User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 13 out of 32

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2012
    3
    This game had potential however poor level design, a lack of direction, insane fall damage, and check points that are few and far between in certain areas make it a chore to play. Im a completionist so i finished the game however it took around 6-8 hours altogether with probably 10% of that being loading time, and about 50% being spent speed running through sections of puzzles I hadThis game had potential however poor level design, a lack of direction, insane fall damage, and check points that are few and far between in certain areas make it a chore to play. Im a completionist so i finished the game however it took around 6-8 hours altogether with probably 10% of that being loading time, and about 50% being spent speed running through sections of puzzles I had already completed after being sent back to a distant check point upon death. This game could have easily been a great puzzle game however the developers need to put a little more thought in there level layout(a lot of just giant U turn hallways with cage dividers serving no purpose other then to waste time), damage settings(falling 5+ feet is a instant death if you dont catch yourself), and the check point layout(the lack of many check points in parts of the game made it very unforgiving and time consuming). Expand
  2. Scree
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    My gosh, well I'll just never get critics! "This game is nothing for a player who likes action games" -- Uh, sorry, but, DUH? I mean, DUH!! That's like saying Doom3 is nothing for a player who likes puzzles, or Crysis is nothing for a player who hates graphics. LMAO Anywho, Twin Sector is cool. Wouldn't even think of comparing it to Portal really, but I can see the My gosh, well I'll just never get critics! "This game is nothing for a player who likes action games" -- Uh, sorry, but, DUH? I mean, DUH!! That's like saying Doom3 is nothing for a player who likes puzzles, or Crysis is nothing for a player who hates graphics. LMAO Anywho, Twin Sector is cool. Wouldn't even think of comparing it to Portal really, but I can see the similarities now. But it's completely different. heh Fun stuff, IF you like physical puzzle games. The story is OK too, simple and too the point. The main char has a sexy voice (english ver), and I swear I know the OSCAR voice from somewhere else. A very nice game for the discounted price it is now (I waited and am glad didn't pay $29, $24, or even $19, but it's definitely worth the latter). Expand
  3. DonA
    Jan 13, 2010
    6
    Portal is my all-time favorite game. Ok, Twin Sector is not portal, but it is portal-like. I don't like the "battles" - this is a puzzle game, let it be a puzzle game. Also the controls are clunky, but the physics are decent. I wouldn't buy for $20, but if it went on sale for maybe $5-10, I'd probably pick it up.
  4. Apr 1, 2011
    3
    I honestly couldn't stand half an hour playing this game. Although the idea of telekinetic gloves does seem very innovative and exciting, the design of the maps make it almost impossible to use the mechanic in an enjoyable way. Glitches such as dialog that doesn't play (I've gone though the first level about 3 times and heard a different number of conversations each time) really breakI honestly couldn't stand half an hour playing this game. Although the idea of telekinetic gloves does seem very innovative and exciting, the design of the maps make it almost impossible to use the mechanic in an enjoyable way. Glitches such as dialog that doesn't play (I've gone though the first level about 3 times and heard a different number of conversations each time) really break the immersion. I don't care if it resembles Portal, has a very bland story, or having unmemorable characters that don't offer any help with the current challenge, but I swear if I pick up a barrel to throw at a switch and it falls without altering my movements at all, something is definitely wrong with the game play. Expand
  5. rinorino
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    I have to say: finally something new. Compelling game play and beautiful graphics.
  6. Mar 11, 2012
    4
    Lol. This game feels like an old half life 1 mod. The environments are bland, the characters are bland. The colour pallete is terrible. The voice acting is a miss. I really don't like this terrible game. Puzzles are boring and bad as well.
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    0
    Worst. Game. Ever. And not even joking. I mean, it is not that hard to satisfy me as a gamer, but this game failed completely. It begins with the sound (I have the German version and the robot sounds just HORRIBLE!) I just cannot listen to without having my ears bleed. The the graphic. Ok, it's not THAT awful, but still. They just recycle the same texture, and its not even good looking.Worst. Game. Ever. And not even joking. I mean, it is not that hard to satisfy me as a gamer, but this game failed completely. It begins with the sound (I have the German version and the robot sounds just HORRIBLE!) I just cannot listen to without having my ears bleed. The the graphic. Ok, it's not THAT awful, but still. They just recycle the same texture, and its not even good looking. And this is even more frustrating, because games with less developers have much more appealing graphics. The puzzles are frustrating, because they aren´t nearly as understandable than the ones in portal/ Portal2 were. maybe its hard to compare every puzzle game with Portal, but so it is. puzzle games have to face this enemy. And for me personally, the puzzles in Twin Sector just were confusing, witch is enforced by the strange physics. Huge boxes fly to the air and bounce of the ground as tennis-balls. The game also misses a soul. Portal had this fantastic humour, but Twin Sector has no atmosphere at all. Expand
  8. Oct 13, 2012
    2
    The first thing you will notice is just how poor the graphics are but that could be forgiven for a great game right?Wrong this game has so much wasted potential the idea of it is cool but the game itself is so poorly executed with anything form bad voice acting to ridiculous fall damage.Not even the story redeems this game it is so flat and boring you will forget there even was a story.InThe first thing you will notice is just how poor the graphics are but that could be forgiven for a great game right?Wrong this game has so much wasted potential the idea of it is cool but the game itself is so poorly executed with anything form bad voice acting to ridiculous fall damage.Not even the story redeems this game it is so flat and boring you will forget there even was a story.In short twin sector could have been so much more in the hands of a more capable developer or even a modder.

    Rating 2/10 (Horrible)
    Expand
  9. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    Twin Sector is a game that has decent graphics and good puzzles. The Story is solid and was one of the reasons I wanted to complete the game. The game's physics are decent but can get in the way sometimes. The Gameplay is decent but the enemies as in turrets, environment, and flying robots can be either completely oblivious to you or unforgiving. The Controls are difficult to handle,Twin Sector is a game that has decent graphics and good puzzles. The Story is solid and was one of the reasons I wanted to complete the game. The game's physics are decent but can get in the way sometimes. The Gameplay is decent but the enemies as in turrets, environment, and flying robots can be either completely oblivious to you or unforgiving. The Controls are difficult to handle, especially for a platformer game and will take some time to get familiar with. I still found the game to be challenging and that kept me going back to it. I died many many times and got me frustrated but in the end it was not too bad. Overall, a decent solid platformer. This game definitely tested my patience. Expand
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 6 out of 11
  1. Twin Sector is a game or you love or hate, there is no middle way. But if we are part of the first category, the satisfaction of having solved a puzzle and the obsessive desire to move forward are sufficient incentives to shut one eye on the various flaws that are hidden in the game.
  2. It's a motivating variation of Portal, but not as good. It's a case of "great idea, bad realization". The use of the glove works great, but unfair trial-and-error puzzles and the tracer battles are annoying. The last third of the game doesn't offer anything new.
  3. The first impressions of this game are really good, but after a few minutes it already starts to get boring. The surveillance system O.S.C.A.R. is not really helpful. Messages like “Ashley, there is a problem” or “Ashley, the elevator doesn’t work” are simply useless. This game is nothing for a player who likes action games.