Vessel PC

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    70
    With roughly ten hours of gameplay and little to no filler content, Vessel is a great value. Its main selling point, fluid physics-based mechanics, is also the source of its minor failings. For those not too fatigued with puzzle platformers, it is a solid title oozing with atmosphere and intelligent puzzle design.
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    70
    A charming platformer with award winning physics that will keep you good company for some hours.
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    74
    Vessel annoyed me at first with the more sub-optimal control, but the more I've played, the more fun but I had it.
  4. Apr 16, 2012
    72
    A novel use of fluids, but sometimes scuppered by cumbersome platforming and the annoyingly happenstance physics. [May 2012, p.104]

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    9
    Vessel is further confirmation that we are in the golden age of indie games, an outstanding job for the first title of Strange Loop Games.

    A
    Vessel is further confirmation that we are in the golden age of indie games, an outstanding job for the first title of Strange Loop Games.

    A game that revolutionizes the world of 2D indie genre, offering a highly original puzzle based on successful cooperation with the key element of the game, the fluro.

    With a sound section very carefully by the hand of John Hopkins, an impressive system of fluid physics that will leave you speechless and very elaborate artwork.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    A beautiful physic game based in fluids and mechanics. Amazing graphics a good soundtrack, acceptable history and amazing playability with aA beautiful physic game based in fluids and mechanics. Amazing graphics a good soundtrack, acceptable history and amazing playability with a correct learning curve. Full Review »
  3. Jul 15, 2012
    5
    I greatly appreciate that games like this can be made and I was inspired by the vision of Vessel, but after having completed the game I foundI greatly appreciate that games like this can be made and I was inspired by the vision of Vessel, but after having completed the game I found that I wasn't enjoying it most of the time I was playing. The visuals are handled very well and I can't fault the game there. The physics are very simplified and cumbersome during many scenarios (dials, swinging bridges, aiming streams). The plot was compelling, but did not follow through on completion. The majority of the puzzles weigh in on the easy side, some quite clever, but many times I found myself frustrated that so much of the difficulty came from overcoming the clunky controls (I did use a gamepad as recommended) and finicking the AI Fluros into their positions. The minutes that passed between solving a puzzle conceptually and being able to execute it in the game dampened the joy of each success. Full Review »