Velvet Assassin Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Velvet Assassin is a stealth-action game set in World War II and is inspired by real-life British secret agent Violette Szabo. Players assume the role of Violette Summer and head deep behind enemy lines with no support or official backing from the British Government. Violette risks her lifeVelvet Assassin is a stealth-action game set in World War II and is inspired by real-life British secret agent Violette Szabo. Players assume the role of Violette Summer and head deep behind enemy lines with no support or official backing from the British Government. Violette risks her life fighting to defeat the German war machine one stealth mission at a time. Velvet Assassin combines lush, surreal visuals and a ground-breaking stealth combat system to deliver a gaming experience which is truly the first of its kind. [Gamecock Media] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Replay Studios, ML Enterprises
  • Genre(s): Action, Shooter, Shooter, First-Person, Third-Person, Tactical, Historic, Historic
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 29
  2. Negative: 6 out of 29
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    80
    If you don't generate monkey rage over non-essential side details, basic gameplay in Velvet Assassin is quite good and setting are sometimes great. For some reason, linear on-rick pony gameplay is not a bad thing in games like Gears of War or Call of Duty. [July 2009]
  2. There are many aspects of Velvet Assassin that could benefit from further time in development. Still, the game is strong enough to stand on its own, and will leave players ready and waiting for a sequel.
  3. A realistic war-zone atmosphere and rewarding stealth action make this an intense look at World War II, despite some problems.
  4. Because of the unexciting handling of the game, this title will only attract fans of sneaky shooters. Nice mood and graphics.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    60
    Charismatic heroine and interesting spy story from WWII cannot save the game from development bugs and really really weird game mechanics. Pick any Splinter Cell instead. [June 2009]
  6. Game Informer
    53
    As Velvet Assassin's story unfolds, a realization begins to dawn. Events have nothing to tie them together. [July 2009, p.83]
  7. PC Gamer UK
    35
    A depressing and shoddy misfire of a World War II sneak-'em-up. [July 2009, p.84]

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 30
  2. Negative: 10 out of 30
  1. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    Great all around PC game, don't know why it has a low user/critic review. Seems like everyone wants a standard COD2 shooter these days. ThisGreat all around PC game, don't know why it has a low user/critic review. Seems like everyone wants a standard COD2 shooter these days. This game has good stealth and creative enemy path/actions. The silent kills are rewarding each time. The game play is slintercellesc, but with some new twists. Where its a tad repetitive, it is unique enough that I enjoy a good hour dose or so a day. I found the shooting action fun when spotted. Sure, its a little weird you can just exit a room and peek through a keyhole and the enemies never follow you. I'm willing to cut a little slack there though, as the overall game is awesome, and this makes it beatable at a reasonable pace. I'm about 2/3 of the way through now enjoying the storyline and game play. Expand
  2. Chuck
    Apr 30, 2009
    10
    An excellent twist touching many genres. Since Violette is based on a real WWII War Heroe and she suffered such a tragic life and death, it An excellent twist touching many genres. Since Violette is based on a real WWII War Heroe and she suffered such a tragic life and death, it is easy to relate to her and want to help her achieve her goals in the game. The stealth kills are very satisfying, especially after being killed by the same nazi soldier numerous times. It's like sweet revenge to finally watch a nice animation of his demise. The game is difficult, as it should be, and the all around coolest stealth action game I've played to date. I have currently completed 4 of the 12 missions in the game and so far, all have been excellently designed and awesome graphics and special effects. The game sucks you right in to the environment and you find yourself looking around corners to see what's ahead. A lot of work went into the game and it shows. The interface is clean and informative, and better looking than the previews posted all over the internet. I highly recommend Velvet Assassin to anyone looking for a great, challenging stealth game with some fun additons to keep the interest, including an RPG element of improving 3 areas: Stealth, Morphine use, and Strength, so your character can be built to fit your playing style. The morphine is used in a "bullet time" type mode, but freezes the enemies for a short time to enable Violette to kill one quickly or allow her escape. I'm more impressed with the game than I thought I would be, though I knew I was going to love it before I bought it. Do a search on Violette Szabo and you will find out about an amazing young lady, a life full of tragedy, sharpshooter and risk taker; a perfect character for this type of game, as well as a great war heroe that many have never heard of. Velvet Assassin hits the mark with me and I'm looking forwad to an expansion!!! Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    Why the bad reviews? I really don't get it. It's a game all about sneaking and silently killing. All about being an assassin. Getting in andWhy the bad reviews? I really don't get it. It's a game all about sneaking and silently killing. All about being an assassin. Getting in and out without anybody ever noticing. The controls are pretty good and the character is hot. There are some bugs but never impacting the game-play. I got it at $1.25 on Steam and seriously have paid higher prices for game much worse than that. Expand
  4. Scree
    Jul 26, 2009
    6
    As usual, this is a game that is nowhere near as bad as the critics make it out to be (let alone other players). I waited until this game was As usual, this is a game that is nowhere near as bad as the critics make it out to be (let alone other players). I waited until this game was half price before getting it, because I did want it no matter what (I'm a sucker for female lead or co-lead characters) but $49 is a little too much to justify for almost any game. Anyway, the game does look great. Nvidia still doesn't include an SLI profile in their driver months after the game's release, so have to set that up yourself for SLI performance. The gameplay is a little shakey unless really accustomed to the whole sneak and stealth style. The story is just that, a story, basically a reliving of memories told by the hero. No idea why it's so criticized, I mean she's in WWII doing missions to bring down the evil idiots. Gee, I wanted Shakespeare!!! (nah, he sucks) So where this game fails for me is in the game saving. The whole checkpoint saving idea is stupid and simply offers only frustration. Can't understand why that is the trend today (even if on a console) -- if I want to save at any time I should be able too, we have the technology! Is it supposed to add to the challenge or do they think players will get a greater sense of accomplishment?! (2 rating points of for any game using this method, oh well.) Collapse
  5. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    Velvet Assassin is a generally good game that is like a remake of Thief, but with guns and Nazis.

    Unfortunately, the ending is bad and out
    Velvet Assassin is a generally good game that is like a remake of Thief, but with guns and Nazis.

    Unfortunately, the ending is bad and out of character with the story. There is a final battle where you must defeat waves of enemies, and if f you played as stealthy character, then you won't have enough health stars to finish.
    Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2014
    4
    Good idea for a game but the result is bland and repetitive.
    Deleted the game after 2 hours despite the fact that I LOVE STEALTH GAMES. I
    Good idea for a game but the result is bland and repetitive.
    Deleted the game after 2 hours despite the fact that I LOVE STEALTH GAMES. I can't even remember what the story was all about. You can give it a shot but I think I'd rather play NOLF instead.
    Expand
  7. CalebB
    May 12, 2009
    0
    to be honest i did not find a single thing about this game. sure the graphics are alright and a low quality system can play it, but it is SO to be honest i did not find a single thing about this game. sure the graphics are alright and a low quality system can play it, but it is SO boring. it becomes very monotonous after about the second enemy you kill. i am sad because i wasted 50$ on a game i strongly dislike/hate. i think it is like a sad attempt at the matrix in ww2 rather than the future lol. and the controls are very awkward. they take forever to really get the hang of and the a.i. is pathetic. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews