. Jan 10, 2012
    80
    In the end, while the core gameplay remains wholly unchanged from the original (not to mention that expert players can still cheese their way through most areas by abusing the wizard's crate-creating spells), the stunning visual details and effects do more to enhance the already-robust mechanics then one might expect.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    70
    Trine 2 is a fantasy platforming game that is the most fun in cooperation. It's short, but the design and the animations are extraordinary. One of the most beautiful games this year.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 90
  2. Negative: 6 out of 90
  1. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    Amazing graphics, perfect controls, improved physics puzzles and finally online co-op multiplayer. It is even better then the first Trine which was excellent. I miss inventory from original a little. This little cutie and good developer support is really worth more then release price. Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    If there's 2 platform games that deserve a 10/10 it's this and Braid.
    Trine 2 is the most beautiful game I've ever played.
    Absolutely gorgeous
    graphics.
    The gameplay is challenging and interesting.
    Just go buy it...
    Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    For the genre, Trine 2 is a true 10/10 game, improving on its predecessor in every way. Combat, movement, and gameplay in general are fluid and intuitive. Puzzles, especially reaching the optional experience orbs, are extremely satisfying. The art style, music, and atmosphere create an immersive fairy-tale-like world. Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    I have a lot of mixed feelings about Trine 2, and my score doesn't even reflect half of them. Just as the first one, Trine 2 is absolutely stunning visually and music-wise. There was no problem there at all. The gameplay is very similar as well - you go through a number of levels, fight monsters, and solve puzzles, and you do this with all 3 characters at once, being able to swap between them at any time in order to tackle the next obstacle. The Wizard can conjure and levitate objects, the Thief can shoot arrows and swing via a grappling hook, and the Knight can fight up close and also use his shield to protect against the environmental hazards. I generally liked the levels, especially the Searock Castle, and the story (even though it wasn't the focus of the game). The dialogues between the characters were really funny too and added charm to the game. The only thing that sort of annoyed me was how Trine 2 took a complete favour towards co-op play and left the solo players behind. The reason I say this is because most of the game's puzzles were clearly designed for co-op play. There were solutions for solo players as well, but those were usually very frustrating to execute and at times even required trial and error ways. Usually solving a hard puzzle in games leaves you feeling great afterwards, but I didn't feel that satisfaction with many of the Trine 2 puzzles. Another problem with puzzles was that at times they expected you to have a certain skill already, like the Wizard's plank, and if you didn't, then you simply had to remove points from another skill and use in the one you need. So in essence there is no freedom to choose which skills you want to get. So that was a bit of a rant, and hence if you're looking to only play this game solo, then my score would probably be 8, but with co-op it is as good as 9. Generally I thought the gameplay has improved over the first in some aspects and worsened in other aspects, but overall if you don't count the fact that Trine 2 made co-op over online, the first game to me was superior. There was more satisfaction smashing the skeletons into pieces in Trine 1 than simply hitting the goblins in Trine 2. And Thief's grappling hook is a lot less useful now than in the first game because it seems that many of the surfaces in most levels cannot be grappled, hence making the grappling hook useless. However, Trine 2 did add some awesome abilities, such as Knight's hammer throw and Wizard being able to levitate the enemies now. Trine 2 also has a longer story mode than the first, but I am willing to bet the extra length is from spending more time on puzzle solutions rather than actual content. Generally Trine 2 is a great game. It's just I found it to be a bit too frustrating to the point that I wanted to rip my own hair compared to the first and hence the overall experience was not as pleasant on the first playthrough. I'd still highly recommend both games. They are fantastic and are among best indie games out there. Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    This game was a total surprise. I picked it up cheap at Steam and started playing co-op with a few friends, taking on one of the three roles each. We played several hours straight, the same happened the next day - and we have already planned another session tonight. Seriously people, if you like platforming or co-op this is most certainly the game for you. It is polished, controls well on the keyboard without a controller, breath-taking colorful graphics and really good physics puzzles which makes you and your friends stop and think for a little while every now and again. A really good game. A breath of fresh air. I dropped everything to play this - and I do no regret a second spent with it. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If
    the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (1/2)

    Visuals/Story (2/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (1/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (2/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  7. Feb 17, 2013
    3
    Boring. 3 character just make this game complex. not depth. I had a hard time controlling the characters and getting used to them, so I gave up. The puzzles weren't that hard, and not feeling in control of the characters made me give up I may give it a shot later. Expand

See all 90 User Reviews