Velvet Assassin Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Velvet Assassin is a stealth-action game set in World War II and is inspired by real-life British secret agent Violette Szabo. Players assume the role of Violette Summer and head deep behind enemy lines with no support or official backing from the British Government. Violette risks her life fighting to defeat the German war machine one stealth mission at a time. Velvet Assassin combines lush, surreal visuals and a ground-breaking stealth combat system to deliver a gaming experience which is truly the first of its kind. [Gamecock Media] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 29
  2. Negative: 6 out of 29
  1. Velvet Assassin’s strengths are in its quiet, richly framed version of a World War II inside the head. The stealth mechanic is very specific and rigidly pattern based, but it presents its scenarios incredibly well.
  2. There are many aspects of Velvet Assassin that could benefit from further time in development. Still, the game is strong enough to stand on its own, and will leave players ready and waiting for a sequel.
  3. A realistic war-zone atmosphere and rewarding stealth action make this an intense look at World War II, despite some problems.
  4. Velvet Assassin is not a bad game, but what it is not for sure a great one. There were some good ideas in its concept, especially in its general atmosphere and charismatic heroine, but all of them fail because of many wrong features and decisions.
  5. Charismatic heroine and interesting spy story from WWII cannot save the game from development bugs and really really weird game mechanics. Pick any Splinter Cell instead. [June 2009]
  6. As Velvet Assassin's story unfolds, a realization begins to dawn. Events have nothing to tie them together. [July 2009, p.83]
  7. A depressing and shoddy misfire of a World War II sneak-'em-up. [July 2009, p.84]

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 26
  2. Negative: 9 out of 26
  1. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    Great all around PC game, don't know why it has a low user/critic review. Seems like everyone wants a standard COD2 shooter these days. This game has good stealth and creative enemy path/actions. The silent kills are rewarding each time. The game play is slintercellesc, but with some new twists. Where its a tad repetitive, it is unique enough that I enjoy a good hour dose or so a day. I found the shooting action fun when spotted. Sure, its a little weird you can just exit a room and peek through a keyhole and the enemies never follow you. I'm willing to cut a little slack there though, as the overall game is awesome, and this makes it beatable at a reasonable pace. I'm about 2/3 of the way through now enjoying the storyline and game play. Expand
  2. PedroS
    Jul 24, 2009
    9
    I love this game. Put me inside the action, tottaly immersive! Graphics are astonishing, audio higly efficient to create atmosphere..and Violet is a hot and beatiful carachter. Amuses me see her in action with her unbelievable a**. Collapse
  3. Jun 13, 2012
    7
    I must admit I've waited a long time before buying this game, having read numerous negative criticism and having decided it wasn't worth trying to test it. I was wrong. This game is actually quite good. The graphics are great, and the whole art direction is coherent and at the same time very "new", using sepia tones and dark, cold atmospheres are the same time. The gameplay is... well, I don't know. old school? Simple? Yes, it IS simple. But while the beginning of the game has a definite emphasis on stealth, the ending is much more frenetic. In short, it doesn't get boring at all. The audio is so-so. The ambiance sounds are good, although the music sometimes gets too loud and can distract the player. But then again, It may be just my opinion, since I usually don't like music in games anyway. The voice acting ranges from good to downright awful, depending on the language : german acting is good, which is expected since it was developed by a german studio. The English acting (the hero) is average. It could be a bit better sometimes, but it's still bearable. The French acting is AWFUL. The story itself is the most original and the best part of the game, in my opinion. I've played a lot of WW2-themed games, and this one definitely portrays the atrocity of war the best. The scenario isn't a generic copycat of other mainstream games I won't name (it starts with a C, end with a D, and there's a o in the middle), and it definitely works great. My only regret is, as usual, the portrayal of the main character. I can accept the oh-so-tight pants that don't look practical at all or the sexy makeup (on a WW2 spy!). Those are clichés, alright. I'm used to seeing them on female videogame characters. But playing 1/5 of the game in a nightie... come on. Seriously? Alright, she wakes up in a hospital. So obviously she doesn't have her normal suit anymore. But give her clothes at some point in the game, damn it. The violence of the ending becomes ridiculous when you realize you're playing in a NIGHTIE. Hello, half-naked hot chick killing nazis. Can you keep your serious there? No. It's absurd. And the problem is, the game is stone-cold serious the whole time. The atrocities of war, everything. This game, right here, says "man always lose wars". You can't have both a very serious story and a ridiculously clichéd sexualized character. Expand
  4. Scree
    Jul 26, 2009
    6
    As usual, this is a game that is nowhere near as bad as the critics make it out to be (let alone other players). I waited until this game was half price before getting it, because I did want it no matter what (I'm a sucker for female lead or co-lead characters) but $49 is a little too much to justify for almost any game. Anyway, the game does look great. Nvidia still doesn't include an SLI profile in their driver months after the game's release, so have to set that up yourself for SLI performance. The gameplay is a little shakey unless really accustomed to the whole sneak and stealth style. The story is just that, a story, basically a reliving of memories told by the hero. No idea why it's so criticized, I mean she's in WWII doing missions to bring down the evil idiots. Gee, I wanted Shakespeare!!! (nah, he sucks) So where this game fails for me is in the game saving. The whole checkpoint saving idea is stupid and simply offers only frustration. Can't understand why that is the trend today (even if on a console) -- if I want to save at any time I should be able too, we have the technology! Is it supposed to add to the challenge or do they think players will get a greater sense of accomplishment?! (2 rating points of for any game using this method, oh well.) Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    Velvet Assassin is a generally good game that is like a remake of Thief, but with guns and Nazis.

    Unfortunately, the ending is bad and out
    of character with the story. There is a final battle where you must defeat waves of enemies, and if f you played as stealthy character, then you won't have enough health stars to finish. Expand
  6. trinsicg
    May 22, 2009
    3
    Where do I start? Its a good idea gone wrong by bad design, poor controls, bad porting, weak storyline, limited game play choices... the list goes on and on and on. The only saving grace is that the graphics look great. Visuals mean nothing if you can't make a solid game. I'm glad I didn't waste my money on this, no wonder they didn't have a demo for it. Expand
  7. CalebB
    May 12, 2009
    0
    to be honest i did not find a single thing about this game. sure the graphics are alright and a low quality system can play it, but it is SO boring. it becomes very monotonous after about the second enemy you kill. i am sad because i wasted 50$ on a game i strongly dislike/hate. i think it is like a sad attempt at the matrix in ww2 rather than the future lol. and the controls are very awkward. they take forever to really get the hang of and the a.i. is pathetic. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews