Tron 2.0 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: TRON 2.0 is the present-day sequel to the 1982 cult film classic that wasa landmark of computerized graphical ingenuity. TRON 2.0, is a story-driven, first-person action game that propels the player into an alternate universe inside a computer. As Jet Bradley (son of the original films heroTRON 2.0 is the present-day sequel to the 1982 cult film classic that wasa landmark of computerized graphical ingenuity. TRON 2.0, is a story-driven, first-person action game that propels the player into an alternate universe inside a computer. As Jet Bradley (son of the original films hero Alan Bradley) you will combat digital opponents using guns, rods, grenades, missiles, and the iconic TRON disc. Combining the best of the genre with a truly innovative look and breakthrough game play, TRON 2.0 delivers an adventure unlike any other. It will take PC gaming to a new level with intense action, intense and deadly battles, and high-speed light cycle races. [Disney] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Monolith Productions
  • Genre(s): Action, Action Adventure, Shooter, General, Shooter, First-Person, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • # of players: 1-16
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. GameNow
    100
    A brilliantly executed first-person adventure. [Oct 2003, p.64]
  2. Its intelligent combination of action and RPG elements offer a unique and rewarding gameplay experience. It also features visuals that amaze and a story that intrigues, TRON 2.0 is the definition of a great game.
  3. It's stylish, fun, challenging and you really do feel as if you're playing a part in a sequel to a cult classic. That's all we were after.
  4. 85
    An excellent mix of exceptional graphics, incredible music and voice acting and incredibly fun gameplay.
  5. Features some beautiful and complex levels that, while great to look at, do a poor job of covering up some less than exciting gameplay and under utilized weapons and utility selections.
  6. 80
    The gorgeous graphics, great sound and level design, and innovative gameplay make this one of the best shooters of the year. It's also a very good reason to upgrade your video card.
  7. Edge Magazine
    60
    Although inadequacies prove more memorable than the game's positive features, dig deep enough and there's and enjoyable game. It's just that finding it sometimes proves unnecessarily arduous. [Nov 2003, p.102]

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Apr 20, 2018
    10
    One of the best cyberpunk games. Solid gameplay, great soundtrack and setting. Absolutely must play even in 2018.
  2. Aug 21, 2014
    9
    I believe that Tron 2.0 is the game that *every* IT-oriented person (especially the young ones) must have. It strikes life into your dullI believe that Tron 2.0 is the game that *every* IT-oriented person (especially the young ones) must have. It strikes life into your dull digital assistants - you'll see for yourself that even them have their own life, heart, and feelings. I know - this sounds stupid, but only until you run Tron 2.0 first time.
    The game is very stylish - everything reminds that you're in the genuine Disney's Tron universe. Plus, it's a Monolith's game (NOLF 1&2, AvP 2, FEAR 1&2, Condemned 1&2). Do I need to say more :)?
    Expand
  3. WazzerR.
    Dec 23, 2003
    9
    An absolutely class game. Very original combat weapons, amazing graphics & good sound & music. A very atmospheric experience, with an An absolutely class game. Very original combat weapons, amazing graphics & good sound & music. A very atmospheric experience, with an excellent storyline. A definite for those that loved the film. I liked the modding aspects of the game, added more depth for me (you can enhance your weapons & also yourself). I hope there is a Tron 3.0. Expand
  4. BitBurn
    Sep 22, 2003
    7
    That game is alright.
  5. MatthieuR.
    Dec 1, 2003
    6
    I loved TRON and consider myself a huge fan of FPS type games, but I just couldn't get into this game. I hate the disk as a weapon, and I loved TRON and consider myself a huge fan of FPS type games, but I just couldn't get into this game. I hate the disk as a weapon, and while the levels look awesome, there is just WAY too much "find the key to unlock this door" in this game. Too bad... Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2016
    5
    This game was disappointing. For a fps the weaponry is confusing and somewhat unhandy. It's not always clear who's friend or foe in this game.This game was disappointing. For a fps the weaponry is confusing and somewhat unhandy. It's not always clear who's friend or foe in this game. The environment is dull and uninspiring and becomes very soon repetitive. On top of that it lacks a catchy story. Probably this game is more appealing for the movie enthusiast than playable on its own. Be aware that the game maxes at a 1260x900 resolution and also crashes on start on Windows 10. Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    2
    Didn't like this game. The locations are just not interesting enough. It all look the same. No atmosphere at all. Only great gameplay may be.Didn't like this game. The locations are just not interesting enough. It all look the same. No atmosphere at all. Only great gameplay may be. But that's not enough for me. I don't only want to play a game, I also want to be on a journey/ trip! Expand

See all 9 User Reviews