User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    Unstoppable Gorg.. and unstoppable fun. Because of the different difficulty levels the game is not repetitive or boring. The learning curve is not high, but the advanced levels become harder and harder to master.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    5
    Unstoppable Gorg is one of the most original and unique tower defense game i have ever played, both in artstyle and gameplay design. But in the end, its just not addictive like other games in the genre, in fact its hardly fun to play at all. Even the most dull and unorignal TDs that just copypasta the old scheme, are more addictive and fun than this, less frustrating to be sure. Sad truthUnstoppable Gorg is one of the most original and unique tower defense game i have ever played, both in artstyle and gameplay design. But in the end, its just not addictive like other games in the genre, in fact its hardly fun to play at all. Even the most dull and unorignal TDs that just copypasta the old scheme, are more addictive and fun than this, less frustrating to be sure. Sad truth be told, if I had opportunity to play the demo first, i would never buy it, not for the full price. I only gave it a positive score because i appreciate devs who are not affraid to try new things, even if they fail. Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2012
    9
    Wow, I'm really surprised that scores so far have not been better from the critics. Although it looks much different, the gameplay feels very much like Plants Vs. Zombies. If you liked PvZ I don't know how you won't like this one. I've never been a big fan of the tower defense genre, but I loved PvZ and I love Unstoppable Gorg. Like PvZ it has a good sense of humor but the overall look isWow, I'm really surprised that scores so far have not been better from the critics. Although it looks much different, the gameplay feels very much like Plants Vs. Zombies. If you liked PvZ I don't know how you won't like this one. I've never been a big fan of the tower defense genre, but I loved PvZ and I love Unstoppable Gorg. Like PvZ it has a good sense of humor but the overall look is more polished with hilarious but appropriately cheesy acting and the music is outstanding (I find the Gorg King to be particularly hilarious at mime). Good replay value in the form of Challenges and Arcade mode. Instead of PvZ's seed packets you have satellites to choose from, and instead of zombies you have aliens to combat, but otherwise it's the same strategy in that you must weigh the strengths and weaknesses of your defenses against the strengths and weaknesses of their offense BEFORE the round begins, and much of your victory depends on how well you choose. Instead of the enemies coming at you linearly from the right to the left, your "house" is in the center of the screen and baddies come at you in random spirals. Imagine a circular PvZ playing field, but you can actually move the plants around instead of leaving them in a static position. The best way I can describe it is like circular foosball. Foosball has you moving each man in a row at the same time. Now pretend you bent that row into a circle and spinned it around like a steering wheel to bring the maximum amount of firepower to bear on your intended target. This evolves the gameplay just enough to make it a worthy brain-bending extension of the genre but without making it too hard for a casual game. Like other people I too found certain aspects of it hard at first, but after all was said & done I realized I never had to replay a level more than three times to beat it _and_ get 5/5 completion of each level's 5 objectives, so it turned out to be just hard enough to make you feel like you accomplished something without ever making you tear your hair out or stop having fun. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2012
    6
    I like TDs, ive always liked TDs, so after watching the TB "review" of this game i thought this was a no-brainer, i just gotta have it. But, after spending about two hours in the game i get struck by buyers remorse. Its a very neat game in some aspects: The graphics and style of the game with the 40's inspired cutscenes and general laoyt are fun. The dynamic aspect of the game is a greatI like TDs, ive always liked TDs, so after watching the TB "review" of this game i thought this was a no-brainer, i just gotta have it. But, after spending about two hours in the game i get struck by buyers remorse. Its a very neat game in some aspects: The graphics and style of the game with the 40's inspired cutscenes and general laoyt are fun. The dynamic aspect of the game is a great idea and i bet alot of people will applaud the game for just that. But well, i dont like it that much to be honest. You see i hate juggling in TDs, i hate when the game forces me to always replace towers to make it optimal for just that wave, i much more prefer to build a solid defense and watch if kill everything. The dynamic mechanic here where you move around the towers all the time is sorta like juggling, and i just feel stressed and annoyed when i have to "kite" an enemy with my towers. And since i dont like that part, its kinda hard to like the game since its such an major part of the game. I guess i will play thru it, but im not having as much fun as i thought i would. A pricetag of 9â Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    Back in the day I used to love TDs. As the genre got more saturated and more and more copies of the same recipe were released, I got bored. It's great to see that recently there have been new titles which introduce new aspects to the already boring "build and wait" mechanics.

    In my books Unstoppable Gorg is a 9. The main story could be a bit longer and as a PC game it could be a little
    Back in the day I used to love TDs. As the genre got more saturated and more and more copies of the same recipe were released, I got bored. It's great to see that recently there have been new titles which introduce new aspects to the already boring "build and wait" mechanics.

    In my books Unstoppable Gorg is a 9. The main story could be a bit longer and as a PC game it could be a little bit flashier. Overlapping enemies are also sometimes a bit annoying, as a bigger creep might hide something else under it. However for me the pro's outweigh the cons. I love the presentation and the oldies sci-fi. There's also a huge amount of replayability, ensuring that even if I get bored after a long session, there's still alot to come back to. The game keeps introducing new interesting stuff as the story goes and especially the last couple of weapons are extremely fun to use.
    I love that the game isn't too casual and offers a real challenge although it's very easy to get into.

    I wish there was a multiplayer mode, like a co-op or something though.
    Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2012
    4
    Well presented but the way creeps come from new paths all the time turns this into a game of memorising the levels rather than tower building strategy. Requires too much repetition for my liking.
  7. Des
    Jan 24, 2012
    10
    I'm not a huge fan of TDs, but this one I love to play. Rotating the towers is a very nice idea. The game can get a bit hard to beat, but somehow that doesn't annoy me. It's steamplay, so I can play it on my mac as well, which is very nice.

    The videos are awesome! Love the 50's scifi style!
  8. Feb 3, 2012
    8
    Unstoppable Gorg is a great game, in my opinion. It kept the old fashioned tower defense action and excitement while delivering a fresh breath of air to the genre. The music was pretty catchy too, even though it got repetitive after a while, and the stereotypical horrible 50's sci-fi "special effects" made me chuckle along with the narrator. The only problem is that, depending on how youUnstoppable Gorg is a great game, in my opinion. It kept the old fashioned tower defense action and excitement while delivering a fresh breath of air to the genre. The music was pretty catchy too, even though it got repetitive after a while, and the stereotypical horrible 50's sci-fi "special effects" made me chuckle along with the narrator. The only problem is that, depending on how you play, some of the towers were kind of superfluous. It was also a pretty challenging game without being crushingly difficult. I'm not gonna lie, I'm kind of addicted to it. Expand
  9. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    This is a solid game with some interesting mechanics, but there are some problems. Aside from the embarrassing voice acting, the game is quite darn difficult, meaning you will likely need to repeat levels quite a few times to move forward, and it won't be long before repetition starts to sink in. Being in space, there is no terrain, meaning all levels kind of look the same and add to thisThis is a solid game with some interesting mechanics, but there are some problems. Aside from the embarrassing voice acting, the game is quite darn difficult, meaning you will likely need to repeat levels quite a few times to move forward, and it won't be long before repetition starts to sink in. Being in space, there is no terrain, meaning all levels kind of look the same and add to this the low variety of different enemies and repetition really sets in. While there is fun to be had here, you will likely get bored quite quickly as the game is mostly just same same every time. Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. May 21, 2012
    75
    In the end, Unstoppable Gorg is a fun tower defense title.
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    73
    The game's later levels get brutally devious, and the trial and error can become tiresome. [Apr 2012, p.113]
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    78
    Nice cinematics, too laborious a game. [March 2012]