Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unstoppable Gorg is a thrilling space defense game inspired by vintage sci-fi from the 1940s and 50s. Expect wholesome heroes, rubbery aliens and dodgy special effects as we pay homage to a great era of film. In Unstoppable Gorg you defend our solar system from the relentless march of a fearsome alien race by sending satellites into orbit around planets, moons and space stations. Unlike other tower defense style games, in Unstoppable Gorg you can move your satellites around their orbits to best defend against each wave, a convention defying mechanic that brings new vitality and interaction to the tower defense genre. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    91
    Unstoppable Gorg is an enjoyable tower defense game, that is a visually entertaining to watch as it is fun to play.
  2. Jan 19, 2012
    80
    Unstoppable Gorgs is a surprisingly satisfying game to play, thanks to its quirky presentation and smart use of satellite placement.
  3. Feb 9, 2012
    80
    Unstoppable Gorg's gloriously goofy, brash, and cheerful presentation is some of the most delicious 50s B-movie sci fi cheese since War of the Monsters on the Playstation 2.
  4. Jan 26, 2012
    75
    The tower defense genre has been growing strong and if you're addicted, I suggest you check out Unstoppable Gorg on Steam and give it a try.
  5. Mar 23, 2012
    73
    The game's later levels get brutally devious, and the trial and error can become tiresome. [Apr 2012, p.113]
  6. Mar 9, 2012
    70
    Unstoppable Gorg provides a new and exciting take on tower defense. It's a much more "active" game than most tower defense games, because you constantly have to work to keep the turrets in optimal positions, and it can be really really tough at times too. But it is highly addictive, and the presentation is lovely.
  7. Jan 25, 2012
    40
    Even if it does look really cool with its robots, aliens, and model spaceships, Unstoppable Gorg is just an unbalanced mess of a tower defense game. It seems to spend more time setting the player up to fail, than to offer a compelling reason to keep playing.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Des
    Jan 24, 2012
    10
    I'm not a huge fan of TDs, but this one I love to play. Rotating the towers is a very nice idea. The game can get a bit hard to beat, but somehow that doesn't annoy me. It's steamplay, so I can play it on my mac as well, which is very nice.

    The videos are awesome! Love the 50's scifi style!
    Collapse
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    Unstoppable Gorg.. and unstoppable fun. Because of the different difficulty levels the game is not repetitive or boring. The learning curve is not high, but the advanced levels become harder and harder to master. Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    Back in the day I used to love TDs. As the genre got more saturated and more and more copies of the same recipe were released, I got bored. It's great to see that recently there have been new titles which introduce new aspects to the already boring "build and wait" mechanics.

    In my books Unstoppable Gorg is a 9. The main story could be a bit longer and as a PC game it could be a little bit flashier. Overlapping enemies are also sometimes a bit annoying, as a bigger creep might hide something else under it. However for me the pro's outweigh the cons. I love the presentation and the oldies sci-fi. There's also a huge amount of replayability, ensuring that even if I get bored after a long session, there's still alot to come back to. The game keeps introducing new interesting stuff as the story goes and especially the last couple of weapons are extremely fun to use.
    I love that the game isn't too casual and offers a real challenge although it's very easy to get into.

    I wish there was a multiplayer mode, like a co-op or something though.
    Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2012
    8
    Unstoppable Gorg is a great game, in my opinion. It kept the old fashioned tower defense action and excitement while delivering a fresh breath of air to the genre. The music was pretty catchy too, even though it got repetitive after a while, and the stereotypical horrible 50's sci-fi "special effects" made me chuckle along with the narrator. The only problem is that, depending on how you play, some of the towers were kind of superfluous. It was also a pretty challenging game without being crushingly difficult. I'm not gonna lie, I'm kind of addicted to it. Expand
  5. Jan 20, 2012
    6
    I like TDs, ive always liked TDs, so after watching the TB "review" of this game i thought this was a no-brainer, i just gotta have it. But, after spending about two hours in the game i get struck by buyers remorse. Its a very neat game in some aspects: The graphics and style of the game with the 40's inspired cutscenes and general laoyt are fun. The dynamic aspect of the game is a great idea and i bet alot of people will applaud the game for just that. But well, i dont like it that much to be honest. You see i hate juggling in TDs, i hate when the game forces me to always replace towers to make it optimal for just that wave, i much more prefer to build a solid defense and watch if kill everything. The dynamic mechanic here where you move around the towers all the time is sorta like juggling, and i just feel stressed and annoyed when i have to "kite" an enemy with my towers. And since i dont like that part, its kinda hard to like the game since its such an major part of the game. I guess i will play thru it, but im not having as much fun as i thought i would. A pricetag of 9â Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    This is a solid game with some interesting mechanics, but there are some problems. Aside from the embarrassing voice acting, the game is quite darn difficult, meaning you will likely need to repeat levels quite a few times to move forward, and it won't be long before repetition starts to sink in. Being in space, there is no terrain, meaning all levels kind of look the same and add to this the low variety of different enemies and repetition really sets in. While there is fun to be had here, you will likely get bored quite quickly as the game is mostly just same same every time. Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2012
    4
    Well presented but the way creeps come from new paths all the time turns this into a game of memorising the levels rather than tower building strategy. Requires too much repetition for my liking. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews