User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 164

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    This game is the best city builder ever! The economics are challenging but manageable, the graphics are far better than I expected and its all sent off with a nice dose of latin music. Ok, so you cant be that much of an evil dictator but you can still assassinate people, ban things and do almost anything you want.. The gameplay is fun, and my only real complaint is that you cant completelyThis game is the best city builder ever! The economics are challenging but manageable, the graphics are far better than I expected and its all sent off with a nice dose of latin music. Ok, so you cant be that much of an evil dictator but you can still assassinate people, ban things and do almost anything you want.. The gameplay is fun, and my only real complaint is that you cant completely build your own map. However, its still amazing. Viva El Presidente! Expand
  2. May 8, 2011
    8
    I like the music, humor and graphics. The setting is beautiful, but as a chronically benevolent sim player, I found some aspects of being a dictator unsettling. The tutorial is very bare bones. A solid title, but probably more appealing to people who like to be the bad guy.
  3. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    This is simply best economic and city-building strategy of today. Game is very well optimized and visuals are gorgeous. Absolute Power is worth getting as well. If you like games like SimCity, Transport Tycoon or Transport Giant, then Tropico 3 is must have for you.
  4. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Truly a great modern city builder. I'd say it shares the same level of complexity as Sim City 4. Many complain about its learning curve, but if you play the basic and advanced tutorials, and if you read the first 20 pages of the instruction manual, you should know what you are doing before you even start. It was optimized well for the PC, and the retail copy came with no DRM, so thatTruly a great modern city builder. I'd say it shares the same level of complexity as Sim City 4. Many complain about its learning curve, but if you play the basic and advanced tutorials, and if you read the first 20 pages of the instruction manual, you should know what you are doing before you even start. It was optimized well for the PC, and the retail copy came with no DRM, so that makes it even better! Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    Addictive, fun, challenging and possesses a great sense of humor, I highly recommend this game, ive had hours upon hours of fun with it. There are many different challenges that can make up a mission or map, you can choose what sort of industry to focus on, there is quite a lot on offer in this game.
  6. Aug 4, 2013
    4
    This game is an underwhelming city builder. It has style, which other city builders tend to lack, and the game has some nice options ranging from an okay campaign to a sandbox scenario on a randomly generated island. Unfortunately, the game severely lacks polishing. After playing this over three years past its release, it still suffers from an unbelievable amount of bugs. I can onlyThis game is an underwhelming city builder. It has style, which other city builders tend to lack, and the game has some nice options ranging from an okay campaign to a sandbox scenario on a randomly generated island. Unfortunately, the game severely lacks polishing. After playing this over three years past its release, it still suffers from an unbelievable amount of bugs. I can only imagine how unplayable it would have been at release. A polished version of this game might have scored a 7 from me, but in its current state (that I imagine won't get any better at this point), I can't give it more than a 4. To clarify, the bugs range from both gameplay bugs and technical bugs (such as crashing while saving, corrupting save files of course). Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    I've played about every city-builder up till now, and this one is certainly the happiest, and one of the very best.
    Great music, great graphics, great Cuban atmosphere, with just the right amount of cynicism, a solid 9.5. All in all, a great game!
    - The expansion is just too silly (build 32 power-plants and 77 sausage factories in 15 months to emit a ketchup-pulse) but adds new buildings
    I've played about every city-builder up till now, and this one is certainly the happiest, and one of the very best.
    Great music, great graphics, great Cuban atmosphere, with just the right amount of cynicism, a solid 9.5. All in all, a great game!
    - The expansion is just too silly (build 32 power-plants and 77 sausage factories in 15 months to emit a ketchup-pulse) but adds new buildings and some gameplay.
    Expand
  8. Jun 25, 2011
    8
    What a great little game. It's been a while since a Sim game has kept me intrigued and with a smile on my face. The intensity builds with each game so you gradually build up to the mayhem level of attention you need to beat the odds and the quirky voice overs and events are pretty funny and overall really well designed. This game does a good job of integrating a concept and the atmosphereWhat a great little game. It's been a while since a Sim game has kept me intrigued and with a smile on my face. The intensity builds with each game so you gradually build up to the mayhem level of attention you need to beat the odds and the quirky voice overs and events are pretty funny and overall really well designed. This game does a good job of integrating a concept and the atmosphere feels perfect for the theme.Love it. Expand
  9. Nov 7, 2011
    8
    This is a wonderful game. Its atmosphere and graphics are what grab you at first and make you want to see what it's all about. I've been playing it all weekend, which says something about its ability to suck you in. I haven't been that hooked on a game since I got Oblivion 2 years ago. Let's face it, the market was long overdue for a professional, polished city builder that people couldThis is a wonderful game. Its atmosphere and graphics are what grab you at first and make you want to see what it's all about. I've been playing it all weekend, which says something about its ability to suck you in. I haven't been that hooked on a game since I got Oblivion 2 years ago. Let's face it, the market was long overdue for a professional, polished city builder that people could get into and get to love. It's got one flawed and frustrating system and a few other annoyances, but that's understandable since there's a fine line between challenge and broken mechanics - mostly you're just concentrating on dictating effectively and staying in power. Which is an awesome and unique theme that completely captures the feel of a small time dictatorship. As long as you're not afraid of looking up the fine points on the internet, get this game already. It's dirt cheap now, and you'll know you like it if you've played the likes of Caesar or Sim City before. 8.3 overall. Expand
  10. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    Capolavoro! I really loved the game, unlike other strategy games I found that I played throughout the missions and in sandbox mode without feeling bored or the game was reapeating. I like the fact I focused on different strategies on each mission and at no point I felt bored. Graphics and Audio are cool and I consider this a solid game. I would like very much an add-on with moreCapolavoro! I really loved the game, unlike other strategy games I found that I played throughout the missions and in sandbox mode without feeling bored or the game was reapeating. I like the fact I focused on different strategies on each mission and at no point I felt bored. Graphics and Audio are cool and I consider this a solid game. I would like very much an add-on with more characters, costumes, more perks, perhaps even middle-eastern, african and asian dictators to be included. I can't wait to see how tropico 4 will be! Expand
  11. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    I love this quirky little game. The premise is you are the leader of a communist island that has just taken over for a variety of reasons (choosing a custom avatar will allow you to create the background of your leader and gives rewards and penalties with the immense amount of factions). You have to build it into a paradise in so many years (depending on the scenario), bringing inI love this quirky little game. The premise is you are the leader of a communist island that has just taken over for a variety of reasons (choosing a custom avatar will allow you to create the background of your leader and gives rewards and penalties with the immense amount of factions). You have to build it into a paradise in so many years (depending on the scenario), bringing in Tourism and exporting Industry, all while trying to keep the US and USSR happy enough to send you cash to help out. It really is fun, Juanito is a hoot, Betty Boom is hilarious, micro managing the island is surprisingly VERY fun! I was stunned at how fun the game was. It really is a grand ole time to sit down for a few hours trying to make the island work without getting taken out by assassins or a coup. It's well worth the price, and if you're any good at micro-manage games and world building games, you should be pleasantly surprised with this offering. Expand
  12. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    This is one of my favourite games (and one of the games with the best video game soundtrack). If you are remotely interested in city building then give this a try, even if you don't initially care for the Caribbean theme.
  13. Jul 13, 2011
    8
    While not as diverse as city sims such as 'Sim City 4' or 'Dawn of Discovery', Tropico 3 has a character to it that makes it stand out and be all the more enjoyable. The graphics are great and the autonomy of the citizenry really makes your town feel alive. I was pleasantly surprised by the political aspects of the game, be they pleasing certain factions of citizens, or balancing the favorWhile not as diverse as city sims such as 'Sim City 4' or 'Dawn of Discovery', Tropico 3 has a character to it that makes it stand out and be all the more enjoyable. The graphics are great and the autonomy of the citizenry really makes your town feel alive. I was pleasantly surprised by the political aspects of the game, be they pleasing certain factions of citizens, or balancing the favor of the US and USSR. I just wish there were more building types and radio quips. Expand
  14. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    I probably had too much fun with this. Awesome game, had a lot of interesting little details and abilities, the games only get better the more in depth it gets and the little details they add. The more random powers they give you, the happier I will be.
  15. Oct 28, 2011
    7
    A mediocre but still enjoyable "tin-pot dictator sim". Essentially a remake of the original Tropico. Beyond the souped-up graphics, there's been a bit of tiny bit of improvement to the game mechanics but nothing drastic. The addition of online features, especially the sharing of challenges (almost a "modding" community), is interesting and suggestive but ultimately shallow and a littleA mediocre but still enjoyable "tin-pot dictator sim". Essentially a remake of the original Tropico. Beyond the souped-up graphics, there's been a bit of tiny bit of improvement to the game mechanics but nothing drastic. The addition of online features, especially the sharing of challenges (almost a "modding" community), is interesting and suggestive but ultimately shallow and a little disappointing. Expand
  16. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    While Tropico 3 makes some great improvements on the original it does cut back in some areas and it's not quite as polished. Still if you've ever wanted to try your hand at being Fidel Castro, this is the best game for it.
  17. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    Tropico 3 is one of the best city builder games I've played. Lots of customization and control over your style of play, as well as a deep political aspect unseen in most city build games. the voice acting is fantastic and hilarious, the story mode has engaging missions and is fun to play. The only qualms I have with this game is relating to the tourism game play, I feel like it is in allTropico 3 is one of the best city builder games I've played. Lots of customization and control over your style of play, as well as a deep political aspect unseen in most city build games. the voice acting is fantastic and hilarious, the story mode has engaging missions and is fun to play. The only qualms I have with this game is relating to the tourism game play, I feel like it is in all underwhelming. The soundtrack to the game is fantastic, and often you need to think carefully about how you want to go about planning your little island paradise before just jumping in. All in all it is a deep and rewarding city builder, with a generous splash of politics and humor, and easily one of the best city build games I've ever owned. Expand
  18. May 21, 2012
    7
    *I have not played previous Tropico titles and lack the expansions for this game.

    This game is an excellent city builder game. You're given choices on how you develop your Island nation. You can go North Korea/Communist Cuba style or go South Korea/Jamaica style. For those who love history and older things, there are piles of culture references (Monty Python) and history references (US
    *I have not played previous Tropico titles and lack the expansions for this game.


    This game is an excellent city builder game. You're given choices on how you develop your Island nation. You can go North Korea/Communist Cuba style or go South Korea/Jamaica style. For those who love history and older things, there are piles of culture references (Monty Python) and history references (US fruit company) that will provide you with a couple laughs and smirks. Your El Presidente can be made to your expectations through traits and aesthetic changes, from a CIA installed dictator with Tourettes syndrome to a Democratically elected Socialist who is a Pirate. As a newcomer to the Tropico Franchise I found the game very simple and easy to get into. The campaign Scenario's for the most part act as the tutorial and playing through them really doesn't feel like a tutorial, which is a tutorial done right in my opinion.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. 80
    Tropico 3 has turned out to be a nice management sim that fans of the genre will love. The gameplay mechanics are elaborate, the economic and political systems are well done and it looks like a charm. The micromanagement can be annoying due to lack of information, but luckily it's never entirely frustrating. Looking for a good sim? Tropico 3 is definitely not a bad choice.
  2. Tropico 3 is a difficult, but never an unfair game. Is your financial plan in order, then the political problems will rise on the table, and vice verse. You can never rest and stay on guard for new problems to solve. Before you can solve every problem in the right way you might be a couple of games further. That’s also because of misplaced buttons and options. It is a little downfall on the ‘build your paradise’ game that despite of those small problems, shines like a tropical sun on a usually bright day in paradise.
  3. Surprisingly deep city-building sim with lots of neat quirks. [Christmas 2009, p.62]