User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 109
  2. Negative: 8 out of 109

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    A strong puzzle game, with an increasing amount of depth. Just take note, this game does not feature the emotional resonance of something like bastion or the ending of braid - or limbo. That's not to say it does not have some great music and personality - It does. There are some slight comparisons with the 2d metroids as well. And the game does evolve into a much deeper thing about 1 hourA strong puzzle game, with an increasing amount of depth. Just take note, this game does not feature the emotional resonance of something like bastion or the ending of braid - or limbo. That's not to say it does not have some great music and personality - It does. There are some slight comparisons with the 2d metroids as well. And the game does evolve into a much deeper thing about 1 hour in. In the end, this is recommended for puzzle game fans more than art-indie-game fans. Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    I haven't finished the game yet, but I have played enough to say that this one is highly original. The puzzles aren't all the same and the game immersion is pretty awesome. I feel like a true scientist while playing this one. Recommended.
  3. Mar 25, 2012
    7
    Well the game at once surprising climate and general idea. Strange that no one else (probably) did not hit upon the idea of â
  4. Jul 14, 2012
    7
    Another clever Indie game with well thought out levels sprinkled with the occasional puzzle to test your patience. The ambient music throughout is also a nice touch. I recommend you use a controller with this game as it gets fiddly using a keyboard.
  5. Jul 15, 2012
    5
    I greatly appreciate that games like this can be made and I was inspired by the vision of Vessel, but after having completed the game I found that I wasn't enjoying it most of the time I was playing. The visuals are handled very well and I can't fault the game there. The physics are very simplified and cumbersome during many scenarios (dials, swinging bridges, aiming streams). The plotI greatly appreciate that games like this can be made and I was inspired by the vision of Vessel, but after having completed the game I found that I wasn't enjoying it most of the time I was playing. The visuals are handled very well and I can't fault the game there. The physics are very simplified and cumbersome during many scenarios (dials, swinging bridges, aiming streams). The plot was compelling, but did not follow through on completion. The majority of the puzzles weigh in on the easy side, some quite clever, but many times I found myself frustrated that so much of the difficulty came from overcoming the clunky controls (I did use a gamepad as recommended) and finicking the AI Fluros into their positions. The minutes that passed between solving a puzzle conceptually and being able to execute it in the game dampened the joy of each success. Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2014
    7
    This game feels and looks great. The water mechanic and the puzzles are handled incredibly well. It could have used a bit more polish ( a few more frames of animation on main character for example), but for an indie game, you couldn't ask for too much more. I will say that after some time, the puzzling and adventuring stopped being so interesting, and I found the puzzles to be much moreThis game feels and looks great. The water mechanic and the puzzles are handled incredibly well. It could have used a bit more polish ( a few more frames of animation on main character for example), but for an indie game, you couldn't ask for too much more. I will say that after some time, the puzzling and adventuring stopped being so interesting, and I found the puzzles to be much more like a chore than a challenge. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2015
    6
    Its ok, but it feels to me like a simple puzzle mechanic is made complex with the way the puzzles are presented in the game. Beautiful graphics.... but I would rather just be able to focus on the puzzzle mechanic
  8. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    Vessel is nothing if not another example of indie developer creativity and ingenuity. A puzzle platformer based solely on the combination of 2 elements: it's efficient, if not one-dimensional, fluid physics; and it's clunky but usually dependable AI "Fluros". The puzzles start off unnecessarily simple, but the game makes up for it through clever methods to paint the setting of the game. AsVessel is nothing if not another example of indie developer creativity and ingenuity. A puzzle platformer based solely on the combination of 2 elements: it's efficient, if not one-dimensional, fluid physics; and it's clunky but usually dependable AI "Fluros". The puzzles start off unnecessarily simple, but the game makes up for it through clever methods to paint the setting of the game. As the puzzles get more difficult, with different variations of liquids and Fluros getting thrown into the mix, it becomes more rewarding and more fun to figure them out, however the games physics and AI can be often become frustratingly clunky during later puzzles that involve numerous elements. However, these most difficult puzzles often have a few ways to solve them, taking the edge off of the frustration. The developers do hide secret puzzles that reward you with points to upgrade your gear, but not only are the upgrades totally unnecessary (I often forgot there even upgrades to be had at some points) and the secret puzzles are few and far between. The last puzzle, however, is the worst example of what this game has to offer and only serve to disjoint the flow of the epilogue. After trying to figure it out for literally an hour, I searched a guide to solve it, and it turns out the solution was the one I was trying the whole time, but the physics were simply glitching. It was very frustrating, but thankfully it's the biggest fault I can find with the game. Graphics are a wonderful blend of 2D point of view and 3D rendering. I can't say I encounter any graphical lag either, although some puzzles caused lag due the amount of particles the game was simulating, which isn't ok when I'm running the game on a quad core system. Graphics are smooth but the game is processor heavy. This game might not be for you if you have a 4GB RAM or lower system. The story is very straight-forward and although it often hints at some plot twists, they never actually happen. Although the story is lacking, the presentation is very good, especially as far as indie games go. Vessel uses as little written language as possible, and when they do, it's only to offer some much needed context. All of the "ah hah" moments are experienced as they come, not read on the screen, as it should be. This falls apart at the end as well, however. Although the developer used some outstanding artistic devices that most big-shot game companies have never heard of, the deeper meaning was lost in a terrible lack of context. The ending ends up falling short whereas it could have been a masterpiece if they had simply given more context. The music fits the feeling of the game, but there's only one track that plays throughout the 9-11 hours of the game, so if you play for long sittings, it will get on your nerves. After a while I just muted the music and listened to my own music. Vessel comes with my recommendation as a game that offers 9-11 hours of unique experience, and although the high points are amazing and the low points are terribly frustrating, the high points far outnumber the low ones, and the game is worth twice the price tag it comes with. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 14, 2012
    86
    A quality title that mixes platforming and puzzle elements while injecting new life into both with its liquid physics and Fluros. It's not quite Braid or Limbo, but it's good nonetheless. [Sept 2012]
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    70
    A charming platformer with award winning physics that will keep you good company for some hours.
  3. May 20, 2012
    90
    A soap factory called Vessel is awaiting your engagement into the game with its many ideas. Don't worry that you've never heard of this puzzle platform title, it may still be the best puzzle-solving game of the year.