Unity of Command PC

Unity of Command Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unity of Command lets you replay the epic conflict that was the Stalingrad Campaign of World War II. In this turn-based game of strategy and cunning, observe how opportunity leads the German army to advance recklessly into the steppes of southern Russia. And as the story unfolds, join theUnity of Command lets you replay the epic conflict that was the Stalingrad Campaign of World War II. In this turn-based game of strategy and cunning, observe how opportunity leads the German army to advance recklessly into the steppes of southern Russia. And as the story unfolds, join the Soviet campaign to repel the invaders... As these legendary battles play out on the hex board, the tension of decision making and difficulties of conducting operations on a massive scale emerge. Command armies and fronts in maneuver warfare, thrust and encircle, capture cities and cross continents; but never, ever forget to watch your supply lines. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    Both challenging and elegant, Unity of Command is perfect for both novices and hardcore gamers alike. [March 2012, p.58]
  2. PC Gamer
    Jan 26, 2012
    84
    Unlike most Eastern Front wargames, Unity fends off overdone unit counts and dull AI. Wargame of the year material. [Mar 2012, p.80]
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    83
    Unity of Command is a looker. Its minimalistic, but stylish visual design is sure to please the fanciful "iPhone generation" of gamers. The map is clean and accurate, and the interface is a picture of user-friendliness. Beyond this delightful façade, there is a wargame that's deep enough for experienced armchair generals and welcoming for newcomers.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    One of the most refreshing turn-based strategy games I've experienced for some time. It's clever and deeply tactical, yet also manages to be relatively quick-paced and exciting.
  5. Mar 9, 2012
    80
    This strategy game is a real gem. It's easy to learn and play, very smart and – thanks to a really evil computer opponent – very challenging. I just wish it had a bit more content, especially in the multiplayer department, but don't let that stop you from giving it a go.
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    Unity of Command is a good turn based strategy game: so difficult but so accurate and deep. A must have for all fans of this genre, but a little bit too difficult for all others.
  7. Mar 17, 2012
    80
    An interesting and challenging strategy title that will make hardcore fans of the genre happy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Wow, How did i miss this one? i like war games, but many are too much for me to learn, this is incredibly deep but surprisingly easy to learn,Wow, How did i miss this one? i like war games, but many are too much for me to learn, this is incredibly deep but surprisingly easy to learn, glad i spotted this one. Has a lot of scenarios to play, and seems to be a big community. For a wargame it is beautiful, normally we are use to 20 year old sprites but this one has a perfect UI and graphics, challenging, elegent game, Superb! Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Thanks Steam, I'd never have found this otherwise. Great game system without the die rolling of old hex games. A.I is strong, you don't feelThanks Steam, I'd never have found this otherwise. Great game system without the die rolling of old hex games. A.I is strong, you don't feel the A.I is cheating to beat you.Keep it going guys. Easy to learn but hard to master. Boombastic raises the only issue and the save game/progression style needs to be tweaked a little. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2012
    8
    For something that was 14 euros on Steam, this is a very solid strategy game. I've only played a little bit of it, but so far I'm enjoying itFor something that was 14 euros on Steam, this is a very solid strategy game. I've only played a little bit of it, but so far I'm enjoying it a lot. It's a fairly simple game, but getting into it might take you a little while. The visuals in the game work very well, and the interface is nice and 'clean'. You control a number of different divisions during the invasion of Russia. When advancing towards your objectives, you need to consider the consequences of what you're doing - if your supply line is broken, you're going to have a tough time, because without supplies your units can't attack. The game allows a lot of different tactical options, which is very good. You'll have to get a bit smart in order to defeat your enemy, because the game is fairly challenging. The game seems like it lacks a little polish - a few changes would've made the game more convenient.

    If you're a fan of turnbased strategy, or strategy in general, this is a must buy for this price.
    Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    Yes, the game is worth playing if you like war games--but only on sale. Like Steam $15. But full price--no way. I jumped into this thinkingYes, the game is worth playing if you like war games--but only on sale. Like Steam $15. But full price--no way. I jumped into this thinking I'd have hours and hours of play for the campaign but finished it quickly (like I'm married with kids and don't have time -- quickly) on 3/7 scenarios. Unity of command seems more like a gamelet than a game. It does get you thinking though. Supply chain and tactics are fun. Graphics are definitely a plus. But way too short and the stale map really never changes much. They should have taken notes from Panzer Corps (and Panzer/Slitherine should have taken note of Unity's good graphics). If anything Unity makes me want to play Panzer Corps--the updated version and put Unity away (most likely for good). But I still say buy it on sale and have fun because it is fun and engaging--just too short, a little stale, and somewhat pricey for what you get. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2014
    6
    The game is ok but didn't live up to my expectations. It's biggest weakness is it's lack of customization. You don't get to pick your unitsThe game is ok but didn't live up to my expectations. It's biggest weakness is it's lack of customization. You don't get to pick your units like in PG series. You can carry over experienced units if they happen to show up in later scenarios but it can be very difficult to level up a large number of units. In addition, the game penalizes you for attempting to attempt a sound military victory and instead forces you to simply get units to objectives as fast as possible without regards to casualties or the state of your battle line, something no commander would ever ignore. Overall I give it a 6/10, it could have been much more than it is. The PG series did all of these things with a good level of balance that this game does not provide. I have not played the DLCs. One good aspect of the game is the supply function, that while frustrating, provides additional tactical considerations. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2013
    5
    Graphical appearance looks great, just like playing a board game. Opponent AI is thou terrible, i have played both soviet and German campaignsGraphical appearance looks great, just like playing a board game. Opponent AI is thou terrible, i have played both soviet and German campaigns trough several times. Only thing that AI tries is to disturb your supply lines. Also it's aw full to notice that there is no need to try save your troops only thing that matters is to take control of objectives in time. Makes game play somewhat funny, sometimes AI don't try to defend objectives and just attacks your non-important weak units. Weather effect seems to be designed to only interfere player what is very annoying. If you wish to full fill whole campaign you have to restart missions numerous times to get te needed weather or correct result from key attacks. Good looking game but terrible campaign and AI. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2015
    0
    This game is pretty boring and very lacking on actual strategy. There are much better strategy games out there that come much closer toThis game is pretty boring and very lacking on actual strategy. There are much better strategy games out there that come much closer to replicating operational decisions than this one, Gary Grisby's War in the East blows this child's game out of the water. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews