User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 53
  2. Negative: 7 out of 53

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    Simple, Brutal and addictive as crack. I am usually don't care about achievements or perfection when playing a game i have very little gaming time and i want to make it count. But this game forces you to play on its terms. It does a great a job of balancing the need for a strong offensive while planning your supply lines turn in advance. The AI is brutal and unforgiving if you areSimple, Brutal and addictive as crack. I am usually don't care about achievements or perfection when playing a game i have very little gaming time and i want to make it count. But this game forces you to play on its terms. It does a great a job of balancing the need for a strong offensive while planning your supply lines turn in advance. The AI is brutal and unforgiving if you are careless it will rip you in half. There will also be times when bad luck with weather or when combat goes against your plans that your will be forced to replay the scenario but thats life and war. However this game has the magic formula that will keep you coming back. Its easy to start, very hard to master and when you do win you are actually proud of yourself. Also this game runs like a dream on a MacBook Air or any ultrabook without killing the battery. I actually look foward to long flight because of this. Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2014
    6
    The game is ok but didn't live up to my expectations. It's biggest weakness is it's lack of customization. You don't get to pick your units like in PG series. You can carry over experienced units if they happen to show up in later scenarios but it can be very difficult to level up a large number of units. In addition, the game penalizes you for attempting to attempt a sound militaryThe game is ok but didn't live up to my expectations. It's biggest weakness is it's lack of customization. You don't get to pick your units like in PG series. You can carry over experienced units if they happen to show up in later scenarios but it can be very difficult to level up a large number of units. In addition, the game penalizes you for attempting to attempt a sound military victory and instead forces you to simply get units to objectives as fast as possible without regards to casualties or the state of your battle line, something no commander would ever ignore. Overall I give it a 6/10, it could have been much more than it is. The PG series did all of these things with a good level of balance that this game does not provide. I have not played the DLCs. One good aspect of the game is the supply function, that while frustrating, provides additional tactical considerations. Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2014
    3
    Very very simple turn based ww2 game.
    Im really happy that devs. at least made some effort and made changes to graphics comparing to other 150 turn garbage turn based games that comes out constantly..and make no improvement or changes.
    But game mechanics are very simple.. very childish and gets very boring after a couple days of playing. Nothing advanced in this game..simplicity of
    Very very simple turn based ww2 game.
    Im really happy that devs. at least made some effort and made changes to graphics comparing to other 150 turn garbage turn based games that comes out constantly..and make no improvement or changes.

    But game mechanics are very simple.. very childish and gets very boring after a couple days of playing.
    Nothing advanced in this game..simplicity of this game reminds me of RUSE in RTS genre..
    some people might like it.. but its get quickly boring.
    Its def. for younger players , would say up to 18 yr max.
    Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2014
    7
    The game has very nice, if simplistic mechanics, scenarios are generally well designed, AI is OK, but limited to defensive scenarios, probably because it cannot perform any consistent offensive moves, if you try setting it in scenario editor.
    In general it is nice frame to work with, but lacks meat. There's just a single campaign, others are released as DLCs. There isn't much user created
    The game has very nice, if simplistic mechanics, scenarios are generally well designed, AI is OK, but limited to defensive scenarios, probably because it cannot perform any consistent offensive moves, if you try setting it in scenario editor.
    In general it is nice frame to work with, but lacks meat. There's just a single campaign, others are released as DLCs. There isn't much user created scenarios, so after 5-6 hours you're done with the game, unless you want to repeat campaign for perfect score, which is really painful, as random bad weather will make it impossible to reach objectives in time.
    In general the game reminds me old Panzer General, but PG is still better game. Amazingly no game got close in over 15 years.

    It's worth to buy on sale only, due to lack of content.
    Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    This game is exactly what wargamers have been looking for from a computer wargame!

    Not as complex as Gary Grigsby's massive (but great) games and not as simple as Panzer General. This is a subtly deep system which rewards careful play with those hard-to-achieve "Brilliant Victory" rewards! Multiplayer can also work but to be honest it is set up for solo play primarily. I was also
    This game is exactly what wargamers have been looking for from a computer wargame!

    Not as complex as Gary Grigsby's massive (but great) games and not as simple as Panzer General. This is a subtly deep system which rewards careful play with those hard-to-achieve "Brilliant Victory" rewards! Multiplayer can also work but to be honest it is set up for solo play primarily.

    I was also amazed that this is produced by a four person company somewhere in Croatia, the hotbed of computer game design!

    Buy it on sale direct from them or on Steam and you won't be disappointed! Looking forward to further DLC and applications of the system.

    Highly recommended!
    Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2013
    5
    I like turn-based games and world war II theme, so I was obvious looking for this game. Tactical options, lovely graphics and mechanics are really great but I were not still fully satisfied. Maybe, it is by lack of variety in the campaign missions or monotony which really ruined the game. Anyway, looking forward to DLC.
  7. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    Experience the highly fluid, enormously large battles of maneuver in a turn-based strategy setting. Take command in this mobile, back-and-forth sort of war where logistics and poor weather are often the decider, and defeat and victory are sometimes just a mile, or a day, apart.
    War-games this fresh and friendly tend to inspire deep loyalty.
  8. Sep 23, 2013
    5
    Graphical appearance looks great, just like playing a board game. Opponent AI is thou terrible, i have played both soviet and German campaigns trough several times. Only thing that AI tries is to disturb your supply lines. Also it's aw full to notice that there is no need to try save your troops only thing that matters is to take control of objectives in time. Makes game play somewhatGraphical appearance looks great, just like playing a board game. Opponent AI is thou terrible, i have played both soviet and German campaigns trough several times. Only thing that AI tries is to disturb your supply lines. Also it's aw full to notice that there is no need to try save your troops only thing that matters is to take control of objectives in time. Makes game play somewhat funny, sometimes AI don't try to defend objectives and just attacks your non-important weak units. Weather effect seems to be designed to only interfere player what is very annoying. If you wish to full fill whole campaign you have to restart missions numerous times to get te needed weather or correct result from key attacks. Good looking game but terrible campaign and AI. Expand
  9. Aug 24, 2013
    5
    Unity of Command appears to be a serious effort to kill off what little interest remains in strategic war games. It gets lots of high review scores from 'professional reviewers', who all seem to agree that this game depicts Operation Barbarossa, the German invasion of the USSR in 1941. Too bad for them this game is based on Fall Blau, later renamed Operation Braunsweig, the 1942 summerUnity of Command appears to be a serious effort to kill off what little interest remains in strategic war games. It gets lots of high review scores from 'professional reviewers', who all seem to agree that this game depicts Operation Barbarossa, the German invasion of the USSR in 1941. Too bad for them this game is based on Fall Blau, later renamed Operation Braunsweig, the 1942 summer offensive towards the Southern Soviet oil fields. The critics also get the score of this game as muddled as their history. Unity of Command is a TERRIBLE game with an incredibly limited, linear and boring scenario. The player has almost zero control of units, formations or anything else. The combat is simplicistic to the point of being asanine. It looks and feels like a game of checkers. Units move with ridiculous fluidity to instant-resolve 'fights' that appear to be simply mathmatically randomised results. The maps are PATHETIC, lacking detail or even visual appeal. Unit cards are even worse. The UI is cluttered and confusing and the manual for the game is not existing. Frankly at $7 you would be better off getting an expensive coffeee than wasting your time that was obviously built as your standard Steam scam, a game that offers a cutesy little video offering to get your interest. Comes with an inflated user score created by the scam artists themsellves with false metacritic accounts, then sold to the unsuspecting Steam buyer on the back of your standard 'see no evil' speak no evil' "pro" reviews. You can believe me because I don't lie to you. This is worse than mediocre. It might be worth $2 for a masochist. You will have much more fun playing Hearts of Iron 3, if you want to play a Wargame.Or try Panzer General 3, which is at least passably fun. The Paradox development team are trying to make a serious and historic and viable war game. This is a pathetic amateursville shadow of a war game.

    THE GROT REVIEW CRITERIA: After a long time writing reviews like an anus, think its time to set a few bad habits straight: Stop insulting designers. Show some respect for the design process and getting games in circulation. Hence (1) No Red scores. (2) Game scores as follows: Bad Game 5/10. Poor Game 6/10. Mediocre Game: 7/10. Good Game 8/10. Great game 9/10. Stella Game 10/10. To get 10/10 it must be a game that can be (theoretically) play-able for 1000+ hours. Not only great but near endless fun. Games may be bad or poor but making them should earn respect. Thus even the worst POS will still be a 5/10. 0/10 no longer exists in my vocabulary. Yellow is the new red. For the sake of accountability: you can reply if needed: Orctowngrot: Tim Rawlins: timtimjp@yahoo.com
    Expand
  10. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    A traditional game in WW2 setting where you move armies on a hex field. I saw the demo and didn't buy the full version because the game somehow lacks touch. It's very cold, too abstract, and has very boring premise (cmon, simulating ww2 again? haven't I seen dozens of games like this already)..
  11. Jun 25, 2013
    0
    Absolute waste of money, the first couple of scenarios on either campaign are all right and get you a little excited then bam impossible to complete scenarios that really you cant be bothered to play again and again since its just so slow moving. nothing to entice you back after a loss, you think "well im glad thats over." Uninstall. Dont bother.
  12. Apr 15, 2013
    0
    To explain this one best: for the simple-minded. This game portrays the hard fought eastern front of ww2 as a fairy tail, with generics and odd terminology. The AI is nearly non-existent and the graphics are below normal compared to other strategy games of its kind. The number of campaigns are lacking and the tutorial is bugged completely. Stay away from this mess if you value your money.
  13. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    This is a very enjoyable and relatively simple tactical WW2 game pitting the Germans vs the Red Army on the Eastern Front. I note that the user that said that you have to entirely repeat the campaigns if you lose is wrong in his statement. I admit it's a little confusing to figure out, but you merely need to restart the mission and meet the victory conditions. The game is inexpensive, andThis is a very enjoyable and relatively simple tactical WW2 game pitting the Germans vs the Red Army on the Eastern Front. I note that the user that said that you have to entirely repeat the campaigns if you lose is wrong in his statement. I admit it's a little confusing to figure out, but you merely need to restart the mission and meet the victory conditions. The game is inexpensive, and I've played and enjoyed it far more than any other game I've purchased in years. It's mainly single player, but has multi-player via capability via internet for all the scenarios (you need to arrange the multiplayer match thru means other than the game for you to find the other party). I think the game has some minor flaws, and there is room for tons of other features if they could be thought of and implemented, but I really have to say that if you like tactical games you should not skip this one because it is challenging and unique. It is NOT a Hearts of Iron type game or the like, it is far less complex and mainly focuses on theatre tactics. Expand
  14. X0R
    Feb 19, 2013
    7
    It's worth a few bucks on sale, looks boardgame/shiny nice, but in my experience just not a lot of meat or depth to the campaign and individual battles. I also bought the Stalingrad Campaign (DLC however, other older rehabbed games at Matrix are so much better than Unity of Command, like Panzer Corps, John Tiller's Campaign Series (TalonSoft East Front, West Front), even Close CombatIt's worth a few bucks on sale, looks boardgame/shiny nice, but in my experience just not a lot of meat or depth to the campaign and individual battles. I also bought the Stalingrad Campaign (DLC however, other older rehabbed games at Matrix are so much better than Unity of Command, like Panzer Corps, John Tiller's Campaign Series (TalonSoft East Front, West Front), even Close Combat (more RTS, not really boardgame style). Unity of Command was fun for a few hours, then lost motivation to play. Expand
  15. Dec 14, 2012
    7
    If you liked Panzer General you will like this game, because it plays almost exactly the same. Its a good remake of the 90's classic panzer general, so casual gamers can get into this as well as a grognard, but grognards need to remember its not a full blown war sim. They have incorporated a pretty neat supply system, making sure all your units stay in supply is very important, but itsIf you liked Panzer General you will like this game, because it plays almost exactly the same. Its a good remake of the 90's classic panzer general, so casual gamers can get into this as well as a grognard, but grognards need to remember its not a full blown war sim. They have incorporated a pretty neat supply system, making sure all your units stay in supply is very important, but its very annoying the CPU will sacrifice 2-3 CORPS just to interfere with your supply for 1 turn, which does have a pretty heavy cause and effect, but its like the CPUs main mission in life. Since it plays like panzer general combat is not considered simultaneous so I can attack the same enemy unit with every unit I have until its defeated, not realistic but it is what it is, all you have to do is keep rotating out units that attacked and rotating in units that are fresh, each hex is considered to be 20KM so this bugs me, and this is how the CPU will always find a way through your lines to interdict your supply lines, very very annoying, Except for this I find the game fun to play and capable of stealing many hours of my life. Expand
  16. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    Yes, the game is worth playing if you like war games--but only on sale. Like Steam $15. But full price--no way. I jumped into this thinking I'd have hours and hours of play for the campaign but finished it quickly (like I'm married with kids and don't have time -- quickly) on 3/7 scenarios. Unity of command seems more like a gamelet than a game. It does get you thinking though. SupplyYes, the game is worth playing if you like war games--but only on sale. Like Steam $15. But full price--no way. I jumped into this thinking I'd have hours and hours of play for the campaign but finished it quickly (like I'm married with kids and don't have time -- quickly) on 3/7 scenarios. Unity of command seems more like a gamelet than a game. It does get you thinking though. Supply chain and tactics are fun. Graphics are definitely a plus. But way too short and the stale map really never changes much. They should have taken notes from Panzer Corps (and Panzer/Slitherine should have taken note of Unity's good graphics). If anything Unity makes me want to play Panzer Corps--the updated version and put Unity away (most likely for good). But I still say buy it on sale and have fun because it is fun and engaging--just too short, a little stale, and somewhat pricey for what you get. Expand
  17. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Thanks Steam, I'd never have found this otherwise. Great game system without the die rolling of old hex games. A.I is strong, you don't feel the A.I is cheating to beat you.Keep it going guys. Easy to learn but hard to master. Boombastic raises the only issue and the save game/progression style needs to be tweaked a little.
  18. Oct 24, 2012
    3
    I initially really liked this game. Had some great combat and supply mechanics and had I reviewed it straight away I would of given it a 9 for sure. But the campaign progression is just broken. I enjoyed going through from scenario to scenario up until it just stopped. Then you're forced to redo the earlier missions (to perfection it seems) and 1 round of random bad weather means you getI initially really liked this game. Had some great combat and supply mechanics and had I reviewed it straight away I would of given it a 9 for sure. But the campaign progression is just broken. I enjoyed going through from scenario to scenario up until it just stopped. Then you're forced to redo the earlier missions (to perfection it seems) and 1 round of random bad weather means you get to experience it all again and again and AGAIN! I don't understand how someone could of thought retrying the same mission with such impossible objectives over and over could be fun. Way to completely screw up an otherwise great game. Expand
  19. Oct 19, 2012
    8
    For something that was 14 euros on Steam, this is a very solid strategy game. I've only played a little bit of it, but so far I'm enjoying it a lot. It's a fairly simple game, but getting into it might take you a little while. The visuals in the game work very well, and the interface is nice and 'clean'. You control a number of different divisions during the invasion of Russia. WhenFor something that was 14 euros on Steam, this is a very solid strategy game. I've only played a little bit of it, but so far I'm enjoying it a lot. It's a fairly simple game, but getting into it might take you a little while. The visuals in the game work very well, and the interface is nice and 'clean'. You control a number of different divisions during the invasion of Russia. When advancing towards your objectives, you need to consider the consequences of what you're doing - if your supply line is broken, you're going to have a tough time, because without supplies your units can't attack. The game allows a lot of different tactical options, which is very good. You'll have to get a bit smart in order to defeat your enemy, because the game is fairly challenging. The game seems like it lacks a little polish - a few changes would've made the game more convenient.

    If you're a fan of turnbased strategy, or strategy in general, this is a must buy for this price.
    Expand
  20. Sep 1, 2012
    8
    This is a great game that revives a genre that's been dying over the years. The mechanics are simple yet complex (see what I did there?) enough to add a deep strategic level to each scenario. I hope more titles like this start to appear out there.
  21. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Wow, How did i miss this one? i like war games, but many are too much for me to learn, this is incredibly deep but surprisingly easy to learn, glad i spotted this one. Has a lot of scenarios to play, and seems to be a big community. For a wargame it is beautiful, normally we are use to 20 year old sprites but this one has a perfect UI and graphics, challenging, elegent game, Superb!
  22. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    Pros:

    1. Beautifully crafted flawless game engine 2. Game concepts are abstract, without being oversimplified 3. Easy to learn, but hard to master universe 4. The game provides a deep challenge in both logistics and tactics 5. Game art is minimalistic, but elegant 6. Very well balanced challenging scenarios 6. The multiplayer option provides challenges for hardcore users 7. The
    Pros:

    1. Beautifully crafted flawless game engine
    2. Game concepts are abstract, without being oversimplified
    3. Easy to learn, but hard to master universe
    4. The game provides a deep challenge in both logistics and tactics
    5. Game art is minimalistic, but elegant
    6. Very well balanced challenging scenarios
    6. The multiplayer option provides challenges for hardcore users
    7. The savegame dynamic mechanics add to the game complexity (such as limit save/load abuses)
    8. Easy to mod a scenario
    9. Plenty potential for further improvement and development

    Cons: 1. Game frustratingly asks for gamekey more than once
    2. Game lacks depth in strategic level i.e. decisions that will affect the long term progress of the campaign. Currently, strategic decisions are limited to banking prestige and requesting elite units from Stavka or OKW reserve.
    3. The game is very short you can finish the whole game in 10 hours. It really feels like an extended demo/
    4. Campaign feels more like patching together different scenarios without any real connection between them
    5. The finale is disappointing. In fact, it is utterly absent.
    6. Inflicting heavy losses on the enemy and minimize own casualties is irrelevant for gaining or losing prestige. There is a certain scenario, that the own way to achieve BV is by sacrificing your whole army...
    7. Air combat is not existent. There is no concept as air superiority. The influence of air strikes is practically minimal.
    8. Not possible to mod a campaign at the moment
    Expand
  23. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    Playing Unity of Command since beta test. I am very pleased with this game. Design, artificial intelligence and user interface are the best I've seen among turn based wargames. Research and gameplay are really good also, and I wonder how such small independent studio (two guys basically!!) made such solid, stable and interesting game that is suitable for newcomers and veterans ofPlaying Unity of Command since beta test. I am very pleased with this game. Design, artificial intelligence and user interface are the best I've seen among turn based wargames. Research and gameplay are really good also, and I wonder how such small independent studio (two guys basically!!) made such solid, stable and interesting game that is suitable for newcomers and veterans of wargaming. But yeah, nobody is perfect, so better multiplayer system and ability to undo last move would make Unity of Command even better. The good thing is that actually developers actively support their game so we can expect more ecxiting news in future. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    Unity of Command is a good turn based strategy game: so difficult but so accurate and deep. A must have for all fans of this genre, but a little bit too difficult for all others.
  2. Mar 17, 2012
    80
    An interesting and challenging strategy title that will make hardcore fans of the genre happy.
  3. Mar 9, 2012
    80
    This strategy game is a real gem. It's easy to learn and play, very smart and – thanks to a really evil computer opponent – very challenging. I just wish it had a bit more content, especially in the multiplayer department, but don't let that stop you from giving it a go.