Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. May 20, 2012
    90
    A soap factory called Vessel is awaiting your engagement into the game with its many ideas. Don't worry that you've never heard of this puzzle platform title, it may still be the best puzzle-solving game of the year.
  2. 90
    Flawless indie platformer is extremely catchy for its visuals, smart puzzles and perfectly balanced difficulty. Vessel is the reason why you should watch the independent scene more carefully. [Apr 2012]
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    90
    Usually the indie scene pays more attention to gameplay rather than look, but Vessel owns an amazing share of both and gets a wild card for the run to the best indie game of 2012.
  4. Mar 9, 2012
    90
    Just like Portal 2, Vessel is about a universally recommended game as can exist. It's charming, entertaining, stimulating, and a hell of an experience for the price point.
  5. Mar 9, 2012
    90
    Frustrating moments aside, Vessel is another shining example of how the independent games scene is flourishing with creativity and originality. At just $14.99, Vessel is around a quarter of the price of a AAA game, but it contains more flair and ingenuity than most blockbuster games can muster. Do yourself a favor and invest in this indie gem, because Vessel is a rich, fulfilling and splash-tastic journey.
  6. Mar 17, 2012
    88
    Vessel is a brilliant tale about human beings, life and technology, told through fresh puzzles and game mechanics.
  7. Mar 9, 2012
    87
    Physics based experiments and a charming steampunk atmosphere: Vessel transports you into a fascinating puzzle world.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    9
    Vessel is further confirmation that we are in the golden age of indie games, an outstanding job for the first title of Strange Loop Games.

    A
    game that revolutionizes the world of 2D indie genre, offering a highly original puzzle based on successful cooperation with the key element of the game, the fluro.

    With a sound section very carefully by the hand of John Hopkins, an impressive system of fluid physics that will leave you speechless and very elaborate artwork.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    A beautiful physic game based in fluids and mechanics. Amazing graphics a good soundtrack, acceptable history and amazing playability with a correct learning curve. Full Review »
  3. Jul 15, 2012
    5
    I greatly appreciate that games like this can be made and I was inspired by the vision of Vessel, but after having completed the game I found that I wasn't enjoying it most of the time I was playing. The visuals are handled very well and I can't fault the game there. The physics are very simplified and cumbersome during many scenarios (dials, swinging bridges, aiming streams). The plot was compelling, but did not follow through on completion. The majority of the puzzles weigh in on the easy side, some quite clever, but many times I found myself frustrated that so much of the difficulty came from overcoming the clunky controls (I did use a gamepad as recommended) and finicking the AI Fluros into their positions. The minutes that passed between solving a puzzle conceptually and being able to execute it in the game dampened the joy of each success. Full Review »