Venetica PC

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 52
  2. Negative: 8 out of 52
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 12, 2015
    10
    Venetica is one of the best RPGs. It has an intense plot, graphics and art style are unique and beautiful.
    It is beyond me why it scores below 90. Maybe because there is no choice of character? You are bound to play the game as the main character, a small town girl named Scarlett. However as far as I am concerned this adds to the game's flavor even more.
  2. Jul 10, 2015
    6
    A reasonable action roleplay game that doesn't make any pretenses about what it is.

    Plenty to do and sights to see around Venice in the high middle ages (well, an alternate Earth really).

    It's not open world and doesn't pretend to be. Combat is relatively simple though it is obvious the controls have been ported from a console version.

    Good for a few days of relatively mindless fun.
  3. May 29, 2015
    7
    Straight story, simple character development, you are the interesting character Scarlet, the only one capable to defeat Death itself because she is the daughter of Death, you will need to investigate, develop powers, craft gear, and fight against the Death itself in a beautiful fantasy Venetian environment crowded by interesting cartoonish characters. I prefer more realistic games whereStraight story, simple character development, you are the interesting character Scarlet, the only one capable to defeat Death itself because she is the daughter of Death, you will need to investigate, develop powers, craft gear, and fight against the Death itself in a beautiful fantasy Venetian environment crowded by interesting cartoonish characters. I prefer more realistic games where you can make your own character but is a fun story, not a masterpiece, a game and a story to enjoy. Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2015
    6
    If you've run out of RPGs to play on PC, you can play Venetica. Bear in mind that it is in no way perfect, basically a decent RPG overall, but not an EPIC must-play title. I still quite enjoyed it, though.
  5. Sep 10, 2014
    5
    Ive tried this game.The story and many ideas are interesting.The problem is how these ideas are implemented.For example the armor system.You find an armor, youve to bring it to the right person and this armor is reworked so it fits you.Interesting idea but in the end, its another way to a merchant oder blacksmith for no gaines.Youll get the armor, the stats remain the same, no option forIve tried this game.The story and many ideas are interesting.The problem is how these ideas are implemented.For example the armor system.You find an armor, youve to bring it to the right person and this armor is reworked so it fits you.Interesting idea but in the end, its another way to a merchant oder blacksmith for no gaines.Youll get the armor, the stats remain the same, no option for you to influence the process.Another thing is the help the game offers you in the form of a raven.You can summon and follow it to your next objective.But there are flaws in it.One flaw is, that the raven flys to you next objective on a direct route.Many times i couldnt follow the raven because there was no way(at the time) to use this street or gate.A gate for example opens up later in the game.Until the gate is opnened the raven will always fly through the gate and you cant follow him.Useless.Another problem is the raven flys sometimes through objects.Youll lose sight of him, suckz too.A major complain from me is the general pace of the game.EVERYTHING is so slow.Even the fighting feels unnatural slow.Many skills need sooooo much time before they are executed.This makes many skills useless.A really nice idea is th shodow world.You activate this skill and you change into a world were you can see the dead, talk to them(if youve learned the right skills) and take things from them.In this mode you can see hidden doors.
    You can use them to find treasures or hidden rooms.The problem is the cooldown of the skill.Here too, its sooooooo slow.All in all there is too much time in the game were nothing happens.You run 80 times through empty floors.This is bad today, this was bad in 2008, sorry.Visuals are ok, you can play this game today if you dont mind the textures.The voiceacting is not that great.Solid game i think that i uninstalled because of the time were nothing happens.Im not interested in these things.
    Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2011
    8
    It reminds me of Beyond Good and Evil in graphics, art style, main character and the whole vibe of the game. Because it's not your normal AD&D elves, wizards and goblins, it makes it all the more refreshing. The graphics are timeless in nature, being of the cartoon variety, but there is good facial animation, especially on the main character, to impart emotion. You do build a rapport withIt reminds me of Beyond Good and Evil in graphics, art style, main character and the whole vibe of the game. Because it's not your normal AD&D elves, wizards and goblins, it makes it all the more refreshing. The graphics are timeless in nature, being of the cartoon variety, but there is good facial animation, especially on the main character, to impart emotion. You do build a rapport with the main character as she goes through her adventure, and this all helps with the immersion.

    Don;t get this expecting an Oblivion, but rather a AA title from Europe that comes to the market from a refreshing new angle. I hope to see this character again in another story, and you cannot say better than that!
    Expand
  7. May 26, 2011
    10
    A great game, with an comprehensive story and easy-to-understand mechanics. The game begins fairly simply and the difficulty escalates properly so that new RPG players can understand how it works, and seasoned players can enjoy a simple game. Unlike most new RPG's, this game does not make you upgrade thousand of stats. It's fairly simple, Health, Strength (Melee), Mana, Strength (Magic).A great game, with an comprehensive story and easy-to-understand mechanics. The game begins fairly simply and the difficulty escalates properly so that new RPG players can understand how it works, and seasoned players can enjoy a simple game. Unlike most new RPG's, this game does not make you upgrade thousand of stats. It's fairly simple, Health, Strength (Melee), Mana, Strength (Magic). There is however an abundance of physical and magical skills you can buy or upgrade to, and also a multitude of weapons of 4 different styles (Swords, Spears, Hammers and Axes and Moonblades). The storyline is pretty straightforward, the bosses are as hard as they should be and there are many sidequests to keep one busy.

    All in all, I'd certainly recommend it to an RPG newcomer, or to a WoW dropout.
    Expand
  8. Mar 16, 2011
    2
    For RPGers who enjoy adventuring (rather than puzzles and combat). Attractive scenery. The packaging's statement, "vast, open game world" is a marketing fantasy: the game is shortish and linear and has no replay value. It's the kind of game you resort to when Oblivion, Two Worlds, and The Witcher need a rest. The PC version is a poor console port, and bugs are of all flavors. InstallationFor RPGers who enjoy adventuring (rather than puzzles and combat). Attractive scenery. The packaging's statement, "vast, open game world" is a marketing fantasy: the game is shortish and linear and has no replay value. It's the kind of game you resort to when Oblivion, Two Worlds, and The Witcher need a rest. The PC version is a poor console port, and bugs are of all flavors. Installation takes 15 minutes, and because it keeps seeing its own files as being "in use", you have to sit, repeatedly clicking the "Retry" in a pop-up error window. The controls need adjustment to make it playable. I often turned the sound off. Partly on account of the five second sound loops: the usual lame water crashing, wind blowing, mill grinding, etc. But it was especially on account of the lead's 20-something voice actor who was inconsistent and impatient when she wasn't so distant it seemed as if she was about to fall asleep with boredom. In some cut scenes, the sound completely vanishes, anyhow. Add to this .. the same usual lousy feeble trick of incompetent game designers: The fighting technique you've been using all along suddenly "doesn't work" for no reason. Worth playing? For adventure gamers who have played everything else, maybe. Maybe not. Collapse
  9. NielsvanK.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    A very nice German RPG, which feels very fresh and simple, but is eminently addictive and playable. It somehow reminds me a lot of Beyond Good & Evil and Arx Fatalis and just like them won't probably get the attention and sales it deserves. The story is nice and personal, and gradually gets you involved in the greater scheme of things, without giving you the feel to be lost in it. A very nice German RPG, which feels very fresh and simple, but is eminently addictive and playable. It somehow reminds me a lot of Beyond Good & Evil and Arx Fatalis and just like them won't probably get the attention and sales it deserves. The story is nice and personal, and gradually gets you involved in the greater scheme of things, without giving you the feel to be lost in it. The backstory is simple but gripping, no overcontrived lore is needed. The focus stays on a single main character, so no bickering party to (micro)manage, which I think is a breath of relief after recent Bioware games. The environment is great: I've recently been to Venice and it surely nails the atmosphere if not the precise layout. Characters look slightly cartoonesque, which paints their personality in a few broad strokes, but the environments are pretty realistic, and looking out over the sprawling multilayered town in can take your breath away. Fights are very visceral, with action oriented blocking and dodging combined with a melee combo system akin to the Witcher but done more intuitively. Secondary powers and spells are done through a standard action bar. Skill gain is slightly less intuitive, with certain skills/trees locked out until unlocked in the storyline or encountering certain trainers. Skills do make a difference though, unlike the other recent German RPG: Divine Divinity 2: Ego Draconis, where level alone make too big a difference. Here, difficult fights can be brought to a successful end by making good use of your skills. Technically (with the 1.02 patch) the only problem I encountered was not being able to alt-tab, but that problem might be specific to my 3D monitor and driver. I've been playing for about 6 hours, and am halfway to the second of what I suspect will be 5 bosses, so the game will have a good 30+ hours of gameplay. All in all, a great game, and something I heartily recommend to gamers that find a lot of current RPG's take themselves so seriously they forget games are about having fun. Expand
  10. JakeW
    Jan 25, 2010
    9
    I think this game is good... I don't usually play RPG's except for diablo, but this is way different! It has nice graphics and an entertaining story-line.. And Scarlett looks nice.. But install the latest patch, because it tweaks it for the better! Overall a must-try (9/10)
  11. PeterB
    Dec 6, 2009
    9
    Different from the othercRPGs I played. Since I had played everything on the market since 1990 that IS a compliment. Try it for yourselves. You won't regret it.
  12. Mar 16, 2011
    2
    For RPGers who enjoy adventuring (rather than puzzles and combat). Attractive scenery. The packaging's statement, "vast, open game world" is a marketing fantasy: the game is shortish and linear and has no replay value. It's the kind of game you resort to when Oblivion, Two Worlds, and The Witcher need a rest. The PC version is a poor console port, and bugs are of all flavors. InstallationFor RPGers who enjoy adventuring (rather than puzzles and combat). Attractive scenery. The packaging's statement, "vast, open game world" is a marketing fantasy: the game is shortish and linear and has no replay value. It's the kind of game you resort to when Oblivion, Two Worlds, and The Witcher need a rest. The PC version is a poor console port, and bugs are of all flavors. Installation takes 15 minutes, and because it keeps seeing its own files as being "in use", you have to sit, repeatedly clicking the "Retry" in a pop-up error window. The controls need adjustment to make it playable. I often turned the sound off. Partly on account of the five second sound loops: the usual lame water crashing, wind blowing, mill grinding, etc. But it was especially on account of the lead's 20-something voice actor who was inconsistent and impatient when she wasn't so distant it seemed as if she was about to fall asleep with boredom. In some cut scenes, the sound completely vanishes, anyhow. Add to this .. the same usual lousy feeble trick of incompetent game designers: The fighting technique you've been using all along suddenly "doesn't work" for no reason. Worth playing? For adventure gamers who have played everything else, maybe. Maybe not. Collapse
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Feb 8, 2012
    62
    While Venetica is completely playable, I never would have beaten it without a review assignment. Gamers deserve a little more incentive than the bare pleasure of leveling up and hoarding loot to no real end. Even if that's your only ambition, there are much more attractive and fun venues for it. The developers seem to have infused Venetica with at least a portion of their hearts, and I hate to see passion so wasted. Then again, I could be wrong, and Venetica is the dreary result of pure industry.
  2. PC Gamer UK
    Feb 24, 2011
    60
    The shallow mechanics and technical problems make this one to avoid at full price. [Mar 2011, p.97]
  3. Jan 29, 2011
    60
    A strong protagonist and enticing visuals make Venetica worth playing, but problems with the questing and combat drag this role-playing game down.