Trine PC

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 488 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 488
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    Fantastic visuals. Someone cared deeply about the art. The voice acting is great, the game play is very fun. Don't hesitate to get this or it's sequel.
  2. Sep 14, 2012
    8
    The graphics are really great with very beautiful colors and effects. Story is mediocre but that doesnt affect the game overall. The puzzles are very clever and can be solved with every character you got, either thief, wizard and knigth. A bit small on gameplay length, featuring 15 levels and a secret one after you finish the game.

    The intro before every level is very good and the
    The graphics are really great with very beautiful colors and effects. Story is mediocre but that doesnt affect the game overall. The puzzles are very clever and can be solved with every character you got, either thief, wizard and knigth. A bit small on gameplay length, featuring 15 levels and a secret one after you finish the game.

    The intro before every level is very good and the narrator puts you in the story pretty well.

    The music is just epic, one of my favourite scores in gaming.
    Expand
  3. TJW
    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    This game is quite amazing. The 2d game play is fantastic, the story is humorous and yet has some depth to it, the art in this game is totally FANTASTIC, and all 3 characters are pretty useful. However, there are a few things I dislike about it. One is that the music tends to be a little repetitive. It isn't bad, but it's noticeable. Also another 'problem' is the This game is quite amazing. The 2d game play is fantastic, the story is humorous and yet has some depth to it, the art in this game is totally FANTASTIC, and all 3 characters are pretty useful. However, there are a few things I dislike about it. One is that the music tends to be a little repetitive. It isn't bad, but it's noticeable. Also another 'problem' is the platforming. It isn't 'bad', but it's a little loose, perhaps a bit too easy? There is some challenge in the game, but it really isn't that difficult. I only played through the medium game, so I might be wrong and it would be more difficult in later levels. It's hard to tell. Anyways, the amazing aspects of the game far outweigh any problems with the game, and I think it is well worth the cost. Expand
  4. BobDS
    Jul 29, 2009
    8
    Trine is a fun game, although I believe that it might have been a bit overpriced. Its gameplay is pretty good and I didn't even notice the issues Koos King is complaining about. The animation is very good and a lot of the action has a tangible quality to it. I never had any problem with precision jumping. In fact, Zoya the thief is very capable at jumping from one tiny ledge to Trine is a fun game, although I believe that it might have been a bit overpriced. Its gameplay is pretty good and I didn't even notice the issues Koos King is complaining about. The animation is very good and a lot of the action has a tangible quality to it. I never had any problem with precision jumping. In fact, Zoya the thief is very capable at jumping from one tiny ledge to another. I've almost never been smacked around by heavy boxes, and the few times it happened it was actually quite hilarious and completely my own plan backfiring on me. It's true that the game is a bit of a one trick pony, though. This isn't Braid, but the game still manages to be very fun, especially in coop mode. (You'll need to go to the controller configuration to assign multiple gamepads.) The levels are gorgeous, although the voice acting ranges from mediocre to bad. In response to Koos King again, the resolutions the game offers are plenty. Expand
  5. AndyK
    Sep 3, 2009
    8
    Awesome game! Amazing graphics and sound create a unique atmosphere! The gameplay is very easy to get into, the puzzles are relatively simple but the ability to solve them in multiple ways is excellent! On the other hand, I would have preferred more variety in the enemies and more abilities for the wizard, who is underused. Overall, I would say I used thief 65%, warrior 30% and wizard Awesome game! Amazing graphics and sound create a unique atmosphere! The gameplay is very easy to get into, the puzzles are relatively simple but the ability to solve them in multiple ways is excellent! On the other hand, I would have preferred more variety in the enemies and more abilities for the wizard, who is underused. Overall, I would say I used thief 65%, warrior 30% and wizard 5%...in conclusion, it's just an extremely fun game, and isn't that the point? :D Expand
  6. SeanG.
    Jul 11, 2009
    9
    Trine is an instantly accessible joy of a game. Anyone who earned their wings playing through platformers in the nineties will feel instantly at home. The basic gameplay mechanics are rock solid. You progress through a traditional fairy-tale land thinking and jumping through physics laden levels choosing between a knight, wizard and thief to overcome obstacles. The character animations Trine is an instantly accessible joy of a game. Anyone who earned their wings playing through platformers in the nineties will feel instantly at home. The basic gameplay mechanics are rock solid. You progress through a traditional fairy-tale land thinking and jumping through physics laden levels choosing between a knight, wizard and thief to overcome obstacles. The character animations feel fluid, natural and appropriate to the character model whilst the level designs offer enough of a challenge for the game to roll on without making you feeling patronised or frustrated. You'll find yourself employing each of the three characters individual skills throughout each level but it's the Thief character that shines the brightest. The archery system is satisfying and intuitive. The in game graphics are wonderfully over the top; reminiscent of the first d3d games where colour and lighting were splashed around with gusto as the designers played with the nascent lighting tech. The consistency of the quality in the graphics is outstanding reflecting a sense the designers real enjoyed colouring each pixel. The game engine offers reasonable scalability (no doubt held back by the strain the physics processing lays down on the CPU) meaning even most laptop gamers will be able to enjoy Trine's charm albeit on a very low res. Disappointments are few but most notably the enemy AI could do with a re visit as they hone on your character often to their destruction by one of the numerous physics based environmental traps. Xbox controllers are fully supported but the game doesn't seem to save your preference for it, requiring a trip to the options screen at every start and I haven't decided whether the ropey cut-scenes and the shocking load screen add or detract from the overall charm of the experience. All in all one of the best simplest and most enjoyable games I've ever played. Thoroughly recommendable. Expand
  7. EricO
    Aug 7, 2009
    8
    Even if on PC, it steps up to a platforming style that hasn't got my attention since the Rockman games...well, at least how they USED to be. Trine possesses amazing graphical detail and extremely fun game play. Working with that, it also has a nice chunk of puzzles or situational moments that make you actually think, which yeah, I don't want to think all the time when I'm Even if on PC, it steps up to a platforming style that hasn't got my attention since the Rockman games...well, at least how they USED to be. Trine possesses amazing graphical detail and extremely fun game play. Working with that, it also has a nice chunk of puzzles or situational moments that make you actually think, which yeah, I don't want to think all the time when I'm blowing crap up but I like to work the ole noodle every now and again. Although it seemed short the different modes of play test your different skill levels and with steam you get the achievements which usually keep you occupied tying to get them all and keeping the point of playing the game open. I know I'm being rather lenient with my score because I really enjoyed the game, the look, the puzzles and the different characters , the game just seems short enough to not score more than an 8 with me. I wish there would have been just ever so slightly more things to do but, I hope there are more games that take this approach in the future. Expand
  8. KaarleW
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    It's like entering a fairytale. I am in love with the game.
  9. Dec 2, 2011
    6
    The game is extremely pretty to look at. It's a good length game consider the price tag and there welcome complexity to the character designs. However, the game play is very lacking. The puzzles are extremely easy and repetitive. The jumping controls are unresponsive and lack precision. You see largely only 1 enemy type throughout the whole game which gets dull extremely quickly. TheThe game is extremely pretty to look at. It's a good length game consider the price tag and there welcome complexity to the character designs. However, the game play is very lacking. The puzzles are extremely easy and repetitive. The jumping controls are unresponsive and lack precision. You see largely only 1 enemy type throughout the whole game which gets dull extremely quickly. The coop play is awkward as the game is obviously not design only for single player. The music lacks variance. Expand
  10. StefanA
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    Wish there was more of these games. Absolutely fabulous. The levels feel very polished and stunning to look at. But the wizard needs more Oomph. A better way of using his skills offensively. Buy it now. ;)
  11. BenS
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Terrific game. Graphics and music are top notch. The story line was a bit basic but satisfactory. The narration adds to the whole experience. Navigation and controls are simple. I'd like to see a sequel.
  12. MattW.
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    This is an amazing game. Basing a platformer off of physics is a great way to make it fun, when done right. These guys did it right. The graphics are spectacular, the story is interesting enough that it draws your attention, and the voice acting is pretty entertaining. This is the best platformer I've played in years.
  13. ErichS
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    Gorgeous visuals and highly addictive gameplay. It's been a long time since a game grabbed my attention like this one did. And I'm a wargame/flight sim type! Buy it - you will *not* regret it.
  14. PhilP
    Jul 4, 2009
    9
    Excellent game - fun and smooth with good action and fun physics. Beautiful graphics and atmosphere to it. Could be a little longer, but I very much enjoyed this game.
  15. Aug 24, 2010
    7
    Basic platforming plus good physics engine = good fun but not particularly revolutionary or mind-blowing. I find this game enjoyable, and I know a game doesn't have to be full of new stuff for it to be fun, but really it doesn't capture my imagination. The story is pretty much traditional claptrap with very heavily stereotyped and simple characters, and the biggest challenge in laterBasic platforming plus good physics engine = good fun but not particularly revolutionary or mind-blowing. I find this game enjoyable, and I know a game doesn't have to be full of new stuff for it to be fun, but really it doesn't capture my imagination. The story is pretty much traditional claptrap with very heavily stereotyped and simple characters, and the biggest challenge in later levels is trying to platform while enemies repeatedly respawn in the same place, not very creative IMO. The physics does make for some slightly different puzzles from the usual, but it's nothing that hasn't been done before. Expand
  16. Jul 15, 2011
    7
    Its a fun game, I like to play co-op with my friends, but it can get boring pretty fast. The graphics and physics are really neat for a sidescroller, and everything seems to run pretty smoothly.
  17. Apr 25, 2013
    4
    I picked it up on a Steam sale, along with its sequel, looking for a good platform game. Graphically is just great for a platform game, cool sound, and cool characters, each one with his own specialties. Sadly, the games has many flaws that make's it really boring after just a couple of levels. First is the physic engine, which makes really hard to jump to small areas. The puzzle were justI picked it up on a Steam sale, along with its sequel, looking for a good platform game. Graphically is just great for a platform game, cool sound, and cool characters, each one with his own specialties. Sadly, the games has many flaws that make's it really boring after just a couple of levels. First is the physic engine, which makes really hard to jump to small areas. The puzzle were just to easy to deserve that name. And the levels feels repetitive almost immediately. There is no sens of progression. The story is average, but you will hardly see any connection with the gameplay. And the worst part, what will make you want to quite the game after less than 30 minutes of playing THE COMBATS!! First of all, the enemies are EXTREMELY REPETITIVE. Basically bats and different kind of skeletons (knights, archers, flame throwers, etc) and I can't describe how boring is to fight them... Avoiding them by jumping without being cut is really hard, and you will be in many situations were as soon as you kill a skeleton, a new one spawn. And fighting them is also terrible, the archer can't throw arrows in the air, and has no defense. Basically stay away and throw as many arrows as you can. The wizard only can crash skeletons by levitating stuffs, has no defense skill, and has no way to kill bats!!!. And finally the knight, the combative one, you basically stay cover with you shield, wait for the skeleton to hit you, and then just click many times until he is dead. Compare this with the old DOS prince of persia combat system, and this is just patetic.... So in the end, a boring, yet graphically beautiful platform game to soon be forget. Expand
  18. DanE
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    One of the most visually impressive titles I have seen in a long time. The art direction, lighting, and attention to detail are down right amazing. The gameplay is inventive, fun, and charming. Games of this caliber and care dont come along that often, definitely add this to your purchase list.
  19. jorgen
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    A brilliant platformer! The 3D backgrounds and dynamic lighting effects are breathtaking. Screens and even movies don't do them justice. You'll want to risk exploring every bit just to not miss out on some beautiful hidden place (and don't be afraid of the water!). It plays a lot like those good old Castlevania games, but with some cool twists thrown in. Instant switching A brilliant platformer! The 3D backgrounds and dynamic lighting effects are breathtaking. Screens and even movies don't do them justice. You'll want to risk exploring every bit just to not miss out on some beautiful hidden place (and don't be afraid of the water!). It plays a lot like those good old Castlevania games, but with some cool twists thrown in. Instant switching between characters sounds confusing, but it becomes second nature almost immediately, and adds fantastic creativity to the puzzle solving. There's even some RPG elements with upgrades and inventory. What a breath of fresh air for PC gaming. Expand
  20. KoosKing
    Jul 25, 2009
    3
    Trine is a beautiful looking game - the artists have really poured heart and soul into it. Unfortunately it's gameplay and programming where it falls flat. There's a few small issues that I'll mention first before I get to the real problem. There's no saving mid-way through a level. If you quit it's restart time. Controller configuration isn't saved so Trine is a beautiful looking game - the artists have really poured heart and soul into it. Unfortunately it's gameplay and programming where it falls flat. There's a few small issues that I'll mention first before I get to the real problem. There's no saving mid-way through a level. If you quit it's restart time. Controller configuration isn't saved so you'll need to reset that everytime too. You can't pick a resolution and aspect ratio. You must choose from the arbitrary ones offered. The voice acting ranges from good to really bad. Bad none of those are show stoppers. The problem is that using a physics engine to drive a character in a platform game is a BAD IDEA. There's a fair bit of precision jumping which you will fail time and again as your characters inertia slides them off the edge. Add to that that you're getting smacked around by heavy boxes etc... and you never really feel like you're controlling your character. The other issue with a physics based game is that it's a bit of a one trick pony. By the end of the second stage you'll have solved every puzzle varaint. The rest is tedium. Not even the enemies change. Expand
  21. RogerI
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    Probably the most charming and endearing game this year. A genuine joy to play. It is a tad on the short side though and you'll either love or hate the final level, but if you enjoy hunting out secrets and collecting achievements, then you'll definitely get your ££ worth.
  22. lugduweb
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Very addictive game. Awesome graphics, smart physics usage with three complementary characters. I love this game !
  23. RyanD
    Jul 3, 2009
    8
    Immediately charming, visually stunning, and appealing to people of all ages and audiences, Trine really blew me away at the start. I loved doing every single puzzle in a different way each time I faced it, and had an amazing experience doing so. Combat was a very fun and well-executed addition to the game and I found myself loving the dynamic contrast between the three characters for all Immediately charming, visually stunning, and appealing to people of all ages and audiences, Trine really blew me away at the start. I loved doing every single puzzle in a different way each time I faced it, and had an amazing experience doing so. Combat was a very fun and well-executed addition to the game and I found myself loving the dynamic contrast between the three characters for all sorts of tasks. My only regret about the game is that I felt it was extremely short. I was really hoping I'd be able to get an extra few hours out of it. I beat it the day I got it, which disappointed me a little bit. However, Frozenbyte is definitely on the right track. No doubt I'd recommend trying the demo out (can't hurt, always a good idea), but just be wary, for $30, it may make your pocket a little lighter than you'd like it to be. Expand
  24. JohnB
    Jul 6, 2009
    9
    A truly delightful platformer was clearly a labour of love for the developers Frozenbyte. Every level is mastercrafted and beautiful, with a simple, fairytale plot, backed up by outstanding narration and voice-acting. The physics-based puzzles are extremely enjoyable, as is the simple but none the less hectic combat. While it only currently has local co-op, it is innovative enough to A truly delightful platformer was clearly a labour of love for the developers Frozenbyte. Every level is mastercrafted and beautiful, with a simple, fairytale plot, backed up by outstanding narration and voice-acting. The physics-based puzzles are extremely enjoyable, as is the simple but none the less hectic combat. While it only currently has local co-op, it is innovative enough to warrant a playthrough with your friends. Coming from someone who usually hates platformers, you'd have to possess a heart of stone not to enjoy this title. Nowhere near as pretentious or mind-bending as Braid, and I'm thankful for it. Expand
  25. MikeVW
    Jul 12, 2009
    9
    Only thing keeping this from being a 10 is the overall length of the game. A couple of hours and you're through the graphically beautiful and physics blessed world. Turning around and re-capping is a must, because there is always something you missed. The only thing the devs missed on this title = lengthen the game.
  26. RyanB
    Jul 24, 2009
    8
    I really enjoy this game, lots of action nice puzzles. But I gave it an 8 because of the repetition later in the game. At the start puzzles are challenging because your limited by the amount of things you can do. Namely the Wizards boxes and later planks. At the start you get a few but later you have so many plus some more spells that make spells much too easy. You don't really need I really enjoy this game, lots of action nice puzzles. But I gave it an 8 because of the repetition later in the game. At the start puzzles are challenging because your limited by the amount of things you can do. Namely the Wizards boxes and later planks. At the start you get a few but later you have so many plus some more spells that make spells much too easy. You don't really need to think anymore just place boxes and you can get anywhere. Aside from that the game turns out really well with a nice slick story and an absolute perfect ending. The last level is incredible, very memorable. Expand
  27. GabrielR
    Jul 7, 2009
    9
    I was quite surprised with this game! The mechanics are simple but it's so much fun to advance through the beautifully crafted levels. The puzzles aren't that challenging but they do their job never making the game feel clogged. Graphically, the game is very competent but the art is what really stand out in this one, they are beautiful. Trine is not very long, 15 levels, but if I was quite surprised with this game! The mechanics are simple but it's so much fun to advance through the beautifully crafted levels. The puzzles aren't that challenging but they do their job never making the game feel clogged. Graphically, the game is very competent but the art is what really stand out in this one, they are beautiful. Trine is not very long, 15 levels, but if you care to get all the treasure and experience it should be about 9 hours to beat one time. Collapse
  28. DanO
    Jul 23, 2009
    9
    Light on plot and could be a little bit longer, but i'm playing it for the 2nd time and still loving it! I'm constantly finding new ways to solve problems in different ways, though none are too hard for me to get past .. unlike games like Tomb Raider or World of Goo, etc.

    Probably the best platform game i've ever played.
  29. EvanC
    Aug 22, 2009
    7
    The game is a solid good fun experience. However, the gamplay is awkward and the levels are much of a muchness. The main problem is that the game gets simple do this, do that gameplay about halfway through with little variation.
  30. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Awesome game, it is so beautiful. I finished it but kept coming back and playing it again and again. It is exactly as another reviewer put it, I fell in love with Trine. I can´t wait for Trine 2!
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Trine is simply an unpretentious and effortlessly lovely adventure, if never quite special enough to nudge into the echelons of 9/10 and above. Immediately likeable, hugely enjoyable and brimming with charming detail every step of the way, your enjoyment may depend on how many friends you can share the journey with, but few would regret time spent in the company of this trio.
  2. Trine isn't as new and exciting as current 2D platforming king Braid was on its release, but its combination of tight controls, exiting action and physics-based puzzles makes it easy to recommend to platforming fans. It's a shame the multiplayer isn't more interesting, but when played alone it shouldn't be hard to get many hours of fun out of Frozenbyte's impressive looking title.
  3. Total PC Gaming
    80
    A charming and excellently executed platform game. [Issue#22, p.57]