User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 499 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 499

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    5
    Really not all to good at all. I had heard great things about the Unreal series and thought that this game would be a fun online shooter. I was sadly disappointed. The tiny player base is testimony to how poor this game is. Good luck ever finding a match.
  2. Oct 13, 2010
    6
    This was really a bummer. Unreal Tournament and Unreal Tournament 2004 had really good single player and multiplayer content. Epic games dropped the pooch this time around. The single player campaign was awful. They tried to put a storyline to a tournament style game and take away the tournament and just make it a war with respawners. Whoever thought of that should have been axed.This was really a bummer. Unreal Tournament and Unreal Tournament 2004 had really good single player and multiplayer content. Epic games dropped the pooch this time around. The single player campaign was awful. They tried to put a storyline to a tournament style game and take away the tournament and just make it a war with respawners. Whoever thought of that should have been axed. The guns felt difficult to kill with. Their earlier games made it so easy to kill someone, this game took a ton of bullets and the guns just didn't have the same feel. The game speed didn't feel right, you move really fast and you shoot really slow. The system requirements were too extreme for the time it was released, and the game engine did not scale like their UE2 or the original engine did.

    The game did have some good parts. I really liked the hoverboards and graphics, once I got everything working right. Having co-op for the campaign is also a plus, although I never played it through with other peeps. The Unreal Tournament series has the coolest vehicles to use. What I was hoping for was more of the Assault mode, which somehow got scratched. This game is just not Unreal Tournament worthy.
    Expand
  3. JaredW
    Mar 27, 2008
    5
    What a $50 disappointment. I've been an Unreal fan since the beginning, and think 2004 is the best FPS ever, and run about 300 custom maps. The physics are breathtakingly fun. Sure I've played the quake and doom franchises, and Half Life, etc... but nothing has the repeat gameplay that UT2k4 has. UT3 is dark, splashy console graphics, ugly dense characters, laggy gameplay, and What a $50 disappointment. I've been an Unreal fan since the beginning, and think 2004 is the best FPS ever, and run about 300 custom maps. The physics are breathtakingly fun. Sure I've played the quake and doom franchises, and Half Life, etc... but nothing has the repeat gameplay that UT2k4 has. UT3 is dark, splashy console graphics, ugly dense characters, laggy gameplay, and unattractive textures, sorry to say. When they say extensive testing, by whom?? Who is playing this and saying it belongs in the UT franchise? Expand
  4. Aug 19, 2011
    6
    I'm disappointed the co-op mode is glitched. It doesn't work out of the box and I've only had mixed success trying the countless available "fixes". I'm able to overlook it because multiplayer is fun and thankfully always works--it's got that classic old school shooter appeal without the lame leveling you see in newer games today that give players an unfair advantage because they haveI'm disappointed the co-op mode is glitched. It doesn't work out of the box and I've only had mixed success trying the countless available "fixes". I'm able to overlook it because multiplayer is fun and thankfully always works--it's got that classic old school shooter appeal without the lame leveling you see in newer games today that give players an unfair advantage because they have played more hours and are given better perks than you. It still has a decent community of players making it easy finding a game. Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    Don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but it failed to bring what unreal tournament 2004 did to us. I didn't enjoy the game modes and the guns are exactly the same, as well as exact same mechanics. It is still a good and fun game, but get Unreal Tournament 2004 instead
  6. BrodyGuest
    Jan 1, 2010
    5
    Game LOOKS amazing and plays well as any other unreal tournament game, but living in australia there is no-one to play online with :(
  7. Oct 3, 2010
    7
    The new additions since ut 2004 are good like necris vehicles but now the gameplay is much more boring and i feel that ut 2004 was better.The graphics and weapons are better but the gameplay fun just died.
  8. Jul 1, 2011
    5
    This is far better than Quake 3 Arena! You don't want to compare the graphics and models of this game's to UT2004, 'cos UT2004 looked really outdated now. After a week's play (I rarely tried UT games) I already have beaten the difficulty MASTERFUL most of the time in the deathmatch game mode (my 1st place of 60 frags to a bot's 2nd place of 51 frags). I would be INHUMAN in less than 2This is far better than Quake 3 Arena! You don't want to compare the graphics and models of this game's to UT2004, 'cos UT2004 looked really outdated now. After a week's play (I rarely tried UT games) I already have beaten the difficulty MASTERFUL most of the time in the deathmatch game mode (my 1st place of 60 frags to a bot's 2nd place of 51 frags). I would be INHUMAN in less than 2 weeks experience. Note that by most of the time the bots would choose to shoot at you first even though you're more farther away for targeting, as you're priority target number one, so imagine with all those bots' guns firing at you all at once ... that's great fun for me (only if you don't scream in rage because you feel like the bots has cheated and are gang banging you). Oh BTW only get this game if it comes with UT2004 for free! Expand
  9. Oct 12, 2011
    6
    You get a complete package- there's no doubt about that. Whether you want a large battlefield or small arenas, this game can offer you that. There's lots of weapons, a few vehicles and fast-paced arena gameplay, with a platoon of game settings you can tweak, including the speed. There's many difficulties for the bots, and settings you can adjust for them. But really, once you get past allYou get a complete package- there's no doubt about that. Whether you want a large battlefield or small arenas, this game can offer you that. There's lots of weapons, a few vehicles and fast-paced arena gameplay, with a platoon of game settings you can tweak, including the speed. There's many difficulties for the bots, and settings you can adjust for them. But really, once you get past all of this there's nothing that exciting about it. The campaign doesn't feel like one because of the arena-based gameplay. The gameplay is the most simple you can possibly get. No reloading, no recoil. Just move and shoot. The maps on it aren't greatly varied either. There's better shooters out there than this. Expand
  10. MartinHuggett
    Sep 3, 2009
    7
    UT3 is a great no strings attached FPS, if you want something with an actual Campaign with a story then this ain't for you. The multiplayer is what this game's all about. ~Even after 2 years the online scene is still live and kicking with UT3. The gameplay is smooth with KB/M or controller and the graphics are great looking for a game this old especially if you have an nVidiaUT3 is a great no strings attached FPS, if you want something with an actual Campaign with a story then this ain't for you. The multiplayer is what this game's all about. ~Even after 2 years the online scene is still live and kicking with UT3. The gameplay is smooth with KB/M or controller and the graphics are great looking for a game this old especially if you have an nVidia card with PhysX enabled. There is a PhysX mod available from nVidia that adds more PhysX features and two maps and is free. This game is great fun but every once in a while but it is great value for money from Steam Expand
  11. Mobius
    Jan 17, 2008
    6
    Good points. nice graphics though it looks like gears of war nice effects gamplay similar to UT2004 and your hover board Bad Points Servers are mostly empty infact looking at my server list of 150 servers only 3 have any players on them. Ping on 98% of the servers are over 300 leaving only a few with a ping below 50 mainly the empty ones. Maps are smaller Vehicles all have very weak Good points. nice graphics though it looks like gears of war nice effects gamplay similar to UT2004 and your hover board Bad Points Servers are mostly empty infact looking at my server list of 150 servers only 3 have any players on them. Ping on 98% of the servers are over 300 leaving only a few with a ping below 50 mainly the empty ones. Maps are smaller Vehicles all have very weak armour Vehicle controls are just to twitchy Onslaught mode gone only to be replaced with the weaker warfare. Though this game plays pretty much like UT2004 it just feels like its lost its soul. I still prefere to play UT2004 as its more fun with its bigger maps. Expand
  12. [anonymous]
    Jan 5, 2010
    7
    no one plays this online? barely anybody lets say that. ooh Ahh the graphics aren't near what the screen shots are posted in ads for it. I even run maxed out graphics and don't see it. failure
  13. MattM.
    Aug 2, 2008
    7
    This game dissapointed me a bit. When it came out, I was expecting it to be a bit better than UT 2004. But all the moving around with orbs and nodes got me a bit confused. I found these bots were pretty stupid too. If you snip from high up, they will shoot you with a flak cannon til they run out of ammo. Very sad Epic Games...
  14. DeemerA
    Mar 15, 2009
    7
    It's pretty nice in almost every ways, but there is some flaws, that i encountered.. First of all, the mouse sensitivity system is too harsh, at sens 1 it's very low and the sens 2 it's way too high, and my razer panel that i tried to combine it's sens to match perfectly to the sens i prefer to use is imbossible. And the AI is far too difficult, i can't ever be It's pretty nice in almost every ways, but there is some flaws, that i encountered.. First of all, the mouse sensitivity system is too harsh, at sens 1 it's very low and the sens 2 it's way too high, and my razer panel that i tried to combine it's sens to match perfectly to the sens i prefer to use is imbossible. And the AI is far too difficult, i can't ever be that fast, cause my maximum responding speed from seeing the enemy to shoot it is 0,0015secs, but that is way too slow, and my reflex speed is maximum at 350m/s, and i like to play Godlike difficulty all the time, but they can shoot me throu the fog, from places i can't see them, but mostly pretty good game. Expand
  15. GamerGuy
    Nov 27, 2007
    6
    UT has been one of those titles that gets overhyped simply because of its name when in truth the game itself is never that great. UT3 redefines nothing and is basically an expansion pack for the old games with a few tweeks and a graphics upgrade. Unreal is to the FPS industry what Madden is to the Sports Industry and UT3 confirms it.
  16. ShammyS.
    Dec 3, 2007
    7
    This game is by no means a flop. I like the gameplay athough I can spot quite a few flaws and bugs in the AI. If I were part of the team of designers, I would have designed a realism mod that changes all of it. Also a few shortcut key have been removed, also the translocator has been taken out of instant action, that is a downfall, but the game itself is pretty fun...the maps are vivid, This game is by no means a flop. I like the gameplay athough I can spot quite a few flaws and bugs in the AI. If I were part of the team of designers, I would have designed a realism mod that changes all of it. Also a few shortcut key have been removed, also the translocator has been taken out of instant action, that is a downfall, but the game itself is pretty fun...the maps are vivid, although I think it can do with a lil more diversity, most of them feel very similar, just with different skin. More arena maps and larger themed maps are in order! There should be maps large enough to support at least 16+ players. Expand
  17. AnonymousMC
    Feb 28, 2008
    7
    Epic, you sold out. You make crap with Gears of War for console brainless twits and then you bring your 'experience' from that to UT3. You need to ask yourself again, who are the people that got you where you are today. There is a good game here, cant help to be with the UT formula still somewhat intact, but your rubbish menu;s, yes even after your 250mb patches, and GoW inspiredEpic, you sold out. You make crap with Gears of War for console brainless twits and then you bring your 'experience' from that to UT3. You need to ask yourself again, who are the people that got you where you are today. There is a good game here, cant help to be with the UT formula still somewhat intact, but your rubbish menu;s, yes even after your 250mb patches, and GoW inspired character models (cant stand them) show that you have sold out to the console crowd. For some reason you thought big sales in consoles meant you made a good game so you could do the same on PC. Unfortunately for those more particular in their choice of game this is not enough. Expand
  18. MichaelP
    Sep 12, 2009
    7
    It's not Unreal Tournament 2004 style mindblowing, but it's nothing to be sneezed at. Love the high paced action in an updated format. Worth the money.
  19. MartinL.
    Nov 21, 2007
    7
    Overall it's worthy successor to the UT series but lacks the polish of previous games, also doesn
  20. ElReitoSavage
    Nov 21, 2007
    6
    The gameplay is smooth if you have the horsepower to run it. However too much of the game is exactly like the last UT. Overall, it's fun and worth the price, but don't buy it if you already own the last version. It's almost exactly the same.
  21. ArtimecionX.
    Nov 26, 2007
    7
    Still more of the same old UT, but where the graphics have added, the contect seems to have been subtracted. There are shockingly few maps compared to 2k4, and not that many models/skins either. The menus quite frankly are awful and it seems more like a port from a console version rather than a PC game - an example of this is that there are very limited graphics options and even those are Still more of the same old UT, but where the graphics have added, the contect seems to have been subtracted. There are shockingly few maps compared to 2k4, and not that many models/skins either. The menus quite frankly are awful and it seems more like a port from a console version rather than a PC game - an example of this is that there are very limited graphics options and even those are obscurely placed in the menus. They also seem to have forgotten to finish the sound off, with very limited taunts and commands. But, annoyances aside, this is still a good solid game and I'm positive it will grow exponentially in popularity once the user-generated content starts appearing. Expand
  22. CharlesM.
    Nov 28, 2007
    5
    Very little innovation since 2k3. and to be honest isnt as visually impressive as i was expecting in dx9.
  23. MichaelT.
    Dec 9, 2007
    7
    Nice graphics, very fluent, like we are used to in UT, however this being said: negative parts are: lack of characters to choose from, very few populated servers, and the mysterious lack of instagib servers.
  24. DanielR.
    Jan 26, 2008
    5
    I have been following the Unreal series since the beginning. I bought a 3Dfx Voodoo 3 3000 card with 16MB of RAM in order to play Unreal and UT back in 2000. After buying each of those games twice (discs got scratched, etc), Unreal 2, UT2k3 and UT2k4, I must say that this is, by far, the worst Unreal I have ever played. Allow me to base my opinion on facts that I must sadly reveal to I have been following the Unreal series since the beginning. I bought a 3Dfx Voodoo 3 3000 card with 16MB of RAM in order to play Unreal and UT back in 2000. After buying each of those games twice (discs got scratched, etc), Unreal 2, UT2k3 and UT2k4, I must say that this is, by far, the worst Unreal I have ever played. Allow me to base my opinion on facts that I must sadly reveal to potential buyers. 1.) UT3's bot intelligence is worse than _any_ other UT game previous to this one. They managed to completely blow ten years of experience. Not only is there a huge disparity between bot performance in warfare mode and deathmatch, but most of the time, the opposing team is just way stronger by default for seemingly no reason at all. I like to be immersed in a battle where I am an important part of the team, but I shouldn't have to quadruple the highest scoring player on my team other than myself just to win the match. These bots are so stupid that I've seen groups of them driving and getting stuck in walls. I've watched, sadly, as I nuke the crap out of them in their idiocy (on "Adept" difficulty). Even better, I love when idiots on my team grab the sphere, an all-important power to gaining territory on warfare maps, and then proceed to get stuck, voiding any chances we might have had at winning. Of course, friendly fire is off in the campaign, so I can't even take care of the situation myself. Fantastic. 2.) The maps are interesting and varied. I like that. But I absolutely HATE the look of the new characters. You can be a fat dwarf chick, a fat dwarf dude, a fat dwarf lizard, or a fat dwarf robot. I found this to be annoying, because I don't particularly want to be a fat dwarf ANYTHING. X( This form of style inconsistency with other UT games is frustrating to me. The reason many people have been saying this looks a lot like Gears of War is because it almost looks like textures, content, and even character facial appearances have been re-used in this game. They are using the same engine, of course; but the main characters also look strikingly similar. 3.) as a person has already mentioned, hardly anyone is even playing. I think there are more people playing UT classic, as I hopped on that last night and was surprised to see so many people. 4.) I can't stand the amount of lens blur that is added when turning detail settings any bit above the first setting. I love the HDR and stuff, but I can't see what is happening a long ways away and I feel like I'm playing it on a PS3 when it is on. 5.) Speaking of which...this game feels like a frickin' port. The menus are clumsy and stupid and less usable than the original UT's or even UT2k4. I am VERY mad at this. It seems like they made this game for consoles FIRST and it is unacceptable to me. It wouldn't take long to redesign a menu. Overall, I am still angry with my purchase. I should have looked at reviews. This is the last time I'm getting burned by placing loyalty in a sequel. Expand
  25. JehfersonM.
    Jun 19, 2009
    6
    With the departure of Bombing Run and Assault, UT lost what was, at least for me, the two most fun game modes. Also where the AI was superb on UT2004, I've had to LITERALLY teach one of the bots that "flag goes into base" during the single player campaign. No Skaarj, no Egyptech and noThunderCrash also mean a loss of traditional characters . So Unreal Tournament 3 feels like a With the departure of Bombing Run and Assault, UT lost what was, at least for me, the two most fun game modes. Also where the AI was superb on UT2004, I've had to LITERALLY teach one of the bots that "flag goes into base" during the single player campaign. No Skaarj, no Egyptech and noThunderCrash also mean a loss of traditional characters . So Unreal Tournament 3 feels like a downgrade on UT2004, game wise. But not all is lost. The game is more beautiful than ever, new vehicles introduce variety and innovation.... Maybe all it needs is a good and heavy expansion pack to fill in all these holes. The potential certainly IS there. Expand
  26. Nemesis
    Nov 21, 2007
    7
    If you want a "little" more polished version of UT2004, then you should go ahead and pick this up. Word of caution: It's exactly the same in design as 2004, but lacks the expansive maps for deathmatch and CTF (which are my favorite modes). Also, my other big gripe is the lack of sniper oriented maps in CTF. In due time, we'll get patches and map additions to rememdy this MAJOR If you want a "little" more polished version of UT2004, then you should go ahead and pick this up. Word of caution: It's exactly the same in design as 2004, but lacks the expansive maps for deathmatch and CTF (which are my favorite modes). Also, my other big gripe is the lack of sniper oriented maps in CTF. In due time, we'll get patches and map additions to rememdy this MAJOR issue (at least with me). Expand
  27. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    unsure how to rate this one, the graphics are a definite plus, and the game just shines with quality and polish, i found not only the visuals, but the sound and altogether feel of the game to be very nice, and imo an IMPROVEMENT over older ut titles, i mean let's face it, games change with time, ut franchise is no different!

    however in agreement with many others, the campaign is awful!
    unsure how to rate this one, the graphics are a definite plus, and the game just shines with quality and polish, i found not only the visuals, but the sound and altogether feel of the game to be very nice, and imo an IMPROVEMENT over older ut titles, i mean let's face it, games change with time, ut franchise is no different!

    however in agreement with many others, the campaign is awful! also i would like to call this ut the most difficult ut game so far, but i'm unsure, it seems to be very unbalanced difficulty levels really... skilled is like impossible and then inhuman is actually easier (or so i found it to be!).

    not to mention the game ups it's difficulty GREATLY in campaign mode for some reason.... skilled in campaign is like godlike in instant action o.0

    but on the whole i think this game is excellent, and i am not just some modern graphics whore that never played ut games before, i grew up with them myself, and i actually like the direction they took in this game... apart from the bizarre fluctuating difficulty curve and the silly campaign story
    Expand
  28. Mar 16, 2014
    7
    Well this game is way worse than UT 2004 in many ways, but it is still good fun with excellent weapons, vehicles and funny mods. I am not a big fan of single payer campaign, they shoud add same single player like in UT 2004 with more detailed team management. Still a very good game with great gun play and awesome maps.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. The game's A-ticket attractions are the massive, ornate battlegrounds where opponents compete in objective-based clashes. Gorgeous alien landscapes play host to massive turf battles between factions vying for power nodes. These mêlées come stocked with a mind-boggling variety of weapons and vehicles, greatly reducing the rinse, lather, repeat burnout that comes in online shooters with less to do and smaller places to do it.
  2. Drop into servers, start killing people, it's so natural to habitual gamers these days that it's hard to quantify how familiar and welcome these experiences are. With the sheer range of death-mongering that UT3 provides, it's hard not to get into the spirit of things. So yeah, Unreal Tournament pretty much remains The Daddy: consistent, meaty, and just weird enough to survive.
  3. The game excels at everything from simple deathmatching to complex objective-driven campaigns. [Dec 2007, p.154]