User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 175

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2012
    7
    *I have not played previous Tropico titles and lack the expansions for this game.

    This game is an excellent city builder game. You're given choices on how you develop your Island nation. You can go North Korea/Communist Cuba style or go South Korea/Jamaica style. For those who love history and older things, there are piles of culture references (Monty Python) and history references (US
    *I have not played previous Tropico titles and lack the expansions for this game.


    This game is an excellent city builder game. You're given choices on how you develop your Island nation. You can go North Korea/Communist Cuba style or go South Korea/Jamaica style. For those who love history and older things, there are piles of culture references (Monty Python) and history references (US fruit company) that will provide you with a couple laughs and smirks. Your El Presidente can be made to your expectations through traits and aesthetic changes, from a CIA installed dictator with Tourettes syndrome to a Democratically elected Socialist who is a Pirate. As a newcomer to the Tropico Franchise I found the game very simple and easy to get into. The campaign Scenario's for the most part act as the tutorial and playing through them really doesn't feel like a tutorial, which is a tutorial done right in my opinion.
    Expand
  2. KlausF
    Oct 29, 2009
    6
    Tropico 3 must really be reviewed from two perspectives. For those who haven't played the original, Tropico is among the most creative and entertaining "city sims" ever created, and Tropico 3 does a great job of updating the experience for 2009. However, those who have played the original will find virtually nothing new here beyond a few online features and a better looking (though Tropico 3 must really be reviewed from two perspectives. For those who haven't played the original, Tropico is among the most creative and entertaining "city sims" ever created, and Tropico 3 does a great job of updating the experience for 2009. However, those who have played the original will find virtually nothing new here beyond a few online features and a better looking (though far clunkier) interface. Tropico 3 adds basically nothing in terms of buildings, edicts, character traits, and the game's basic mechanics. In fact, compared to the expanded Tropico Mucho Macho Edition, Tropico 3 is a drastically scaled back version of the game that offers little challenge or novelty to hold the interest of experienced Tropicans. Honestly, if you still own a copy of the original, you're probably better off playing that. The changes made here are uniformly superficial with the exception of the event editor. While the game looks good, the free-floating camera doesn't work well for this kind of game, though you do have the option of viewing the game in a "classic" fixed perspective. The musical soundtrack is very nice (though short), and the voice acting is fairly poor compared to the original game. Character creation is very similar to the original, though you now have the option of creating a 3d avatar. However, the choices are fairly limited, particularly since many of the available outfits just don't really fit in with the flavor of the game. All in all, Tropico 3 is a very good game for the unitiated. For those of you who haven't played the original, this definitely deserves an 8 or 9. However, those who have played the original will likely feel like they've basically just purchased the same game they bought eight years ago. For these experienced Tropicans, this lazy update warrants a 3 or 4. Expand
  3. OveM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    5
    Could have been so much better. I experienced alots of bugs and graphics glitches. The gameplay is okay... not exactly as cool as Tropico 1,2. But if you're hardcore Tropico fan you will like it!
  4. Derek
    Jan 19, 2010
    6
    I'm conflicted about how to rate this game. If you are into simple strategy games with out a lot of depth, this is a good game. I've been playing it a lot, and have yet to come into a campaign that i haven't crushed. It seemed like a good challenge at first but after you understand the game (maybe a couple games) it becomes easy. I'm finishing off the campaigns right I'm conflicted about how to rate this game. If you are into simple strategy games with out a lot of depth, this is a good game. I've been playing it a lot, and have yet to come into a campaign that i haven't crushed. It seemed like a good challenge at first but after you understand the game (maybe a couple games) it becomes easy. I'm finishing off the campaigns right now, and will attempt to play in the sandbox with all difficulties up to see if it is still as easy. It's not a bad game, I just wish it wasn't a cookie cutter thing (every game I can do the same strategy.) I wish it forced me to vary my styles (only did it a once or twice. Expand
  5. May 12, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  6. DanT
    Jan 7, 2010
    7
    Its a very good building/management simulator. Would rate it higher if it had extended play - mainly because as soon as you build a tv station, airport, etc and get things fully managed and raking in the money.. the game is over. More music options. Roads need work, especially when trying to build a road up to a resource (mining) and you can't get to it. gets routine after a while Its a very good building/management simulator. Would rate it higher if it had extended play - mainly because as soon as you build a tv station, airport, etc and get things fully managed and raking in the money.. the game is over. More music options. Roads need work, especially when trying to build a road up to a resource (mining) and you can't get to it. gets routine after a while and is short lived. Play for two weeks and move onto the next game. Was fun, needs more time! Expand
  7. JanusA
    Oct 23, 2009
    7
    It's a well made game, but the gameplay get tiring fast. It is far too easy to keep all factions happy. I would have like to see more fighting between different factions. The use of all the special options available to oppress the people doesn't really find their use, when the grip on Tropico is so easily held.
  8. Oct 28, 2011
    7
    A mediocre but still enjoyable "tin-pot dictator sim". Essentially a remake of the original Tropico. Beyond the souped-up graphics, there's been a bit of tiny bit of improvement to the game mechanics but nothing drastic. The addition of online features, especially the sharing of challenges (almost a "modding" community), is interesting and suggestive but ultimately shallow and a littleA mediocre but still enjoyable "tin-pot dictator sim". Essentially a remake of the original Tropico. Beyond the souped-up graphics, there's been a bit of tiny bit of improvement to the game mechanics but nothing drastic. The addition of online features, especially the sharing of challenges (almost a "modding" community), is interesting and suggestive but ultimately shallow and a little disappointing. Expand
  9. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    While Tropico 3 makes some great improvements on the original it does cut back in some areas and it's not quite as polished. Still if you've ever wanted to try your hand at being Fidel Castro, this is the best game for it.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. 80
    Tropico 3 has turned out to be a nice management sim that fans of the genre will love. The gameplay mechanics are elaborate, the economic and political systems are well done and it looks like a charm. The micromanagement can be annoying due to lack of information, but luckily it's never entirely frustrating. Looking for a good sim? Tropico 3 is definitely not a bad choice.
  2. Tropico 3 is a difficult, but never an unfair game. Is your financial plan in order, then the political problems will rise on the table, and vice verse. You can never rest and stay on guard for new problems to solve. Before you can solve every problem in the right way you might be a couple of games further. That’s also because of misplaced buttons and options. It is a little downfall on the ‘build your paradise’ game that despite of those small problems, shines like a tropical sun on a usually bright day in paradise.
  3. Surprisingly deep city-building sim with lots of neat quirks. [Christmas 2009, p.62]