Vessel PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 109
  2. Negative: 8 out of 109

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    A strong puzzle game, with an increasing amount of depth. Just take note, this game does not feature the emotional resonance of something like bastion or the ending of braid - or limbo. That's not to say it does not have some great music and personality - It does. There are some slight comparisons with the 2d metroids as well. And the game does evolve into a much deeper thing about 1 hourA strong puzzle game, with an increasing amount of depth. Just take note, this game does not feature the emotional resonance of something like bastion or the ending of braid - or limbo. That's not to say it does not have some great music and personality - It does. There are some slight comparisons with the 2d metroids as well. And the game does evolve into a much deeper thing about 1 hour in. In the end, this is recommended for puzzle game fans more than art-indie-game fans. Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    I haven't finished the game yet, but I have played enough to say that this one is highly original. The puzzles aren't all the same and the game immersion is pretty awesome. I feel like a true scientist while playing this one. Recommended.
  3. Mar 25, 2012
    7
    Well the game at once surprising climate and general idea. Strange that no one else (probably) did not hit upon the idea of â
  4. Jul 14, 2012
    7
    Another clever Indie game with well thought out levels sprinkled with the occasional puzzle to test your patience. The ambient music throughout is also a nice touch. I recommend you use a controller with this game as it gets fiddly using a keyboard.
  5. Jul 15, 2012
    5
    I greatly appreciate that games like this can be made and I was inspired by the vision of Vessel, but after having completed the game I found that I wasn't enjoying it most of the time I was playing. The visuals are handled very well and I can't fault the game there. The physics are very simplified and cumbersome during many scenarios (dials, swinging bridges, aiming streams). The plotI greatly appreciate that games like this can be made and I was inspired by the vision of Vessel, but after having completed the game I found that I wasn't enjoying it most of the time I was playing. The visuals are handled very well and I can't fault the game there. The physics are very simplified and cumbersome during many scenarios (dials, swinging bridges, aiming streams). The plot was compelling, but did not follow through on completion. The majority of the puzzles weigh in on the easy side, some quite clever, but many times I found myself frustrated that so much of the difficulty came from overcoming the clunky controls (I did use a gamepad as recommended) and finicking the AI Fluros into their positions. The minutes that passed between solving a puzzle conceptually and being able to execute it in the game dampened the joy of each success. Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2014
    7
    This game feels and looks great. The water mechanic and the puzzles are handled incredibly well. It could have used a bit more polish ( a few more frames of animation on main character for example), but for an indie game, you couldn't ask for too much more. I will say that after some time, the puzzling and adventuring stopped being so interesting, and I found the puzzles to be much moreThis game feels and looks great. The water mechanic and the puzzles are handled incredibly well. It could have used a bit more polish ( a few more frames of animation on main character for example), but for an indie game, you couldn't ask for too much more. I will say that after some time, the puzzling and adventuring stopped being so interesting, and I found the puzzles to be much more like a chore than a challenge. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2015
    6
    Its ok, but it feels to me like a simple puzzle mechanic is made complex with the way the puzzles are presented in the game. Beautiful graphics.... but I would rather just be able to focus on the puzzzle mechanic

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 14, 2012
    86
    A quality title that mixes platforming and puzzle elements while injecting new life into both with its liquid physics and Fluros. It's not quite Braid or Limbo, but it's good nonetheless. [Sept 2012]
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    70
    A charming platformer with award winning physics that will keep you good company for some hours.
  3. May 20, 2012
    90
    A soap factory called Vessel is awaiting your engagement into the game with its many ideas. Don't worry that you've never heard of this puzzle platform title, it may still be the best puzzle-solving game of the year.