User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 208 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 208

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    Купил за 700 рублей в стиме, игра отличная просто затягивает.Не могу оторваться от этой игры.Игра класс, супер.10 баллов однозначно.Ubisoft постаралась не на шутку!!!!Короче я не разочаровался!
  2. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    Saw the trailer, bought the game, and I'm delighted with it.
    Graphic is top of the line. I can't remember when I was last time so amazed by 2D. It really fits the setting, mixing and changing of colors depending of situation is stunning. Sound effects, while not overwhelming, are done at right times, and done right way.
    Gameplay is also very good, this is a casual game with not too
    difficult puzzles and arcade sections. Just right. It reminds me a bit of "lost vikings", and I loved that game. Hours of fun on day one :).
    And with a price of 15 euros (live in Serbia) for top product, on day one!!!??? It's a steal :).
    Overall, I'm one (very) happy camper with this buy. Pure 10
    Collapse
  3. Jun 29, 2014
    0
    Another mediocre game brought to you by Ubisoft. It is just like Child of Light, which is advertised as a special genre, but just ends up boring, repetitive and bring nothing new to the table. After the epic failure of Watch Dog, you can now understand games with nothing special are kept on published by the same company again and again, just for one simple purpose.
  4. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    The only game in recent years, which has caused emotions. Just a perfect game in all aspects. Thank you for such projects ubisoft. all recommened.
    10/10
  5. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    So many feelings, so many emotions... Absolutely perfect, 10/10, this game is true masterpiece of art. You can feel the atmosphere of the WW1 all along the storyline.
  6. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    Valiant Hearts: The Great War jest gra która ma ładna oprawę graficzna graficzną , jak się zacznie grac to trudno przestać. Wciąg z butami POLECAM !!!!!!!
  7. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    It seems nothing can be better.
    Graphics: 10/10
    Soundtrack: 9/10
    Gameplay: 9.5/10
    Story: 9/10
    P.S. The new policy Ubisoft against piracy in action. The game from 0.3$ in Russia fully met expectations.
  8. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    I loved the storytelling and the style of the game. Besides, it tells the history of The Great War amazingly. But I'm pissed off. When I plugged my gamepad on PC the layout wasn't from an XBOX gamepad, but from a PlayStation gamepad, and it was really confusing for me to play the game.
  9. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    Wow. This game is a true masterpiece. The intriguing storyline keeps you in suspense from start till final credits. Wonderful art. Only few games made me cry, and this masterwork is one of those. Ubisoft, thank you.
  10. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Отличная игра, повествует о событиях Первой мировой от лица простых французских солдат.
    Все уже пошутили про её стартовую цену, так что я воздержусь.
  11. Jun 29, 2014
    0
    UbiArt = 60FPS/60Hz Cap. Rayman Origins, Rayman Legends and now Valiant Hearts: The Great War. Ubisoft Montpellier have idea how play in this on monitors with other Hz? I dont want be a blind...
  12. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    Very emotional game with good storytelling, a great artistic game. The graphics matches nicely with the 2D sidescrolling-puzzle world. I didn't feel that repetitiveness as others; the puzzles are mostly logical and the game is generally forgiving.

    However, it has two of those "don't make any mistake" type achievements that require you to restart the whole mission; one involving avoiding
    obstackles while driving a car, the other is making perfect quick time events via keypresses. This latter made me curse a lot and I still don't have it. At very first, I managed to get to 75% and had to start over. I spent the next 2 hours trying and failing between 10-40% progress; very annoying. At one time, even if I pressed the correct key at the right time, the game didn't register it and had to quit.

    I run into few technical issues: coudn't change the full-screen resolution and in the tutorial, I threw the grenade too early and the game simply didn't let me continue.
    Expand
  13. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    I placed a chunk of coal on a table after taking a glass cup. Broodily awesome war game UBI. The graphics look SOOO much like the walking dead and in fact they both look similar(not exactly the same) by on screen layout.

    The hints are most helpful too.
  14. Jun 29, 2014
    10
    Великолепный шедевр французского отделения ubi-soft. У игры хороший сюжет накал которого делает в основном музыка. По моему мнению, композитор здесь сделал пол-игры найдя правильный баланс между депрессивными композициями и веселым венгерским вальсем. Будьте уверены это одно из самых эмоциональных приключений последний лет 5-ти. Вы не будете смеяться, максимум будете умиляться и улыбаться некоторым сценам, но в основном будет грустное лицо плавно переходящие в слезы.

    100% шедевр вызывающий бурю эмоции. ТАКОЕ впечатление производили на меня только 2 игры : heavy rain и mgs
    Expand
  15. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing! So great story and deep characters mixed with very charming artwork and game design. The puzzles are quite intelligent and really interesting to solve. Highly recommend to buy this game, especially if you like great sound and music in video games. But don't forget to use gamepad, if you're playing on PC.
    This game is deserved to be one of the games of the year. 10/10
  16. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    This game is the demonstration that the UbiArt Framework is an engine which can be used in games with more serious topics than Rayman.
    Valiant Hearts: The Great War is an awesome adventure game with beautiful comics style graphic and a perfect soundtrack.
    Once you start playing it, you just cannot stop, even if it's a very easy game.
    The story is very addictive and you cannot stop until
    you see how it ends.
    Serious historical setting, poignant story with a dash of comedy.
    Absolutely recommended to everyone!
    Expand
  17. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    Крутая игра.Такие эмоции и ощущения .Головоломки разнообразны и хороши.А история про первую мировую очень хорошо изложена.Обожаю эту игру
  18. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    I sat down today and played it all the way through. I couldn't stop. It was very fun gameplay and the story hooked me in. It really immersed you into the whole WW1 atmosphere, from the gas to soldiers. Top notch game. A single tear rolled down my check at the ending. 11/10
  19. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    another masterpiece the engine Ubi-Art is cool everything looks like an art. optimization you can even run it on a laptop buy it . game shows war with humor, with sadness,stylish the music is beautiful and also graphics 10/10
  20. Jun 28, 2014
    9
    This game isn't about obnoxiously shoot people in the neck or miraculously screaming at the microphone. Instead, it's about four protagonist, Karl, Anna, Emile and Freddie and their journey through the Great War, or best known as World War I. The game has a phenomenal story-telling, simple puzzle and combat mechanics and all these is what makes it a jaw-dropping experience. Also, $15 only.
  21. Jul 1, 2014
    5
    Valiant Hearts: The Great War is a very interesting concept for a game. A puzzle Adventure set in the midst of World War One. While there are parts of this game that do a good job and reminding us of the price the conflict had on everyone, it's too often sandwiched between an overly cartoonish representation of war, obtuse puzzle design, and action segments that would make even Call of Duty players scratch their heads at the lack of realism. I can only recommend this if you're a history buff or a fan of old adventure games. Expand
  22. Jul 7, 2014
    4
    This game has two sides. The design, the story, the WW1 facts are just great. I liked the characters, there were soul put into them. Otherwise as a game, it has everything I hate in a game: checkpoint system, so you can do over and over again the same thing, hundred times, QTEs - a game with QTE in it is a bad game. Period. A job for a laboratory rhesus monkey, not game for humans.
    As
    game Valiant Hearts consists of only boring commonplaces. You keep on to see the story, but some parts are so unnecessarily hard, you grow to hate the repetition after a while. By the time of the last doctoring (not giving away anything), I was so full of QTEs, that I deleted the game and watched the ending on youtube. Lot of creativity on the design side and absolutely zero on the game design side. As an animated movie it could have been a 9, as a game it is a 1, so I gave the in-between. Expand
  23. Jul 18, 2014
    6
    This game was a disappointment for me. The war is a delicate concept, full of violence, sadness and human hypocrisy. Before the game was released, the music and the art-work in the trailers brought me hope. I was expecting something new and refreshing, something I could feel more than play. But all I can see now is just another boring game, with the same boring puzzles, objects to deliver to characters and poorly inspired "final boss" battles. Is this the way to transmit the feeling about war? When, Lord, when will you put yourselves at risk? Was this what you wanted when you entered the video game world?

    I don't want to be disrespectful, I know it takes a huge effort to make games and the work you have done with the music, war facts and drawings it's great. But there's nothing more here for me. Also, if you take into account that point and click adventures are not the most profitable game genre, why not take some risks and try to make something different?

    The more you base in a pre-established formula, the weaker is the original idea. Inspiration comes from the heart and is important to maintain it. Does brainstorming ring a bell? Feelings are the new frontier of the video games. The one that reaches this goal will be the new Hitchcock of the video games.
    Expand
  24. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    This game is truly a classic, the story is rich and unique and the gameplay only serves to further the story; and while there are weaker moments with silly cliches like the Baron, it doesn't serve to take much away from the story. This is the only video game to ever bring me to tears, and i hope that you will have the same caliber of experience with it.
  25. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    Fairly generic from the gameplay standpoint, but that's not what matters. The focus here is on the story, and what a fantastic story it is! Supported by fantastic graphics and a beautiful soundtrack that bring this underrepresented setting to life, it just might leave you in tears by its ending.
  26. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    Это одна из тех маленьких приятных игр, которые нам преподносит Ubisoft раз или два раза в год на движке UbiArt.
    Конечно, приятный не совсем то слово, которое следует употребить рядом с игрой про войну. Да это действительно игра про войну, в которой вы переживаете за героев, а не ПЫЩ-ПЫЩ-ПЫЩ... Не малую роль в этом всём играет стилистика игры. Благодаря этому движку игра выглядит
    уникально: в пору сравнивать с Broken Age. Несмотря на то, что история захватывает сразу несколько героев, она нисколько не запутанная, а наоборот: судьба каждого героя складывается в общую картину войны и описание судьб людей разных народов.
    Во время каждого вашего действия звучит потрясающая музыка, которая, к сожалению, преследует ту же цель, что и всё остальное, а именно показать ужас бессмысленной, жестокой и затяжной Первой Мировой войны. Вы услышите оркестровую музыку и немного измененные шедевры маэстров классической музыки.
    Как я уже сказал, героев несколько и каждому соответствует свой тип геймплея: медик лечит, солдат воюет и тому подобные плюшки. Конечно не обошлось без такого гейплейного решения как нахождение вещей, что впрочем не удивительно для 2D платформера. Будьте внимательны, ведь каждая вещица раскроет вам свою историю. Не могу упомянуть про исторические факты, которые делают историю более полной и действительно интересной, и записи дневников наших героев, которые дают действительно полное погружение в дух того времени.
    Как и в любом платформере здесь есть загадки, но если вам не хватит ваших извилин, игра предложит вам подсказку, которая обычно бывает в помощь, но бываю случаи: "ОК, это я уже сделал..." (если только вы не играете на сложности Ветеран (И, ДА - тут есть сложности)).
    Но что самое главное и довольно редко встречаемое в играх - она чувствует игрока. Вы сами знаете, что делать и когда делать...
    Итак, эта игра определенно стоит своих денег и вызывает у вас огромное количество эмоций, она не скучна и не банальна. Отличная атмосфера, интересная история, забавный геймплей, потрясающие герои, хорошая музыка, уникальный артстиль. В общем минусов у игры особых я не нашёл за исключением того, что она коротковата, хотя что бы тогда делало её такой маленькой, приятной и с большой концентрацией интереса?
    Expand
  27. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    По-детски простая по механике и невероятно взрослая по содержанию-Valiant Hearts:The Great War- глоток свежего воздуха в нескончаемом потоке однотипных блокбастеров которые,кроме как своим бюджетом похвастаться ничем не могут.Игра способная растрогать даже самого чёрствого скептика считающего,что игры для детей,что уж там говорить об искусстве.Лично я в конце пустил скупую мужcкую слезу за которой,на самом деле,скрывалась просто буря эмоций .Да,эмоции-это то самое ради чего стоит играть в подобные игры,и то,благодаря чему,такие игры и считаются тем самым искусством.Всем советую,и всем желаю испытать то же самое что испытал я при прохождении этого шедевра! Expand
  28. Jul 14, 2014
    9
    Valiant Hearts is a game you can't miss, not because of it's gameplay (yes, sometimes it's kinda boring with all these puzzles, not for me, but I can understand people here), but because of it's soul. You know, this is an emotional experience with a whole war not to be forgotten, yes, people today don't remember (and even don't know) much about the First World War, bit this touching adventure is actually a message for all of us, young gamers, message from brave warriors and innocent people, true friends and beloved ones, they are trying to say us... There should be no war, this is our task not to allow it to happen.
    In conclusion, I can highlight great graphics, ideal atmospheric music (Anna's race on her taxi with Monti's Csárdás as a soundtrack, you know, it's awesome) and pure emotions. Just play this little game, read about this great war and never forget.
    ps sorry for my English, it's not my native language.
    pps also we shouldn't forget about Russian forces in this war, I hope there will a DLC about their participation.
    Expand
  29. Jul 21, 2014
    8
    +incredible visual aesthetics +great, sometimes haunting soundtrack +well-written story +great characters/characterization +good voice acting +all characters speak native languages (some speak a bit of English) +responsive controls +dog is adorable

    -1st level you play as Karl is tedious -not very spectacular in terms of gameplay

    Overall: 8/10
  30. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    This game is excelent,great story and art , its not hard to beat game but you play it as a journey,9/ its not perfect but its pretty good, and 15 dolars is the rigth price.
  31. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    Спасибо, Ubisoft! Вы сделали потрясающую игру - настоящее произведение искусства. Ни разу после прохождения игры я не рыдал так и столько. Очень обидно, что косяк с ценой в стиме пришёлся именно на эту игру, она стоит своих денег. Я куплю её за 699 и подарю кому-нибудь самому родному.
  32. Jul 12, 2014
    9
    Its a very good game which really evolves emotions. Well i guess everything else is already mentioned by other users except maybe one thing. In my opinion the game could have been a little more challenging. Most of the time it was really easy to solve puzzles. But the story is capturing and about time a WWI tale is told. I hope players realize that war is something no one should suffer from and start supporting anti war parties. Obama and his drones, wars for natural resources. Merkel and her support of the gun lobby and so on. So if you not a profit whore and a supporter pls do not vote for them. Expand
  33. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    an amazing game, which shows the first world war with a dark and sad tone, and shows the effect wars had on people.the graphics are just amazing. the game uses the ubiart engine great, with great animations. the game looks like a moving painting, and the style really fits the game. the backrounds layers are also really well made and detailed.the story is amazing. the story really shows you the effects the war had, and for a change it doesnt paint one side as "the good side" and one as "the bad side". it just shows the horrible reality war has on both sides.the story is really sad, and yet it manages to bring more happy sections in between the pain and sadness. the characters are great, with everyone of them having a different personality, and none of them fall into regular war stereotypes. the gameplay is a bit easy, but it fits the game perfectly. the games puzzles are good, and the sections between them are awesome. the game also teaches you a lot about the war. the game is full with historical facts to read, and the enviroments are full with touches about the war. the game;s collectibles are also facts about items from the war.
    the only problem with the game is the villan, which felt bland an boring, and wasnt developed well like the other characters.
    overall its an amaing game with a sad story, great characters and fantastick and unique graphics and art style. the game isnt for everyone, but for those who want a game that portrays the horrors of war. i cant praise this game enough so just go and buy it!!!!
    Expand
  34. Jul 13, 2014
    9
    This is the great game to tell the life and suffering of the ww1 peoples with beautifully crafted animation,level design and puzzles,and ubisoft never stops giving peoples historical knowledge this game offers so much knowledge such as the Battle of the Marne or the Battle of the Somme and emotionally strong game
  35. Jul 4, 2014
    8
    not a bad game, i have fun with it. nothing so special about it, but it was good time.
    not a bad game, i have fun with it. nothing so special about it, but it was good time.
  36. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    What a wonderful game! Developers spent a lot of soul and blood on this game. Oh, the tragedy! Controls are as simple as expected, the puzzles aren't really hard (but still entertaining), the graphics are drawn/ animated pretty well. Nothing more to say, it's an interactive comic novel- but a very nice one.
  37. Jul 2, 2014
    8
    Eventhough a biologist, I enjoy reading history so I found this game fascinating including the small facts that were given in intervals and the talismans you needed to collect which gave more information too. The gameplay was simple, the music spectacular and the puzzling intriging enough to keep my interest. Instead of big budget monstrosities, game companies should also develop small meaningful games like these.. I would have given it a 9 but I will stick to an 8 because I found a few glitches in some areas.. Expand
  38. Jun 28, 2014
    9
    I has been waiting for this game after seeing a mag preview a few months back. I then read the reviews on here and went for it. I had read how the WW1 story is carried with compassion, grace and tragedy and that the game mechanics are good but not great.

    I wasn't prepared for how moving the story would be. It hits you in the first few minutes and just when you start to relax a but, a
    new chapter throws in more horror to remind you.

    Sounds cliche but it's doing a great job of bringing remberence to the play station generation and that can only be a good thing IMO

    The game mechanics are easy to use, simple but rewarding puzzles but ultimately quite similar as you progress. Being halfway through I'm hoping for something new as I get further.

    The characters become quite personal to you and you really want the best for them ( I love the old French guy and the dog).

    The graphics style works well. It has a good balance of showing some quite horrific scenes but being a cartoon style it doesn't become disturbing.

    It's the first game in a long while that I'm struggling to put down. I really want to see how the story progresses.

    A future classic in my opinion.
    Expand
  39. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    This is an experience from the classic era of adventure gaming. Anyone younger than 30 probably didn't experience the heyday of Sierra Online. Titles like Space Quest, Kings Quest, and Quest for Glory defined my formative gaming years even more than NES hits like Metroid and Mike Tyson's Punch Out. They were thinking games in which experimentation and puzzles drove a visual storytelling mechanism, a style of narrative which has been mostly lost in the long tale of Id Software's 3D revolution.

    While the appeal of a story-driven sidescroller is clearly uncomfortable for some, a vocal minority full of zeros, it is heartening to see a new generation of fans enjoying the Ken & Roberta Williams style of play for the first time. Between Valiant Hearts and Star Citizen, the legacy of Sierra is standing tall again for the first time in two decades. Welcome back, narrative, we missed you.

    That isn't to say the game is perfectly executed. Many of the historical aspects could be better integrated into the game itself, whereas they sort of stand alone in the current adaptation. The story itself is compelling, but the puzzles are basic. The actual game play mechanics are better suited to an iPad than to a PC or console. Even the Sierra games of the early 90s had fairly complex puzzles that required the intelligent use of items picked up hours earlier. I understand the simplicity though. If they made the experience both unfamiliar *and* overly challenging, the title would have gone down like - well like a flaming zeppelin. All in all, this is a wonderful story that is told in an interesting way, full of emotion, utilizing a style we haven't seen much of in a very long time. Based on the critical reception, I hope to see a further revival of the adventure game genre complete with game play mechanics that hang together between chapters as well as the story does.

    10 for the story
    6 for the game mechanics
    8 for overall value
    +1 to counter the idiotic zeros

    9/10 Total
    Expand
  40. Jul 16, 2014
    8
    Considering the story itself, it is a solid 10. Ubisoft does have the capability to make a game with a charming and touching story, how irony, isn't it?

    The story clearly depicts what the feelings of civilians, soldiers during the world war. At the end of story, it really reminds player the cost of war, the soldier's hatred for war, and the blessing for their beloved ones.

    For the
    game play elements, puzzle solving parts are acceptable. However, the frequent QTEs and the buggy checkpoint systems are the only ones to be blamed.

    Anyway, the game has a good story, voice acting and soundtracks. In spite of its weakness in game play, it is still a great game in case you are interested about the historical facts of world war and the feeling of people involved.
    Expand
  41. Jul 12, 2014
    10
    A amazing game! Very well written and the character construction is amazing to, they can transfer the feeling of what should be being in a world war. And for me, this game sometimes worked as an interactive history book, improving my knowledge about the First World War.
  42. Jun 26, 2014
    0
    Saw the trailer, bought the game, and I'm delighted with it.
    Graphic is top of the line. I can't remember when I was last time so amazed by 2D. It really fits the setting, mixing and changing of colors depending of situation is stunning. Sound effects, while not overwhelming, are done at right times, and done right way.
    Gameplay is also very good, this is a casual game with not too
    difficult puzzles and arcade sections. Just right. It reminds me a bit of "lost vikings", and I loved that game. Hours of fun on day one :).
    And with a price of 15 euros (live in Serbia) for top product, on day one!!!??? It's a steal :).
    Overall, I'm one (very) happy camper with this buy. Pure 10
    Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jul 21, 2014
    80
    A story excellently narrated, set in the First World War scenes. It is beautiful, poignant, atmospheric, and informative at the same time. From a gameplay point of view, Valiant Hearts is simple, yet enjoyable adventure game crossed with a platformer that sometimes lightly cribbs from itself. However, thanks to its enormous charm you will certainly forgive it.
  2. Jul 12, 2014
    70
    A game with its fair share of strengths and weaknesses invites us on a trip inside the WW1 trenches to see the real heroes of the war.
  3. 80
    While it certainly has flaws, we’ll still wholeheartedly recommend Valiant Hearts to anyone, as it offers a beautiful and respectful tale of one of the most gruesome periods in modern history.