Unreal Tournament III PC

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 519 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 519
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Random54
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    Now that Patch 2.0 is out this is the best Competitive FPS game currently on the market. It has decent game modes for beginners but still has great competitive play for hard core gamers. If you like ut99, quake 3 or quake live then check out UT3 :)
  2. TimE.
    Jan 17, 2008
    9
    It is a really funny game, ok, the Singleplayer is crap, but who cares?! Usually you play it online, the bots are ok, but play it versus humans is real fun. I don't understand why it's selling soo bad!
  3. ArkadyS.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    Super balanced game. The best online game on this moment.
  4. BESTGAMEEVER!!!
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    I have never played a game that is better than this one. The visuals are amazing and the gameplay is smooth. I was an avid UT2k4 player until the day this came out and am in no way disappointed by this game. It has met every expectation to the absolute fullest. For anyone who has trouble with the menu...WTF?!? Who gives a crap...you can change your settings, it is simple, and then you are I have never played a game that is better than this one. The visuals are amazing and the gameplay is smooth. I was an avid UT2k4 player until the day this came out and am in no way disappointed by this game. It has met every expectation to the absolute fullest. For anyone who has trouble with the menu...WTF?!? Who gives a crap...you can change your settings, it is simple, and then you are in the game. I dont play SP very often, but atleast their was some effort put towards it unlike previous UT's. This game is superior to every other game out there in every single aspect, do not let anyone else tell you otherwise!!! Expand
  5. Notforyourbroin
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Fast paced, high quality action the UT franchise hasnt seen the likes of since UT1! Definitely an A++ FPS.
  6. Mr.Cool
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    Now this is one heck of a game! Epic just really has a way of making good shooters. Now this game is certainly better than the previous entries in Unreal Tournament and has the most fast paced action. It is nothing like Gears of War (Also made by Epic) but has the exact same level of entertainment. Online matches are certainly the best part of UT3. The bots are cool and single player Now this is one heck of a game! Epic just really has a way of making good shooters. Now this game is certainly better than the previous entries in Unreal Tournament and has the most fast paced action. It is nothing like Gears of War (Also made by Epic) but has the exact same level of entertainment. Online matches are certainly the best part of UT3. The bots are cool and single player campaign is okay but the online is what really makes the game. If you have internet and are capable of playing online, you should definately get this game. Expand
  7. UnknownVoter
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Well all i have to say about this game is, Power! This game is absolutly my favourite game now after a week of playing it, and i belive it will stay on the top for me. (I know what a bad or a good game is, i have played all top games for 2007/2008)
  8. MikeD
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    Unreal Tournament 3 Black (Steam's re-release March 2009) brings about integration into Steam and coincides with Epic's release of the Titan Pack and latest patch. I've been a player of this franchise since Unreal came out. This is really the culmination of everything before UT3 and demonstration of this is in the smoothness, well balanced, FUN gameplay. If you like to play Unreal Tournament 3 Black (Steam's re-release March 2009) brings about integration into Steam and coincides with Epic's release of the Titan Pack and latest patch. I've been a player of this franchise since Unreal came out. This is really the culmination of everything before UT3 and demonstration of this is in the smoothness, well balanced, FUN gameplay. If you like to play online FPS shooters, either UT3 or CoD4 is where you want to be. Personally I like the arcade action and rediculous visuals, vehicles, NEW Titan super modes, as well as good solid gameplay modes that make this title stand out as an excellent game that I would recommend highly. Expand
  9. TerencevandeHaar
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    Very nice game, worth double its money!

    The most fast, bloody, scifi, colorful yet realistic first person shooter on the planet! Graphics and audio both never seen bfor in any other game. Im so impressed by the performance of this 3D engine. The maps... the game types. And now with patch v2.0 ad the titan pack... its HUGE! I love the new game types GREED and BETRAYL... its a whole new game!
  10. MichaelMadsen
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    I played Unreal at my first PC like 200 years ago! .. Then there was UT and i became a huge fan playing it on K56modem it was simply great.. I always liked the weapons better in UT then quake.. Now that i found out u almost let the weapons stay oldschool im in heaven! 1900*1200 resolution and this UT Black just rocks me out of my seat. This is the best happend since UT (1) was released.I played Unreal at my first PC like 200 years ago! .. Then there was UT and i became a huge fan playing it on K56modem it was simply great.. I always liked the weapons better in UT then quake.. Now that i found out u almost let the weapons stay oldschool im in heaven! 1900*1200 resolution and this UT Black just rocks me out of my seat. This is the best happend since UT (1) was released.
    Thank u UT.. the Old fart!
    Expand
  11. DominikG
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome, fantastic to play, but only what I have for critic is when are about 40 players for example in Warfare and they shoot in our point about 15 players and all my team it's hard to find out which is who, so if you can handle this problem about put the name on head for team which you play... The rest is awesome !!!
  12. TommyH.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    When it comes down to a good shooter, UT3 is the best. it responds well and feels well. this game is very deathmatch oreinted and if you like deathmatch, this game is probably number 1. Simply this isn't really a tactical shooter, its a fighting match with guns. many games have been slowing down but this game really brings the speed back up. If you really like shooters, you will like When it comes down to a good shooter, UT3 is the best. it responds well and feels well. this game is very deathmatch oreinted and if you like deathmatch, this game is probably number 1. Simply this isn't really a tactical shooter, its a fighting match with guns. many games have been slowing down but this game really brings the speed back up. If you really like shooters, you will like this game. If you play casual and kinda all over, you might not see it. If you play WoW you may think this game sucks. Expand
  13. stranded
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    Basically Unreal Tournament 3 Black is what UT3 should have been in the first place. New game modes, maps and major UI improvement make this game really good. The updated Unreal Engine version also does it's job pretty well, smoother FPS and better eye candy effects. All I can say go and buy this, and if you already did look for it, install it and enjoy it, it's worth it. Oh and Basically Unreal Tournament 3 Black is what UT3 should have been in the first place. New game modes, maps and major UI improvement make this game really good. The updated Unreal Engine version also does it's job pretty well, smoother FPS and better eye candy effects. All I can say go and buy this, and if you already did look for it, install it and enjoy it, it's worth it. Oh and by the way if you're a Steam user you can register your copy with Steam for free and you can unlock 57 cool achievements (without Steam as well!). Expand
  14. DylanH.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    A game that redefines multiplayer FPS. With a new engine, new features and a arsenal of new maps, this game is a must buy.
  15. JeffA.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    I haven't played much of the campaign since it won't save itself offline (no internet), but the instant action is the best UT yet. Great graphics, classic high paced UT action, and there's a hilariously cool new mutator, which slows time briefly when you make a kill, giving you a great view of it, and time to make another plan! Terrible plot and cheesiness in main game has I haven't played much of the campaign since it won't save itself offline (no internet), but the instant action is the best UT yet. Great graphics, classic high paced UT action, and there's a hilariously cool new mutator, which slows time briefly when you make a kill, giving you a great view of it, and time to make another plan! Terrible plot and cheesiness in main game has to be laughed off. Expand
  16. SeanZ.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Wow, this is a beautiful game, along with the Unreal 2004 style instead of the liandri conflict with melee blades, this goes back to the better FPS only style. The big vehicles and maps are back with a bang including the classic toran map (my fav).
  17. BeastrnG.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Epic can do no wrong - sure, there are some forgivable errors and bugs and obviously poor implemented ideas, but the fast and furious game play and the promise of all the user made mods that have always been a staple of the Unreal Franchise. If any game is worth the admission price, it's UTIII.
  18. [Anonymous]
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    I really enjoy this game and I think the graphics upgrade is just what the doctor ordered for this franchise as it's more fun than ever! And don't let some people fool you when they say "Many, Many people are not happy with it." because the rating of 86 says differently.
  19. MarkusM.
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    Well what Medieval Mischief said is total crap, or guys who gave the game 1 star... You obviously didnt play it or your PC cant handle it... First of all its a PC TO CONSOL Port not the other direction. The NPC´s are good and much more intelligent than in games like CSS. Of course the game is supposed to look that bland. And if you didnt like that, download custom maps... This game Well what Medieval Mischief said is total crap, or guys who gave the game 1 star... You obviously didnt play it or your PC cant handle it... First of all its a PC TO CONSOL Port not the other direction. The NPC´s are good and much more intelligent than in games like CSS. Of course the game is supposed to look that bland. And if you didnt like that, download custom maps... This game mainly focuses on online Multiplayer for longtime fun... Of course a 5 year old game runs stable on a 5 year old pc... Which you cant say of Unreal tournament 3.. Oh and the best FPS of all time is Half Life 2... Now to my opinion: This is by far one of the best shooters I ever played (well i care more about graphics than gameplay), only Crysis and Call of Juarez can top that... The vehicles are really fun to drive and the map design is really good. There are a lot of custom maps out there and mutators and mods... Even only play can sometimes be really frustrating its still an awesome game. Expand
  20. Grizzly
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    So far the game seems very promising, with a lot of new ideas inplace. A hoverboard in vCTF is one of these additions, adding new complications and tactics to a already vast game. Having played within the UT2004 competative scene i can definately see the potential for competition within this game when its complete. With the unreals usual habit of semi open-source available, there will no So far the game seems very promising, with a lot of new ideas inplace. A hoverboard in vCTF is one of these additions, adding new complications and tactics to a already vast game. Having played within the UT2004 competative scene i can definately see the potential for competition within this game when its complete. With the unreals usual habit of semi open-source available, there will no doubt be countless Mods made for this game, creating an even larger community than it will no doubt already have from the basic version will have to offer, and if UT99 online gaming is anything to go by then we can expect this game continuously played online for many years to come. Expand
  21. KK
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    Great fast-paced game that still carries the spirit of Quake 3 arena in a time of sophisticated tactical shooters. Fun no brainer death-match for everyone. Would be perfect if they brought over everything from UT2004 and added the new stuff in ... Maybe single player didn't need a story motivation thingy that makes everything awkward if u think about the story. Great game , Great fast-paced game that still carries the spirit of Quake 3 arena in a time of sophisticated tactical shooters. Fun no brainer death-match for everyone. Would be perfect if they brought over everything from UT2004 and added the new stuff in ... Maybe single player didn't need a story motivation thingy that makes everything awkward if u think about the story. Great game , recommended for people looking to mod and people who like to play mods.. and people that like shooting stuff. Expand
  22. Notforyourbroin
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    Pros:
    -Graphics
    -Weapons are balanced perfectly -Warefare mode is AWESOME -Character Customization -Vehicles are great -*Single Player: Improvement over previous Unreal tournaments -Unreal Editor Cons: -*Singleplayer: Some of the story is a but cheesy; does not create a realistic setting(<--Idea of respawners) -Server browser needs help -Login system(specifically the inability
    Pros:
    -Graphics
    -Weapons are balanced perfectly
    -Warefare mode is AWESOME
    -Character Customization
    -Vehicles are great
    -*Single Player: Improvement over previous Unreal tournaments
    -Unreal Editor

    Cons:
    -*Singleplayer: Some of the story is a but cheesy; does not create a realistic setting(<--Idea of respawners)
    -Server browser needs help
    -Login system(specifically the inability to change name without another account)

    Personal Preference
    -Warefare match are a bit small
    -Hellbender secondary turrret needs to be more powerful.

    Conclusion: A great game that every person who seeks a fast pace, intense, and different FPS should get.
    Expand
  23. KellyP.
    Dec 8, 2007
    9
    UT99 fans rejoice! Having said that, ALOT, has happened in FPS since 1999. I like everything thats here, just wish there was some more. I like that I need health packs in UT3. I don't care for the "Get shot, hide a minute, now you're better." approach of Gears, and CoD2-4 I miss the "enemy spotted" system that 2142 does so well, and teamwork points. Team Fortress 2 lacks these UT99 fans rejoice! Having said that, ALOT, has happened in FPS since 1999. I like everything thats here, just wish there was some more. I like that I need health packs in UT3. I don't care for the "Get shot, hide a minute, now you're better." approach of Gears, and CoD2-4 I miss the "enemy spotted" system that 2142 does so well, and teamwork points. Team Fortress 2 lacks these as well though. All in all UT3 is a rich Multiplayer Fragger in the Ut99, some would say Quake 3, vein that does a good job of delivering a good update graphically to that system. Its fun+/- dodge jump and adrenaline.... which i always favored UT99 in the first place so I'm fine with that. In fact I prefer it. Expand
  24. ChrisK
    Mar 18, 2009
    9
    UT3, at first, didn't feel like a good successor to 2k4. After playing it for some time, then going back to 2k4 without having played that for a while, I realized just how much they massively improved the gameplay. Especially in the Onslaught -> Warfare change, which is arguably the best game mode in my opinion anyways. The Hoverboard makes it much more bearable to be dismounted, and UT3, at first, didn't feel like a good successor to 2k4. After playing it for some time, then going back to 2k4 without having played that for a while, I realized just how much they massively improved the gameplay. Especially in the Onslaught -> Warfare change, which is arguably the best game mode in my opinion anyways. The Hoverboard makes it much more bearable to be dismounted, and makes it more viable. Vehicles have much better responsiveness, the Manta and Raptor handle more like fast attack craft than they did in 2k4. The nodebuster orb makes it possible to take a heavily defended node, but more importantly, much more easily defend a vital node that might be linked to two or more enemy nodes while your offense takes those down. Nodes are also much more robust (takes significantly less damage to kill them in 2k4), making one guy with a rocket launcher less able to turn the tide of the /entire fight/. There are a few issues where the graphical upgrades detract from gameplay however. I don't know if anyone else has this issue, but when I have Bloom enabled on a map like Torlan, I cannot see anything in the sky, which makes it impossible to find that f***ing Raptor that's sniping you. Which is a shame, because the Bloom looks so nice otherwise. It's a bad comprimise, additional beauty at the cost of gameplay solidarity. All in all, it's very fast paced, and rarely any time goes by between you and finding some dudes to blast into small meaty chunks -- and the gameplay has been greatly refined from previous titles. Expand
  25. MaltheS
    Jul 25, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome! only 2 mistakes is done (not big) 1. capture the flag matches never end, becuase you can return you flag just by touching it :S But since warfer and deathmatch is the coolest game modes it doesent matter much. 2. in campaign you helpers keep talking all the time. They never have breaks and they are saying un relevant or even untruth things. But else this game is so awesome!
  26. BrendanB.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    While the user interface and the bot-play may not be up to the same standard as previous incarnations, only a fool would deny the core gameplay is UT at its best. With a little something for everyone - from fast and furious DM play, to the more vehicular-based Warfare - it's a must-have shooter for any fan of the series, and any FPS fan looking for a little more action for his buck.
  27. MatthewW.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    I think the game is fantastic! and to the guy who said UT2004 floped, you my friend are a moron... UT2004 was one of the best frag fests of all time, a perfect blend that I still play to this day, and I never have trouble finding servers, there's tons of them in fact. UT is one of the greatest game series of all time, show some respect.
  28. MyronZ
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    Ridiculous graphics. For those that think it's copying gears of war, guess what? Gears of war uses the UNREAL 3 GRAPHICS ENGINE. I have the demo version and from what i've seen, its pretty awesome. I love the hoverboard, i used to hate running around on big maps for like half a minute just to get to a flag or a power node on UT2004, problem solved! Annoying weapons such as Ridiculous graphics. For those that think it's copying gears of war, guess what? Gears of war uses the UNREAL 3 GRAPHICS ENGINE. I have the demo version and from what i've seen, its pretty awesome. I love the hoverboard, i used to hate running around on big maps for like half a minute just to get to a flag or a power node on UT2004, problem solved! Annoying weapons such as spidermines and grenade launcher have been taken out, thank god. This game is definitely worth a look into (if you have a high end computer). It's a lot like the first UT, but with weapons and better visuals. No major complaints on my part! Expand
  29. AndrewM
    Mar 19, 2009
    9
    Okay, I was among the legions of fans that were incredibly disappointing with this game when it was first released. It was, to be honest, a same-old, console oriented, flashy pile of crap. I would have still played it, however, if the community didn't (understandably) die quickly. In a matter of weeks it was uninstalled, and I was back to ut2004, presuming this game dead and gone Okay, I was among the legions of fans that were incredibly disappointing with this game when it was first released. It was, to be honest, a same-old, console oriented, flashy pile of crap. I would have still played it, however, if the community didn't (understandably) die quickly. In a matter of weeks it was uninstalled, and I was back to ut2004, presuming this game dead and gone forever. For all of you who were like me, I'd recommend reinstalling the game again. With the release of 2.0 and the Titan pack, Unreal Tournament 3 Black is now what Unreal Tournament should have been out of the box, and, thanks to Steam picking it up and advertising the hell out of it (and selling it for cheap), it's got new life in its lungs and a fresh, energized community behind it. The game is still not perfect and will probably never replace the high flying thrill ride ut2004 once was for me. I'd still recommend any First-Person-Shooter fanatic (even ones that were once hurt by this game) to give it (another) chance.You very well may find it growing on you. An excellent recovery in my book, as of so far. Expand
  30. drexallk
    Mar 26, 2009
    9
    Solid server backing, good mix of old ( deck, my fav ) and new maps, mod tool, takes advantage of PhysX, Id say ive logged a solid 2 hours a day for a week and its still fun... I do not like the classic "console", looks like an S400 nightmare, they could have cleaned up that or solidified controls/windows into a better GUI interface.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. The game's A-ticket attractions are the massive, ornate battlegrounds where opponents compete in objective-based clashes. Gorgeous alien landscapes play host to massive turf battles between factions vying for power nodes. These mêlées come stocked with a mind-boggling variety of weapons and vehicles, greatly reducing the rinse, lather, repeat burnout that comes in online shooters with less to do and smaller places to do it.
  2. Drop into servers, start killing people, it's so natural to habitual gamers these days that it's hard to quantify how familiar and welcome these experiences are. With the sheer range of death-mongering that UT3 provides, it's hard not to get into the spirit of things. So yeah, Unreal Tournament pretty much remains The Daddy: consistent, meaty, and just weird enough to survive.
  3. The game excels at everything from simple deathmatching to complex objective-driven campaigns. [Dec 2007, p.154]