Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 80
    I loved being able to visit this vision, which is what I was really excited about to begin with...If only there had been a faster pace, less jumping, and more scripted events that brought in more neutral and friendly bodies to help you or just interfere, that would have been great.
  2. The gameplay concepts tie into the film nicely, too, so hardcore fans of the movie should enjoy it as a nostalgic trip. On the other hand, Tron 2.0 suffers from too many generic and uninspired sections and dull combat.
  3. Easy controls, and the ability to go in and play through the light cycle circuit as a game totally separate from the story driven FPS part was great and will help to increase replay value overall for many people. The enemies, weapons, leveling up system, downloading and just overall presentation of the game were spectacular in my opinion.
  4. If TRON 2.0 allowed you to use more of your brain along with the action elements, it would be a more rewarding experience. As it is, TRON 2.0 underneath all the glitter, glimmer and high-tech processing is just a 386.
  5. Instantly grabs you with its ultra-crisp graphics, which perfectly recall the mood of the film... excels in using the little touches to immerse the player in the computer world. [Oct 2003, p.140]
  6. 89
    One of the most polished and entertaining titles of 2003... A stellar game, one that dares to venture beyond the standard shooter formula and pulls it off with style.
  7. It's stylish, fun, challenging and you really do feel as if you're playing a part in a sequel to a cult classic. That's all we were after.
  8. 100
    The game looks incredible on a P4 2.7 GHz with a Radeon 9800 Pro, but still looks extremely impressive (and played wonderfully) on an Athlon 1.7GHz running a lowly GeForce 3.
  9. Uploads a serious dose of style into the FPS scene and is easily recommended to fans of the genre. The subpar AI and annoying platform segments hold it back a little, though the great delivery and lengthy, engrossing Campaign keep it ahead of the curve.
  10. This has to be one of the most original games I’ve played in a long time, both because of the visionary graphics and the clever intertwining of FPS action and RPG elements.
  11. It just shows a great deal of polish, few if any bugs, and a general level of completeness that it seems so few games present these days, exuding none of that get-it-out-the-door churning of so many game productions. I’m going to call it the best FPS I’ve played this year, though with "Half-Life 2" still on deck, that title might not stand for long.
  12. 80
    The gorgeous graphics, great sound and level design, and innovative gameplay make this one of the best shooters of the year. It's also a very good reason to upgrade your video card.
  13. Although inadequacies prove more memorable than the game's positive features, dig deep enough and there's and enjoyable game. It's just that finding it sometimes proves unnecessarily arduous. [Nov 2003, p.102]
  14. Bringing the highly stylised environments to life has obviously been a labour of love for the design team. Not only does the game's dazzling aesthetic individuality evoke instant appeal, the immaculate attention to detail plays a crucial role in generating the aura of quality that runs throughout the world of TRON. [Nov 2003, p.120]
  15. The initial feeling in the first mission is one of uncanny newness. I can't remember ever being so quickly immersed or captivated by a world. [Oct 2003, p.75]
  16. No matter what you think of the movie, Tron 2.0 stands out as a thoroughly entertaining, infinitely playable, and visually spectacular experience. [Nov 2003, p.96]
  17. Tron 2.0 reinvigorates the material and delivers an excellent gaming experience. The story is okay, definitely not classic material, but the ending of the game is so anticlimactic that I had to downgrade the score from 9.0 down to a still very respectable 8.9.
  18. A seamless blending of the computer and real worlds, this is the game that we all dreamed about playing back in 1982. If you've never seen the film, Tron 2.0 still offers plenty to please, but you may miss out on some of the more subtle references.
  19. All the best things about the movie made it into the game.
  20. It manages to continually stun you with a look that's beautiful, cool, and totally different than everything else on the market. [Oct 2003, p.86]
  21. Delivers breathtaking visuals, set against a fairly average game.
  22. It's on the low, low end of my FPS scale, right there alongside "Undying" and sitting on top of "Daikatana." Lot's o' fluff, no polish.
  23. A sound and stylish - if slightly predictable - shooter. [PC Gamer UK]
  24. Tron 2.0 is shockingly flawed. Given that there are so many good ideas – the skill system, the gorgeous and unique textureless neon design, the mistakes are that much more upsetting.
  25. A decent story; well-told and fitted excellently into a video game; beautiful artwork and level design are all essential parts of a good game, and TRON 2.0 has them all.
  26. 83
    Why the jumping puzzles? They were annoying in 2D, in 3D they’re less fun. In a 3D First Person Shooter, they are lameness incarnate.
  27. Tron 2.0 may lack a coherent or interesting story line, but that doesn't mean the game is style over substance. [Oct 2003, p.65]
  28. Tron 2.0 is a great example of a well executed movie-based game that exploits our nostalgia in all the right ways.
  29. What I encountered here was a very difficult combination: incredible creative innovation combined with a high degree of faithfulness to the original film.
  30. 85
    An excellent mix of exceptional graphics, incredible music and voice acting and incredibly fun gameplay.
  31. An outstanding game... The best movie-licensed game of the year is one of the best games of the year, period. [Oct 2003, p.114]
  32. Tron 2.0 isn’t really groundbreaking in terms of gameplay and depth, but those looking for a nice shooter for those late autumn evenings might get some fun hours out of this title.
  33. Its intelligent combination of action and RPG elements offer a unique and rewarding gameplay experience. It also features visuals that amaze and a story that intrigues, TRON 2.0 is the definition of a great game.
  34. It’s not often I say this, the hardcore audience may be vocal with the problems, but it won’t stop TRON 2.0 from selling millions.
  35. A must for those out there who still like their CGI old school.
  36. Features some beautiful and complex levels that, while great to look at, do a poor job of covering up some less than exciting gameplay and under utilized weapons and utility selections.
  37. 100
    A brilliantly executed first-person adventure. [Oct 2003, p.64]
  38. Whether or not you're a fan of the movie, TRON 2.0 oozes with style and substance. Developer Monolith Productions deserves credit for creating one of the finest and most unique PC games of the year to date.
  39. A Triple-A production that delivers an equally impressive experience. I’ve found myself up late nights in the office wanting more till the very end and even then, it had left me craving for a bigger fix.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. WazzerR.
    Dec 23, 2003
    9
    An absolutely class game. Very original combat weapons, amazing graphics & good sound & music. A very atmospheric experience, with an excellent storyline. A definite for those that loved the film. I liked the modding aspects of the game, added more depth for me (you can enhance your weapons & also yourself). I hope there is a Tron 3.0. Full Review »
  2. Aug 21, 2014
    9
    I believe that Tron 2.0 is the game that *every* IT-oriented person (especially the young ones) must have. It strikes life into your dull digital assistants - you'll see for yourself that even them have their own life, heart, and feelings. I know - this sounds stupid, but only until you run Tron 2.0 first time.
    The game is very stylish - everything reminds that you're in the genuine Disney's Tron universe. Plus, it's a Monolith's game (NOLF 1&2, AvP 2, FEAR 1&2, Condemned 1&2). Do I need to say more :)?
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 17, 2013
    2
    Didn't like this game. The locations are just not interesting enough. It all look the same. No atmosphere at all. Only great gameplay may be. But that's not enough for me. I don't only want to play a game, I also want to be on a journey/ trip! Full Review »