• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Sep 30, 2002
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 100
    Mind-blowingly more amazing than its older brother!
  2. Combined with top-notch sound effects, new weapons, and special moves, it will leave you speechless. [Dec 2002, p.88]
  3. If you're a devotee to "Quake," "UT," FPSs, or online games in general, this is certainly a ride you won't want to miss. [Dec 2002, p.147]
  4. From the minute you install the game you will be amazed how wonderful this game looks, and plays.
  5. UT2003 may not be a revolution, but after a raft of unexciting "Counter-Strike" clones over the last couple of years, it’s the finest game you’ll find gracing any server right now.
  6. 91
    The game is drop dead gorgeous...As far as the gameplay is concerned, the overall physics are still the best in the industry.
  7. It’s the best that the genre has to offer thus far, and with a new detailed mapmaker, new weaponry and exceptional graphics, sound and game play.
  8. 91
    The graphic detail of the levels is astounding, the sounds all have the "oomph" and there's enough variety in the game types to keep you busy. [Dec 2002, p.78]
  9. 90
    UT's beautiful skin may be somewhat simple, but its biology is complex, lovely, and fun.
  10. Once you get past the initial phase of disappointment UT2003 delivers everything you’d want from a FPS. The action is intense, the presentation flawless and more importantly it just feels great, definitely packing that ‘oh yeah’ factor in spades.
  11. An absolutely excellent game. Sure, it does not redefine the genre...but it doesn’t just sit on its predecessor’s laurels, it has something of its own to bring in – a most impressive graphics and physics engine, an incredible bot AI ..., as well as very impressive level design and great multiplayer capabilities.
  12. A fast-paced, fantastic looking fragfest that is an absolute blast to play... It would be nice if there was more to the single player game, though.
  13. 90
    Its visceral intensity is off the charts—other shooters seem frail and timid in comparison.
  14. The game is regressive in a sense that it doesn't bring anything new to the field of online shooters - it's as straightforward and arcadish as online shooters get, and at the same time, it's highly progressive with its incredible physics, 3D, and net code.
  15. Exciting, nonstop combat in wild settings, all brought to life with a stunning, state-of-the-art graphics engine that leaves its competition in the dust.
  16. Gorgeous gib-filled excitement for deathmatch players with beefy systems. [Holiday 2002, p.112]
  17. While not perfect by any means, there's enough fun in Bombing Run and Double Domination alone to make this one worth picking up for some multiplayer fun.
  18. 83
    Underneath all of that polish, at its heart this is the same basic game we've been playing for years -- you'll either love it or hate it for that very reason.
  19. While UT 2003 doesn’t revolutionize its genre, it contains beautifully presented high-speed action that first-person shooter fans crave.
  20. 80
    It's insanely gorgeous... Beautiful graphics, fantastically designed maps, and slight changes in gameplay.
  21. Minus community support, amounts to a visually amazing, dependable, but overall mediocre online first-person shooter. [Jan 2003, p.96]
  22. Delivers plenty of eye candy - from sprawling outdoor vistas to blasts of mutagenic sludge - but doesn't live up to the expectations of shooters in this post-Halo world. [25 Oct 2002, p.83]
  23. There is no excuse for a game to perform so badly at the lowest settings, especially on a system which meets the recommended system requirements. Unless you have all the latest hardware, don’t bother with UT2K3 for a while.
  24. The worst crime ever committed against PC gamers was releasing the sequel to UT without an Assault mode.
  25. With bigger guns and even bigger levels, Unreal Tournament 2003 seems to say: size does matter.
  26. With the exception of the extremely, though not awe-inspiringly fun bombing run mode, UT2003 could essentially be Quake 1996 with one hell of an Oprah Winfrey style makeover.
  27. It's just been so toned down from the original that on one hand while I applaud the balancing of the weapons, on the other I miss the raw intensity that permeated "Unreal Tournament."
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. [Anonymous]
    Dec 25, 2002
    10
    I actually think its a 9.9 but 10 is close to it. Why i think that? The weapons are awesome The graphics are cool The maps are great The I actually think its a 9.9 but 10 is close to it. Why i think that? The weapons are awesome The graphics are cool The maps are great The sounds are okay The gameplay is SUPERCOOL The system requirments are O.K The bots are ok too But the menu is only worth a 8 bye. Full Review »
  2. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    Kao i legendarni prvi dio sa novom grafikom i par noviteta, pucaj, pucaj iKao i legendarni prvi dio sa novom grafikom i par noviteta, pucaj, pucaj i pucaj....................................................................... Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest games when it was released. Extremely detailed maps, slick graphics, interesting weapons, and a whole lot of fun. NiceOne of the greatest games when it was released. Extremely detailed maps, slick graphics, interesting weapons, and a whole lot of fun. Nice pace for a FPS. Full Review »