Universe Sandbox Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Create and destroy on a scale youve never imagined with the ultimate space simulator.

    Harness the power to create black holes, collide galaxies, and manipulate gravity with just a few clicks. Inspired by the software astronomers use to unlock the mysteries of our universe, never before
    has astronomy been so interactive or so much fun.

    Spawn a massive moon to tear apart Saturns rings or launch a rogue star to rip the planets from their orbits around our sun. After unleashing catastrophic destruction, create your own solar system and share it with friends.
    Key Features:

    - Interactive, real-time, n-body gravity simulator
    - Change any property of any object at any time
    - Real physics, real data, real units, real science
    - Compare the objects in any simulation with chart mode
    - Supports anaglyphic 3D glasses and 3D DLP televisions
    - Built in tutorials and step-by-step activities
    - Includes 70+ simulations both real and fantastical
    - Extensive editing and creation tools make it easy to build your own simulations
    - Latest version of Universe Sandbox 2.x with Steam Achievements
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 14, 2011
    87
    This is where universe sandbox succeeds brilliantly: players experience godly power to create or destroy, while almost unavoidably learning something about the physical properties or our universe. [Sept 2011, p.69]
  2. Nov 13, 2011
    84
    Fun with physics, if you're happy to dig to find your treasures, Universe Sandbox has them in spades. [Dec 2011, p.112]
  3. May 18, 2011
    80
    Universe Sandbox isn't a game per se; there are no bosses, aims or levels, merely an accurate model of astronomical bodies for you to fiddle with. It's really more of a toy – the virtual equivalent of a configurable orrery, except hugely more complex than any mechanical system.
  4. May 16, 2011
    75
    After a helpful (though light) tutorial, Universe Sandbox offers little guidance for aspiring unmoved movers. A more robust set of tutorials, a manual, or even the use of Steam Achievements to encourage varied behavior would go a long way toward helping players make their own music of the spheres.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 9 out of 29
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Guys, this is a game that Carl Sagan, Galileo, Newton, and whoever else looked up in the stars in wonder would kill for, its worth its price, its not anything that you should pay more than 10 dollars for. But I love it, being able to distort the gravitational flow of entire galaxies and seeing the stars fly off in every direction in a grand web of stars and lights in a great cosmic dark. Maybe because im just a cosmos nerd. If you dont have any interest in the stars, dont buy this game Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    This is a wonderful simulator, anyone with an interest in space, astronomy, or just wants to watch mercury whiz around the sun should certainly consider picking this up.

    The UI is cumbersome at first and it will take some getting used to, they have done well to hide most of the complexity slightly out of sight until you look for it which certainly helps ease you into it.

    For what it does and what it offers, it's exactly what it claims to be and I can't help but commend the design team for it and recommend others to try it.

    All negative reviews I've seen either had technical issues with it, or were clearly expecting something different. I also don't get why people keep saying it's not a game, it doesn't even claim to be one... doesn't mean you can't have fun in it.
    Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    For anyone who likes astronomy and/or sandbox type applications,
    then this is the game for you. This game has planets, stars, galaxies,
    and
    all kinds of things you can think about. ( Including teapots :p )
    So far I would rate this game 4 out of 5, with it's different varieties
    of objects you can change and edit to your will. And the varieties of
    features they have are amazing and plentiful. I have been playing around
    with an object's mass, diameter, and velocity only to have everything
    crashing into that particular planet or star, and I didn't even mess with
    the other features because this one was particularly more interesting.
    So to anyone reading this review I recommend that you go buy this game.
    It has lots of features and the visuals are amazing when it comes to particles,
    also different options and settings which will help you're gaming experience.
    Collapse
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    6
    I was expecting something more like a Garry's Mod toolbox environment with the ability to quickly place stars, planets, moons, black holes, galaxies, etc. The GUI is not very user friendly making it very cumbersome to try things out. It has a lot of potential, but they really need to focus on cleaning up the user interface so you don't need an astrophysics degree to figure out what is going on. Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2013
    5
    I was expecting a lot more from this game. Sure, it's funny to mess around for ten minutes, but after that the game is really limited. I'm a huge fan of sandbox games, yet this is still far from enjoyable. Expand
  6. AWG
    Jun 17, 2013
    4
    The application crashed the first five (5) times I tried to run it. Eventually I got the simulator to run but since I'm neither one of the developers nor an astrophysics I couldn't understand how to get things to run. There are dozens of buttons an you're not sure which does what. I tried to understand the logic behind the interface but then the app crashed again and so I dropped it for good.
    Good idea, bad execution.
    Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2013
    0
    You would be spending your money better if you wiped your ass with the money you would spend on this game and then set that money fire. seriously you shouldn't buy this game. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews