UFO: Extraterrestrials Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is now 2025 and on the newly colonized planet Esperanza our space devices have not just been approached by alien machines but attacked. The player controls a squad of soldiers, light and heavy support combat vehicles, robots and air units located in a base on the planet Esperanza that had been colonized by the spaceship Magalhaes in the year 2023. This squad was brought together by the Esperanza government to face a threat that comes from deep space. In case the player succeeds in averting an alien impact on Esperanza, the story will continue on the planet Earth which has been subdued by alien forces. The title combines global strategy with small, squad-based tactical combat against an alien invasion. To repel the alien invasion the player must take full advantage of the terrain and his surrounding environments. [Tri Synergy] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 100
    If you have even the slightest interest in strategy games, and if you ever played the X-Com games, then just buy it - you will not regret it. And if you never played any of the X-Com titles then do yourself a favour and snap them up too!
  2. The true heir of the classic X-COM and almost as addictive. However, the game has a multitude of irritating design flaws that need correcting. [June 2007]
  3. UFO isn’t perfect, but it does breathe enough life into a genre that hasn’t seen enough action recently. You could do a lot worse.
  4. Given UFO:ET's $39.99 price tag, it's hard to recommend over the $5 copy of "X-COM: Terror from the Deep" on Steam, unless you're really itching for a minor graphical upgrade. [Aug 2007, p.68]
  5. Offers much of the pleasures of the original...and yet nothing has really been improved. [Sept 2007, p.62]
  6. Just a poorly made game. Almost nothing about it works, and there’s absolutely no reason why you should buy it when you could play UFO: Afterlight (or even Silent Storm) instead.
  7. The best that can be said about the game is that its sci-fi atmosphere and smart artificial intelligence make it a somewhat acceptable way for the desperate to whittle away a couple of dozen hours waiting for someone to finally do a proper remake of "X-COM."

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    I agree with the guy that gave it a 100... Easily... If you haven't played an X-COM game, I don't see how you couldn't enjoy this for the amzing strategy/rpg game that it is... If you have played X-COMs, then you would have to be compelled to say that his is by far one of the most challenging, yet fun one in the series! Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    I am reviewing this game using the UNI Mod which I think made this game the legitimate successor of the original XCOM. I have heard tha vanilla was not good but the one I purchase was the steam version using BT mod. It was okay at first and I would rate it as a 7 but it made the game for me TOO EASY. So I have research and some recommended the UNIMOD for advance players and I have not looked back. I even restarted my game and I love every piece of the UNIMOD for this game. This game thus elevates itself as one of my all time favorites. Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2011
    9
    Note - This review is for the GOLD edition only.
    When UFO first cam eout almost 4 years ok it was "ok". I bought it from Gamersgate and played
    it a bit, though probably no more than an afternoon. I would have given it a 6 at the times, though looking back 1 of those points might have been for the nostalgia of the game it tries to emulate (X-Com)
    What the Gold edition offers is just about every improvement that the community asked for with the original. Better ranged combat, better AI, better UI, tweaked graphics, moddability (some hard coded into the game - you want turn based or real time combat? It's an option. You want immortal, mortal or VERY mortal troops, select them)
    In fact it turns out that the developers took the contents of the top community mods and (shamelessly but quite understandably) hard coded them into the game along with the existing bug fix and improvement patches (of which there were either 2,3 or 4 depending on how you bought your original game)
    The result is a FAR better game. The graphics will still disappoint some (though they are much better than the original X-Coms form 17 years ago) and the first really good tribute to the Microprose/Gollop brothers legacy.
    I will add that if you have no money what-so-ever then UFO Alien Invasion is an option. It is not as good as this, but for free it's not too bad at all.

    nyway, the original release was worth 5 or 6, this one is worth a solid 9 for fans of the game.
    Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2012
    7
    UFO: Extraterrestrials is a recreation of X-Com where you fight an alien race from invading Earth by building bases, researching new weapons, recruiting marines and taking the fight to the aliens in turn-based ground-combat. UFO: Extraterrestrials Gold Edition has the added bonus that it comes with a lot of modifications that make the game more true to the original or simply less frustrating. Before you start a game, it is worth checking out all the options to make sure they're set to your expectations. Recommended for any one who enjoys turn-based squad-combat games if you can look beyond the horrible, horrible graphics! Expand

See all 11 User Reviews