User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 427 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 427

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 4, 2015
    7
    Sharp and colourful visuals and a decent physics engine is what this game offers and not much more than that. The story and characters are so very cliche, and the gameplay is fairly unremarkable, just a stock standard puzzle platformer with nothing else going for it. Nothing particularly original, nothing hugely entertaining.

    Overall rating - 6.7/10
  2. Oct 17, 2014
    7
    It is a worth-playing-game overall but there's a lot of deficiency to be pointed out. Especially the jumping. The final moment is so rewarding, even made me jumped out of my chair.
  3. Sep 12, 2014
    6
    Trine is a fun somewhat unique, beautiful game.

    Trine's character are fun and unique with some fun side scrolling action and good humor very easy and quick game. only lasts about 6 hours of gameplay so it doesn't get stale which is nice a good game doesn't need to be long just good.

    worth $5
  4. Aug 20, 2014
    9
    I really loved this hidden gem. I think its gameplay is innovative, the graphics are super-good-looking. The length of the game was the best for a full-time employee.

    It is simple, one of the best games i played for years!
  5. Jul 19, 2014
    9
    A TERRIFIC MASTERPIECE! This is truly the best 2D platformer I have ever played! With fantastic visuals, nice storytelling, music that makes you feel that you are in your dream fantasy world and fantastic narrator. This game is currently on sale for only 0.79 EUR (price from 1/3/2014) and the Trine Complete Collection (which includes Trine and Trine 2: Complete Story) for only 3.24 EURA TERRIFIC MASTERPIECE! This is truly the best 2D platformer I have ever played! With fantastic visuals, nice storytelling, music that makes you feel that you are in your dream fantasy world and fantastic narrator. This game is currently on sale for only 0.79 EUR (price from 1/3/2014) and the Trine Complete Collection (which includes Trine and Trine 2: Complete Story) for only 3.24 EUR (price from 1/3/2014). This is a true masterpiece, if you want to follow the story, I recommend Trine then Trine 2, if you want to play the prettiest, play Trine 2 Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2013
    5
    At the times when a platform game including three switchable characters able to affect environment was a surprise, maybe this game deserved 8 or 9. I read in credits that 'the game is different but totally entertaining'. It would be so if not these broken mechanics. I hated that my plank would appeare not where I want it to, moving things was horrible and especially when I would draw aAt the times when a platform game including three switchable characters able to affect environment was a surprise, maybe this game deserved 8 or 9. I read in credits that 'the game is different but totally entertaining'. It would be so if not these broken mechanics. I hated that my plank would appeare not where I want it to, moving things was horrible and especially when I would draw a triangle and got a box. The tempo, a flow of a game was missing. Because of that it became really static and often annoying. But for the price of 0,74 it is really viable game. Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    6
    Reasonably entertaining side scrolling platform adventure game. The game draws you in with its superb visuals and quick character changes which make the game feel very dynamic at first. As progress is made in the game you realize that the characters lack balance and the game just drags. Every puzzle can be most easily solved by the Wizard and once the Thief is strong enough there is neverReasonably entertaining side scrolling platform adventure game. The game draws you in with its superb visuals and quick character changes which make the game feel very dynamic at first. As progress is made in the game you realize that the characters lack balance and the game just drags. Every puzzle can be most easily solved by the Wizard and once the Thief is strong enough there is never a reason to use the slow and clumsy warrior. Experience is found in bottles, mostly hidden in the scenery, causing you to often focus more on maneuvering the scenery than solving puzzles and advancing the game. Expand
  8. AWG
    Aug 1, 2013
    6
    Trine is a pretty, "artsy" game that would like to be something special but in the end it's just your average platformer. Characters are as well drawn as irritating and story is dull.
  9. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    It's a rather average game with good graphics (for an arcade game). The physics puzzles are interesting at some places, but sometimes they require precise timing and very accurate key presses which gets annoying. You may like it if you like arcade games but let's say Limbo is way way better than this one.
  10. CBZ
    Jul 15, 2013
    9
    One of those little gems that you will love. I got it on Steam summer sale for really cheap together with Trine 2 and so far (more than halfway through) its a fantastic game with amazing visuals and good game mechanics,
  11. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    An excellent 2D platformer, and I generally hate this type of game. The wizard in particular is enjoyable to play with- there is no jumping puzzle you can't get through with him. It was enjoyable to have a platformer reward you for thinking outside the box. Some parts can be extremely frustrating, but it might just have been me being an idiot.
  12. Jun 13, 2013
    8
    With a graphic quality setting and very neat, Trine is one of the more indie games market production values​​. The coop is one of its strengths, having completely different characters is one of its strengths, it's a shame you do not have online and there are some compatibility issues with the joysticks. The use of physical and 2.5D elements are very well made, the puzzles become veryWith a graphic quality setting and very neat, Trine is one of the more indie games market production values​​. The coop is one of its strengths, having completely different characters is one of its strengths, it's a shame you do not have online and there are some compatibility issues with the joysticks. The use of physical and 2.5D elements are very well made, the puzzles become very original. The items and system levels is very basic, and much depends on finding the secrets that are scattered on the map (which give rise to an interesting replay value), which sometimes results addictive have all the experience points level. The sound section is pretty basic, since its quite repetitive themes and sound effects with a decent level. The voices do not stand out much because the dialogue is almost nonexistent. Title is a very innovative and different from the usual, recommended for anyone who enjoys the platforms, puzzles and medieval times. Expand
  13. Apr 25, 2013
    4
    I picked it up on a Steam sale, along with its sequel, looking for a good platform game. Graphically is just great for a platform game, cool sound, and cool characters, each one with his own specialties. Sadly, the games has many flaws that make's it really boring after just a couple of levels. First is the physic engine, which makes really hard to jump to small areas. The puzzle were justI picked it up on a Steam sale, along with its sequel, looking for a good platform game. Graphically is just great for a platform game, cool sound, and cool characters, each one with his own specialties. Sadly, the games has many flaws that make's it really boring after just a couple of levels. First is the physic engine, which makes really hard to jump to small areas. The puzzle were just to easy to deserve that name. And the levels feels repetitive almost immediately. There is no sens of progression. The story is average, but you will hardly see any connection with the gameplay. And the worst part, what will make you want to quite the game after less than 30 minutes of playing THE COMBATS!! First of all, the enemies are EXTREMELY REPETITIVE. Basically bats and different kind of skeletons (knights, archers, flame throwers, etc) and I can't describe how boring is to fight them... Avoiding them by jumping without being cut is really hard, and you will be in many situations were as soon as you kill a skeleton, a new one spawn. And fighting them is also terrible, the archer can't throw arrows in the air, and has no defense. Basically stay away and throw as many arrows as you can. The wizard only can crash skeletons by levitating stuffs, has no defense skill, and has no way to kill bats!!!. And finally the knight, the combative one, you basically stay cover with you shield, wait for the skeleton to hit you, and then just click many times until he is dead. Compare this with the old DOS prince of persia combat system, and this is just patetic.... So in the end, a boring, yet graphically beautiful platform game to soon be forget. Expand
  14. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    great game, great platormer gameplay. the graphics are pretty good for a side scroller and i dont know of many games like it for the pc. maybe rocket knight, but that one is a bit different in gameplay. trine uses three characters that combine their skills to get past each level. its really fun to play with another in co-op mode. the story revolves three characters a wizard, thief, andgreat game, great platormer gameplay. the graphics are pretty good for a side scroller and i dont know of many games like it for the pc. maybe rocket knight, but that one is a bit different in gameplay. trine uses three characters that combine their skills to get past each level. its really fun to play with another in co-op mode. the story revolves three characters a wizard, thief, and warrior that come together to save their world from evil unleashed. anything less than 9, is saying there are platformers better than this on the pc... Expand
  15. Feb 3, 2013
    6
    I picked this up in a steam sale along with its sequel and was initially impressed with its fantastic visuals and controls. The three character dynamic works well for the most part and each character has their specific roles. However I felt that the gameplay was unpolished and I solved a few puzzles by abusing the physics engine and I encountered various glitches. I didn't finish the gameI picked this up in a steam sale along with its sequel and was initially impressed with its fantastic visuals and controls. The three character dynamic works well for the most part and each character has their specific roles. However I felt that the gameplay was unpolished and I solved a few puzzles by abusing the physics engine and I encountered various glitches. I didn't finish the game because of this and have no desire to. I recognize there's a good game underneath the outdated physics engine and glitches but I recommend you skip straight to Trine's superior sequel. Expand
  16. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    I just checked a couple of screenshots before getting Trine and thought about having it as a resting game from some heavy time-consuming titles I was playing.

    Still when I started the game and saw the story and the amazing visuals... felt so happy to have bought it. Not to mention the collaborative approach that makes you think that one skill is never enough but is team work what can
    I just checked a couple of screenshots before getting Trine and thought about having it as a resting game from some heavy time-consuming titles I was playing.

    Still when I started the game and saw the story and the amazing visuals... felt so happy to have bought it. Not to mention the collaborative approach that makes you think that one skill is never enough but is team work what can make things really really work.

    I completely congratulate the company and developers for this game that gave me some really nice hours of fun. You can see in every aspect of the game that the people were putting their heart, from the visuals, to the gameplay, the story to the puzzles, its a game designed and developed with passion.

    The only downturn is that the "Very Hard" difficult only unlocks when you first beat the game and I am the kind of person who would like to play a game only once and in maximum difficulty, besides being only slight difference among them.

    Thumbs up for this amazing game!!!
    Expand
  17. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Trine is a good example of what happens when developers set out on a quest to make the greatest game ever. Interactive physics puzzles, useful and fun characters combined with breathtaking visuals so awesome it's magical, make this game worthy of passing on to your grandkids.
  18. Dec 25, 2012
    7
    Trine is quite good game. I've played only 2 hours, cause i don't like games with magic. But for someone, who like fantasy, Trine is very good game.
  19. Dec 11, 2012
    6
    Side scrolling platformer where you control three characters in a fantasy setting. In theory each character has their strong points and should contribute to specific areas of the game. However in reality for the majority of the game you could pick which of the three you like the best and roll through levels with them. Compounding on this problem is the fact that the Knight character isSide scrolling platformer where you control three characters in a fantasy setting. In theory each character has their strong points and should contribute to specific areas of the game. However in reality for the majority of the game you could pick which of the three you like the best and roll through levels with them. Compounding on this problem is the fact that the Knight character is mostly useless leaving you to use him to eat damage. The narrative is clever with good voice over work between levels but can't seem to figure out if it's trying to be humorous or quaint. The graphics are beautiful but many parts made me wish I had been able to walk into the back/foreground (like Bug 3D). If you enjoy platformers or RPGs this will be worth checking out since it combines elements of both well. Expand
  20. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    If like me you played first Trine 2, this can be a surprise. Both are set in a fantasy world but they are different. Trine is more combat style and there are fewer puzzles. The setting, with its artistic style is always a pleasure; hidden treasures contain trinkets that can be worn by the characters, so you are more interested in finding them. The short length (six hours) and lack ofIf like me you played first Trine 2, this can be a surprise. Both are set in a fantasy world but they are different. Trine is more combat style and there are fewer puzzles. The setting, with its artistic style is always a pleasure; hidden treasures contain trinkets that can be worn by the characters, so you are more interested in finding them. The short length (six hours) and lack of different enemies, they are all skeletons, put Trine few steps under his successor but It is a good game for your collection. Expand
  21. Sep 14, 2012
    8
    The graphics are really great with very beautiful colors and effects. Story is mediocre but that doesnt affect the game overall. The puzzles are very clever and can be solved with every character you got, either thief, wizard and knigth. A bit small on gameplay length, featuring 15 levels and a secret one after you finish the game.

    The intro before every level is very good and the
    The graphics are really great with very beautiful colors and effects. Story is mediocre but that doesnt affect the game overall. The puzzles are very clever and can be solved with every character you got, either thief, wizard and knigth. A bit small on gameplay length, featuring 15 levels and a secret one after you finish the game.

    The intro before every level is very good and the narrator puts you in the story pretty well.

    The music is just epic, one of my favourite scores in gaming.
    Expand
  22. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    I enjoyed the game and played through it about four times. It had some challenges and was a really beautiful world to explore. I would have given it a 10 if it was more non-linear... only out of what I prefer but I recommend it as a physics guy.
  23. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Trine is a game that takes pride in it's work. From the story, to the graphics, to the level design every part of Trine shows care, polish, and pride. That is up to the end. There are no spoilers here, just know that the ending is very anti-climatic. The ending is what lead me to give Trine a 9 and not a 10. The path to the end, however, is very enjoyable and will keep you enthralled andTrine is a game that takes pride in it's work. From the story, to the graphics, to the level design every part of Trine shows care, polish, and pride. That is up to the end. There are no spoilers here, just know that the ending is very anti-climatic. The ending is what lead me to give Trine a 9 and not a 10. The path to the end, however, is very enjoyable and will keep you enthralled and frustrated at the same time. It took me 2 days or 12 hours to complete Trine and the whole time I just couldn't seem to force myself away from the PC. If you like puzzle platforming, then you will certainly love this game. Actually, if you just like games that require a bit of free thinking and puzzle solving then you will enjoy it. It can get frustrating at times, but remember: If at first you don't succeed, Trine, Trine again. Expand
  24. Jul 13, 2012
    8
    This is a fantastic indie game and platformer. The game is fun to go through single-player, but it really shines when you can get one or two friends to play through it with you. Solving the puzzles together while making sure all of you can get through while fighting off bats and skeletons is great fun. The platforming is very solid and while the puzzles are not terrible complicated,This is a fantastic indie game and platformer. The game is fun to go through single-player, but it really shines when you can get one or two friends to play through it with you. Solving the puzzles together while making sure all of you can get through while fighting off bats and skeletons is great fun. The platforming is very solid and while the puzzles are not terrible complicated, getting all the characters through in 3 player can be harder than you think. Graphically the game is gorgeous, the backgrounds and character are incredibly well animated, colorful, and just fun to look at. The one area of the game that I feel could use a little improvement is the combat. The way the enemies spawned could get a bit tiresome at times. There were often only 1 or 2 spawn points in an area but you would have to fight a dozen or more skeletons. This would drag out the fights painfully with you waiting right by the spawn point to kill the same skeleton 5 or 6 times over the course of several minutes instead of just fighting them all at once and moving on. You would kill it for the 5th time and turn around to move to the next puzzle and *whoosh* another skeleton spawns behind you. Still a very fun, solid, and thoroughly enjoyable platform puzzle game. Recommended for anyone that enjoys a good platforming game. Play with friends for the full experience. Expand
  25. May 31, 2012
    6
    Wake me up when there is some kind of challenge. The monsters are all identical from start to end, the "puzzles" are extremely easy. The gameplay, three heroes to control and freedom to pass the level like you choose, along with the nice levels design and artistic direction makes it worth playing despite these flaws.
  26. May 14, 2012
    5
    I will be frank, the idea is neat... I expected something clever as Lost Vikings. And i got less. the game offers too many solutions... So much you don't really have to think at all. The game is also too easy. The enemies are repetitive. The knight voice, and the jokes... OH MY GOOD... they are really really bad. To the point Im trying to be kind to that aspect.... But I CHOKED hearing soI will be frank, the idea is neat... I expected something clever as Lost Vikings. And i got less. the game offers too many solutions... So much you don't really have to think at all. The game is also too easy. The enemies are repetitive. The knight voice, and the jokes... OH MY GOOD... they are really really bad. To the point Im trying to be kind to that aspect.... But I CHOKED hearing so bad jokes... The first problem... The Characters never interact between them. That's lame... I understand during the first half of the game they just say some lines. But near the end they still don't have a normal Dialog... Example...

    "I smell something is burning"

    "I wish it is not the woods"

    " I wish is Turkey" I made this by myself and I think i made a better joke that what I have in that game... But they interact like that.. Remember When a level started in Lost vikngs and the characters had actual conversations? Remember they INTERACTED talking to each other and playing pranks and jokes between themselves!? Ok here we have characters who constanly say something about something but never criticize each other or have some kind of interaction. And Is not like that is not possible, the knight is so terrible flatminded it deserves the thief play pranks on him and the wizard calms everybody, But no, they dont do anything ... the jokes are bad, the characters have little characterization and they don't even talk to each other (is like they talk to thin air)

    Now the game itself. The physics are unaccurate, but not to the point is unplayable... But mark my words... If you die, Is because of the physics.

    The enemies range from bats... to skeletons. to monsters. to skeletons... Add some skeletons, some bats, some skeletons, some more skeletons. and . Maybe some more bats... But don't forget the skeletons!

    This is not the prince of persia times, where your only enemies where swordmen and skeletons. This game really needed difficulty. Voices, and depth...

    Overall I think this game is really hollow and was made with little to no heart.

    I Enjoyed the run... But not enough to play the game again. It just don't have replayability, this is the first platformer I probably will not play again. Is not bad or mediocre... But really average
    Expand
  27. May 3, 2012
    10
    I absolutely loved this game. The game is very fun, not too long, not too short. The 2D gameplay is great and reminds me of Castlevania 3 with its varied characters each with their own unique strengths. In Trine the characters are well balanced, the wizard almost being an exception since his only offense is to drop a box or plank on enemies and you can't move while you're summoning, butI absolutely loved this game. The game is very fun, not too long, not too short. The 2D gameplay is great and reminds me of Castlevania 3 with its varied characters each with their own unique strengths. In Trine the characters are well balanced, the wizard almost being an exception since his only offense is to drop a box or plank on enemies and you can't move while you're summoning, but this vulnerability makes it interesting, especially if he's the only character left alive. The music is absolutely beautiful and perfectly suited to the game and just for listening in general. I completed all achievements and was still left wanting more. Expand
  28. Apr 10, 2012
    7
    Trine is a beautiful indie co-op platformer, akin to Blizzard's classic Lost Vikings. With stunning visuals, great music and excellent voice acting (the Knight is especially funny to listen to), Trine is no doubt a treat to your senses. Three on-the-fly selectable characters, each with unique abilities, fills the thoughtless void typically native to the genre. A leveling system linkedTrine is a beautiful indie co-op platformer, akin to Blizzard's classic Lost Vikings. With stunning visuals, great music and excellent voice acting (the Knight is especially funny to listen to), Trine is no doubt a treat to your senses. Three on-the-fly selectable characters, each with unique abilities, fills the thoughtless void typically native to the genre. A leveling system linked with secret collectibles adds a satisfying, appropriate and very familiar element of replayability. Trine could use some more diverse enemy models, as the Skeleton proved tiresome after the first encounter. Trine's strongest weakness lies in the clumsy-feeling physics-based gameplay, often adding an element of frustrating uncertainty to the movement of your character - thankfully, Trine is not overly challenging (completed in 7 hours, and 100% Steam achievements in 16), but more challenging puzzles and co-op would have been most welcome. Setting the controls for multiplayer, using a standard xbox gamepad, proved to be an unneeded headache.

    Overall, Trine is a must-have for indie game fans and is highly recommended to platformer fans interested in something unique.
    Expand
  29. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    At first glance Trine might seem like a simple side-scrolling adventure game, but there is actually a lot more to it than that. The game has a lot of charm to it. Although its story is not anything too special, the game's main strengths lie in its absolutely beautiful graphics, very magical music, and incredibly fun puzzles. You get to play as three characters, that is as all three in oneAt first glance Trine might seem like a simple side-scrolling adventure game, but there is actually a lot more to it than that. The game has a lot of charm to it. Although its story is not anything too special, the game's main strengths lie in its absolutely beautiful graphics, very magical music, and incredibly fun puzzles. You get to play as three characters, that is as all three in one go with the option to swap between them during the game as each one is useful for different situations. You have a Thief who wields a bow to destroy enemies from a distance and also has a grappling hook for climbing purposes. You have a Wizard who can levitate various objects and also to create new ones and to drop them on enemies. And you also have a Knight who is the most action-oriented of the three and is mostly for the moments when you're swarmed by groups of enemies and need to go melee style. As a result of being able to control any of the three characters at any time, the gameplay has a lot of spice and variety to it. It never gets repetitive. Although you do encounter a lot of enemies throughout, the game is also filled with a huge variety of different puzzles and obstacles which you need to overcome by using the skills your characters possess. A lot of the time there are even multiple ways to solve a certain puzzle. Like you could build a bridge with a Wizard character, or you might wish to instead use the Thief and her grappling hook to swing across. A single playthrough only lasts about 5 or so hours in total, but those 5 hours are really great as you get to enjoy the visual, auditory, and intellectual beauty of the game, not to mention that the replayability is good too, so you're likely to come back to the game a lot. Expand
  30. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The premise of this game is similar to that of SNES game The Lost Vikings. You switch between three distinct characters and use their unique abilities to navigate through puzzle-filled action-platformer levels. Trine really kicks it up a notch though, with realistic physics interaction and gorgeous, fluid visuals. Although your character only moves along the 2D plane, there's a lot of stuff going on in the background. Huge blades will swing from the background, past your player and into the foreground, before slicing back again. It's a really special touch that is testimony to the level of visual detail in Trine. There's a huge amount of colour in the environments, which are extremely distinct from one another but all look beautiful. Characters move well for the most part, which is handy seeing as most of the puzzles involve jumping around on tiny platforms. Trine includes some light RPG elements; you can collect experience that allows you to upgrade your abilities when you level up. You can also find lots of unique items throughout the game, some of which are tailored for certain characters. Speaking of the characters; you'll definitely be using all of them. All three characters can solve most of the puzzles in the game, but you'll quickly learn which to use in certain situations. Because you shift between the three characters/classes so often, the RPG elements really come into play, and you'll want to spread out your items fairly evenly. Combat is fun, if a little repetitive, with enemies such as sword, bow and fire-wielding skeletons, ferocious ogres and smaller creatures like bats and spiders. Obviously the knight is the best character in close quarter combat situations, with his strong sword and hammer attacks and the ability to block.
    The dialogue is pretty funny at times, especially thanks to the great voice acting. It makes you care for the characters a little more than if they had generic, similar voices. All in all Trine is a great game, taking about seven hours to finish and with a stack of replay value. Pick it up on Steam for $15 and you won't have many regrets.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Trine is simply an unpretentious and effortlessly lovely adventure, if never quite special enough to nudge into the echelons of 9/10 and above. Immediately likeable, hugely enjoyable and brimming with charming detail every step of the way, your enjoyment may depend on how many friends you can share the journey with, but few would regret time spent in the company of this trio.
  2. Trine isn't as new and exciting as current 2D platforming king Braid was on its release, but its combination of tight controls, exiting action and physics-based puzzles makes it easy to recommend to platforming fans. It's a shame the multiplayer isn't more interesting, but when played alone it shouldn't be hard to get many hours of fun out of Frozenbyte's impressive looking title.
  3. A charming and excellently executed platform game. [Issue#22, p.57]