User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 123
  2. Negative: 30 out of 123
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DennisD
    Feb 15, 2009
    9
    In my opinion, the BEST MMO out there and I've been playing them since Everquest 1 launched. Graphics are awesome, BUT you have to have a machine capable of delivering the highest settings. I run it on my PC at High/High and my laptop at low/low and am still satisfied both ways. Again, if you want the HIGH END graphics you need a HIGH END machine, this game could run on a DirectX 10 In my opinion, the BEST MMO out there and I've been playing them since Everquest 1 launched. Graphics are awesome, BUT you have to have a machine capable of delivering the highest settings. I run it on my PC at High/High and my laptop at low/low and am still satisfied both ways. Again, if you want the HIGH END graphics you need a HIGH END machine, this game could run on a DirectX 10 format and was originally dessigned to, which is where all the initial "bugs" that everyone is speaking of came from, Sony had to fix it all when they took over. The Adventuring content is off the chart for Soloing as well as grouping, the Crafting set up is hands down the best out there(not just a bunch of mindless clicking), and the Diplomacy is intersting by it's own rights. You basically get 3 games for the price of one, as each part has it's level cap at 50. Soon to be 55 (WIth AA"S!!) YAY! I did take a year off and try other MMO's but am happily back on Vanguard for good now. The only reason my rating is not a 10 is because the Server populations aren't what they should be for a game of this caliber. So all of you that left because of the "bugs" I encourage you to give it another try, I'm positive you will be impressed. Expand
  2. DaveG.
    Feb 14, 2007
    2
    From ports to under the world, spells in the spellbook being unrecognized (had one that insisted it was a diplomacy card for a day), dissapearing mobs, and quests that don't work the game becomes an exercise in frustration. I had recently bought a new system with a 7950 overclocked geforce and was still getting low fps choppy movement in the cities and have several friends who have From ports to under the world, spells in the spellbook being unrecognized (had one that insisted it was a diplomacy card for a day), dissapearing mobs, and quests that don't work the game becomes an exercise in frustration. I had recently bought a new system with a 7950 overclocked geforce and was still getting low fps choppy movement in the cities and have several friends who have reported the same who also have new or newer systems with good cards. The graphics may be nice but the game feels like another persons concept of EQ2. It just lacks a real feel of originality and the crashes and bugs really ruin any senese of fun. Expand
  3. CharlesR.
    Mar 11, 2007
    2
    While some of the mechanics (the ones that are implemented) are nice there are many bugs and problems with this game. Many features just were not ready at release so are not implemented, game balance sucks, crafting is a serious grind just to get to level 10 and progressively becomes near impossible to do. The game is just tedious and the graphics are difficult for even the best graphic While some of the mechanics (the ones that are implemented) are nice there are many bugs and problems with this game. Many features just were not ready at release so are not implemented, game balance sucks, crafting is a serious grind just to get to level 10 and progressively becomes near impossible to do. The game is just tedious and the graphics are difficult for even the best graphic cards to manage. Expand
  4. DaviS.
    Apr 23, 2007
    0
    Worst game ever stay away from this game it is terrible. The gameplay is at the best tedious. This game has taken mmorpgs back at least 10 years. Closed beta and open beta'd trying to give it a chance but it is so horrible I took the dvd out and broke it and threw away my 90ish dollar collection edition the only thing I kept was the nice smelling map which is useless for anything Worst game ever stay away from this game it is terrible. The gameplay is at the best tedious. This game has taken mmorpgs back at least 10 years. Closed beta and open beta'd trying to give it a chance but it is so horrible I took the dvd out and broke it and threw away my 90ish dollar collection edition the only thing I kept was the nice smelling map which is useless for anything except smelling good. Expand
  5. CarlC>
    Feb 10, 2007
    9
    Great game for those who loved and cherished EverQuest. It brings back the old feeling. Dont compare this game to WoW because they are very different. The reason why many WoW players wont like this is because of the fact that the original people who made EverQuest made this game. If you play WoW you WILL NOT LIKE THIS. However, oldschool MMO and MUD players will love it.
  6. KodiakA.
    Jan 28, 2007
    9
    I have played the game in beta, and i personally love the setup of the game, it seems to be a greatly compiled conjunction of games such as EQ2, Eq1, WoW, Ultima Online, and SWG. The Free open world is personnaly what i love most about the game, theres no loading screen to go to new zones. This game was a bit over hyped but is still worth buying the collectors edition.
  7. CM
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    I didn't play in beta so I'm basing my evalutation on just the 3 past days of playing the early-access. Amazing!! Having played MMORPGS from EQ to CoH to WoW, this one is the best yet!

    It's got a few early-release bugs but the scope and depth of the gameworld is mind-boggling. Combat can get quite involved, so your strategy actually matters. Crafting and harvesting is
    I didn't play in beta so I'm basing my evalutation on just the 3 past days of playing the early-access. Amazing!! Having played MMORPGS from EQ to CoH to WoW, this one is the best yet!

    It's got a few early-release bugs but the scope and depth of the gameworld is mind-boggling. Combat can get quite involved, so your strategy actually matters. Crafting and harvesting is actually fun, instead of a chore. I haven't checked out the diplomacy yet because there's just SO much to do... Great stuff, at least so far!
    Expand
  8. JR
    Jan 30, 2007
    4
    This game is all promise and little delivery (yet). It is not a great game today but had the foundation to become a great game if you don't mind the growing pains to get there. The first 10 levels (hook time) need to be reworked and much more immersing. The game subscribes to the old and tired MMORPG design, of fun later and it does deliver fun later. After playing some of the newer This game is all promise and little delivery (yet). It is not a great game today but had the foundation to become a great game if you don't mind the growing pains to get there. The first 10 levels (hook time) need to be reworked and much more immersing. The game subscribes to the old and tired MMORPG design, of fun later and it does deliver fun later. After playing some of the newer games players will not be willing to wait until level 20+ to have fun. The same game released 3 months from now would receive a score of 7-8 from me, but not in it's current unfinished state. Expand
  9. ACM
    Jan 9, 2007
    5
    Playing VGSoH beta 4: not excited about it yet. Rain is incessant. It seems dull and grey a lot of the time - at least in area I'm in. Hard for me to see any thing more than incremental upgrade from EQ1 & 2. I'd call it EQ2.5. However, character classes are interesting and this may pull people sick of the conformity and lack of selection in WoW character classes. Landscapes are Playing VGSoH beta 4: not excited about it yet. Rain is incessant. It seems dull and grey a lot of the time - at least in area I'm in. Hard for me to see any thing more than incremental upgrade from EQ1 & 2. I'd call it EQ2.5. However, character classes are interesting and this may pull people sick of the conformity and lack of selection in WoW character classes. Landscapes are beautiful when it's not raining but it takes quite a travel time to see any significant variation in landscapes. Towns are well customized to race/location (eg., little round hobbity houses, sweepig curving elven tree house city. The game seems to be designed for the Asian market - with Asian buildings and Confucian titles all over the place - they're fun but a little all-too-pervasive for me. I'm going to try the game again soon when next patch release happens because, as you'd expect in a beta, a few matters are still being worked on. I think EQ users will love this game. WoW users will be less...wowed. Expand
  10. Mekon
    Feb 7, 2007
    5
    For a game with so much hype, I was extraordinarily underwhelmed. More of the same (in no way would I consider any of it's features next gen, believing the marketing tagline), high system requirements and repetitive gameplay (especially combat). I have better things to do with my time.
  11. DfsadfAsfd
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    WoW players STAY OUT. Except those wishing to step-up their experience a little. This one is for the true MMO lovers who understand what a great mmorpg is. It retreives many great features of other MMO's and puts them all into a unique masterpiece. The soundtrack is mindblowingly perfect. Graphics (on a nice system) are revolutionary, questing is fun and involving, Dungeons are WoW players STAY OUT. Except those wishing to step-up their experience a little. This one is for the true MMO lovers who understand what a great mmorpg is. It retreives many great features of other MMO's and puts them all into a unique masterpiece. The soundtrack is mindblowingly perfect. Graphics (on a nice system) are revolutionary, questing is fun and involving, Dungeons are gorgous and seemingly endless. Long live the corpse run. This game isn't for ameteurs! Perfect 10. Expand
  12. CosmoC.
    Feb 9, 2007
    6
    Seems like Vanguard would probably be fun on a brand new computer with a state of the art video card. Otherwise, don't bother.
  13. AnonymousMC
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    So, the game has been out for about a month. Patches have fixed alot of bugs... but there are still quite a few. It is twice as playable then it was at launch, and will be twice as playable again a month from now.

    This game does require time... but you need it to experience the enormous amount of content. If you expect a Mmo to offer more then 100hrs of gameplay... look no farther.
    So, the game has been out for about a month. Patches have fixed alot of bugs... but there are still quite a few. It is twice as playable then it was at launch, and will be twice as playable again a month from now.

    This game does require time... but you need it to experience the enormous amount of content. If you expect a Mmo to offer more then 100hrs of gameplay... look no farther.
    If you have any character in Wow above level 40... this game will blow your mind.

    At level 20, I have already visited over 6 dungeons and explored 25sqkm of the world... This is the Mmo for anyone who just isn't satisfied [or is no longer satisfied] by simple gameplay.
    Expand
  14. ChrisT.
    Jun 9, 2007
    9
    Finally a game with inspiring graphics, full-filling crafting, innovative game-play, challenging monsters, unique classes and races, huge world, flying mounts, housing, ships, lore, an economy, etc, etc. This game has everything a true MMO gamer needs for their fix. Look beyond all the skepticism and dig deep into a real MMO.
  15. SanveanS.
    Mar 9, 2008
    0
    Horrid. I cannot fathom WHY SoE purchased this game, worst MMO on the market. I have a great rig, Dirext X10, and max graphics lookg like... horrid. No lag that I saw, just ugly and freaky. They remind me of a blend of SecondLife and EQ1 Classic.
  16. BridgetFreemont
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    I am a long time MMO player and comparing against the current MMO's out there.. well there really is no comparison. Vanguard has been out well over a year now and as a near daily player.. I still have not explored or seen all its content. It is that big. The sheer massiveness of territory to cover, quests to do, projects to complete (housing) would keep any type gamer busy for aI am a long time MMO player and comparing against the current MMO's out there.. well there really is no comparison. Vanguard has been out well over a year now and as a near daily player.. I still have not explored or seen all its content. It is that big. The sheer massiveness of territory to cover, quests to do, projects to complete (housing) would keep any type gamer busy for a very long time. The real value in this game is the zone free emmersive world as well as spectacular views. Expand
  17. NickS
    Jan 30, 2009
    9
    This is a very rich MMO and getting better by the day with strong free content updates. One of the greatest strengths is rewarding class designs, with healers in Vanguard better than any MMO on the market. A beautiful, seemless world without instances, this game has the best graphics of any MMO. Most gaming rigs can run this on balanced to high settings to get the most out of the This is a very rich MMO and getting better by the day with strong free content updates. One of the greatest strengths is rewarding class designs, with healers in Vanguard better than any MMO on the market. A beautiful, seemless world without instances, this game has the best graphics of any MMO. Most gaming rigs can run this on balanced to high settings to get the most out of the exceptional graphics. The premiere raiding dungeon of APW is challenging with definite difficulty tiers making raiding very worthwhile. Expand
  18. TJB.
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    In beta with all the Beta bugs and it's still the Best MMO I've ever Played and I've played just about all of them except extreme foreign ones.
  19. PeterS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    This game is an object lesson in wasted potential. It could have been The MMO, but was released unfinished. IMO, even after a ton of fixes, it still is lacking, and there are too few players due to its early failure. Still, it is fun, and a real old-school MMO bristling with good ideas and interesting design decisions. Worth giving a seccond shot if you still haven't sold your copy on E-bay.
  20. Jerome
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    This is the best MMORPG I have ever played. It is a shame it was released with some bugs, but with the latest patches that is done. Vanguard is immersive, giant, and beautiful. Vanguard takes a "virtual world" approach that I think games like EQ2 and WoW lack. Interaction is the key in this game. Everything in it requires action on the player's part. This makes things like fishing, This is the best MMORPG I have ever played. It is a shame it was released with some bugs, but with the latest patches that is done. Vanguard is immersive, giant, and beautiful. Vanguard takes a "virtual world" approach that I think games like EQ2 and WoW lack. Interaction is the key in this game. Everything in it requires action on the player's part. This makes things like fishing, crafting and even chatting with NPCs fun unlike the current most popular game. Expand
  21. Pakesso
    Feb 13, 2007
    9
    Well, as a player who played FFXI for a year, i have to say that this game is incredible. I spent 600$ on a new video card and ram just to play it! And yet, it was worth it. My friend and I bought the game and have been playing together up to lvl 12 as Rogues. Every corner I turn in this game amazes me. The bugs are forgiveable. The worst thing we're dealing with right now is PvP Well, as a player who played FFXI for a year, i have to say that this game is incredible. I spent 600$ on a new video card and ram just to play it! And yet, it was worth it. My friend and I bought the game and have been playing together up to lvl 12 as Rogues. Every corner I turn in this game amazes me. The bugs are forgiveable. The worst thing we're dealing with right now is PvP deaths. We're on the PvP FFA server, and it's fun, but getting killed for no reason takes the breath out of certain goals like questing and such, but i will admit that it adds a whole new level of gameplay. The fact that you can ride your horse at lvl 10 is awesome. I look forward to a Griffin to fly around in, or a ship to sail the open seas. I've never played a game that felt so incredible wide open. The fighting system works for me. Not just turn based but a little more interactive. The mobs are awesome and plentiful. I love thefact that you can get XP on a quest and more for finishing a quest. Sharing quests is great too. Anyway, the only reason i haven't given this game a 10 is that I have yet to see enough of the game to have any idea of it's scale. I do agree with some of the people here that you really need a good PC to run this game. It looks decent on the PC i have, but i'm spending the money to see this game the way it's supposed to be played. Talk about being sucked in. Anyway, if you get on the Tharidon (I believe) server, look for Pakesso. I may be a rogue, but I'm no murderer. Expand
  22. MMOCritic
    Feb 1, 2007
    5
    Vanguard is an attempt to bring back the glory days of what made Everquest such a fun game. It is a huge world that is largely empty. It has some amazing ideas, not quite fufilled. It has some amazing system concepts, that never quite make it to "fun". It borrows a lot from recent MMOs, and of course it's spiritual successor, Everquest. Graphically, when it was started, it was well Vanguard is an attempt to bring back the glory days of what made Everquest such a fun game. It is a huge world that is largely empty. It has some amazing ideas, not quite fufilled. It has some amazing system concepts, that never quite make it to "fun". It borrows a lot from recent MMOs, and of course it's spiritual successor, Everquest. Graphically, when it was started, it was well ahead of the curve. But after numerous years in development, the graphics really don't reach the photorealism that was attempted, nor come close to the charm of the lower res, but highly stylized graphics of games like WoW. Given a year or two on the market, Vanguard could reach a 7 or 8 for MMOs, but.. it has a lot of competition, including WoW, and suprisingly, EQ2, which has become a very strong contender, at least in the US market. I've been working on and playing MMOs for almost 10 years, and I still have hopes for Vanguard, but it's not there yet. Cheers. Expand
  23. NathanG.
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Very impressive game, definitely worth a look if you enjoy MMO's at all. Sure, there are a lot of things missing, but even in it's current state it is much more exciting than any other MMO out right now and I don't see any MMO coming out any time that attempts to address as many issues as this game already does. Impressive visuals all the way down to depth and variety. If Very impressive game, definitely worth a look if you enjoy MMO's at all. Sure, there are a lot of things missing, but even in it's current state it is much more exciting than any other MMO out right now and I don't see any MMO coming out any time that attempts to address as many issues as this game already does. Impressive visuals all the way down to depth and variety. If you are not already playing, you are missing out. Expand
  24. Gary
    Feb 4, 2007
    9
    Great game but still needs a little work. Apparently SOE rushed Sigil to release and a few bugs still need to be ironed out but it's a fantastic game. I've played a variety of MMORPGs since EQ1 and feels it does bring on the genre slightly but it's not ground breaking. However when matched with a decent system (Core 2 Duo and Geforce 7900 +, 2GB RAm) it soars. The music is Great game but still needs a little work. Apparently SOE rushed Sigil to release and a few bugs still need to be ironed out but it's a fantastic game. I've played a variety of MMORPGs since EQ1 and feels it does bring on the genre slightly but it's not ground breaking. However when matched with a decent system (Core 2 Duo and Geforce 7900 +, 2GB RAm) it soars. The music is the best ive ever heard in an RPG. Three different spheres to explore: Adventuring, Crafting and Diplomacy. It feels like a truly epic game. If you like you MMORPGs with a bit of a challenge then you'll enjoy this. Expand
  25. SeanR.
    Feb 6, 2007
    2
    Next generation MMO? Hardly. I beta tested this game for a month and that was about all I could stand. Whereas games like City of Heroes and World of Warcraft were steps forward, Vanguard is a giant step backwards for MMOs. A return to the big, empty, drab timesinks like Everquest. YAWN. Go buy Burning Crusade instead.
  26. JohnS.
    Feb 8, 2007
    2
    Amazing concept, terrible outcome. This game should not have been released yet, it feels as though they are charging 'beta' testers. Graphics are garbage unless you are running a very high end system, in which case, the graphics fail to impress. Gameplay is tedious, and adding more 'depth' to a MMO is just another way of adding more grind. Instead of a path forward Amazing concept, terrible outcome. This game should not have been released yet, it feels as though they are charging 'beta' testers. Graphics are garbage unless you are running a very high end system, in which case, the graphics fail to impress. Gameplay is tedious, and adding more 'depth' to a MMO is just another way of adding more grind. Instead of a path forward with gring this game takes you in circles. Many many bugs, a lot of downtime and the gameplay isn't fun. Save your money until you start seeing more positive reviews in a couple of months. IMO, this game is halfway through beta testing. Expand
  27. MackG.
    Mar 12, 2007
    8
    The game runs fine on my year old computer 3800 dual core... The death penalty is only steep to amateur mmo players. Every mmo has these glitches early in their development, they are unfinished products at release. All that being said the game is challenging and takes a heavy investment, which is why it is great for serious mmo players. You will not get max level in a couple of weeks like The game runs fine on my year old computer 3800 dual core... The death penalty is only steep to amateur mmo players. Every mmo has these glitches early in their development, they are unfinished products at release. All that being said the game is challenging and takes a heavy investment, which is why it is great for serious mmo players. You will not get max level in a couple of weeks like WoW or EQ2 and intelligent players will realize this is for the best. Expand
  28. MichaelR.
    Mar 15, 2007
    8
    I am very impressed. The game runs extremely well on my high-range pc, and the graphics are incredible. I am more interested in gameplay, however. This game does not disappoint in that department. It is very involving, and alot of fun. The community is great, as well, and there seems to be a fair amount of players everywhere. I especially like the MASSIVE continents.
  29. Gamsreview
    Mar 3, 2007
    1
    This is one of the worst MMO's I have played in some time. It is a straigh copy of Everquest in every thinkable way. Getting to lvl 20 is a huge grind. Unless you have 4 friends that will group with you every time don't even bother. The diplomacy and tradeskill parts are so BORING it defies me, this is a terrible game.
  30. SteveA.
    Jun 20, 2007
    9
    A mature and sophisticated game - highly recommended. Disregard the "I played this game in beta" posts and their scores. Beta ended long ago and, as of June 2007, the game is settling in to be a real winner. The adventure side is good, the crafting is good, and the diplomacy is a great new area of MMOs. Sony's commitment has already brought some stability and quality to the A mature and sophisticated game - highly recommended. Disregard the "I played this game in beta" posts and their scores. Beta ended long ago and, as of June 2007, the game is settling in to be a real winner. The adventure side is good, the crafting is good, and the diplomacy is a great new area of MMOs. Sony's commitment has already brought some stability and quality to the development team and that's showing with every update. Try it, stick with it, you won't be dissappointed. Expand
  31. WardK
    Jul 25, 2008
    0
    Despite what I keep hearing this has some of the worst graphics I have seen in a game active as of July 2008! I'm trying it out on a everex xt5300 laptop (AMD TL50, nvidia 8600M G, 2 gigs CAS4 667 RAM, 5400 rpm sata1) so as with every recent game I know I have to cut corners and apply numerous tweaks. But after tweaking, defragging and a number of other googled suggestions, I still Despite what I keep hearing this has some of the worst graphics I have seen in a game active as of July 2008! I'm trying it out on a everex xt5300 laptop (AMD TL50, nvidia 8600M G, 2 gigs CAS4 667 RAM, 5400 rpm sata1) so as with every recent game I know I have to cut corners and apply numerous tweaks. But after tweaking, defragging and a number of other googled suggestions, I still get like 30-40 fps tops on the lowest settings - the lowest settings. Not medium-low, not balanced - the lowest. And if you didn't know the lowest settings look like the worst ass you imagine. So for kicks I cranked the video settings up all the way just to see what it would look like (not feasible to play at about 5 fps) and it was still wholly underwhelming. I can only imagine what kind of janky coding they have to make such plain-jane graphics use so much power. The animations are horrendous also. You pretty much have to play in 1st-person to not be constantly annoyed by the D-grade animations. For reference, they remind me of the animation in Morrowind's third-person view. To the person who said this game looks better than Oblivion - I want what you're smoking. Even if I had the power to crank this all the way up and still have smooth fps I wouldn't bother because it would still look trite and mediocre. Expand
  32. JosephNelson
    Jul 30, 2008
    3
    Either this game was produced on a shoestring budget to compete with WoW, or this game was a concept that was released unfinished. AS others have said, with a good graphics card, the landscape looks pretty good. But the characters, interface, and those horrid NPC voices, are the cheesiest things I have ever seen. If SOE will invest some money into this and improve these mentionedEither this game was produced on a shoestring budget to compete with WoW, or this game was a concept that was released unfinished. AS others have said, with a good graphics card, the landscape looks pretty good. But the characters, interface, and those horrid NPC voices, are the cheesiest things I have ever seen. If SOE will invest some money into this and improve these mentioned things, they might have a winner, because the potential idea for this game is definitely there. Expand
  33. SteveB
    Jan 19, 2009
    8
    Those who are going on about the "Horrible" graphics. I think you may be smoking some heavy stuff. The graphics arent that bad. To rate this game a 0 just because of your issues regarding graphics is a joke. Overall the graphics are average the game itself in quite in depth, i found the crafting most satisfying compared to the many shite crafting systems out there in MMO's. The game Those who are going on about the "Horrible" graphics. I think you may be smoking some heavy stuff. The graphics arent that bad. To rate this game a 0 just because of your issues regarding graphics is a joke. Overall the graphics are average the game itself in quite in depth, i found the crafting most satisfying compared to the many shite crafting systems out there in MMO's. The game originally started with a bucket load of problems which lead to allot of people leaving. I have returned to Vanguard after 2 years since then ive played WOW, AOC, WAR. But i after playing these other games extensively ive decided IMO that Vanguard beats them hands down. (Apart from WAR's PvP ive yet to find something to beat that). The reason i give an 8 instead of a 10 is due to the many problems Vangard had to start with and still need to fix, which leads me to my next negative. Which is there isnt to many players on at the moment, good thing is populations seem to be on the rise. Expand
  34. MMOPlayer
    Dec 7, 2009
    3
    Vanguard features one of the most beautiful and immersive game worlds I have ever seen. The epic scale of Telon is unmatched in any game in terms of graphics, size or general freedom. There are flying mounts in the game allowing you go travel anywhere you can see. All of this sounds great, but the game has been plagued with bugs and glitches since day 1, and while they are much better Vanguard features one of the most beautiful and immersive game worlds I have ever seen. The epic scale of Telon is unmatched in any game in terms of graphics, size or general freedom. There are flying mounts in the game allowing you go travel anywhere you can see. All of this sounds great, but the game has been plagued with bugs and glitches since day 1, and while they are much better than when the game launched, progress seems to come at a snails pace. The development team is so small that every plan for new content they add is pushed back or delayed (indefinitely) due to lack of resources. It's this reason that I give the game a 3 for lack of support and new content. Very little has been added respectfully since the game was launched over 2 years ago and this is just unacceptable in any MMO. Expand
  35. TimR
    Mar 4, 2009
    4
    This game is severely lacking on several levels. The decisions Sony has made since taking the game over have not all been good ones. Take for example, the changes a while back to rangers. Sony decided it would be cute to make it so that rangers use the Vanguard equivalent of mana whenever they shoot their bow, but tried to excuse it by saying that they upped the ranger dps. What did this This game is severely lacking on several levels. The decisions Sony has made since taking the game over have not all been good ones. Take for example, the changes a while back to rangers. Sony decided it would be cute to make it so that rangers use the Vanguard equivalent of mana whenever they shoot their bow, but tried to excuse it by saying that they upped the ranger dps. What did this achieve? Lower overall dps because the ranger has to constantly eat now to regain energy and power. This game is ludicrous and an exercise in futility. Pass on this one, the only saving grace about it are the graphics, which are on-par with current games. Other than that, the random lag spikes people have mentioned are actually the game freezing to load up a new region that you enter. That's right, the coding is so bad that when you go to a new section of the map, the game freezes for 1-10 seconds. Expand
  36. BigT.
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    I've played and Beta tested a lot of games over the past 13 years starting with the graphical MUDs up through Ultima Online and beyond. No other game has captivated my interest like Vanguard Saga of Heros. It's been over two years of game play in Vanguard and I've yet to see and do everything the game has to offer. Most of the major bugs, glitches, etc are gone. Majority of I've played and Beta tested a lot of games over the past 13 years starting with the graphical MUDs up through Ultima Online and beyond. No other game has captivated my interest like Vanguard Saga of Heros. It's been over two years of game play in Vanguard and I've yet to see and do everything the game has to offer. Most of the major bugs, glitches, etc are gone. Majority of lag issues can be solved by user side adjustments to game settings, in game weather settings, far plane clipping, etc. If you are looking for a game that can still captivate you after 2 years of playing, Vanguard is the game you want to play. Expand
  37. Alex
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    I tried this game at launch, it was real crap. then 2 years later the trial Isle of Dawn came out...WOW! A totaly new game beside the graphic and the ultimate goal of the game i mean adventuring, diplomacy and crafting evrything was change. I enjoy alot this game remember me the original EverQuest with an actual taste!
  38. TalmadgeW.
    Oct 21, 2007
    1
    Bought the game yesterday, it took over 4 hours to complete the updates, cause it kept CRASHING during the updates. Finally got it up and running. Created one character, got to level 6. Game play is mostly hack and slash grinding. Tried to play today, logged in fine, but keep getting "Waiting for World Sever Response" screen. I can't even see my character, much less play. No Bought the game yesterday, it took over 4 hours to complete the updates, cause it kept CRASHING during the updates. Finally got it up and running. Created one character, got to level 6. Game play is mostly hack and slash grinding. Tried to play today, logged in fine, but keep getting "Waiting for World Sever Response" screen. I can't even see my character, much less play. No reasonable company would release such a bug ridden game. Sony should be ashamed. Those people who rate this high are obviously Sony employees or synchophants. This game is truly horrible. Expand
  39. BSM
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    I've been beta testing Vanguard since Beta 3, let me tell you. This game has come a long long way! Sigil goes down in history as the most dedicated team ever for a MMO. the amount of patches, daily, this game is going to succeed. This game may not be your definition as a next gen mmo, but it definitally is a 3rd gen mmo. The gameplay is rounding out. The ability to have a house, or I've been beta testing Vanguard since Beta 3, let me tell you. This game has come a long long way! Sigil goes down in history as the most dedicated team ever for a MMO. the amount of patches, daily, this game is going to succeed. This game may not be your definition as a next gen mmo, but it definitally is a 3rd gen mmo. The gameplay is rounding out. The ability to have a house, or build a ship, or even fly on a mount, give you a sense of freedom. This is a game to just log into and live in the world. Don't feel like doing quests? Then just watch the sunset or travel the sea looking for treasure. If you don't like how VG ended with beta, give it a few month before they stomp all the bugs, this game will be polished. I highly recommend that you check this game out. As a ex-UOer I enjoy vanguard. Expand
  40. E.R.
    Jan 28, 2007
    7
    About the same as any other high-end big budget mmorpg, like wow or EQ2, and its certainly not revolutionary like they claim it is. Much of the game is like any other mmorpg, mostly fetch and 'kill this many baddies' quests, and the fighting is absolutely uninspiring and average. The graphics range from very good to poor, but you have to have a decent to high end computer to About the same as any other high-end big budget mmorpg, like wow or EQ2, and its certainly not revolutionary like they claim it is. Much of the game is like any other mmorpg, mostly fetch and 'kill this many baddies' quests, and the fighting is absolutely uninspiring and average. The graphics range from very good to poor, but you have to have a decent to high end computer to play it at all without tons of framerate issues. Some towns are worse than others. The character models look terrible and ugly, but once you start putting armor on them, they don't look as bad, except for the animal races, which look like mascots. The world is huge and open, and is in my opinion the best part of the game. It really feels enormous. Unfortunately, a lot of it is very empty and boring right now. The grouping system is difficult to use and needs an overhaul, as they claim the game is mostly for grouping and not soloing. The crafting and diplomacy spheres are something to do, but they aren't on the same tier of completeness as the adventuring sphere at all, and I can say with confidence that many people will avoid them for the most part. Game needs a lot more work, it has potential. But right now, its not worth buying and paying fifteen bucks a month for. It will probably be much better at a later date, I would recommend waiting. Expand
  41. EstherT.
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    This game is huge and has so much depth. The best MMO in years.
  42. MichaelM.
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    While some facets (game engine, several gameplay systems, customization options, tails) are unfinished upon release, the game does stand on its own as a innovator and return to immersive world RPGs.
  43. MiroH.
    Feb 11, 2007
    2
    Just another mmorpg to grind in. Hardly anything next-gen in it except graphics, which we will be able to see in a few years when computers can actually run the game. Come on, mmorpgs been the same since Ultima Online. We need something now to the genre.
  44. AndrewD.
    Feb 12, 2007
    8
    While the release was a tad rocky, Sigil has shown dedication by pushing out a patch with bugfixes and class balances nearly every night. The game is a hardcore MMO, and should not be played by the casual player. The world is beautiful and expansive, allowing you to explore for hours without repeating any content.
  45. JimS.
    Feb 12, 2007
    2
    Launch = Horrible. Yes, Ive been a part of alot of MMO releases. This one is terrible. Stay away for 3 months. Fanbase = Mediocre. Mostly WoW Haters/Bashers/Vanguard Fanbois who dont mind the horrible launch/bugs and validate them by saying either A) They're working on it or B) ~insert MMO here~ was worse. Bugs justified in the same manner. Game=Horrible. Some great concepts, but Launch = Horrible. Yes, Ive been a part of alot of MMO releases. This one is terrible. Stay away for 3 months. Fanbase = Mediocre. Mostly WoW Haters/Bashers/Vanguard Fanbois who dont mind the horrible launch/bugs and validate them by saying either A) They're working on it or B) ~insert MMO here~ was worse. Bugs justified in the same manner. Game=Horrible. Some great concepts, but I'm still wearing a tunic on my legs, an earring on my neck, lost multiple tombstones and items, UI bugs are intolerable, "Chunking" blows chunks, Levels of experience lost because I logged out, items not appearing in inventory after looting them.. I could go on, but why.. This game was released entirely too early. As most everything else associated with SoE is. People are currently paying for the game to beta test it. See you in April/May. Ill check back and see if its a usable product by then. Expand
  46. BobT.
    Feb 14, 2007
    1
    Great concept + rushed production = another turd courtesy of SoE. I feel bad for Sigil; this was a wonderful opportunity to release an epic game, and it was squandered by the boneheads at Sony. This game will never recover from its horrible launch condition.
  47. GeorgeL.
    Feb 16, 2007
    4
    Some great concepts, real nice graphics, bad animations, a lot of mediocre implementation, and a shipload of bugs. Considering the state of the game at release, it will probably take them half a year of bug fixing only, and another year of content updates, to get the game into a state that can compare with WoW or EQ2 as they are now. Until that time, a lot of WoW players will look for Some great concepts, real nice graphics, bad animations, a lot of mediocre implementation, and a shipload of bugs. Considering the state of the game at release, it will probably take them half a year of bug fixing only, and another year of content updates, to get the game into a state that can compare with WoW or EQ2 as they are now. Until that time, a lot of WoW players will look for something new, which is the real chance for Vanguard to survive. Expand
  48. AndrewJ.
    Feb 23, 2007
    3
    Utterly pointless waste of my 50 bucks. I could not get past level 4 in any character because I kept nodding off. I definitely recommend for insomniacs or people who cannot get a hold of the thousand other mmos out there. The only strong points are the graphics customization of the characters but who cares how pretty you are if you move like a robot through an ugly world doing pointless Utterly pointless waste of my 50 bucks. I could not get past level 4 in any character because I kept nodding off. I definitely recommend for insomniacs or people who cannot get a hold of the thousand other mmos out there. The only strong points are the graphics customization of the characters but who cares how pretty you are if you move like a robot through an ugly world doing pointless repetetive things? EQ2 looked better (though was just as boring) and WoW is animated better despite having 1/8th the graphical detail. I have heard that it was kicked out the door too early to get some money (and I did see bugs aplenty) but I doubt another year of development would have made it any less stuck in boring generic-mmorpgism. Expand
  49. JasonS.
    Feb 28, 2007
    8
    While it was pushed out the door a bit too soon, there are some innovative play concepts and ideas. The game world is stunning. There are regular patches to help get things up to speed. Server stability that far surpasses anything I've seen in a game launch. This game is not as easy as WoW (something that eventually bored me with WoW. At the same time I think it's easier and While it was pushed out the door a bit too soon, there are some innovative play concepts and ideas. The game world is stunning. There are regular patches to help get things up to speed. Server stability that far surpasses anything I've seen in a game launch. This game is not as easy as WoW (something that eventually bored me with WoW. At the same time I think it's easier and more interesting to progress in than original EQ. The best MMO I've played (of EQ, EQ2, CoH, DAoC and WoW). There is a lot of room for improvement, which they seem committed to making. If it's not for you now, do yourself a favor and see where things are in 3-6 months. Expand
  50. JJA.
    Feb 6, 2007
    9
    Definitely a game for people who don't want everything spoon fed to them, and who have been awaiting a challenge in the MMO area. The graphics are much different than the cartoonish WoW and the ability to actually create a character that doesn't look like everyone else is welcome. Some people will be unwilling to spend the time it takes to actually accomplish goals in this game Definitely a game for people who don't want everything spoon fed to them, and who have been awaiting a challenge in the MMO area. The graphics are much different than the cartoonish WoW and the ability to actually create a character that doesn't look like everyone else is welcome. Some people will be unwilling to spend the time it takes to actually accomplish goals in this game and that's okay; there are other games on the market for them. But for the people looking for the expansive, in-depth MMO where you don't have to turn off the general channels for the immature fighting, then this may be the game for you. Expand
  51. Tedminchev
    Feb 9, 2007
    3
    Beta tested for 2 months NOT complete, what the hell are they thinking? going live with WOW burning crusades opening up?

    Oh yeah I forgot , it is SONY ONLINE, idiots

    Her Brad are you reading this? C A S U A L W IN S!
    WOW wins, kinda sad.
  52. UnzarJones
    Mar 10, 2007
    6
    Hoping for nex-gen, but this is not it. Can't shake the feeling I'm still playing Everquest, even the "preparing camp" logoff is the same. Could use more things to do. The first Everquest let you go fishing. Disappointingly choppy. Could designers please do some work on real world physics? A 40 foot treant can barely move my tiny little halfling. Will play out the 2 month Hoping for nex-gen, but this is not it. Can't shake the feeling I'm still playing Everquest, even the "preparing camp" logoff is the same. Could use more things to do. The first Everquest let you go fishing. Disappointingly choppy. Could designers please do some work on real world physics? A 40 foot treant can barely move my tiny little halfling. Will play out the 2 month subscription and see if they add anything. If you already play EQ there is no need to go here. Expand
  53. EircB.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    This is a fun game, it takes crafting to a whole new level. I like the combat and the graphics are a whopper for an MMO. The monsters are pretty creative and gameplay is overall smooth. The only thing bad is the random lag spikes.
  54. PsychoticX.
    Apr 19, 2007
    5
    The team at Sigil informed everyone that this game was only about 80% done at launch, and as such it deserves a rating 80% of what it should have got. The game holds many similarities to EQ1 because many the same people were involved in the design. The developers made the claim that the game was pushed out because of the deadline they had set and also their budget. They claimed if they The team at Sigil informed everyone that this game was only about 80% done at launch, and as such it deserves a rating 80% of what it should have got. The game holds many similarities to EQ1 because many the same people were involved in the design. The developers made the claim that the game was pushed out because of the deadline they had set and also their budget. They claimed if they "only had 3 more months to develop it, and a slightly larger budget" they would work out most of the flaws. Well, it's been 3 months, and they haven't even finished putting all the core features in, and they're adding content to keep the high level players in. They are adding raid content to keep the top 3 guilds happy but they still haven't added headgear. This is why EQ1 eventually lost a majority of it's player base, because the development team refuses to fix things. They just keep throwing content at you hoping you'll ignore the underlying problems. It held my interest a little bit in EQ1, but with this game it got old fast. Unless you came from another game with your guild or a group of friends you will probably never see the changes they have made since release. This could have been a great game if they kept it to one continent and perfected it. The only two reasons to get this game are if you're a fan of Keith Parkinson's artwork or if you are looking for EQ1 nostalgia. Expand
  55. TonyS.
    Apr 22, 2007
    2
    Abysmal. This is not a 'WoW' beater, because it's not aimed at the same market. It's yet another drop in the ocean in the limited and over-stretched 'hardcore' MMO market. It's simply not fun to play. It's grindy to the point of complete insanity, it's unfinished, SOE have even admitted this, and while crafting is pretty good it does not save Abysmal. This is not a 'WoW' beater, because it's not aimed at the same market. It's yet another drop in the ocean in the limited and over-stretched 'hardcore' MMO market. It's simply not fun to play. It's grindy to the point of complete insanity, it's unfinished, SOE have even admitted this, and while crafting is pretty good it does not save the game from being uninspired, unfinished, bug-ridden, shallow drivel. If you want a second job that you have to pay for the priviledge of hating, then Vanguard will be right up your alley, but if you're looking for actual fun and enjoyment, best be looking elsewhere. Expand
  56. MikeH
    Apr 30, 2007
    0
    Stunningly bad execution. I wanted very badly to like this game, being an old school UO and SWG fanatic. This game was beyond bad. The interface is terrible, the production value is ludicrous and the gameplay is so stale I wanted to cry. Worse, I could find no immersion. If you like this game, great. If you've never tried it before... let the buyer beware.
  57. LorenS.
    Apr 4, 2007
    9
    Vanguard has more depth than WoW. The quests are engrossing and offer good rewards. Item drops are timed appropriately and useful. 3 continents to explore with lots of content. Diplomacy provides the power to affect all users in the game that come into specific towns. Money is earned with moderate effort and gold farmers accounts are canceled by an effective reporting system. Give Vanguard has more depth than WoW. The quests are engrossing and offer good rewards. Item drops are timed appropriately and useful. 3 continents to explore with lots of content. Diplomacy provides the power to affect all users in the game that come into specific towns. Money is earned with moderate effort and gold farmers accounts are canceled by an effective reporting system. Give Vanguard six more months and it will be well polished and accessible to lower end machines. Vanguard even one-ups Everquest and wow in my book! Expand
  58. Jhen
    May 2, 2007
    0
    I played this game in beta, and again since launch. I have to say this is thoroughly the worst MMORPG I have ever played. It has potential certainly, however in its current state, it is absolutely wretched. The bugs are frustrating, constant nerfs and class unbalancing, and outright stupid decisions have turned what could have been a wonderful game into utter crap. I canceled when LOTRO I played this game in beta, and again since launch. I have to say this is thoroughly the worst MMORPG I have ever played. It has potential certainly, however in its current state, it is absolutely wretched. The bugs are frustrating, constant nerfs and class unbalancing, and outright stupid decisions have turned what could have been a wonderful game into utter crap. I canceled when LOTRO came out, and couldn't be happier with my decision. Do not waste your money on this SOE/Sigil stinkbomb. Expand
  59. SteveH.
    Aug 9, 2007
    0
    I can't believe I spent money on this game. It's absolutely horrible. When people talk about inspiring graphics, they must be talking about the landscapes because everything else looks like it is based on a game engine from the early 90's. As for game play, they took all the bad, boring, bits of old Everquest and made a game of it. Maybe something better will come of it I can't believe I spent money on this game. It's absolutely horrible. When people talk about inspiring graphics, they must be talking about the landscapes because everything else looks like it is based on a game engine from the early 90's. As for game play, they took all the bad, boring, bits of old Everquest and made a game of it. Maybe something better will come of it down the road - if the game even lasts that long. Expand
  60. AnthonyB.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    Come on some of you guys the games not that bad i have 3 g's of RAM in my computer and i run on high speed cable and my game is smooth i honestly can ever remember it lagging or not being able to see my character and steve h im sorry but the graphics are great you probobly just have a horrible cheap graphic card. With my 400 doller graphic card it equals that of the elder scrolls 4 Come on some of you guys the games not that bad i have 3 g's of RAM in my computer and i run on high speed cable and my game is smooth i honestly can ever remember it lagging or not being able to see my character and steve h im sorry but the graphics are great you probobly just have a horrible cheap graphic card. With my 400 doller graphic card it equals that of the elder scrolls 4 oblivion if not slightly better I wiil add though I doubt this game will be my favorite for long with Age of Conan coming soon thats gonna be the best mmo to date! Expand
  61. NB
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    Vanguard is vastly improved and the population is steadily increasing (although I wish it would increase faster). It's stable and runs very well now, and it holds more content than most mmos, even without an expansion and after all this time. Very deep, three spheres of gameplay (deep, involved, and complex crafting, diplomacy, and of course adventuring), massive and seamless world Vanguard is vastly improved and the population is steadily increasing (although I wish it would increase faster). It's stable and runs very well now, and it holds more content than most mmos, even without an expansion and after all this time. Very deep, three spheres of gameplay (deep, involved, and complex crafting, diplomacy, and of course adventuring), massive and seamless world with three landmasses, player-owned ships and fully-controllable flying mounts, lots of dungeons and exploring, beautiful vistas, quests galore, mentoring...this game is still one of the definitive PvE mmo experiences to this day. If your only reason for not playing the game is population concerns, note that there is still an active community. Population is increasing, and it is possible to have a social experience in the game. That said, population will never quickly improve if people, who otherwise love the game but are concerned with population, don't stick with it. Be a part of the solution, not the problem. Game's free to try now; you can dl the 2-week trial (which introduces players to the Isle of Dawn) and see if you might like it. The area's only 1 chunk in size, but it gives a pretty good taste of what to expect on the mainlands. If you decide you like it, you just pay the subscription cost ($15); don't have to buy the game. I've been having a blast with it; I wish this game would get more coverage, though. It's a very unique game, even today. Expand
  62. ZHEStorm
    Jan 18, 2009
    10
    Best MMORP on the market. Major improvements since the initial flawed and buggy launch. Since GU6, most bugs have been squashed and this game is as polished as other MMO's out there. Only thing though, this game goes above and beyond what any other is currently doing. This game has everything and by everything, I mean everything! This is hands down, the best game on the market andBest MMORP on the market. Major improvements since the initial flawed and buggy launch. Since GU6, most bugs have been squashed and this game is as polished as other MMO's out there. Only thing though, this game goes above and beyond what any other is currently doing. This game has everything and by everything, I mean everything! This is hands down, the best game on the market and well worth the money to play! Expand
  63. NickS.
    Jan 25, 2009
    9
    Better than anything else that's out right now. The crafting system is very in depth. Diplomacy is basically a card game grind that is pointless unless you get it to level 50. It can be tough to find a group for something you want to do at times but when you do it's amazing. The community is the best out of any MMO out there.
  64. IskeE.
    Jan 27, 2009
    9
    A lot of folks that moan about the games graphics are the ones that are running it on Laptops or machines with small CPU's & GPU's. This game needs some meat, run it on a Core 2 Quad with an Nvidia GTX 280 and you can set Video to max and wow!!! This is stunning!! You can Raid and still get 35+ fps. I've played the game from start and the folks at SOE have done a great job A lot of folks that moan about the games graphics are the ones that are running it on Laptops or machines with small CPU's & GPU's. This game needs some meat, run it on a Core 2 Quad with an Nvidia GTX 280 and you can set Video to max and wow!!! This is stunning!! You can Raid and still get 35+ fps. I've played the game from start and the folks at SOE have done a great job in moving this game forward and adding content all the time.The world and the Graphics are alive with detail and not like blocks like some I can think of. The spell effects are fantastic and make the mage type look awe inspiring! I must have built numbers of characters some l've levelled all the way to 50 and some I've level to 20+ just to see how good they are. There are also some very interesting types of characters that you don't see else where, like the Disciple Healer. Very smart class and very different for a healer. It's not quick to level but I don't think that's a bad thing. It makes you work for your levels and helps you learn the lore of the world you live in. One of the best MMO's out there even if it's a little hardcore and new some serious hardware to run on. Expand
  65. JavonR
    Feb 20, 2009
    10
    Vanguard had a really rocky launch which gave it a bad reputation. Since then the game as improved IMMENSELY, one of the most addictive and fun mmorpg games I've played recently. I would definitely recommend you give this a shot.. you can also trial it for 14 days.
  66. SeanC
    Feb 23, 2009
    0
    This game is just flat out boring, there's nothing to bring you in, it's the same thing that's been done before with no twist or any good mechanic.
  67. Jeff
    Mar 23, 2009
    9
    Most people who don't like this game haven't given it a good chance. It is highly immersive, spectacular graphics, and the majority of the bugs I've seen disappear in the last few months. The player base is extremely helpful to get you through the learning curve. Yes, you need some descent hardware to fully enjoy this game but once you're hooked you won't regret it.
  68. PrivateH
    Apr 14, 2009
    5
    This game is garbage even in 2009. Population is so bad they have added RMT so you can buy your account in game through Sony. Still buggy, still boring, still not many playing and with HORRIBLE character animations and unbalanced classes. For elitist MMO snobs only.
  69. MatthewH
    Jul 14, 2009
    9
    For those that are looking for a more story based MMO, Vanguard may be the perfect game for you. The amount of detail Sigil put in battles and Crafting is immense. They have also given players a third way to interact with the world called diplomacy, which allows players to learn the history and lore of the world.
  70. JensS
    Jul 31, 2009
    9
    I have started playing a month ago and having a blast. I am gaming since EQ and played most of the great titles since then. Few have had me as enthralled as Vanguard. 1) Lots of Race / Class Combinations 2) Low level crafted / looted items already look gorgeous 3) Diplomacy is a cool new Concept 4) Crafting actually takes some thought, looks and bonus on items vary depending on which I have started playing a month ago and having a blast. I am gaming since EQ and played most of the great titles since then. Few have had me as enthralled as Vanguard. 1) Lots of Race / Class Combinations 2) Low level crafted / looted items already look gorgeous 3) Diplomacy is a cool new Concept 4) Crafting actually takes some thought, looks and bonus on items vary depending on which continent you got the recipe. 5) A lot of both solo and grou content 6) Awesome Community All in all, if you are looking for a PVE game that leaves the "take you by the hand" path and enjoy discovering vast continents, this is your game. Expand
  71. benlu
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Originally picked this title up on launch, great potential but sadly bugs and poor performance brought my ability to play to an end. However recently I've re-activated my old account and am extremely impressed with improvements. All in all it's certainly worth a look and has a lot to offer if your looking for a game with a bit more depth and variety.
  72. JRMetocha
    Jan 24, 2007
    9
    Played beta, waiting for release. Graphics upgrade required to process high end capabilities, but the lower settings are still impressive. Waiting to see some of the kinks. I have enjoyed it thus far. It seems to be a good solid mix of EQ and WoW, and if they can continue to mix it well enough, it will definitely be the next favorite MMO.
  73. RR
    Jan 31, 2007
    8
    ACM, you appear not to realize that each of the three continents has a different flavor, and you appear to have chosen the Asian one. Perhaps you should actually learn something about a game before you review it. This includes playing it AFTER release, not just beta.

    The game is pretty good. It was released in a rather unpolished state, but the problems it still has are the sort that
    ACM, you appear not to realize that each of the three continents has a different flavor, and you appear to have chosen the Asian one. Perhaps you should actually learn something about a game before you review it. This includes playing it AFTER release, not just beta.

    The game is pretty good. It was released in a rather unpolished state, but the problems it still has are the sort that will not be too hard to clean up. There are a lot of class balance issues, so if you're a big baby about that sort of thing, you might want to wait.

    Graphics are quite good, except for spell effects, which are kind of disappointing. Quests are numerous enough to keep you interested. The three spheres of advancement (adventure, craft, diplomacy) are nicely integrated -- I hope they continue to flesh these out.
    Expand
  74. Intrus
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    Let me see... this is not a WoW killer. This game is made for the hardcore MMO player in mind, and even though it has had a rocky start you should have been there for BETA... One thing to remember about this game is that Sigil was pretty much forced to release sooner than they probably would have liked as their funds were running out and Microsoft was no longer their team player. From Let me see... this is not a WoW killer. This game is made for the hardcore MMO player in mind, and even though it has had a rocky start you should have been there for BETA... One thing to remember about this game is that Sigil was pretty much forced to release sooner than they probably would have liked as their funds were running out and Microsoft was no longer their team player. From what I can tell they are a VERY VERY dedicated team of developers though as we receive decent size patches every few days fixing many problems and evening out the playing field for the players. I myself even play what is considered at this moment a 'broken' class(the rogue), but love the game because of it's beauty, options, and size. Anyone complaining about having problems with graphics is not playing the game as it should be... you can't play on your little PIII with your 128MB video card anymore, get over it. If you want a simpler game go play WoW, because Vanguard is here to please those of us that are hardcore about our MMOs. Expand
  75. [Anonymous]
    Feb 21, 2007
    5
    My main bug bear (excuse the pun) is the poor performance. I recently upgraded to an Athlon 64x2dual core 4200+ , Nvidia 7900gs, 2gig ram and Creative SB x-Fi soundcard PC, and the performance on Vanaguard sucks. Even in a zone with 3 people in I was gettiing all manner of lag problems, fps ranging from 60 down to as low as 1 fps for no apparent reason, adn this is with graphics turned My main bug bear (excuse the pun) is the poor performance. I recently upgraded to an Athlon 64x2dual core 4200+ , Nvidia 7900gs, 2gig ram and Creative SB x-Fi soundcard PC, and the performance on Vanaguard sucks. Even in a zone with 3 people in I was gettiing all manner of lag problems, fps ranging from 60 down to as low as 1 fps for no apparent reason, adn this is with graphics turned down below the default setting and with a lower screen res. Can't believe this is because my PC isnt up to it. So I'm hoping the problem is bug related. Reminds me too much of EQ1 on a bad day with lag and blinking graphic objects. I know there were reasons for releasing this game too early, but honestly its not acceptable to rip people off this way. if you bought a new car that performed this way you'd take it back, maybe laws should be changed for games to allow the same. Then we could buy it in a years time when its working properly. Other than this rant, the game seems interesting and immersive, but I can't believe in a world when its so unrealistic due to poor performance. I'll be back to check it in a few months, meanwhile, back to the kiddies and their wow, or maybe even restart EQ lol. Expand
  76. DanB.
    Feb 23, 2007
    8
    I'm running on an E6600, Geforce 7950GT, and 2gigs OCZ gold ram. The performance on my system isn't great, but it really isn't as bad as everyone says. The FPS is fairly consistent, and the drops (I've never really had below 10 fps, it's usually around 40) are worth it. If you just stop and look at the scenery it's really quite breathtaking. Trees sway I'm running on an E6600, Geforce 7950GT, and 2gigs OCZ gold ram. The performance on my system isn't great, but it really isn't as bad as everyone says. The FPS is fairly consistent, and the drops (I've never really had below 10 fps, it's usually around 40) are worth it. If you just stop and look at the scenery it's really quite breathtaking. Trees sway realistically in the wind, high definition clouds roll across starlit skies, the moon reflects off the ocean... The graphics really pull you into the game. I made it to level 10 in about 10 hours playtime, but I can tell it's going to be slow going after this. But, I can buy a mount, and with the great crafting system I can make enough money to buy a horse in about 2 hours. Not bad really, and certainly better than killing 3 different types of boars over and over. Give it a shot. Expand
  77. SarreneG.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    Since there is not a 9.5, I gave it a ten. There are bugs in the game, yet the emersion, the quests, the crafting and the huge world are just wonderful. This game has had a LOT of fixes in the last month, and can only see more on the way. And this is unite. It is not a clone of any game, but a nice mesh of old from others and new ideas. Great and do recommend it to anyone that wants a Since there is not a 9.5, I gave it a ten. There are bugs in the game, yet the emersion, the quests, the crafting and the huge world are just wonderful. This game has had a LOT of fixes in the last month, and can only see more on the way. And this is unite. It is not a clone of any game, but a nice mesh of old from others and new ideas. Great and do recommend it to anyone that wants a real mmoRPG game. Expand
  78. Kxzut
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    This is far best MMORPG out there. Now its just on players to make it the most fun. Bugs and performance is a question of a few patches. No MMORPG was without bugs when it was released.
  79. RobertS.
    Feb 25, 2008
    9
    Minor flaws here and there, overall getting better and better as they fix minor problems. Almost too much to do, and not enough time to do it all.
  80. EricS
    Apr 12, 2008
    8
    With Game update 5 in the works, this game has came a long way since its release over a year ago. SoE has been changing the game, making it more "WoW-ified" with considerations to cheapen the death penalty and easier travel. While the game has a huge potential to over take the MMORPG throne, right now its just a seed with it's roots grapsing hold finally progressing its growth.

    If
    With Game update 5 in the works, this game has came a long way since its release over a year ago. SoE has been changing the game, making it more "WoW-ified" with considerations to cheapen the death penalty and easier travel. While the game has a huge potential to over take the MMORPG throne, right now its just a seed with it's roots grapsing hold finally progressing its growth.

    If your looking for a new MMO, I believe the trial island will be available (soon?) when the GU5 comes out. Other wise, you have to pay for the full game and a free month of play time. Still worthy though if your desperate for a new change of scenery. hope you enjoy the massive world of Telon!
    Expand
  81. DavidP
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    Started Vanguard at launch, quit 2 months later (glutton for punishment). But recently returned and I am just shocked how well everything has changed. In my opinion one of the best out there.
  82. Jaz
    Feb 24, 2013
    6
    A game that had potential but didn't make a difference. Part of the reason for that -besides the abundance of bugs originally- is that its old school, same game play with Everquest 1 with a few innovations. EQ1 and even EQ2 were in the same league and better. Without its bugs it would be a good game for 2007, but now it looks aged especially in characters and animations. Still, has someA game that had potential but didn't make a difference. Part of the reason for that -besides the abundance of bugs originally- is that its old school, same game play with Everquest 1 with a few innovations. EQ1 and even EQ2 were in the same league and better. Without its bugs it would be a good game for 2007, but now it looks aged especially in characters and animations. Still, has some great classes to pick from and it is f2p as well. Give it a try. Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. 70
    While free of crash bugs, problems in interface, gameplay, and content abound. But if you're an old-school player, or a WoW player who's ready to delve deeper into a more complex MMORPG, then Vanguard was made for you.
  2. People willing to put in the effort will certainly be rewarded, since each level in every mode feels like a major accomplishment. Vanguard, with vast opportunities and size, requires time to grow on players. Patient gamers who enjoy tons of options will find many riches and glory here.
  3. The world that it all takes place in is amazing on terms of size and beauty. However, this is a hardcore MMO designed first and foremost for devoted players with lots of time to invest - just to get to level 10 will take you a few days, whereas you can hit that level in "WoW" in a long afternoon.