Unreal Tournament III PC

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 530 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 530
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mr.Cool
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    Now this is one heck of a game! Epic just really has a way of making good shooters. Now this game is certainly better than the previous entries in Unreal Tournament and has the most fast paced action. It is nothing like Gears of War (Also made by Epic) but has the exact same level of entertainment. Online matches are certainly the best part of UT3. The bots are cool and single player Now this is one heck of a game! Epic just really has a way of making good shooters. Now this game is certainly better than the previous entries in Unreal Tournament and has the most fast paced action. It is nothing like Gears of War (Also made by Epic) but has the exact same level of entertainment. Online matches are certainly the best part of UT3. The bots are cool and single player campaign is okay but the online is what really makes the game. If you have internet and are capable of playing online, you should definately get this game. Expand
  2. Jahote
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Well im not a Unreal Tournament fan or somthing but i have played Crysis,Bioshock,Cod4-5,Left4Dead,CSS,CS1.6,HL,HL2,GearsOfWar2,TF2,Trackmania,Wow,GW,GuitarHero,Mario Galaxies,Halo3,Dod, and many,MANY! other games and this game just kick thems asses! This game got almost same incredible graphic as Crysis, Much better zombie mod then Left4Dead, much better maps then any of these games so iWell im not a Unreal Tournament fan or somthing but i have played Crysis,Bioshock,Cod4-5,Left4Dead,CSS,CS1.6,HL,HL2,GearsOfWar2,TF2,Trackmania,Wow,GW,GuitarHero,Mario Galaxies,Halo3,Dod, and many,MANY! other games and this game just kick thems asses! This game got almost same incredible graphic as Crysis, Much better zombie mod then Left4Dead, much better maps then any of these games so i give it a 10 becuse this is the best game 2007-2008 and maybe 2009. Expand
  3. UnknownVoter
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Well all i have to say about this game is, Power! This game is absolutly my favourite game now after a week of playing it, and i belive it will stay on the top for me. (I know what a bad or a good game is, i have played all top games for 2007/2008)
  4. MikeD
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    Unreal Tournament 3 Black (Steam's re-release March 2009) brings about integration into Steam and coincides with Epic's release of the Titan Pack and latest patch. I've been a player of this franchise since Unreal came out. This is really the culmination of everything before UT3 and demonstration of this is in the smoothness, well balanced, FUN gameplay. If you like to play Unreal Tournament 3 Black (Steam's re-release March 2009) brings about integration into Steam and coincides with Epic's release of the Titan Pack and latest patch. I've been a player of this franchise since Unreal came out. This is really the culmination of everything before UT3 and demonstration of this is in the smoothness, well balanced, FUN gameplay. If you like to play online FPS shooters, either UT3 or CoD4 is where you want to be. Personally I like the arcade action and rediculous visuals, vehicles, NEW Titan super modes, as well as good solid gameplay modes that make this title stand out as an excellent game that I would recommend highly. Expand
  5. TerencevandeHaar
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    Very nice game, worth double its money!

    The most fast, bloody, scifi, colorful yet realistic first person shooter on the planet! Graphics and audio both never seen bfor in any other game. Im so impressed by the performance of this 3D engine. The maps... the game types. And now with patch v2.0 ad the titan pack... its HUGE! I love the new game types GREED and BETRAYL... its a whole new game!
  6. MichaelMadsen
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    I played Unreal at my first PC like 200 years ago! .. Then there was UT and i became a huge fan playing it on K56modem it was simply great.. I always liked the weapons better in UT then quake.. Now that i found out u almost let the weapons stay oldschool im in heaven! 1900*1200 resolution and this UT Black just rocks me out of my seat. This is the best happend since UT (1) was released.I played Unreal at my first PC like 200 years ago! .. Then there was UT and i became a huge fan playing it on K56modem it was simply great.. I always liked the weapons better in UT then quake.. Now that i found out u almost let the weapons stay oldschool im in heaven! 1900*1200 resolution and this UT Black just rocks me out of my seat. This is the best happend since UT (1) was released.
    Thank u UT.. the Old fart!
    Expand
  7. SamerA
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Amazing game, heats me up ;), with the warfare mode, teams can show how consistent they are, and how members can support each other. I love this type!
  8. TommyH.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    When it comes down to a good shooter, UT3 is the best. it responds well and feels well. this game is very deathmatch oreinted and if you like deathmatch, this game is probably number 1. Simply this isn't really a tactical shooter, its a fighting match with guns. many games have been slowing down but this game really brings the speed back up. If you really like shooters, you will like When it comes down to a good shooter, UT3 is the best. it responds well and feels well. this game is very deathmatch oreinted and if you like deathmatch, this game is probably number 1. Simply this isn't really a tactical shooter, its a fighting match with guns. many games have been slowing down but this game really brings the speed back up. If you really like shooters, you will like this game. If you play casual and kinda all over, you might not see it. If you play WoW you may think this game sucks. Expand
  9. ArkadyS.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    Super balanced game. The best online game on this moment.
  10. TrevorT
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    Why would you not rate this game a 10? The only downside is that you need a real gaming computer which I have. Don't complain about lock ups and freezing because its probably your computer. So far no lock ups or freezes.
  11. stranded
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    Basically Unreal Tournament 3 Black is what UT3 should have been in the first place. New game modes, maps and major UI improvement make this game really good. The updated Unreal Engine version also does it's job pretty well, smoother FPS and better eye candy effects. All I can say go and buy this, and if you already did look for it, install it and enjoy it, it's worth it. Oh and Basically Unreal Tournament 3 Black is what UT3 should have been in the first place. New game modes, maps and major UI improvement make this game really good. The updated Unreal Engine version also does it's job pretty well, smoother FPS and better eye candy effects. All I can say go and buy this, and if you already did look for it, install it and enjoy it, it's worth it. Oh and by the way if you're a Steam user you can register your copy with Steam for free and you can unlock 57 cool achievements (without Steam as well!). Expand
  12. LuukT
    Sep 28, 2009
    10
    Its an awesome game. Full of action, speed, great weapons and AWESOME graphics. The game is for me way better then UT 2004. Though some may not agree that the game has made progress since the last one I think it did. There are loads of different maps and modes to enjoy togheter with mindblowing vehicles. Even playing against bots (NPC's) is extremely fun. the game is full of HQ Its an awesome game. Full of action, speed, great weapons and AWESOME graphics. The game is for me way better then UT 2004. Though some may not agree that the game has made progress since the last one I think it did. There are loads of different maps and modes to enjoy togheter with mindblowing vehicles. Even playing against bots (NPC's) is extremely fun. the game is full of HQ action packed with gore, blood, and voilence. What else can you wish for? And the best thing of the game? 1 word: H-O-V-E-R-B-O-A-R-D. Expand
  13. DylanH.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    A game that redefines multiplayer FPS. With a new engine, new features and a arsenal of new maps, this game is a must buy.
  14. JeffA.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    I haven't played much of the campaign since it won't save itself offline (no internet), but the instant action is the best UT yet. Great graphics, classic high paced UT action, and there's a hilariously cool new mutator, which slows time briefly when you make a kill, giving you a great view of it, and time to make another plan! Terrible plot and cheesiness in main game has I haven't played much of the campaign since it won't save itself offline (no internet), but the instant action is the best UT yet. Great graphics, classic high paced UT action, and there's a hilariously cool new mutator, which slows time briefly when you make a kill, giving you a great view of it, and time to make another plan! Terrible plot and cheesiness in main game has to be laughed off. Expand
  15. SeanZ.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Wow, this is a beautiful game, along with the Unreal 2004 style instead of the liandri conflict with melee blades, this goes back to the better FPS only style. The big vehicles and maps are back with a bang including the classic toran map (my fav).
  16. JustinB
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    This is an exceptional game. Reminds me of quake 3. The co-op play is the best i have ever played. So much fun.
  17. Random54
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    Now that Patch 2.0 is out this is the best Competitive FPS game currently on the market. It has decent game modes for beginners but still has great competitive play for hard core gamers. If you like ut99, quake 3 or quake live then check out UT3 :)
  18. BeastrnG.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Epic can do no wrong - sure, there are some forgivable errors and bugs and obviously poor implemented ideas, but the fast and furious game play and the promise of all the user made mods that have always been a staple of the Unreal Franchise. If any game is worth the admission price, it's UTIII.
  19. [Anonymous]
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    I really enjoy this game and I think the graphics upgrade is just what the doctor ordered for this franchise as it's more fun than ever! And don't let some people fool you when they say "Many, Many people are not happy with it." because the rating of 86 says differently.
  20. BESTGAMEEVER!!!
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    I have never played a game that is better than this one. The visuals are amazing and the gameplay is smooth. I was an avid UT2k4 player until the day this came out and am in no way disappointed by this game. It has met every expectation to the absolute fullest. For anyone who has trouble with the menu...WTF?!? Who gives a crap...you can change your settings, it is simple, and then you are I have never played a game that is better than this one. The visuals are amazing and the gameplay is smooth. I was an avid UT2k4 player until the day this came out and am in no way disappointed by this game. It has met every expectation to the absolute fullest. For anyone who has trouble with the menu...WTF?!? Who gives a crap...you can change your settings, it is simple, and then you are in the game. I dont play SP very often, but atleast their was some effort put towards it unlike previous UT's. This game is superior to every other game out there in every single aspect, do not let anyone else tell you otherwise!!! Expand
  21. Notforyourbroin
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Fast paced, high quality action the UT franchise hasnt seen the likes of since UT1! Definitely an A++ FPS.
  22. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game deserves more than some points, epic lads they raised the game to the highest level and I thank them for it .... enjoying this game together with friends .... nice game
  23. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    Its the best game I've ever played in my lifetime. 1000s of hours gameplay, and it never get boring. Its incredible much better than UT2004, UT2003 and UT99. Very nice graphic, hundrets of hidden tricks and specials, idiotic dodge-jump removed, warfare game mode introduced with orb. Seriously: Its the best game you can get for your bucks.
  24. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    The best multiplayer shooter I've ever played. Its the culminatation of the Unreal series. I could write a lot of words here, but let me just say one thing: You will love it! And dont forget: There is a free Addon "black edition" with the Titan-pack and new maps and 2 new game modes, all for free. This makes the game really special.
  25. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    For me, this is my 10/10 for gaming, I originally bought this for Xbox360 and played it religiously for months, the Vehicles are so unique and so interesting to play with as well as all the characters and the weapons, the campaign is a little ropey and repetitive but in honesty this game was designed primarily for its multiplayer, and nothing else, and i love it, i would recommend thisFor me, this is my 10/10 for gaming, I originally bought this for Xbox360 and played it religiously for months, the Vehicles are so unique and so interesting to play with as well as all the characters and the weapons, the campaign is a little ropey and repetitive but in honesty this game was designed primarily for its multiplayer, and nothing else, and i love it, i would recommend this shooter to anyone and cannot honestly give this game a bad word Expand
  26. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    What a great game !
    Actually and good grafk !
    Awesome Multiplayer.
    this Game is an must have on every LAN Party

    The only bad point are the patches. Its a littlebit confusing.

    BUT !

    You Can activate UnrealTournamen 3 via Steam And you get the Black Edition No patching needed
  27. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    Unreal Tournament III is the best part of series. A plot was never strong part of the game, but it isn't the most important thing. Thanks to the induction new graphic engine named Unreal Engine 3, the game looks unbelievably. Sounds and sounds effects are similar to prequel, but they have become legendary. Now, they are borrowing in other games. Weapons have larger damages, so thanks toUnreal Tournament III is the best part of series. A plot was never strong part of the game, but it isn't the most important thing. Thanks to the induction new graphic engine named Unreal Engine 3, the game looks unbelievably. Sounds and sounds effects are similar to prequel, but they have become legendary. Now, they are borrowing in other games. Weapons have larger damages, so thanks to this, in both singleplayer and multiplayer are furiously fast gameplay. Artificial Intelligence is excellent. I extremely recommend this epic game!! Expand
  28. TimE.
    Jan 17, 2008
    9
    It is a really funny game, ok, the Singleplayer is crap, but who cares?! Usually you play it online, the bots are ok, but play it versus humans is real fun. I don't understand why it's selling soo bad!
  29. DominikG
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome, fantastic to play, but only what I have for critic is when are about 40 players for example in Warfare and they shoot in our point about 15 players and all my team it's hard to find out which is who, so if you can handle this problem about put the name on head for team which you play... The rest is awesome !!!
  30. MarkusM.
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    Well what Medieval Mischief said is total crap, or guys who gave the game 1 star... You obviously didnt play it or your PC cant handle it... First of all its a PC TO CONSOL Port not the other direction. The NPC´s are good and much more intelligent than in games like CSS. Of course the game is supposed to look that bland. And if you didnt like that, download custom maps... This game Well what Medieval Mischief said is total crap, or guys who gave the game 1 star... You obviously didnt play it or your PC cant handle it... First of all its a PC TO CONSOL Port not the other direction. The NPC´s are good and much more intelligent than in games like CSS. Of course the game is supposed to look that bland. And if you didnt like that, download custom maps... This game mainly focuses on online Multiplayer for longtime fun... Of course a 5 year old game runs stable on a 5 year old pc... Which you cant say of Unreal tournament 3.. Oh and the best FPS of all time is Half Life 2... Now to my opinion: This is by far one of the best shooters I ever played (well i care more about graphics than gameplay), only Crysis and Call of Juarez can top that... The vehicles are really fun to drive and the map design is really good. There are a lot of custom maps out there and mutators and mods... Even only play can sometimes be really frustrating its still an awesome game. Expand
  31. JacKA
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    Awesome engine, speed, and gameplay from an awesome developer. This game is awesome.
  32. Grizzly
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    So far the game seems very promising, with a lot of new ideas inplace. A hoverboard in vCTF is one of these additions, adding new complications and tactics to a already vast game. Having played within the UT2004 competative scene i can definately see the potential for competition within this game when its complete. With the unreals usual habit of semi open-source available, there will no So far the game seems very promising, with a lot of new ideas inplace. A hoverboard in vCTF is one of these additions, adding new complications and tactics to a already vast game. Having played within the UT2004 competative scene i can definately see the potential for competition within this game when its complete. With the unreals usual habit of semi open-source available, there will no doubt be countless Mods made for this game, creating an even larger community than it will no doubt already have from the basic version will have to offer, and if UT99 online gaming is anything to go by then we can expect this game continuously played online for many years to come. Expand
  33. Notforyourbroin
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    Pros:
    -Graphics
    -Weapons are balanced perfectly -Warefare mode is AWESOME -Character Customization -Vehicles are great -*Single Player: Improvement over previous Unreal tournaments -Unreal Editor Cons: -*Singleplayer: Some of the story is a but cheesy; does not create a realistic setting(<--Idea of respawners) -Server browser needs help -Login system(specifically the inability
    Pros:
    -Graphics
    -Weapons are balanced perfectly
    -Warefare mode is AWESOME
    -Character Customization
    -Vehicles are great
    -*Single Player: Improvement over previous Unreal tournaments
    -Unreal Editor

    Cons:
    -*Singleplayer: Some of the story is a but cheesy; does not create a realistic setting(<--Idea of respawners)
    -Server browser needs help
    -Login system(specifically the inability to change name without another account)

    Personal Preference
    -Warefare match are a bit small
    -Hellbender secondary turrret needs to be more powerful.

    Conclusion: A great game that every person who seeks a fast pace, intense, and different FPS should get.
    Expand
  34. KK
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    Great fast-paced game that still carries the spirit of Quake 3 arena in a time of sophisticated tactical shooters. Fun no brainer death-match for everyone. Would be perfect if they brought over everything from UT2004 and added the new stuff in ... Maybe single player didn't need a story motivation thingy that makes everything awkward if u think about the story. Great game , Great fast-paced game that still carries the spirit of Quake 3 arena in a time of sophisticated tactical shooters. Fun no brainer death-match for everyone. Would be perfect if they brought over everything from UT2004 and added the new stuff in ... Maybe single player didn't need a story motivation thingy that makes everything awkward if u think about the story. Great game , recommended for people looking to mod and people who like to play mods.. and people that like shooting stuff. Expand
  35. KellyP.
    Dec 8, 2007
    9
    UT99 fans rejoice! Having said that, ALOT, has happened in FPS since 1999. I like everything thats here, just wish there was some more. I like that I need health packs in UT3. I don't care for the "Get shot, hide a minute, now you're better." approach of Gears, and CoD2-4 I miss the "enemy spotted" system that 2142 does so well, and teamwork points. Team Fortress 2 lacks these UT99 fans rejoice! Having said that, ALOT, has happened in FPS since 1999. I like everything thats here, just wish there was some more. I like that I need health packs in UT3. I don't care for the "Get shot, hide a minute, now you're better." approach of Gears, and CoD2-4 I miss the "enemy spotted" system that 2142 does so well, and teamwork points. Team Fortress 2 lacks these as well though. All in all UT3 is a rich Multiplayer Fragger in the Ut99, some would say Quake 3, vein that does a good job of delivering a good update graphically to that system. Its fun+/- dodge jump and adrenaline.... which i always favored UT99 in the first place so I'm fine with that. In fact I prefer it. Expand
  36. ChrisK
    Mar 18, 2009
    9
    UT3, at first, didn't feel like a good successor to 2k4. After playing it for some time, then going back to 2k4 without having played that for a while, I realized just how much they massively improved the gameplay. Especially in the Onslaught -> Warfare change, which is arguably the best game mode in my opinion anyways. The Hoverboard makes it much more bearable to be dismounted, and UT3, at first, didn't feel like a good successor to 2k4. After playing it for some time, then going back to 2k4 without having played that for a while, I realized just how much they massively improved the gameplay. Especially in the Onslaught -> Warfare change, which is arguably the best game mode in my opinion anyways. The Hoverboard makes it much more bearable to be dismounted, and makes it more viable. Vehicles have much better responsiveness, the Manta and Raptor handle more like fast attack craft than they did in 2k4. The nodebuster orb makes it possible to take a heavily defended node, but more importantly, much more easily defend a vital node that might be linked to two or more enemy nodes while your offense takes those down. Nodes are also much more robust (takes significantly less damage to kill them in 2k4), making one guy with a rocket launcher less able to turn the tide of the /entire fight/. There are a few issues where the graphical upgrades detract from gameplay however. I don't know if anyone else has this issue, but when I have Bloom enabled on a map like Torlan, I cannot see anything in the sky, which makes it impossible to find that f***ing Raptor that's sniping you. Which is a shame, because the Bloom looks so nice otherwise. It's a bad comprimise, additional beauty at the cost of gameplay solidarity. All in all, it's very fast paced, and rarely any time goes by between you and finding some dudes to blast into small meaty chunks -- and the gameplay has been greatly refined from previous titles. Expand
  37. MaltheS
    Jul 25, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome! only 2 mistakes is done (not big) 1. capture the flag matches never end, becuase you can return you flag just by touching it :S But since warfer and deathmatch is the coolest game modes it doesent matter much. 2. in campaign you helpers keep talking all the time. They never have breaks and they are saying un relevant or even untruth things. But else this game is so awesome!
  38. BrendanB.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    While the user interface and the bot-play may not be up to the same standard as previous incarnations, only a fool would deny the core gameplay is UT at its best. With a little something for everyone - from fast and furious DM play, to the more vehicular-based Warfare - it's a must-have shooter for any fan of the series, and any FPS fan looking for a little more action for his buck.
  39. MatthewW.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    I think the game is fantastic! and to the guy who said UT2004 floped, you my friend are a moron... UT2004 was one of the best frag fests of all time, a perfect blend that I still play to this day, and I never have trouble finding servers, there's tons of them in fact. UT is one of the greatest game series of all time, show some respect.
  40. MyronZ
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    Ridiculous graphics. For those that think it's copying gears of war, guess what? Gears of war uses the UNREAL 3 GRAPHICS ENGINE. I have the demo version and from what i've seen, its pretty awesome. I love the hoverboard, i used to hate running around on big maps for like half a minute just to get to a flag or a power node on UT2004, problem solved! Annoying weapons such as Ridiculous graphics. For those that think it's copying gears of war, guess what? Gears of war uses the UNREAL 3 GRAPHICS ENGINE. I have the demo version and from what i've seen, its pretty awesome. I love the hoverboard, i used to hate running around on big maps for like half a minute just to get to a flag or a power node on UT2004, problem solved! Annoying weapons such as spidermines and grenade launcher have been taken out, thank god. This game is definitely worth a look into (if you have a high end computer). It's a lot like the first UT, but with weapons and better visuals. No major complaints on my part! Expand
  41. Michael
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    Once you tune the settings for your PC, this game is pretty sweet. I love the campaign mode. This game is great graphics with lots of action. I found that if I run the game as administrator on Vista, I don't have the system shutdowns that sometimes happen.
  42. AriG
    Dec 7, 2009
    9
    Very fun game. It's fast action, and takes a bit to learn the strategy of it, but isn't that the fun?! Really go just pack it in boom start it up action.
  43. AndrewM
    Mar 19, 2009
    9
    Okay, I was among the legions of fans that were incredibly disappointing with this game when it was first released. It was, to be honest, a same-old, console oriented, flashy pile of crap. I would have still played it, however, if the community didn't (understandably) die quickly. In a matter of weeks it was uninstalled, and I was back to ut2004, presuming this game dead and gone Okay, I was among the legions of fans that were incredibly disappointing with this game when it was first released. It was, to be honest, a same-old, console oriented, flashy pile of crap. I would have still played it, however, if the community didn't (understandably) die quickly. In a matter of weeks it was uninstalled, and I was back to ut2004, presuming this game dead and gone forever. For all of you who were like me, I'd recommend reinstalling the game again. With the release of 2.0 and the Titan pack, Unreal Tournament 3 Black is now what Unreal Tournament should have been out of the box, and, thanks to Steam picking it up and advertising the hell out of it (and selling it for cheap), it's got new life in its lungs and a fresh, energized community behind it. The game is still not perfect and will probably never replace the high flying thrill ride ut2004 once was for me. I'd still recommend any First-Person-Shooter fanatic (even ones that were once hurt by this game) to give it (another) chance.You very well may find it growing on you. An excellent recovery in my book, as of so far. Expand
  44. drexallk
    Mar 26, 2009
    9
    Solid server backing, good mix of old ( deck, my fav ) and new maps, mod tool, takes advantage of PhysX, Id say ive logged a solid 2 hours a day for a week and its still fun... I do not like the classic "console", looks like an S400 nightmare, they could have cleaned up that or solidified controls/windows into a better GUI interface.
  45. JohnC
    Sep 18, 2009
    9
    Their is nothing more that I can say that has already been said about the downsides to this game. But what the over-expecting zealots we have, the stunning quality, the reliable game play, and all the glorious fragging we all have come too love, all become bogged under with the same complaints we have seen over and over again. UT was already great in game play, and had little too be Their is nothing more that I can say that has already been said about the downsides to this game. But what the over-expecting zealots we have, the stunning quality, the reliable game play, and all the glorious fragging we all have come too love, all become bogged under with the same complaints we have seen over and over again. UT was already great in game play, and had little too be added. So with that all that's left for the engine is what now? Graphic improvements. So with that they improved them, and continued too do so. They added more little things also. Vehicles, the bored, and minor tweaks that make the game play run smoother. Although it does seem that the game runs slower on lower end computers, it is still playable by far and will still give an enjoyable experience. Although some hard-core fans of the game may be turned off by the lack of new content/game-play, most of them will come back, bringing new comers to the fray, thus extending the life time of UT even more so. Expand
  46. Riggs
    Nov 29, 2007
    9
    I'm liking it, its not a massive departure from what is already a good formula. The game engine works really nicely, there's not loads of tweaking to be done, just select your resolution and it just sorts itself out. I like the fast pace of this game, its fun, can still be tactical if u want it to be. I love the music score, I crank the music up in this game, its part of the I'm liking it, its not a massive departure from what is already a good formula. The game engine works really nicely, there's not loads of tweaking to be done, just select your resolution and it just sorts itself out. I like the fast pace of this game, its fun, can still be tactical if u want it to be. I love the music score, I crank the music up in this game, its part of the 'full on' experience. I've been playing COD4, Crysis and this, all good games, I tend to laugh most and get fired up playing UT 2007. I like the fact they've done new maps, I do miss facing worlds, however its good to get the old UT die hards out of their comfort zone. Should be some good mods out for it too, and once installed you don't need the disk, what a brilliant idea, they did it with 2004 as well, why don't other people do this? This game gets a thumbs up from me, Would be a 10 id it was a little more original, but hey I'm loving playing it. Expand
  47. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    Fun as hell. Extremely fast paced and becomes increasingly difficult. Have yet to try out the campaign, but simple bot matches give a consistent pulse of unpredictability and momentum.
  48. Dec 28, 2010
    9
    Okay, first off, i do not think that you should compare this game to UT2004. I have played UT 2004 for a long while, but i feel like Unreal Tournament 3 is different. Yes, They did remove gamemodes and weapons, however, it started to specialize in it's gamemodes. Just look at the wide arrange of warfare maps. They all work and play differently, surprising you every time when you first playOkay, first off, i do not think that you should compare this game to UT2004. I have played UT 2004 for a long while, but i feel like Unreal Tournament 3 is different. Yes, They did remove gamemodes and weapons, however, it started to specialize in it's gamemodes. Just look at the wide arrange of warfare maps. They all work and play differently, surprising you every time when you first play it in campaign mode. The game got I hoverboard now; I didn't like it the first time I heard about it, but now I actually play the game, I really liked it. Compared to UT2004, i guess i can say that there isn't walking huge distances without vehicles anymore, which keeps the game very swift and quick. I was amazed how different the maps are from each other even though they are in the same game mode. Every map needs a total new strategy. This makes it a very original and good game. Expand
  49. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    I played UT99/2004 to death, then took a few years break from the series. I've started playing UT3 only recently, some 4 years after the game was released and I'd be lying if I say I don't have a blast with it. This is just the UT I've wanted, UT2004 gameplay/vehicle in UT99 speed (UT2004 is slightly faster paced than UT99); with all upgraded graphic glory and such. Granted that it looksI played UT99/2004 to death, then took a few years break from the series. I've started playing UT3 only recently, some 4 years after the game was released and I'd be lying if I say I don't have a blast with it. This is just the UT I've wanted, UT2004 gameplay/vehicle in UT99 speed (UT2004 is slightly faster paced than UT99); with all upgraded graphic glory and such. Granted that it looks quite dated in 2011, but still a huge improvement compared to UT2004. It runs fantastically on modern hardware (I'm using HD5770 + Phenom II x4 3.4ghz - a mid-range machine at best today), maxed out at 60fps all the time, with all settings cranked to highest. Shame that it doesn't support AA thou.

    Gone is the vibrant, colorful graphics of UT99/2004. UT3 is dark and gory, it looks a bit too similar to Gears of War, but frankly I don't have problem with that. It'd be a lot more boring if it looks too UT2004. My only complain with the game is its bot AI. For some reasons, the AI is noticeably worse than UT99/2004. They get stuck frequently; they are silly, sometimes downright clueless in vehicular combat. Vehicular bot AI in UT2004 isn't stellar, but UT3's is worse.
    Expand
  50. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (2/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (2/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (1/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (2/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  51. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    Unreal Tournament III. Before I begin my review of this game, I'd just like to say that I will be critiquing this game based on its presentation rather than its story. This is because the story missions are basically the same as the multiplayer missions, and the story is also terrible, so if you're getting this game for the story, don't bother. Because Unreal Tournament 4 is inUnreal Tournament III. Before I begin my review of this game, I'd just like to say that I will be critiquing this game based on its presentation rather than its story. This is because the story missions are basically the same as the multiplayer missions, and the story is also terrible, so if you're getting this game for the story, don't bother. Because Unreal Tournament 4 is in development, and I've played every game in the series, I decided to review the latest one for you based on multiplayer only, because as I said, the story missions are literally the exact same levels you could already find in multiplayer. The story is just there to add immersion, and don't worry, you can still play this game with bots. So anyway, is the multiplayer of this game the thrilling and fun experience you would expect from this series, or should you keep playing UT2004 instead? Let's find out. The gameplay of this game is insanely fun! After all, it is a multiplayer shooter with several game modes. It has all three of the game modes that you have come to expect from shooters. It has deathmatch (just keep killing everyone, and in the end, the person with the highest score wins), team deathmatch (the same thing, but with teams fighting for points instead of a free-for-all), and capture the flag (capture the enemy flag while defending your own). While these modes have appeared in several other shooters before, including the previous games in the series, that doesn't stop them from still being insanely fun to play. Plus, it has no kill streak rewards like Call of Duty, it is just classic versions of all of these modes, and I'm happy with that. This game also has original modes. There is warfare, in which two teams must compete for control points. Once a team has enough points, they can attack the enemy prime node. The team that manages to destroy the other team's node first wins. There is also betrayal, which is basically deathmatch but with a twist: you have rifles that can kill anything in just one hit. You also have to temporarily work with a partner that you can betray at any time in order to get bonus points. The player with the most points in the end wins. Finally, there is greed, which is basically a mode where you have to get kills, and collect the skulls the kills drop for capture at the enemy base for points. Just the first three modes alone would probably have been enough to make this game fun, but with these other modes, the game becomes even better. The game is also very fast-paced, making it even more fun to play. It plays a lot like any other old shooter game from the 90s like Doom or Quake, but considering that there aren't many of those shooters out there these days, that's actually a very good thing. Overall, the gameplay of this game is about is fun as a video game can get. As for the graphics, while they aren't the best graphics I've ever seen in a video game, I will still say that they are fantastic. This game manages to use the Unreal Engine to its full potential in the graphics department. The game's environments all look very beautiful, and the character models also look stunning. As a matter of fact, I once thought that I would never play an Unreal Engine game that looked better than this, but then I played Mass Effect 2, which also managed to astound me in every possible way it could with how amazing the game was. There are also games on the CryEngine that look better, but I will admit, Unreal's graphics are pushed to the limit with this game. Overall, the graphics are also quite good in this game. As for the presentation, it is also great, but not quite as good as the gameplay and graphics. There are a few problems with the settings, such as making it impossible to get rid of certain bot types once you add them, but otherwise it is still great. The menus work properly, and the game even allows you to create your own character, that you cannot see until after a match ends, or your friends see it. Still though, it is nice that they have this feature. Overall, this presentation is great, but not as amazing as it could be. Overall, all I can say is this: don't buy this game if you are looking for a good story! Buy it for everything but the story! The story of this game is crap, but everything else is amazing! I can easily recommend this game to anyone who wants to play a good multiplayer shooter, wants a throwback to the 90s with a modern twist, or just wants to play an insanely fun game. Just not for people who love stories in games.
    Gameplay: 10/10
    Graphics: 9/10
    Presentation: 8/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  52. JonJ.
    Feb 4, 2008
    8
    UT3 is an ambitious old-school multiplayer first person shooter and I commend Epic for it. They've succeeded on many fronts. It has fantastic graphics and environments and very nicely thought out levels. The vehicles are surprisingly innovative and very functional while also not totally overpowering those on foot. Each vehicle seems to have one or more special and innovative UT3 is an ambitious old-school multiplayer first person shooter and I commend Epic for it. They've succeeded on many fronts. It has fantastic graphics and environments and very nicely thought out levels. The vehicles are surprisingly innovative and very functional while also not totally overpowering those on foot. Each vehicle seems to have one or more special and innovative functions. Vehicle CTF is great fun. Warfare is quite nice. The environmental sounds a very nice, but the weapon and player movement sounds are just OK. The voice taunts I find awful and childish and I turn them off with the volume slider. The game plays reasonably smoothly on a good server, with minimal to no jerky movement of other players as they move around the map. One condition I put on that is something that is intentionally put into the game that I don't like - the bunny hopping frenzy. I've never seen a FPS game with such extreme bunny hopping. It makes hitting your opponent very difficult and makes the game feel very frantic at times. This isn't the kind of multiplayer FPS that is very relaxing because of the frantic and constant bunny hopping. Yes also the user interface (fixed in patch soon, so we hear) is very clunky and unfriendly. Also what makes UT3 great are the modding tools available and the fantastic tutorials included in the collectors edition. Has there ever been a closed-source FPS game that supports modding more than UT3? To my knowledge, no. I think UT3 got a bad rap from PC gamer fans and thats unfortunate because there's a really great game in there. Its not perfect either, of course. Oh, the team CTF mode is a nice addition however I don't like the translocator. You shoot at your opponent and they disappear. It's a cheezing or outright cheating feature that is put in there for everyone to use. A good translocator user is almost impossible to hit from my limited UT3 CTF gameplay. Give me a Quake1 grapple over that awful translocator please! Overall I find UT3 quite arcadish in feel, but it does not make me laugh hard like Quake1 did (my favorite old-school fps). I skipped UT2004 because the vehicles moved and felt very fake compared to BF1942 but UT3's vehicles feel much better. There are so many good FPS games out now that I find it hard to say UT3 blows away the competition. It doesn't. It is however a very good game and surprisingly innovative and different (old school improved and reinvented). Expand
  53. CliftonG.
    Oct 2, 2009
    8
    "If it ain't broke, don't fix it," goes the common saying, and nothing is broken with Unreal Tournament 3. Naysayers, move aside - UT3 is an absolutely gorgeous representation of its earlier kin. Somehow, the graphics, details, and tweaks make this game seem somehow fresh even after all these years. Do not misunderstand me, however - this is pretty much UT2004 wrapped in a "If it ain't broke, don't fix it," goes the common saying, and nothing is broken with Unreal Tournament 3. Naysayers, move aside - UT3 is an absolutely gorgeous representation of its earlier kin. Somehow, the graphics, details, and tweaks make this game seem somehow fresh even after all these years. Do not misunderstand me, however - this is pretty much UT2004 wrapped in a shiny, new package. But, lack of truly fresh content aside, is there really any problem with a new UT2004? Sure, maybe there is a cheesy, half-hearted storyline and a crew of completely forgettable characters, but the formula still works after all these years - and that's what makes UT3 a worthy purchase. Buy it. Play it. Enjoy it. Expand
  54. StormdragonB.
    Dec 30, 2007
    8
    This game is very much a worthy successor to the UT game series though obviously not perfect. Gameplay wise I can't find that much at fault. It's still very well paced and hectically fun. Warfare provides a great mix of Assault and Onslaught. The Orb enters an entirely new dimension to it as well making it a very good hybrid game type that just feels fresh. The maps themselves This game is very much a worthy successor to the UT game series though obviously not perfect. Gameplay wise I can't find that much at fault. It's still very well paced and hectically fun. Warfare provides a great mix of Assault and Onslaught. The Orb enters an entirely new dimension to it as well making it a very good hybrid game type that just feels fresh. The maps themselves all look very good to great but might suffer slightly from to much post processing effects like bloom/blur. But to me never so badly that it made the gameplay suffer. The bots are smarter this time around though still surprisingly stupid when it comes to using vehicles. They still feel to be stuck on UT2004 level. On that they do still need some work. I think that the only thing that really can be considered an issue is the menu GUI. It's very console like and pretty bare-bone even after the first patch is applied. I hope that Epic fixes this up a bit more in any coming patches. At least the first patch showed that they are trying to comply with any complaints. So all in all it's a great game that has a few weaknesses that do need ironing out but non are game killers by any means. This game is getting unfortunately quite some bad rep from people who feel that vehicle based game types are for "n00bs" especially now that warfare is the main selling point and VCTF (Vehicle Capture The Flag) is a true supported game type. I would say ignore them if you can as otherwise you are denying yourself from enjoying this game. The UT series evolves and you just need to adapt. Expand
  55. PaulB.
    Jan 21, 2008
    8
    With the updated graphics and the addition of the new vehicles this game aims to please fans of the Unreal game linage. Having played this for a month now, I can say that I am a fan, but I find, I enjoy the onslaught game style of UT2004 more than UT3's Warfare.
  56. SteveM.
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    The new Warfare game mode and vehicles are welcome additions to the series. However, the overall look of this game is a bit confusing. Trying to show off their new Unreal 3 engine, the developers got lost with too many textures and effects. For an FPS, a cleaner look would have been better. Lets see what the Mod community can provide.
  57. KrogothC.
    Dec 5, 2007
    8
    UT3 is a solid MP FPS game. Sure, it isn't innovative when was the last time innoivation occurred in the FPS genre? The gameplay combines the best of UT99 and UT2K4. I can see why UT2K4 players are annoyed that dodging running and adrenaline are gone in UT3. It is supposed to be a throwback to UT99. Warfare mode improves the already popular Onslaught mode. The Nercis vehicles are UT3 is a solid MP FPS game. Sure, it isn't innovative when was the last time innoivation occurred in the FPS genre? The gameplay combines the best of UT99 and UT2K4. I can see why UT2K4 players are annoyed that dodging running and adrenaline are gone in UT3. It is supposed to be a throwback to UT99. Warfare mode improves the already popular Onslaught mode. The Nercis vehicles are very interesting and provided different strategies then previous UT2K4 vehicle roster. It has the potential to be an excellent successor to Assault mode. The rest of the modes are more of a the same. The graphics and art direction are top-notch, but obviously borrowed from Gears of War. The audio is nothing really that special, at least the taunts and bot feedback is better then previous games. You can personalize your own model's features. My problems with UT3 is the lack of polish. The current UI screams "consolitis" and is rather spartan. It is a pain to setup a proper dedicated server. It seems that Epic was pressured by Midway to get UT3 release early in order to meet hoilday sales. UT3 could of used at least three to six months worth of polishing to make it a real winner. Expand
  58. Dee
    Jan 22, 2008
    8
    The whole game can be summed up with one line: "It's a new UT2004 with better graphics." Nothing more, nothing less. Oh, and absolutely laughable auto-taunts from hell... makes me ashamed when someone walks by - I have to turn down the volume.
  59. AndresV
    Mar 11, 2009
    8
    I think this game is a lot of fun. I don't understand people who would give it a bad rating. I think they just like to whine. Wussies. I never really played the previous Unreal Tournaments, except a little of UT2. The single player story is corny, but who cares it is all about fast paced blasting anyways. That's what you get with this game. If you don't like good graphics I think this game is a lot of fun. I don't understand people who would give it a bad rating. I think they just like to whine. Wussies. I never really played the previous Unreal Tournaments, except a little of UT2. The single player story is corny, but who cares it is all about fast paced blasting anyways. That's what you get with this game. If you don't like good graphics and fast paced blasting then play the previous unreal tournaments. That way you can get fast paced blasting with outdated graphics! Expand
  60. RaymondF.
    Jan 24, 2008
    8
    Very fun game. Had performance problems at first, but now runs super smooth at 1680x1050 with the higest settings with the latest nvidia 8800 GTS drivers. Warfare is my favorite online mode of all the multiplayer games I have played. Only problem is there is not too many low ping servers when playing online. I never saw more then 6 under 100 ping servers for any of the modes when looking Very fun game. Had performance problems at first, but now runs super smooth at 1680x1050 with the higest settings with the latest nvidia 8800 GTS drivers. Warfare is my favorite online mode of all the multiplayer games I have played. Only problem is there is not too many low ping servers when playing online. I never saw more then 6 under 100 ping servers for any of the modes when looking in the server browser. Single player is a waste of time, but multiplayer is great. Expand
  61. anonymous
    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    Easy to get into and hard to put down. This is my first of the unreal tournaments to play.
  62. MetallicusG.
    Nov 25, 2007
    8
    First I'd like to say, they did better job with UT3 than UT2K3 and UT2K4. Unfortunately, not better than UT99. Mainly because Epic Games decided to be a bit lazy with the UI (user interface) such as the menu. The game isn't as customizable as UT99 was. The levels are stunning to look at. So much details can be found in them. But you might notice a bit lack of variety in the First I'd like to say, they did better job with UT3 than UT2K3 and UT2K4. Unfortunately, not better than UT99. Mainly because Epic Games decided to be a bit lazy with the UI (user interface) such as the menu. The game isn't as customizable as UT99 was. The levels are stunning to look at. So much details can be found in them. But you might notice a bit lack of variety in the collection. But in the end, UT3 is a great game, which even a first person shooter fan shouldn't be allowed to miss. Expand
  63. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    Online shooter thingy with ludicrously over-the-top gothic visuals. Blatantly doing double duty as a graphics engine demo, UT3 is still a LAN party staple for me. The deathmatch experience isn't as good as the old Quake 3; it shines in co-operative play in Warfare or Capture-the-Flag mode against a large band of bots, shouting orders across the room to co-ordinate!
  64. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    I can understand the frustration a lot of players have with this game. UT99 more or less raised me, I was 5 or 6 when it came out, and I play it from about 1999 to 2004 regularly before moving away from PC gaming for a while. On the positive side, this game looks gorgeous, has a wide selection of maps, and most important, it FEELS like Unreal Tournament. The weapons might look different,I can understand the frustration a lot of players have with this game. UT99 more or less raised me, I was 5 or 6 when it came out, and I play it from about 1999 to 2004 regularly before moving away from PC gaming for a while. On the positive side, this game looks gorgeous, has a wide selection of maps, and most important, it FEELS like Unreal Tournament. The weapons might look different, but they feel just like improved versions of the ones I love. The main negative for me is that this game does not LOOK like an Unreal Tournament game. It might be beautiful, but both the aesthetics and the colors just don't look like they used to. Frankly, the reason I'm just now getting around to playing this game is because it looks like a mash-up of the GoW series and UT, which scared me. I was afraid it would play like Gears too. Fortunately, it still boasts the fast, skill-oriented gameplay for which the series is famous. If franchise-fans can get past the new looks of the game, they'll find a solid addition to the series. At this point, I can't speak for how newcomers will feel about the game, I simply can't separate myself from the series. Expand
  65. Apr 22, 2012
    8
    Unreal is Unreal, nothing else to say, get in and frag them all, giants maps, a lot of devastating weapons and vehicles, many power ups and user made maps keep this game alive and kicking with a nice community of players.
  66. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    Unreal Tournament 3 brings back the UT99 playstyle and puts the '03 and '04 one back in its place. The game is gorgeous, the gameplay is fast and the cutscenes are well made. I think it lacks a bit on the competitive side of multiplayer when compared to UT 2004, but otherwise UT3 is a great addition to the series.
  67. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    A disappointment in comparison to UT2K4, this game offers fantastic visuals and the classic UT gameplay, but with a lacking number of maps. Currently, I'd say this is one of the best multiplayer shooter of the generation on PC, and the last good, stupidly fun, arena FPS. Amen.
    Be wary though, Gamespy Arcade isn't too nice here and the recent Steam integration causes occasional problems
    A disappointment in comparison to UT2K4, this game offers fantastic visuals and the classic UT gameplay, but with a lacking number of maps. Currently, I'd say this is one of the best multiplayer shooter of the generation on PC, and the last good, stupidly fun, arena FPS. Amen.
    Be wary though, Gamespy Arcade isn't too nice here and the recent Steam integration causes occasional problems between Steam and Gamespy Arcade.
    Expand
  68. Apr 1, 2017
    8
    8.6 - Although not so much fast-paced like its predecessors were, still a really good game and had really good graphics for the time. The vehicle and weapon alterations were pretty good as well, and maps were well-designed.
  69. MartinHuggett
    Sep 3, 2009
    7
    UT3 is a great no strings attached FPS, if you want something with an actual Campaign with a story then this ain't for you. The multiplayer is what this game's all about. ~Even after 2 years the online scene is still live and kicking with UT3. The gameplay is smooth with KB/M or controller and the graphics are great looking for a game this old especially if you have an nVidiaUT3 is a great no strings attached FPS, if you want something with an actual Campaign with a story then this ain't for you. The multiplayer is what this game's all about. ~Even after 2 years the online scene is still live and kicking with UT3. The gameplay is smooth with KB/M or controller and the graphics are great looking for a game this old especially if you have an nVidia card with PhysX enabled. There is a PhysX mod available from nVidia that adds more PhysX features and two maps and is free. This game is great fun but every once in a while but it is great value for money from Steam Expand
  70. [anonymous]
    Jan 5, 2010
    7
    no one plays this online? barely anybody lets say that. ooh Ahh the graphics aren't near what the screen shots are posted in ads for it. I even run maxed out graphics and don't see it. failure
  71. MattM.
    Aug 2, 2008
    7
    This game dissapointed me a bit. When it came out, I was expecting it to be a bit better than UT 2004. But all the moving around with orbs and nodes got me a bit confused. I found these bots were pretty stupid too. If you snip from high up, they will shoot you with a flak cannon til they run out of ammo. Very sad Epic Games...
  72. DeemerA
    Mar 15, 2009
    7
    It's pretty nice in almost every ways, but there is some flaws, that i encountered.. First of all, the mouse sensitivity system is too harsh, at sens 1 it's very low and the sens 2 it's way too high, and my razer panel that i tried to combine it's sens to match perfectly to the sens i prefer to use is imbossible. And the AI is far too difficult, i can't ever be It's pretty nice in almost every ways, but there is some flaws, that i encountered.. First of all, the mouse sensitivity system is too harsh, at sens 1 it's very low and the sens 2 it's way too high, and my razer panel that i tried to combine it's sens to match perfectly to the sens i prefer to use is imbossible. And the AI is far too difficult, i can't ever be that fast, cause my maximum responding speed from seeing the enemy to shoot it is 0,0015secs, but that is way too slow, and my reflex speed is maximum at 350m/s, and i like to play Godlike difficulty all the time, but they can shoot me throu the fog, from places i can't see them, but mostly pretty good game. Expand
  73. ShammyS.
    Dec 3, 2007
    7
    This game is by no means a flop. I like the gameplay athough I can spot quite a few flaws and bugs in the AI. If I were part of the team of designers, I would have designed a realism mod that changes all of it. Also a few shortcut key have been removed, also the translocator has been taken out of instant action, that is a downfall, but the game itself is pretty fun...the maps are vivid, This game is by no means a flop. I like the gameplay athough I can spot quite a few flaws and bugs in the AI. If I were part of the team of designers, I would have designed a realism mod that changes all of it. Also a few shortcut key have been removed, also the translocator has been taken out of instant action, that is a downfall, but the game itself is pretty fun...the maps are vivid, although I think it can do with a lil more diversity, most of them feel very similar, just with different skin. More arena maps and larger themed maps are in order! There should be maps large enough to support at least 16+ players. Expand
  74. AnonymousMC
    Feb 28, 2008
    7
    Epic, you sold out. You make crap with Gears of War for console brainless twits and then you bring your 'experience' from that to UT3. You need to ask yourself again, who are the people that got you where you are today. There is a good game here, cant help to be with the UT formula still somewhat intact, but your rubbish menu;s, yes even after your 250mb patches, and GoW inspiredEpic, you sold out. You make crap with Gears of War for console brainless twits and then you bring your 'experience' from that to UT3. You need to ask yourself again, who are the people that got you where you are today. There is a good game here, cant help to be with the UT formula still somewhat intact, but your rubbish menu;s, yes even after your 250mb patches, and GoW inspired character models (cant stand them) show that you have sold out to the console crowd. For some reason you thought big sales in consoles meant you made a good game so you could do the same on PC. Unfortunately for those more particular in their choice of game this is not enough. Expand
  75. MichaelP
    Sep 12, 2009
    7
    It's not Unreal Tournament 2004 style mindblowing, but it's nothing to be sneezed at. Love the high paced action in an updated format. Worth the money.
  76. MartinL.
    Nov 21, 2007
    7
    Overall it's worthy successor to the UT series but lacks the polish of previous games, also doesn
  77. ArtimecionX.
    Nov 26, 2007
    7
    Still more of the same old UT, but where the graphics have added, the contect seems to have been subtracted. There are shockingly few maps compared to 2k4, and not that many models/skins either. The menus quite frankly are awful and it seems more like a port from a console version rather than a PC game - an example of this is that there are very limited graphics options and even those are Still more of the same old UT, but where the graphics have added, the contect seems to have been subtracted. There are shockingly few maps compared to 2k4, and not that many models/skins either. The menus quite frankly are awful and it seems more like a port from a console version rather than a PC game - an example of this is that there are very limited graphics options and even those are obscurely placed in the menus. They also seem to have forgotten to finish the sound off, with very limited taunts and commands. But, annoyances aside, this is still a good solid game and I'm positive it will grow exponentially in popularity once the user-generated content starts appearing. Expand
  78. MichaelT.
    Dec 9, 2007
    7
    Nice graphics, very fluent, like we are used to in UT, however this being said: negative parts are: lack of characters to choose from, very few populated servers, and the mysterious lack of instagib servers.
  79. Nemesis
    Nov 21, 2007
    7
    If you want a "little" more polished version of UT2004, then you should go ahead and pick this up. Word of caution: It's exactly the same in design as 2004, but lacks the expansive maps for deathmatch and CTF (which are my favorite modes). Also, my other big gripe is the lack of sniper oriented maps in CTF. In due time, we'll get patches and map additions to rememdy this MAJOR If you want a "little" more polished version of UT2004, then you should go ahead and pick this up. Word of caution: It's exactly the same in design as 2004, but lacks the expansive maps for deathmatch and CTF (which are my favorite modes). Also, my other big gripe is the lack of sniper oriented maps in CTF. In due time, we'll get patches and map additions to rememdy this MAJOR issue (at least with me). Expand
  80. Oct 3, 2010
    7
    The new additions since ut 2004 are good like necris vehicles but now the gameplay is much more boring and i feel that ut 2004 was better.The graphics and weapons are better but the gameplay fun just died.
  81. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    unsure how to rate this one, the graphics are a definite plus, and the game just shines with quality and polish, i found not only the visuals, but the sound and altogether feel of the game to be very nice, and imo an IMPROVEMENT over older ut titles, i mean let's face it, games change with time, ut franchise is no different!

    however in agreement with many others, the campaign is awful!
    unsure how to rate this one, the graphics are a definite plus, and the game just shines with quality and polish, i found not only the visuals, but the sound and altogether feel of the game to be very nice, and imo an IMPROVEMENT over older ut titles, i mean let's face it, games change with time, ut franchise is no different!

    however in agreement with many others, the campaign is awful! also i would like to call this ut the most difficult ut game so far, but i'm unsure, it seems to be very unbalanced difficulty levels really... skilled is like impossible and then inhuman is actually easier (or so i found it to be!).

    not to mention the game ups it's difficulty GREATLY in campaign mode for some reason.... skilled in campaign is like godlike in instant action o.0

    but on the whole i think this game is excellent, and i am not just some modern graphics whore that never played ut games before, i grew up with them myself, and i actually like the direction they took in this game... apart from the bizarre fluctuating difficulty curve and the silly campaign story
    Expand
  82. Mar 16, 2014
    7
    Well this game is way worse than UT 2004 in many ways, but it is still good fun with excellent weapons, vehicles and funny mods. I am not a big fan of single payer campaign, they shoud add same single player like in UT 2004 with more detailed team management. Still a very good game with great gun play and awesome maps.
  83. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    Don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but it failed to bring what unreal tournament 2004 did to us. I didn't enjoy the game modes and the guns are exactly the same, as well as exact same mechanics. It is still a good and fun game, but get Unreal Tournament 2004 instead
  84. Mobius
    Jan 17, 2008
    6
    Good points. nice graphics though it looks like gears of war nice effects gamplay similar to UT2004 and your hover board Bad Points Servers are mostly empty infact looking at my server list of 150 servers only 3 have any players on them. Ping on 98% of the servers are over 300 leaving only a few with a ping below 50 mainly the empty ones. Maps are smaller Vehicles all have very weak Good points. nice graphics though it looks like gears of war nice effects gamplay similar to UT2004 and your hover board Bad Points Servers are mostly empty infact looking at my server list of 150 servers only 3 have any players on them. Ping on 98% of the servers are over 300 leaving only a few with a ping below 50 mainly the empty ones. Maps are smaller Vehicles all have very weak armour Vehicle controls are just to twitchy Onslaught mode gone only to be replaced with the weaker warfare. Though this game plays pretty much like UT2004 it just feels like its lost its soul. I still prefere to play UT2004 as its more fun with its bigger maps. Expand
  85. GamerGuy
    Nov 27, 2007
    6
    UT has been one of those titles that gets overhyped simply because of its name when in truth the game itself is never that great. UT3 redefines nothing and is basically an expansion pack for the old games with a few tweeks and a graphics upgrade. Unreal is to the FPS industry what Madden is to the Sports Industry and UT3 confirms it.
  86. ElReitoSavage
    Nov 21, 2007
    6
    The gameplay is smooth if you have the horsepower to run it. However too much of the game is exactly like the last UT. Overall, it's fun and worth the price, but don't buy it if you already own the last version. It's almost exactly the same.
  87. JehfersonM.
    Jun 19, 2009
    6
    With the departure of Bombing Run and Assault, UT lost what was, at least for me, the two most fun game modes. Also where the AI was superb on UT2004, I've had to LITERALLY teach one of the bots that "flag goes into base" during the single player campaign. No Skaarj, no Egyptech and noThunderCrash also mean a loss of traditional characters . So Unreal Tournament 3 feels like a With the departure of Bombing Run and Assault, UT lost what was, at least for me, the two most fun game modes. Also where the AI was superb on UT2004, I've had to LITERALLY teach one of the bots that "flag goes into base" during the single player campaign. No Skaarj, no Egyptech and noThunderCrash also mean a loss of traditional characters . So Unreal Tournament 3 feels like a downgrade on UT2004, game wise. But not all is lost. The game is more beautiful than ever, new vehicles introduce variety and innovation.... Maybe all it needs is a good and heavy expansion pack to fill in all these holes. The potential certainly IS there. Expand
  88. Oct 13, 2010
    6
    This was really a bummer. Unreal Tournament and Unreal Tournament 2004 had really good single player and multiplayer content. Epic games dropped the pooch this time around. The single player campaign was awful. They tried to put a storyline to a tournament style game and take away the tournament and just make it a war with respawners. Whoever thought of that should have been axed.This was really a bummer. Unreal Tournament and Unreal Tournament 2004 had really good single player and multiplayer content. Epic games dropped the pooch this time around. The single player campaign was awful. They tried to put a storyline to a tournament style game and take away the tournament and just make it a war with respawners. Whoever thought of that should have been axed. The guns felt difficult to kill with. Their earlier games made it so easy to kill someone, this game took a ton of bullets and the guns just didn't have the same feel. The game speed didn't feel right, you move really fast and you shoot really slow. The system requirements were too extreme for the time it was released, and the game engine did not scale like their UE2 or the original engine did.

    The game did have some good parts. I really liked the hoverboards and graphics, once I got everything working right. Having co-op for the campaign is also a plus, although I never played it through with other peeps. The Unreal Tournament series has the coolest vehicles to use. What I was hoping for was more of the Assault mode, which somehow got scratched. This game is just not Unreal Tournament worthy.
    Expand
  89. Aug 19, 2011
    6
    I'm disappointed the co-op mode is glitched. It doesn't work out of the box and I've only had mixed success trying the countless available "fixes". I'm able to overlook it because multiplayer is fun and thankfully always works--it's got that classic old school shooter appeal without the lame leveling you see in newer games today that give players an unfair advantage because they haveI'm disappointed the co-op mode is glitched. It doesn't work out of the box and I've only had mixed success trying the countless available "fixes". I'm able to overlook it because multiplayer is fun and thankfully always works--it's got that classic old school shooter appeal without the lame leveling you see in newer games today that give players an unfair advantage because they have played more hours and are given better perks than you. It still has a decent community of players making it easy finding a game. Expand
  90. Oct 12, 2011
    6
    You get a complete package- there's no doubt about that. Whether you want a large battlefield or small arenas, this game can offer you that. There's lots of weapons, a few vehicles and fast-paced arena gameplay, with a platoon of game settings you can tweak, including the speed. There's many difficulties for the bots, and settings you can adjust for them. But really, once you get past allYou get a complete package- there's no doubt about that. Whether you want a large battlefield or small arenas, this game can offer you that. There's lots of weapons, a few vehicles and fast-paced arena gameplay, with a platoon of game settings you can tweak, including the speed. There's many difficulties for the bots, and settings you can adjust for them. But really, once you get past all of this there's nothing that exciting about it. The campaign doesn't feel like one because of the arena-based gameplay. The gameplay is the most simple you can possibly get. No reloading, no recoil. Just move and shoot. The maps on it aren't greatly varied either. There's better shooters out there than this. Expand
  91. Apr 13, 2017
    6
    On retrouve le moteur de Gears of War ainsi que l'ambiance fort plaisante, et c'est encore très beau même de nos jours ! l'adaptation VF est particulièrement soignée, mention spéciale aux annonces et aux vannes automatiques, hilarantes.

    La campagne malgré l'IA des bots convaincante est rapidement chiante, car elle oblige à passer par des modes de jeu pénibles et sans intérêt, comme
    On retrouve le moteur de Gears of War ainsi que l'ambiance fort plaisante, et c'est encore très beau même de nos jours ! l'adaptation VF est particulièrement soignée, mention spéciale aux annonces et aux vannes automatiques, hilarantes.

    La campagne malgré l'IA des bots convaincante est rapidement chiante, car elle oblige à passer par des modes de jeu pénibles et sans intérêt, comme cette connerie de course au drapeau... Si le multi est bien nerveux, les armes sont molles du genou et sans relief, elles constituent depuis longtemps le gros point faible des Unreal Tournament en général. Bref, c'est plutôt sympa à jouer de temps en temps mais nettement inférieur à ce bon vieux Quake 3.
    Expand
  92. BrodyGuest
    Jan 1, 2010
    5
    Game LOOKS amazing and plays well as any other unreal tournament game, but living in australia there is no-one to play online with :(
  93. JaredW
    Mar 27, 2008
    5
    What a $50 disappointment. I've been an Unreal fan since the beginning, and think 2004 is the best FPS ever, and run about 300 custom maps. The physics are breathtakingly fun. Sure I've played the quake and doom franchises, and Half Life, etc... but nothing has the repeat gameplay that UT2k4 has. UT3 is dark, splashy console graphics, ugly dense characters, laggy gameplay, and What a $50 disappointment. I've been an Unreal fan since the beginning, and think 2004 is the best FPS ever, and run about 300 custom maps. The physics are breathtakingly fun. Sure I've played the quake and doom franchises, and Half Life, etc... but nothing has the repeat gameplay that UT2k4 has. UT3 is dark, splashy console graphics, ugly dense characters, laggy gameplay, and unattractive textures, sorry to say. When they say extensive testing, by whom?? Who is playing this and saying it belongs in the UT franchise? Expand
  94. CharlesM.
    Nov 28, 2007
    5
    Very little innovation since 2k3. and to be honest isnt as visually impressive as i was expecting in dx9.
  95. DanielR.
    Jan 26, 2008
    5
    I have been following the Unreal series since the beginning. I bought a 3Dfx Voodoo 3 3000 card with 16MB of RAM in order to play Unreal and UT back in 2000. After buying each of those games twice (discs got scratched, etc), Unreal 2, UT2k3 and UT2k4, I must say that this is, by far, the worst Unreal I have ever played. Allow me to base my opinion on facts that I must sadly reveal to I have been following the Unreal series since the beginning. I bought a 3Dfx Voodoo 3 3000 card with 16MB of RAM in order to play Unreal and UT back in 2000. After buying each of those games twice (discs got scratched, etc), Unreal 2, UT2k3 and UT2k4, I must say that this is, by far, the worst Unreal I have ever played. Allow me to base my opinion on facts that I must sadly reveal to potential buyers. 1.) UT3's bot intelligence is worse than _any_ other UT game previous to this one. They managed to completely blow ten years of experience. Not only is there a huge disparity between bot performance in warfare mode and deathmatch, but most of the time, the opposing team is just way stronger by default for seemingly no reason at all. I like to be immersed in a battle where I am an important part of the team, but I shouldn't have to quadruple the highest scoring player on my team other than myself just to win the match. These bots are so stupid that I've seen groups of them driving and getting stuck in walls. I've watched, sadly, as I nuke the crap out of them in their idiocy (on "Adept" difficulty). Even better, I love when idiots on my team grab the sphere, an all-important power to gaining territory on warfare maps, and then proceed to get stuck, voiding any chances we might have had at winning. Of course, friendly fire is off in the campaign, so I can't even take care of the situation myself. Fantastic. 2.) The maps are interesting and varied. I like that. But I absolutely HATE the look of the new characters. You can be a fat dwarf chick, a fat dwarf dude, a fat dwarf lizard, or a fat dwarf robot. I found this to be annoying, because I don't particularly want to be a fat dwarf ANYTHING. X( This form of style inconsistency with other UT games is frustrating to me. The reason many people have been saying this looks a lot like Gears of War is because it almost looks like textures, content, and even character facial appearances have been re-used in this game. They are using the same engine, of course; but the main characters also look strikingly similar. 3.) as a person has already mentioned, hardly anyone is even playing. I think there are more people playing UT classic, as I hopped on that last night and was surprised to see so many people. 4.) I can't stand the amount of lens blur that is added when turning detail settings any bit above the first setting. I love the HDR and stuff, but I can't see what is happening a long ways away and I feel like I'm playing it on a PS3 when it is on. 5.) Speaking of which...this game feels like a frickin' port. The menus are clumsy and stupid and less usable than the original UT's or even UT2k4. I am VERY mad at this. It seems like they made this game for consoles FIRST and it is unacceptable to me. It wouldn't take long to redesign a menu. Overall, I am still angry with my purchase. I should have looked at reviews. This is the last time I'm getting burned by placing loyalty in a sequel. Expand
  96. Jul 1, 2011
    5
    This is far better than Quake 3 Arena! You don't want to compare the graphics and models of this game's to UT2004, 'cos UT2004 looked really outdated now. After a week's play (I rarely tried UT games) I already have beaten the difficulty MASTERFUL most of the time in the deathmatch game mode (my 1st place of 60 frags to a bot's 2nd place of 51 frags). I would be INHUMAN in less than 2This is far better than Quake 3 Arena! You don't want to compare the graphics and models of this game's to UT2004, 'cos UT2004 looked really outdated now. After a week's play (I rarely tried UT games) I already have beaten the difficulty MASTERFUL most of the time in the deathmatch game mode (my 1st place of 60 frags to a bot's 2nd place of 51 frags). I would be INHUMAN in less than 2 weeks experience. Note that by most of the time the bots would choose to shoot at you first even though you're more farther away for targeting, as you're priority target number one, so imagine with all those bots' guns firing at you all at once ... that's great fun for me (only if you don't scream in rage because you feel like the bots has cheated and are gang banging you). Oh BTW only get this game if it comes with UT2004 for free! Expand
  97. Dec 22, 2011
    5
    Really not all to good at all. I had heard great things about the Unreal series and thought that this game would be a fun online shooter. I was sadly disappointed. The tiny player base is testimony to how poor this game is. Good luck ever finding a match.
  98. JustinS.
    Feb 21, 2008
    4
    I like that they attempted to go back to the original Unreal Tournament, but this is just another "save the world" shooter game, and it's a bad one at that.
  99. Mr.51
    Nov 23, 2007
    4
    I had an absolute blast with the previous versions of UT, but UT3 does not even come close to being as fun. While the game has pretty graphics and all these neat little features to show off the new Unreal Engine, it is almost like this was all at the sacrifice of the balanced, fun game play of UT versions past. I get the impression that Epic was so obsessed with making the game look like I had an absolute blast with the previous versions of UT, but UT3 does not even come close to being as fun. While the game has pretty graphics and all these neat little features to show off the new Unreal Engine, it is almost like this was all at the sacrifice of the balanced, fun game play of UT versions past. I get the impression that Epic was so obsessed with making the game look like Gears of War that they may have forgotten about everything else. It is great that there will be mods and everything that might introduce some improvements, but the core game itself should have been better than this. I have owned the game for only 4 days and I am already sick of it. By far the most disappointing game of the season, in my eyes. Expand
  100. AlexB
    Dec 27, 2009
    4
    I wonder how many people who gave this "9 or 10" have played UT'99 or 2K3/4. If you have, I don't follow your logic, because I can't find anything much to like about this game. Firstly, the graphics scalability is truly terrible, if that was the only problem, then big deal, sometimes you need an incentive to play a good game, and if UT3 was good, then this would be a I wonder how many people who gave this "9 or 10" have played UT'99 or 2K3/4. If you have, I don't follow your logic, because I can't find anything much to like about this game. Firstly, the graphics scalability is truly terrible, if that was the only problem, then big deal, sometimes you need an incentive to play a good game, and if UT3 was good, then this would be a relatively minor issue. However, the gameplay is not good. For the single player we have the campaign and instant action. If you're prepared to fight through the tournament ladder like every previous installment of UT, then I'm afraid you're going to be disappointed. Instead you're going to be treated to some kind of war, complete with aliens. "But wait" said someone on the committee who were tasked with designing "how on earth does this make any sense with Unreal Tournament?". This person was fired, and development continued. Now, I'm not a developer myself, but I do know something about dictionaries. Just to see if I wasn't mistaking myself, I then looked up tournament on wikipedia. I came up with this definition "A tournament is a competition involving a relatively large number of competitors, all participating in a sport or game." - does this storyline fit that criteria? No. But hey, what do I know. I digress, the "campaign" is basically an angst-driven kid who hates someone because she tried to kill him, so he goes off on a crusade to kill her, will he have successes? Who Knows? Who Cares? Next time, remove the pre-rendered cutscenes and let's just have a tournament. I've spent a good amount of time ranting about this game, and havn't got to the gameplay. Most of the weapons are there from previous titles, you won't find anything new - some have been tweaked a bit, the redeemer and impact hammer are back from UT99, and adrenaline has been removed (a mixed blessing, kill streaks are almost meaningless now, whilst before you were rewarded for doing well). There are more "super powerups" (berserk is now a pickup, for example) and other various things that could probably easily be performed with mutators on 2k4. Nothing feels better, quite a lot feels worse. The bot AI is horrible, on the single player, you often need to get about 4 or 5 times the number of kills than your bot friends to win. Almost certainly - you will be the one pulling the weight, capturing the flag, attacking their base, etc. At launch, UT3 came with 3 gamemodes. There was deathmatch (Including team deathmatch,and duel - which is deathmatch for 2 players at a time), Capture the Flag (most of the maps were vehicle capture the flag, which means hoverboards, which means the worst design choice ever, having a 3rd person view on a first person shooter), and Warfare (a cut down version of onslaught, which is heavily "orb central" - this is not an improvement, apparently it's meant to incorperate elements from assault, but these aren't really noticeable in any way, just an occasional side-objective). 2 more were added later, Greed (a toned-up version of a custom gamemode for 2k4), and Betrayal (Instagib death-match with a small twist, you can "betray" allies to claim a "pot" of shared kills, fun - but not much to write home about). That's it, notice that there's no Bombing Run, Domination (of either kind), Assault, Invasion or Last man standing. Whilst there are some good new maps, most of the maps that you know and love are gone (there's no Facing Worlds, the Deck remake doesn't really feel like any of the other Deck maps, and I actually felt offended when I started to play Torlan, due to what they'd done to it). The AI in this title are horrible, I was hardly able to use the rocket launcher in 2k4, because of the fact that most of the AI dodged the projectiles, and therefore other weapons were more effective. In UT3, the rocket launcher makes it's triumphant return, as you blow enemies to smithereens who can't dodge at all. Friendly AI is just as bad, with your teamates dying whilst trying to regroup in TDM, and causing you to lose as a result (when you are forced to lower your difficulty settings even though you're scoring 5 times as much as any of your team members, we have a problem). Overall, do not buy this game, instead - have a look at the exceptionally good Unreal Tournament 2004. There are plenty of good mods and maps for it, and you'll have a game that uses a colour palliate that is better than "grey, brown and brown disguised as red". An unfortunate departure for the series, and I'm truly sorry if this is your first UT game. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. The game's A-ticket attractions are the massive, ornate battlegrounds where opponents compete in objective-based clashes. Gorgeous alien landscapes play host to massive turf battles between factions vying for power nodes. These mêlées come stocked with a mind-boggling variety of weapons and vehicles, greatly reducing the rinse, lather, repeat burnout that comes in online shooters with less to do and smaller places to do it.
  2. Drop into servers, start killing people, it's so natural to habitual gamers these days that it's hard to quantify how familiar and welcome these experiences are. With the sheer range of death-mongering that UT3 provides, it's hard not to get into the spirit of things. So yeah, Unreal Tournament pretty much remains The Daddy: consistent, meaty, and just weird enough to survive.
  3. The game excels at everything from simple deathmatching to complex objective-driven campaigns. [Dec 2007, p.154]