Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Dec 17, 2010
    91
    If you are looking for a really good role playing game, that keeps up with a straight but good story, you will find it in Two Worlds II. Your character can live through a lot of customization and the world is rich of 70 hours of action-role playing with more than 300 quests.
  2. Dec 17, 2010
    90
    Two Worlds 2 has lots of different quests, lots of Multiplayer-ideas and lots of possibilities. Two Worlds II earned the crown for "Best roleplaying game" ... for now.
  3. Jan 9, 2011
    87
    It may not be perfect, but it's still a great free roaming RPG, filled with things to do and amazing monsters to kill.
  4. Mar 18, 2011
    85
    The best RPG we've played in a long time. [Apr 2011, p.101]
  5. Jan 25, 2011
    85
    Two Worlds II is so big, you almost need 'two worlds' to hold all its contents. And for RPG fans, that is what matters most.
  6. Dec 17, 2010
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Feb 24, 2011
    83
    Overall the game does not take many risks from the formula established in the first game, but it presents everything with more polish. The series is not quite part of the big leagues yet, but still, if you are looking for an action RPG to spend time with in-between other major releases the world of Two Worlds II may be a good vacation destination.
  8. Dec 16, 2010
    83
    Two Worlds II is a very complete RPG which substantially improves the original game, engaging us in a fantasy world. Its huge and atractive environments, simple and direct gameplay, and the variety of things available to be done in the Antaloor universe are some of the great virtues of and adventures oriented both to genre veterans and newcomers.
  9. Feb 5, 2011
    82
    An ambitious and beautiful RPG that falls just short of greatness, thwarted by a stunted finale and imbalances.
  10. 80
    With plenty to see and do, not to mention some great multiplayer offerings, this is a sequel worth checking out.
  11. Jan 30, 2011
    80
    Still, this is a damn fun title if you're interested in a deep action-RPG, especially if you expected very little after the wildly strange, often severely disappointing first game. And if you can get past the rough parts, it's exciting and addictive in all the ways you probably expect out of a good European RPG.
  12. Jan 6, 2011
    80
    Two Worlds II isn't that progressive and well-known, but that doesn't matter. It's all about the most fundamental aspects and they are impressive. It makes the game one of the best RPG's of the year.
  13. Dec 17, 2010
    80
    Two Worlds II is exactly what the previous episode should have been: great, full of things to do and variegated. Actually it's probably one of the best CRPG available and even with its little bugs and a linear story, it's really a game to try.
  14. Jan 29, 2011
    78
    Reality Pump has gone a long way since Two Worlds 1, and they've got a long way to go still. But Two Worlds 2 is a definite step in the right direction.
  15. Jan 25, 2011
    78
    Like other games that could fit under the B-game label, not everyone will embrace the elements I enjoyed in Two Worlds II. If you're looking for a lengthy and humorous (if somewhat unpolished) hack-and-slash RPG to tide you over while you wait for Dragon Age II or The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, it's worth giving Reality Pump a second chance.
  16. Dec 17, 2010
    78
    The best of the released iterations of the Two World series is this sequel. Many of the problems of its precedent remain, but this is certainly a better videogame.
  17. Mar 1, 2011
    76
    If you value a good story, engaging combat, and convincing vocal performances in an RPG, you will most certainly find Two Worlds II to be lacking. However, if you appreciate the journey itself and don't mind a game that's rough around the edges, you might want to give it a try.
  18. Feb 1, 2011
    75
    This role-playing sequel's big world and seemingly countless quests make it easy to overlook its wrinkles.
  19. Mar 3, 2011
    70
    And you know what? It's still fun despite the terrible story and stupid enemy A.I. I respect a game that gives me so much to do, so many areas to explore, so many customization options, and so many quests. I had a lot of fun with Two Worlds II, and while the story annoys me in its second act, I do see myself giving it another go at a later date.
  20. Feb 11, 2011
    70
    Incredibly, not terrible! [Feb 2011, p.56]
  21. Feb 3, 2011
    70
    It's not a perfect sequel, but for those who remember the original Two Worlds, it's an adventure that is finally worth most of its weight in loot.
  22. Jan 31, 2011
    70
    If you can live with the lo-fi elements, there's an awful lot to enjoy.
  23. Jan 25, 2011
    70
    By turns engrossing and frustrating, the game will appeal much more to those willing to look beyond the obvious flaws and those who enjoy B-movies because of their charm.
  24. 70
    Nice working game world with great character development and balanced game mechanics make Two Worlds II remarkable. Pity its interface and controls along with dumb enemies lower its final score. [Issue#199]
  25. Jan 4, 2011
    70
    A nice action / role playing game, but you have to invest a lot of hours before the good things start to unfold.
  26. Dec 16, 2010
    70
    Two Worlds is atmospheric and exiting, vast and addictive. It has some pretty big flaws though that can't be ignored.
  27. Mar 19, 2011
    66
    Two Worlds 2 is disappointingly flawed and frequently clunky but, if you can tough it out, can also be extraordinarily rewarding.
  28. Feb 3, 2011
    60
    While the timer on my save read around 14 hours by the time I screamed and shouted and pushed my way through Two Worlds II's final (miserable, cheap, and poorly designed) boss encounter, I would put my play time in the neighborhood of 35 hours, at least. This is courtesy of Two Worlds II's propensity to greet exploration with quick, brutal death.
  29. Dec 16, 2010
    60
    Two Worlds II made a lot of progress, on a variety of fronts, compared to the original, but manages to keep the same shortcomings at the same time. It would be a good idea to stop adding stuff and balance what's already there ! To sum it up, it's like an RPG appetizer to wait for more and better. It's likable for its secondary quests, rather than its main one.
  30. Dec 23, 2010
    58
    Refined visuals, almost bug-free code, and pleasant music are pretty much the only things that make Two Worlds 2 better than the original game.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 76
  2. Negative: 17 out of 76
  1. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    Certainly there are flaws with the game, some of the animations are less than stellar, the combat needs some work, and the interface could be better, but all of the issues i've encountered pale in comparison to the pure addictive fun that the game has to offer. It's been a long time since I've played a game that makes me forget to eat and sleep for hours on end, but I find it easy to lose myself in this game. I'm sure this game isn't for everyone, but if you love a good fantasy RPG I doubt you will be disappointed by Two Worlds II. Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2011
    6
    After the events around the first game , the second installment looked like a huge improvement, at least on the surface.The first game known for it's horrible VA became the definition of how not to introduce a new world to a player.The second game improves it's mechanics, mostly by adding accessibility where unnecessary complications flawed the first game.
    The magic system is a wast improvement giving the player the option to create his own spells and by merging the skills it lets the player decide what to do with his character.
    The story seems to expand , but only on the surface, the entire game is actually a huge amount of unrelated quests and story's that fail to connect or drag in the player. The overall feel was :"Why am I here and what am I doing."
    The MP component actually comes in as welcome addition, because the single player campaign actually feels like a MP introduction.
    Animations and character creation are flawed but tolerable.The AI is bad, very bad, and the environments are very pleasing.
    On PC the game suffers strong eye-straining bloom , that is not easily manageable, and controls that are very console like, typical with multiple tasks assigned to one key.
    Still when reflecting that there is character progression to a extent only limited by the player's will and idea, it's a actually fun exploration oriented RPG.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2011
    4
    The game wants to be great and falls short. The story is so ambivalent that even after 20+ hours of playing, running through the motions of quest completion, you still don't feel motivated to complete it. As many people state, combat is a very uninspiring affair. Seek other alternatives. Full Review »