Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Mar 27, 2012
    80
    I think Strange Loop Games had a lot of nice and genuinely cool ideas that were decently executed. For the most part Vessel is fun, creative, and deals very well with fluid dynamics (congratulations to the programmer[s] responsible). It's a shame that such a crucial component of the game is executed so poorly. However, as the new studio's first product, Vessel succeeds more than it fails and shows that the studio has the potential to make a truly fantastic game in the future.
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    80
    Some players may be put off by the patience Vessel can require, but it offers massive rewards for your time. Solving its puzzles feels like a 1,000 watt light bulb flicking on in your brain.
  3. May 20, 2012
    90
    A soap factory called Vessel is awaiting your engagement into the game with its many ideas. Don't worry that you've never heard of this puzzle platform title, it may still be the best puzzle-solving game of the year.
  4. May 16, 2012
    80
    It's independent, and the journey isn't always smooth. But cookie-cutter it is not, nor is it garish or sexist or silly or mindless. If you are a patient person who appreciates grey matter workouts and "Eureka" moments, and if you are willing to forgive imperfections, check it out. Gaming needs titles and developers like this.
  5. Apr 16, 2012
    72
    A novel use of fluids, but sometimes scuppered by cumbersome platforming and the annoyingly happenstance physics. [May 2012, p.104]
  6. Apr 8, 2012
    80
    In Vessel, a puzzle platform game, you solve puzzles by keeping certain liquids in motion - a wet dream for any puzzle-lover.
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    78
    I like Vessel, but sometimes frustration sat side by side with amusement. The liquid physics on display are impressive, but when they get in the way of otherwise enjoyable gameplay, I'd prefer simplicity over a strict physics simulation. Nonetheless, Vessel has a remarkable style all its own, and your patience is rewarded with a delightful and lengthy adventure.
  8. Apr 2, 2012
    80
    Whilst technically not as polished as recent 2D successes like Trine 2, Rayman Origins and Super Meat Boy, it has a strong enough USP with its Fluros to stand out from an increasingly-crowded yet creative genre that shows no signs of losing momentum.
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    80
    It´s Limbo on Prozac. More colors and much more happiness.
  10. Mar 21, 2012
    90
    Usually the indie scene pays more attention to gameplay rather than look, but Vessel owns an amazing share of both and gets a wild card for the run to the best indie game of 2012.
  11. Mar 21, 2012
    80
    Vessel brings art, music, and some great puzzles to the table. Though messy and not always perfect, anyone who loves playing around with water will want to get their hands dirty with this title.
  12. Mar 20, 2012
    74
    Vessel annoyed me at first with the more sub-optimal control, but the more I've played, the more fun but I had it.
  13. Mar 20, 2012
    85
    Vessel is an amazing puzzle game based on an accurate physic simulation of any type of liquids. Highly original puzzle based on successful cooperation with the key element of the game, the Fluro, creatures made of different types of liquids, that have different properties. A must have for everyone.
  14. Mar 17, 2012
    88
    Vessel is a brilliant tale about human beings, life and technology, told through fresh puzzles and game mechanics.
  15. Mar 14, 2012
    70
    With roughly ten hours of gameplay and little to no filler content, Vessel is a great value. Its main selling point, fluid physics-based mechanics, is also the source of its minor failings. For those not too fatigued with puzzle platformers, it is a solid title oozing with atmosphere and intelligent puzzle design.
  16. Mar 12, 2012
    78
    My final score will be a compromise between what the game meant to me and what I believe it will mean to a hardcore puzzle gamer. If you feel like testing yourself, you'll enjoy Vessel. But if you're in the mood for adventure and relaxation, avoid it or you'll be disappointed.
  17. Mar 9, 2012
    90
    Just like Portal 2, Vessel is about a universally recommended game as can exist. It's charming, entertaining, stimulating, and a hell of an experience for the price point.
  18. Mar 9, 2012
    80
    Vessel is a classique puzzler/platformer using fluids physics, but it's overall a very solid, even mastered one. The world is nice, the Fluros are fun, the puzzles almost perfectly balanced to challenge, without frustrating, and the story's interesting too.
  19. Mar 9, 2012
    90
    Frustrating moments aside, Vessel is another shining example of how the independent games scene is flourishing with creativity and originality. At just $14.99, Vessel is around a quarter of the price of a AAA game, but it contains more flair and ingenuity than most blockbuster games can muster. Do yourself a favor and invest in this indie gem, because Vessel is a rich, fulfilling and splash-tastic journey.
  20. Mar 9, 2012
    87
    Physics based experiments and a charming steampunk atmosphere: Vessel transports you into a fascinating puzzle world.
  21. Mar 6, 2012
    84
    Vessel is an amazing puzzle game with varied gameplay and ingenious challenges.
  22. Oct 14, 2012
    86
    A quality title that mixes platforming and puzzle elements while injecting new life into both with its liquid physics and Fluros. It's not quite Braid or Limbo, but it's good nonetheless. [Sept 2012]
  23. Jun 15, 2012
    70
    A charming platformer with award winning physics that will keep you good company for some hours.
  24. 90
    Flawless indie platformer is extremely catchy for its visuals, smart puzzles and perfectly balanced difficulty. Vessel is the reason why you should watch the independent scene more carefully. [Apr 2012]
  25. Apr 12, 2012
    80
    Vessel's creative puzzles and almost perfectly balanced difficulty level ensure great fun that lasts around 10 hours. [May 2012, p.59]
  26. Apr 3, 2012
    83
    Great puzzles and lovely visuals make this easy to recommend, despite dodgy controls. [May 2012, p.94]
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    9
    Vessel is further confirmation that we are in the golden age of indie games, an outstanding job for the first title of Strange Loop Games.

    A
    game that revolutionizes the world of 2D indie genre, offering a highly original puzzle based on successful cooperation with the key element of the game, the fluro.

    With a sound section very carefully by the hand of John Hopkins, an impressive system of fluid physics that will leave you speechless and very elaborate artwork.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    A beautiful physic game based in fluids and mechanics. Amazing graphics a good soundtrack, acceptable history and amazing playability with a correct learning curve. Full Review »
  3. Jul 15, 2012
    5
    I greatly appreciate that games like this can be made and I was inspired by the vision of Vessel, but after having completed the game I found that I wasn't enjoying it most of the time I was playing. The visuals are handled very well and I can't fault the game there. The physics are very simplified and cumbersome during many scenarios (dials, swinging bridges, aiming streams). The plot was compelling, but did not follow through on completion. The majority of the puzzles weigh in on the easy side, some quite clever, but many times I found myself frustrated that so much of the difficulty came from overcoming the clunky controls (I did use a gamepad as recommended) and finicking the AI Fluros into their positions. The minutes that passed between solving a puzzle conceptually and being able to execute it in the game dampened the joy of each success. Full Review »