Universal Combat PC

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 25
  2. Negative: 18 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Justin
    May 5, 2004
    10
    Just as it was said in the manual: you need to have an imagination to play this game. The depth and thoroughness of the game just takes it. The graphics are alright, but graphics don't totally make a game. Furthermore, this game isn't for someone who requires a walkthrough strategy guide to complete every mission. For once there's a game that requires some sort of Just as it was said in the manual: you need to have an imagination to play this game. The depth and thoroughness of the game just takes it. The graphics are alright, but graphics don't totally make a game. Furthermore, this game isn't for someone who requires a walkthrough strategy guide to complete every mission. For once there's a game that requires some sort of intelligence and thinking to complete. I rate this game 10, i could play it for hours. Expand
  2. ?
    Apr 17, 2008
    1
    This game really confused me. I still have no idea what it is about. When the game came out for free, I downloaded a copy, but I still have not found any instruction manuals at all. I'm actually still pretty sure that I do not know half the controls yet, and what I do know came from hitting every individual key on the keyboard and waiting to see what happens. Honestly, it feelsThis game really confused me. I still have no idea what it is about. When the game came out for free, I downloaded a copy, but I still have not found any instruction manuals at all. I'm actually still pretty sure that I do not know half the controls yet, and what I do know came from hitting every individual key on the keyboard and waiting to see what happens. Honestly, it feels like the creators are just yelling, "Screw you!" at me repeatedly. So all I can really say is don't bother unless you have played the other games, and I'm not even sure that is even good advice. The creators should take note that people like to know what is going on. Expand
  3. MarkusL.
    Jul 16, 2004
    2
    Justin, are you Derek Smart...sorry, DR. Derek Smart? 'Cos I can't believe anyone else could like this piece of s**t! I hated it, and these two points I give for the idea, but...maybe Derek Smart really should read of reviews his games, 'cos all off his games have the same problems (sh*tty gameplay, tons of bugs etc.). Sorry Derek, two points. Please don't sue me.
  4. VinnyL.
    Jan 24, 2007
    3
    This game had a lot of potential, but that potential was lost though the poor fps graphics and the extremely user UN-friendly interface. There are much better games of this genre out there.
  5. ChristopherD.
    Feb 7, 2004
    6
    Well I just started to play this and I think it has a lot of potential and a lot of bugs. First as you know you can do any thing.... however its far to open and unless you know where the action is it's kinda weak. Second there is A LOT of cliping issues, try to land on top of a building, and you will know. Also with long fllights you will see that your ship will consantly roll and Well I just started to play this and I think it has a lot of potential and a lot of bugs. First as you know you can do any thing.... however its far to open and unless you know where the action is it's kinda weak. Second there is A LOT of cliping issues, try to land on top of a building, and you will know. Also with long fllights you will see that your ship will consantly roll and you have to adjust to this and while on foot if you head almost north South East or West and you let go of the mouse you will see that cammera will move to directly on the compass rows. .... there is more but... the developers of UC had a leagle battle about the publisher changeing the price to $19.00 and well sorry 3000AD I can see why. This game is not bad for the current price, BUT IT NEEDS A PATCH TO BE GOOD. Expand
  6. BradG.
    Apr 21, 2005
    4
    Every time Smart makes a new battlecruiser game I pick it up hoping "maybe this time he'll get it right". I think I'm seeing the light though, the man can't make fun games. I don't care how much freedom and option you have in this game, none of it is fun or even functional. Stuff that should take a couple of clicks invilves a huge amount of menu-hunting and rarely Every time Smart makes a new battlecruiser game I pick it up hoping "maybe this time he'll get it right". I think I'm seeing the light though, the man can't make fun games. I don't care how much freedom and option you have in this game, none of it is fun or even functional. Stuff that should take a couple of clicks invilves a huge amount of menu-hunting and rarely works when you figure it out. The FPS portion is a flat out joke, the fighter to fighter combat is a breakneck speed jousting match, and if you decide to do everything from a command perspective instead it, well, isn't exactly user friendly. Do yourself a favour and buy X2 or wait until X3, you don't get the on-planet stuff but you get everything else plus some FUN which is sort of the point right? Expand
  7. IgorT.
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    Great game engine, almost perfect, but needs storyline
  8. Meestyk
    Oct 3, 2007
    4
    Since I'm also a sci fi fan and into these space sims games, I rammed into this title and hit an asteroid field. Now, I need help from Smart Derek, but he's always doing something else! (Making this world even bigger?) True, graphics don't make a game, but, really, graphics here is just plain outdated even on the latest from Smart. True, this game's got a huge dynamic Since I'm also a sci fi fan and into these space sims games, I rammed into this title and hit an asteroid field. Now, I need help from Smart Derek, but he's always doing something else! (Making this world even bigger?) True, graphics don't make a game, but, really, graphics here is just plain outdated even on the latest from Smart. True, this game's got a huge dynamic universe, but, truly, it needs life not statistics. Frankly, there is no game out there alike this one because it's unique. No one else has or had the guts to make a game like Smart. This game 's got potentials, lots of it. But, Smart would need talents real talents, to realize this potential into the next franchise. Let's face it, we've all played the same games over and over. It's time for some change. 4 for the uniqueness and concept. 5 because it's Smart's. -1 because no tutorials. A game should be fun afterall. Expand
  9. SamL.
    Dec 11, 2004
    1
    This game tries to be an fps, a space sim and a fighter sim all in one and ends up doing none of it well. theres too many problems with this game for me to list them all so im just gonna list the main ones 1) unless your a fan of the battlecruser games you ARE going to be totaly lost wen you first start playing, theres no totorial, no explanation not even so much as a hint as to how toThis game tries to be an fps, a space sim and a fighter sim all in one and ends up doing none of it well. theres too many problems with this game for me to list them all so im just gonna list the main ones 1) unless your a fan of the battlecruser games you ARE going to be totaly lost wen you first start playing, theres no totorial, no explanation not even so much as a hint as to how to play the game, just a set of orders and a good luck, its as thow Derek Smart just expected you to be able to read his mind somhow 2) you spend more time looking for a fight than actualy fighting, and its not as thow the fights are particularley exciting you dodge around abit then someone gets a lucky hit and its game over, i cant even see how this wos supposed to be a good fps anyway NO cover, primiraley flat rolling terain with maybe the odd hill here n there 3) there may be many vechicles but there all basically the same, same hud, idecntical handling, identical controls, i think they just took all the vheicals and gave the all the same piloting script changing maybe a few variables such as max speed 4) the clipping problems are so numerous that you wont be thinking "is it going to clip here?" instead youll be thinking "is it not goint to clip here?" and belive me that no exageration 5)it could definatley use a new graphics engin, altho this is more a suggested enhamcement and not relay a problem as such so basicley dont bother buying this game, seriousley i wasted my money on it and im still kicking myself. Expand
  10. KajetanP.
    Mar 16, 2004
    2
    1 Point if you're just an average gamer: Stay away and go buy something else. 3 Points if you're a serious space sim gamer AND heavy into sado-masochism, because this game hurts you with all the might DS has to offer to his poor customers.
  11. HetNet
    Apr 19, 2009
    2
    Same great concept as the original BC2K, but just as unfinished after 20 years, and as unplayable, as that was...Every aspect of the game is unfinished and unrealized..It just feels like they got bored halfway through each aspect and moved to another one..The spaceflight, atmosphric flight, FPS, space marine combat....ALL of it is just substandard and incomplete...Could have been such anSame great concept as the original BC2K, but just as unfinished after 20 years, and as unplayable, as that was...Every aspect of the game is unfinished and unrealized..It just feels like they got bored halfway through each aspect and moved to another one..The spaceflight, atmosphric flight, FPS, space marine combat....ALL of it is just substandard and incomplete...Could have been such an world-changing series....if someone else had done it...But DS just doesn't seem capable of turning out even average quality gameplay or programming. Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. The level of freedom afforded is quite unparalleled for a game of this type. [Apr 2004, p.72]
  2. To enjoy the game requires hours of exhaustive research and patience that most gamers don’t have.
  3. There are still a ton of controls in the newest version of the Battlecruiser series … but 3000 AD has done a good job in making them a little more accessible for things that you will do most often during the game.