• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Uru: Ages Beyond Myst Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From Cyan Worlds, the makers of Myst® and Riven?, Uru?: Ages Beyond Myst is the next chapter of the Myst franchise and the most immersive and ambitious Myst experience ever created. The single-player game will be bigger, better, and more innovative than any of the previous Myst adventures. Players can move at their own pace, spending hours discovering visually stunning, real-time 3D worlds, solving a large variety of mind-challenging puzzles, and following an epic storyline. Players can continue to discover new areas of D'ni by connecting to Uru Live, the online service of Uru. There, players will be part of an ever-expanding world that brings more areas to explore and more mysteries to solve. [Ubi Soft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Love it or hate it, I believe we will look back in five or ten years and see this as a watershed moment in our brief gaming history, in much the same way as the original 1993 “Myst” is now viewed.
  2. Uru’s deep story and great puzzles easily make it one of the best adventure games of the year.
  3. 90
    The graphics are stunning, the sound is beautifully done, the puzzles are what one expects from a Myst game, the story is deep and the lore is massive and interesting. I really loved this game.
  4. Until the multiplayer is fully operational, URU is something of an incomplete book, but what's there is simply stunning. [Feb 2004, p.58]
  5. 75
    Barring the terrible control scheme, the single-player version of URU: Ages Beyond Myst is a solid adventure title. Beautiful graphics and sound, fun puzzles, and lots to read and learn about the D'ni makes for an atmospheric game. But the lack of the advertised multiplayer component is a real disappointment.
  6. Overall I thought that the answer to most of the conundrums was there to be teased out, with patience and (a lot of) persistence. It isn't easy though, and at times the way forward is indeed a jump, and not an insight.
  7. Generally overpriced for the offline game, especially considering there's no actual game in the online "game."

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. DanF.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    A technological marvel, ahead of it's time
  2. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    A decade ahead of its time.

    If this were to be released today as an indie title, as an online game (and you can play it online for free at
    mystonline.com), then it would be lavished with praise by all the critics. The reason for that is that we've had a decade to experiment and evolve game mechanics, we understand better what a co-op online experience is now, and we're more open to experiences, we're ready now for games that don't want to force us to be sociopathic murderers all the time.

    I was always ready for this, and it was fun watching the world slowly catch up. The experience it presents is beloved by all of the people I've introduced it to, including this year 2013. It continues to stand up as a technological marvel, something that people just couldn't wrap their minds around back then as it was one new concept after another. From the multiplayer puzzle ages, to the multiplayer exploration, the KI interface, and everything else. Even the esoteric and eccentric story, which people would also be more open to now than back then. Back then, it was all about the shooters, the platformers, the set genres. Easy to understand stuff. It was the beginning of the commercialisation of gaming.

    If it had been released ten years prior, in the era of the home computer, when everything was indie and experimental, it probably would have done okay then, too. This is how it is, it's a cycle, and people have to be in the proper part of that cycle to appreciate something like this. This is the kind of game you can form a deep bond with. I return to this game every year in order to visit an old friend, an alien creature named Shroomie. It feels really weird to have such an attachment to a 3D model, but this is what the Myst Universe does to you, and Uru more than any other.

    This is life-changing and life-affirming if you let it be. It feels good, and it feels even better if you have a friend you can bring along with you for the journey. And it's always about the journey, isn't it? This is about the journey through a bizarre, alien series of worlds. Journeys present obstacles, challenges, and puzzles. That's all part of the journey. And if you're excited by any of this, then this is a game you'll love. This isn't for the shooty-shooty people, this is for the intellectual romantics, this is for the old souls.

    If you give this game a chance, you could end up like me revisiting it every year just to remember the ghosts of the past. And Cyan still breathes they're starting a Kickstarter for something, soon, so that might be interesting. At some point in the future, reading this, you might know what all that's about, but right now, I don't. I only know that the journey through Uru might be worth your time, if you're ready for it.
    Expand
  3. EthanB.
    Nov 29, 2003
    10
    Absolutely incredible.
  4. Mydonner
    Nov 23, 2003
    8
    Not as realistic as Myst.
  5. Slaw
    Jan 24, 2004
    6
    Solid 6. At the end, I felt jipped, like it was all a big advertisement for Uru Online. I didn't care for the interface and felt that the puzzles were often a little too complex (though, I think I am getting denser as the years go on). It was a solid attempt to do something new. Thank you Cyan, please give me a real Myst adventure soon. Expand
  6. MiKE
    Jan 29, 2005
    4
    I didn't like this game, the whole idea of seeing yourself, turned me right off. This game doesn't feel like the myst series. Disappointment. Collapse
  7. JasonB.
    Feb 5, 2004
    1
    Another Ubi Soft fluff game. Nothing new here. Just another Ubi mediocre effort. Cyan had little to do with this one, obviously. The Rand Boys have sold out to the French. This game is weak. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews